You are here: HomeNews2013 02 09Article 264550

Ghana to deepen bilateral relations with Iran - President Mahama

Read Comments Comments (120)

• KOFI PAPABI 11 years ago

With Iran, are u crazy?

• KOOKZI 11 years ago

YOU GUYS ARE SO BRAIN-WASHED THAT I THINK THE WORLD BEGINS AND END WITH AMERICA. IT`S NO WONDER WHEN YOU COME OUT OF YOUR UNIVERSITIES HALF-BAKED. YOU HAVE BEEN LICKING THE SOLES OF THE WEST OF FOR THAT MATTER AMERICA FOR HOW ...

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

SO IT CAN BE TRUE THAT CONTRARY TO INTERNATIONAL SANCTIONS AGAINST IRAN GHANA HAS UNDERHAND DEALINGS WITH IRAN. THESE MASS MURDERERS TRYING TO BLACKMAIL THE WHOLE WORLD

• SHAMO 11 years ago

THE EVIDENCE IS CLEAR, THAT LOADED PLANE WAS GOING STRAIGHT TO IRAN

• STUPID PRESIDENT 11 years ago

This stupid mahama has no vision at all. Every good president is thinking about basic necessities for his/her people, this son of a dog is not even aware of that. Deepen relations with iran will worsen our relationship with ...

• BLACKMAN PROBLEM 11 years ago

Iran is a terrorist country and more so under international sanctions why dealing with them They export terror to other countries does this president want to import chaos into Ghana like what is happen in Nigeria Mali etc You ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 11 years ago

What is wrong with this picture, you exploit and smuggle Ashanti gold to Iran and whatever you get in exchange, you divert it to the Northern Region to develop there. Question is, what is in it for Ashanti Region where the go ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

IRAN WILL HELP GHANA TO BE INDUSTRIOUS, JOHN MAHAMA WILL GO TO THEM FOR HELP THEY WILL BUILD FACTORIES AND HELP BUILD OUR ROADS! OUR POLITICIANS WILL WORK WITH THEM

• The Mask 11 years ago

The pple in Iran are starving. They are in deep trouble in Iran. It's all for show. I hope the Western Nations desert Ghana if Mahama does this. Let Iran take care of you all. See how well it goes..lol

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

Is Mahama confused? He takes $20k from a gay activist and expects no strings attached. He aligns with Iran and expects that they will not import their terrorism and nonsense to Ghana.He already sent them a plane full of gold. ...

• Future 11 years ago

Mr President, I'm a die hard supporter of you,your policies and even see you as about the best president this country has seen in this generation due to your quality oratory but,I categorically disagree with you on this one.

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

BLAME aFARI gYAN FOR THIS ANOMALY AND POLITICAL NONSENSE.aFARI gYAN WILL LIVE LONGER TO HARVEST THIS FAUL SEED HE HAD PLANTED.MAY HE LIVE TO BE A 70

• Kofi UK 11 years ago

Well said my brother. None of the Western Countries want to see real development in Africa. They give impression that they are there for us but it is rather the opposite. We know that they are immensely rich but they still co ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

FUNNY AFRICAN..! CAN THOSE EUROPEANS THAT WERE COLONISED STILL BLAMING THEIR MASTERS? INYOUR POOR GHANA YOU HAVE SOMEBODY WHO SPOILED $180M JUST BECAUSE HE WANT TO BE PREZ! YOU GIVE $50,OOO TO EACH OF THE 270 PARLIAMENTARIANS ...

• Be Bold 11 years ago

Don't mind those foolish blacks. They will blame the West for their stupidity. This gov in less than 5years paid 200k in JDs alone and you still vote for them when you can hardly put food on the table. A whole plane full of g ...

• Anonymous Coward 11 years ago

The country Ghana is fucked-up. What has Iran got to offer Ghana in terms of agriculture when 60% of their citizens are stuggling despite their oil wealth. Arms dealing is what they do best.

• Kofi UK 11 years ago

My brother I think you missed the point. What you have cited are mistakes made by individual parties which I agree is wrong. But you look at the wider picture of how the Western Countries have treated us in terms of trade. Ho ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

SO YOU THINK IRAN CAN MAKE GHANA INDUSTRIOUS? THEY ARE WORSE THAN THE WHITES! THATS IS WHY WE NEED GOOD LEADER TO MAKE GHANA INDUSTRIOUS NOT THE ONE WHO WILL GO ROUND AND BORROW! NEGOCIATE WITH THE WHITES AND WE SHALL HAVE CH ...

• Kwaku Bee 11 years ago

IT IS BETTER TO "LICK THE SOLES" OF THE WEST THAN TO MAKE FRIENDS WITH TERRORIST AND ISLAMIC EXTRMISTS WHO CANT EVEN TAKE CARE OF THEMSELVES. WHAT DOES GHANA BENEFIT FROM CLOSER TIES WITH IRAN, IF NOT TROUBLE?

• SPIKE LEE 11 years ago

CHECK YOURSELF BEFORE COMMENTING AGAINST YOUR PRESIDENT AND COMMANDER IN CHIEF THE PRIDE OF THE NORTH THE CHOICE OF THE NDC THE DEFEATER OF NANA ADDO. AKA DWARF.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

WHO TOLD YOU OBAMA IS PEPENI? KWASEA WINNING SOULS

• Nokwarehene 11 years ago

We can host them at Obuasi too when they visit Ghana.

• NOYA 11 years ago

There is wicked malice smelling all over and the president is proudly throwing wicked names across board.First of all Turkey detained the aircraft and the president coincidentally visits that country for investment then the p ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Mahama paa! Who is doing business with Iran? You went to the Mid_East to protect the gold and hish matters!

• Ewusi 11 years ago

Mahama fetching water with a basket. What could a womanizer and a corrupt mind do as a President

• wisdom 11 years ago

Iran sent illegal arms to Nigeria, Mr. President you are aware of the problems NIGERIA is facing with respect to that. please not Iran.

• basoah george 11 years ago

Ghana is not Islamic country

• gerker 11 years ago

It will be if Mahama is to decide.
    Ghana is for sale to the highest bidder.

• talk-talk 11 years ago

and not christian country either.

• The Mask 11 years ago

You make a valid point.

• abrantie gyasi 11 years ago

MAHAMA IS A FAKE CHRISTIAN.He is a christian for his own personal hidden interest but not because of faith in christianism,while majority of Ghanaians are ,and so need their VOTES to be a president.He did not even celebrate D ...

• Lauryn 11 years ago

Iran has long been an active sponsor of Islamic terrorism, including its sponsor of subversive activities in Irag. Terrorist groups such as Hizballas, Hamas, have been receiving funds, training & weapons from Iran. In July of ...

• Aza 11 years ago

Thank u lauryn, the real threat to ghana now is this terrorist country, not homosexuality.

• FEDUP 11 years ago

IRAN THAT EVEN THE ISLAMIC WORLD SHUNS ARE NOW HAVING TIES WITH GHANA? GHANA, YOU'RE FINISH! GOD PLEASE SAVE US FROM THIS EVIL REGIME.

• Beware 11 years ago

NO. NOT IRAN. NOT ANY ARAB COUNTRY. NOTE: ISRAEL IS A CLOSE FRIEND TO GHANA. REMEMBER THE ACCRA MALL DISASTER. THE TWO NATIONS ARE BITTER ENEMIES. DO NOT DO IT. IT IS PROHIBITED.

• Fi 11 years ago

When a ship load of arms was found in Nigeria, about two years ago, Iran was named as a suspect. Now look at what is happening in Nigeria.

• GIFTY 11 years ago

Is Kojo Tsikata the murderer still alive? Holly molly! That "one-man,one-matchet" criminal. God will punish him for all his atrocities meted out to innocent Ghanaians.

• yd 11 years ago

You are such an idiot.you want Ghana to be in what relationship with Iran?thief,so you could send our gold there and sell it.you are such an idiot.you have no vision.

• dan 11 years ago

Usa has placed sancation on all business dealing with Iran..Ghana has oil why would they buy iran oil??? Hope Obama cuts off all millinum challenge money to Ghana and favored trade status! Stupid idiot...Maybe the Cia will r ...

• GHANAVIA 11 years ago

I wonder who advises this scum and useless president on foreign affairs issues. Has Ghana the capacity to take world sanctions for Iran's sake?
    How can Dramani Mahama be a friend of Ahmedineja, the obnoxious president of Ira ...

• Paul 11 years ago

The movie Argo is really good.

• Mad Max 11 years ago

John Mahama is a man pretending very hard to be a real elected president. He knows he is not and he lacks legitimacy & the moral authority that goes with a legitimate presidency.

That's why he is bending over backwards to ...

• gerker 11 years ago

It will be a comfort for Mahama to know that he has a huge bank account in Tehran when he loses the presidency.

• wisdom 11 years ago

MMMMMM!!!!! No doubt you did wine the election with huge margin. Backward never, forward ever, but in this case backward ever. Mr president, don't use your Islamic phobia for unnecessary attachment to Iran. Iran decision on G ...

• sam (usa) 11 years ago

President Mahama is trying to please the majority of his voters who happen to be moslems from the north.By the way who knows if president mahama is a moslem in the inside.Mr president Ghanaians have given you the benefit of t ...

• PAUL 11 years ago

This Mahama is behaving strange when he took over power. From the issue of homosexuality to relationship with Iran, a nation led by a terrorist. He is behaving like the lamb in Revelation 13 which has a lamb's skin but spoke ...

• frank 11 years ago

MAHAMA ARE YOU CRAZY , WHAT DO YOU TAKE FOR ? YOUR FATHER PROPERTY OR WHAT, THIEVE GO AND BRING BACK OUR GOLD.

• frank 11 years ago

MR PRESIDENT GO AND BRING BACK OUR GOLD

• anayomi 11 years ago

GHANA PEOPLE OPPOSE TIES WITH IRAN KILLERS TERRORIST COUNTRY THAT IS BEING BOYCUT BY THE ENTIRE WORLD.
    COUNTRY THAT HANG POLITICAL OPPONATS IN PUBLIC SQUERES AND HARRASS AND ABUSE CIVIL RIGHTS AND HUMEN RIGHTS OF THEIR OWN P ...

• Nana B 11 years ago

Insanity! Wow, what a decision.......

• Apam 11 years ago

Iran as a nation is one of the few places in that has not been taken over by the West, one way or another. That explains why the West is so antagonistic when it comes to this nation. Western media propaganda is strong, and it ...

• j s addo 11 years ago

Thanks mr Apam but where did you get your views on Iran from.i guess from literature written by someone who is very sympathetic to iran.we also got our views on iran from someone who may not be sysmpathetic to iran.now you se ...

• Apam 11 years ago

I believe that truth is truth. The recent history of Iran has shown massive western interference. The Iranians prevailed and are still independent of western influence. This is the source of their defiance. This is true histo ...

• Joe Canada 11 years ago

Mr. Apam please just make a trip to Iran and see how you will be treated.Arabs hate black africa more than white man.they will call you brother only when they need you support.left to me alone Iran should be the last country ...

• Apam 11 years ago

How can I take seriously someone who argues from generalities, tops that up with speculation, and finally...cannot spell serious?!?

• Joe Canada 11 years ago

You don't need to argue with me on this matter.all you need to do is make a trip to Iran and see how you will be treated. What exactly do we need from Iran?.wait till they start sponsoring jihads in ghana and see where you wi ...

• gerker 11 years ago

Hear! Hear!

• OBIBINI 11 years ago

So you think the whiteman loves and respect a blackman?You must be kidding!!!tlook at how the whites are even treating the natives in Canada and how whites in Australia are treating the aborigines who own the land.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

Joe Canada just suggested one thing. Go to Iran for just 2days and then go to Canada for 2weeks and then send us a report on human rights.

• AFEVIA 11 years ago

GHANA, AS SOVREIGN AND NON-ALIGNED, CAN DEAL WITH ANY COUNTRY SHE WANTS. YOU MENTIONED RACISM OF ARABS TOWARDS BLACKS. IS RACISM NOT EVERYWHERE? IRANIANS ARE PERSIANS NOT ARABS.

• AFEVIA 11 years ago

SOVEREIGN

• joey london! 11 years ago

Iranians are Persians and not Arabs okay!

• mawusi 11 years ago

Iran is under UN sanctions, its economy is in turmoil, and it's a designated state sponsor of terrorism. What do we need from Iran. Look Mahama better get serious.

• AyiOgladzo 11 years ago

The Ga people have a saying that 'Dun Yee Fee' this crudely means if you shit in the dark come morning the shit will still be there for everyone to see. What GOES UP MUST COME DOWN. VERY SOON we shall know the TRUTH!!

• BabaUS 11 years ago

It amazes me how we (Ghana)continue to associate with losers while we think we should develop. We are such beggars for everything from toilets to gas that even if we have it here on our own shores, we feel we should go beggi ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 11 years ago

As usual ghanaians will demonize and hate Iran because America and her allies are demonizing it and wants to destroy it economically.Ghana's foreign policy should not be dtermined by America and its allies relationship with a ...

• kwame T 11 years ago

Kwasiasem! Go to Iran and see if you will survive living a day there. Ignoramus living in the cosines of London with blinkered eyes!!!!

I will not survive because of western sanctions against Iran.Have you ever been to Iran?You are neo-colonoialist minded and a lapdog of the imperialists.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

I thought you don't need the West. Colonialist and imperialists? What are you doing in London? You insult and hate the same people who accepted you into their communities. Go home to your country or Iran if you cannot appreci ...

• YAW 11 years ago

be bold,you think house niggerdly.People like you got no place nor home to live thus why you talk shit.The days of colonialism and imperialism are long go,be bold blockhead.

• gerker 11 years ago

We in the West, molly-coddle poodles.

• mawusi 11 years ago

You have made an excellent point. I do not see what Ghana can benefit from its relationship with Iran.

• Kofi Annan U S A 11 years ago

This is bad mr president

• GHANANI 11 years ago

What is wrong with Ghana deepening relations with Iran?Is it because America is antagonistic with Iran?Anyway Ghana is not an extension of America and it is not America's relationship with Iran that should determine our relat ...

• BabaUS 11 years ago

If so, don't go begging fro aid from America. You cannot have your cake and eat it too.

• .GHANANI 11 years ago

Is it America that feeds Ghana?Whatever America gives to Ghana carries a baggage.There is nothing like 'freebie' in diplomatic relations.America always works in its own interest.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

If you know that There is nothing like 'freebie' in diplomatic relations. Why do you still go begging the West?

• YAW 11 years ago

your npp ne mate mehu are the once who play lalasulala.look at your mentor kronfour diawuo traveling all over just in the name of teabegging.

• kwaku 11 years ago

this man is playing with fire!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• anayomi 11 years ago

GHANA PEOPLE OPPOSE TIES WITH IRAN TERRORIST COUNTRY THAT ALL THE WORLD BOYCUT. A COUNTRY THAT HANG POLITICAL OPPONATS IN PUBLIC SQUERS AND ABUSE THEIR PEOPLE CIVIL RIGHTS AND HUMEN RIGHTS
    THEY ALSO HARRAS WOMENS AND ARE ...

• cooool 11 years ago

none of u people no lran as it is, even America and Israel cant stop lran against it good will my friends, lran is the next thin the world will look forward to, go get press tv and watch 4 ur self.

• AKAN 11 years ago

WHAT IS THIS SICK MAHAMA THINKING AT ALL ABOUT THE GOOD PEOPLE OF GHANA?

• nana, ga 11 years ago

Is Mahama okay? What has Iran done for Ghana in the past 20years in terms of development? Can somebody tell me lies please. What is Mahama's agenda for his first term of office? Nothing? Oh goodness me!

• Abeiku - London 11 years ago

Agriculture ... Health and Education ? How come we don't see no improvement in these areas especially Education and Health when it comes to the most unfortunate one's ... i don't think so ... Kids still selling in traffic ins ...

• DustyWanze 11 years ago

Corrupt Mahama only two months! hmmmm asem be dabi

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

Where is NDC and Mahama are taking us to? I mean Ghanaians? Se ye kae oo! Hmmmm asem bi reba.

Ghana wo bi ka paa yie. The end time of Ghana is just around the corner and the world is watching us.

• richard m. 11 years ago

since he started his work there is nothing good that has come out of him.A leader without vision .HE is under a curse.With Lran i'm dissappointed in you¡

• GOOGLE 11 years ago

GOOD NEWS IS THAT' THE FIRST BLACK PRESIDENT OF USA THANKS TO ALLAH BARACK HUSEIN OBAMA YE PEPE NI BA LIKE MAHAMA THE PRESIDENT OF KWAME NKRUMAH'S GHANA ALHAMDU LILLAH.

• Pabro Correa 11 years ago

He wants an alliance with Iran so he can steal more Gold and use private people as cover up.Humm,Ghana must brace itself for more shaddy deals under mahama.

• Kwasi Boateng 11 years ago

why? First Turkey and now Iran? what is it that we really need so urgently from these countries.

• Kofi Asaase Asa--- Mantukwa 11 years ago

President Mahamah, Why are you running so fast?

Where is Ghana heading to?

Do you want to start a fight with The United States Of America and Isreal?

Please stop speeding. Concentrate on confirmation of your positio ...

• GOOGLE 11 years ago

DONT WORRY, BE HAPPY AND THANKFUL TO GOD FOR THE GOOD NEWS

• Nana Yaa Kofi 11 years ago

This Mahama is a Liar and a danger to Ghana.

• no mercy 11 years ago

Zongo ,Zongo with these people,iran,
    stupid Maahama,NDC.

• KUDZ 11 years ago

Ghana should've a good relationship with all countries but, we the people of Ghana don't want Iran influencing our peaceful country, I'm a supporter of Mahama but, not on his decision to aligned Ghana with a country that is u ...

• Frimpong 11 years ago

In fact john mahama is the evilest man i have ever met so upon all the sanctions against iran mahama want to entertaining this evil man to Ghana and pollute northern people to commit suicide bomb in Africa continent.Look wher ...

• anah 11 years ago

If it was UAE or Quatar I would congratulate the move, but why Iran is a Islamist state. Ghana will soon be another Mali.

• anayomi 11 years ago

IRAN TERRORIST COUNTRY THAT HANG POLITICAL OPPONATS IN TOWN SQUERES
    COUNTRY THAT IS BOYCUT BY THE ENTIRE WORLD HUMEN RIGHTS AND CIVIL RIGHTS VIOLATORS WHAT IS GHANA DOING HAVING TIES TO KILLERS AND TERRORIST COUNTRY LIKE IR ...

• Takyi 11 years ago

show me your friend and I will tell you your character!

• Hamidu 11 years ago

Kojovi tsikata representing ghana? Omg Mahama please stop this guy before its too late. Amedeka and Kojo tsikata bad news

• St. Darko 11 years ago

President Mahama, please becareful in dealing with Iran so you do not endanger Ghana's good image with the international community.

• ALHASA MORO 11 years ago

GHANAIAN MUST WAKE UP, MAHAMA IS TAKING GHANA TO A DIFFERENT DIRECTION. MORE THAN SERIOUS. MAY GOD HELP DELIVER US FROM THE HANDS OF JOHN MAHAMA CORRUPTION ADMINISTRATION

• Mankind 11 years ago

This guy called TerriblY Specific. May someone tell us what kind of baby formula his mother fed him? I guess it was shit mixed with urine and pig period!! This guy is a moron!!

• Liberian 11 years ago

Iran, a country that abuses it's own people. The UN last yr. overwhelmingly voted to condemn the Iranian govt for serious ongoing human rights violations. This is a country that's an enthusiastic executioner. There are consta ...

• American 11 years ago

Good point about the abusive nature of Iranian governance.

Ghana already has ties to an abusive authoritarian country -- China. But the Chinese don't export terrorism and religious cults to the nations they engage in trade ...

• American 11 years ago

I had suspected an alliance with Iran as soon as the trip to Turkey had been planned. I guess state visits to Syria and Pakistan had to wait.

I have seldom complained about the course of Ghanian government, except for the ...

• Kwesi 11 years ago

We should all send emails to Mahama to stop him from this Iran talk. I am not NPP or NDC. Ghana should focus on planning for development, and should not get itself caught in Iran's dangerous international hot spot. I work in ...

Pathetic minds!!!.America and her allies hate Iran so Ghana too should hate Iran and keep her at arms length.What type of thinking is this.No doubt we are are stiill been enslaved and dictated to as a nation.We have become th ...

• Jill 11 years ago

Please do your research on Iran before you open your mouth. It's a known fact that Iran supports & fund terrorist activities, and the mass murders of it citizens is well written. This has nothing to do with Ghana being a pupp ...

Is America and her allies not supporting Al-Qaeda in Syria?Is Al-Qaeda not braNded a terrorist group by the West?By The way America is the number one terrorist nation in the world.AMERICA ENCOURAGED AND SUPPORTED TERRORISM IN ...

• anayomi 11 years ago

just like mahama

• Jato Rawlings 11 years ago

So Mahama supports the Iranias for holding Americans hostages.

• KOFORIDUA Flowers (fr) 11 years ago

THIS MAHAMA MAN SHOULD BE CALLED TO ATTENTION. DOES HE KNOW THE CONSEQUENCIES OF WHAT HE IS FOSTERING?CARETAKER MAHAMA IS HEADING TOWARDS AN OPPOSITE DIRECTION. or HE IS TRYING TO LEAVE A DANGEROUS LEGACY TO NANA ADDO AND HIS ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 11 years ago

Good move Mr. president, Nuff respect to you.

• ghanaba 11 years ago

dear president iran and north korea are the current enemies of the world. take it easy. you have another 3 years to see how things go. islam or no islam nothing exemplary has come out. so far so good. stay alive for the dogs ...

• Hazor 11 years ago

Folks this gold saga is becoming very interesting. kojo Tsikata travel to Iran without any media announcement is a great shock and he should be included in Mahama gold sada.Mahama sent Kojo Tsikata to lay the ground work for ...

• Makpo 11 years ago

They are brave, courageous, intelligent, and kind. They have built a clinic and provided ambulances for Ghanaians. Thanks Iran and may God protect you from imperialist enemies!

• AKULAKU 11 years ago

You are on wrong path: leading us to distruction.Mahama.

• Iranian funds promote ISLAMISM 11 years ago

Why Iran? There are several peripheral states in the ASEAN who could be a model for out next step in development.

Why Iran? Yes the West are hypocritical in its dealings with Africa and LDCs but is Iran the alternative? Ti ...

• Marianne 11 years ago

The westerns countries have to set conditions otherwise all the aid money would be chopped by Ghanaman.