You are here: HomeNews2013 02 04Article 264050

Rejection of Chieftaincy Minister is a human right abuse - Amnesty International

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Jason 11 years ago

With all respect, do these chiefs think that they are kings? Even Jesus, the Lord himself interacted with such people.

Who on the earth are you to discriminate and feel better than any human? Ghana is so backwarded and stu ...

• mawusi 11 years ago

You just took the words out of my mouth. Those block headed chiefs can go to hell.

• MATHS @MARS 11 years ago

I have a problem with a visibly impaired person being given such a challenging assignment. Is he the only one in Ghana that can hold that post? If not why not give it to another one who has all the senses and organs working n ...

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

PREPOSTEROUS PARADOX

• HKA Toronto 11 years ago

The word is A DISABLED MAN or A PERSON WITH A DISABILITY. "Physically challenged" is dehumanizing!

• LARYEAH 11 years ago

This is Akan dirty backward culture which we have to destroy this 21st century Ghana

• OZA 11 years ago

Jesus, the King of Kings saw the poor and the disabled and sometimes wept!. Who and what do these backward traditional chiefs think they are. President Mills without his thick eye glasses was almost blind. Would these chiefs ...

• Jason 11 years ago

As long as the person is qualified...disable or not..he or she should get the job.

People should deal with it and stop living in stoneage..that is way Ghana is not going forward...some people in Ghana doesn't seem to get w ...

• Nii Teiko 11 years ago

Jason it is you doesnt seem to know what development means. I do not know what level of education you have reached or if you have ever worked in your lifetime but (educational)qualifications is definitely not the only standar ...

• Nii Teiko 11 years ago

From Nana Oye Lithur to Amnesty International. When will these NGO's hanging on to foreign financial strings and instruction, leave us alone to govern our own country? They should go back to their countries of origin and take ...

• Boateng 11 years ago

Nii, what you have just described tells of systemic failure and has nothing then to do with visual impairment. I still believe the situation here is about the fear of the unknown or archaic tradition. We have to get over ...

• things falling in line 11 years ago

THE PRESIDENT OFFICE SHOULD ACT APPRORIATELY TO MAINTAIN THE INTERGRITY OF THE HONORABLE DOCTOR.

• kwame ghanaba 11 years ago

Sometimes i feel ashamed of the way people who called themselves university graduates write on this site.How can u write: "you doesn't seem to know"?people misuse verbs,tenses and vocabularies in senteces.eg,been and being ,m ...

• Boateng 11 years ago

Brother MATHS @ MASS, I have followed your comments on this site and I do agree with most of your comments but this time I totally disagree with your comment. There is always the first time. We should give this Dr. a chan ...

• kobbydoe 11 years ago

God bless u Boateng

• kobbydoe 11 years ago

It is soo sad to speak against God"s creature

• LEVI 11 years ago

"FOR LACK OF KNOWLEDGE MY PEOPLE PERISH" SAYS THE HOLY BOOK-BIBLE. MY FRIEND, DISABILITY IS NOT INABILITY; FOR SOMEONE MAY NOT HAVE EYES TO SEE, NONETHELESS MIGHT HAVE SUBTLE MIND AND CAN PERFORM BETTER THAN A "LASER-EYED" PE ...

• Kobby 11 years ago

When i was in Aggrey Memorial School, our Board Chairman was a blind Rev Minister. He executed his role very well.

• Ibrahim Alah 11 years ago

He is not the only one, but it has happened in New York (David Paterson, 2008-2010) and in Arkansas (Bob C. Riley, for only 11 days). And David Paterson did a good job. That is even in the greatest country on earth when it c ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 11 years ago

Give the guy a table or office job at the Castle. How is he going to move around at a durbar or festival - led by a kid holding the tip of a stick and the minister holding the other end. Listen guys that is lalasulala ministe ...

• Boateng 11 years ago

You do not know much about the blind. How have they walked all over places they have been to in this World? Henry has walked and traveled places without help. He traveled to and fro walked on streets he had never been t ...

• Kobby 11 years ago

Mr. President God bless you. I'm hearing impaired myself due to cerebro-spinal meningitis when i was 15 years. That was in 1995. By God's grace I have been able to attend leading schools and universities in Ghana upto the pos ...

• Banga na Soko 11 years ago

Jason when people are talking,keep MUTE and take seed from it. Tell me where in the Bible have you read that an appointment was given to visually impaired person. Your president is out of touch. He is incapable of ruling ...

• Pito Brewer 11 years ago

The ciefs must be mentally-challenged. That is the only plausible reason for their rejection of Dr. Dannaa.

• Nana Bawuah 11 years ago

Yes, some of them are Kings. Jesus is not our lord, we Akan worship Nyame/Nyankopon, which our jewish foreparents also referred to as "Jahwe".

According to Akan tradition anyone, who contests to occupy an Akan stool must b ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 11 years ago

The job description of all the Ministers and their Deputies should be published so that people could get a sense of what their job entail.

• John,Tema 11 years ago

We're always talking about human right, do we really understand it?What about the millions of Ghanaians who cannot get food to eat or a place to sleep?We only talk about human right when somebody wants a position and make mon ...

• ATAA AYI MAHAMA 11 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS NOTORIOUS AFARI GYAN HAVE DISGRACED TO DEMOCRACY,WHAT MOST SOCIALIST COUNTRIES ARE ASKING FROM GHANA'S ESPERIENCE IS,IS THERE A TRUE GOVERNMENT OF THE PEOPLE AND GOVERNMENT BY THE PEOPLE IN A DEMOCRATIC WORLD ...

• KWEKU 11 years ago

Majority of chiefs are still illiterate

• Adom Boakye 11 years ago

21st Century Ghana! Jehovah, mercy! The world is not waiting for Ghana. Is Dr. Danaa competent and qualified?Culture and tradition can not and must not hold Ghana to ransom. Wake Ghana up!

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

then you have him , is it human rights abuse if you refuse to take a blind man as your pilot ? before making such statements perhaps a better perception of the situation will enable you to understand better

• Luther king 11 years ago

massa, thhis is cheap. in the example u sited, the disability is such that the person cant perform. but in the case of the minister designate, he has a phd and can become a minister.

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Luther King you want to say that because this chap has a Phd alone, he can do the job in spite of the fact that he is completely blind? We have numerous Phd holders in this country and I would like you to come back and tell u ...

• Boateng 11 years ago

Dr. Danaa was the Director of Research at the Ministry of Chieftaincy and Culture. Could he do his job over there? By the way, Henry is not one of the cheap Phd fellers you are describing. Nothing was handed over to hi ...

• Boateng 11 years ago

Apples and oranges? A pilot is required to see. Is the minister of Chieftancy required to see? Do not get me wrong, this is not a smart question.

• ko 11 years ago

This reporter from city fm is doing a great disservice to the disabled population by describing them as physically challenged.Don't you find such description insulting?The right adjective acceptable worldwide is the disabled ...

• Luther king 11 years ago

if a visually impaired man has overcome his disability to achieve a phd, all those illiterate chiefs shh be ashamed of themselves. they cant achieve anything on their own except selling community lands and spending royalties ...

• DONDOLIACID 11 years ago

Stupid chiefs should fuck off. If somebody cant see with his or eyes dont mean blind.
    Seidu is call Danaa ( chief ) Naa means chief) he was born to and name as a chief in upper west region of ghana.
    Any stupid chief who th ...

• niigbese 11 years ago

IT IS UNFORTUNATE THE DEGREE TO WHICH LEADERSHIP IN GHANA HAS BEEN REDUCED.

• Boateng 11 years ago

Man, you have ACID Mouth indeed. Yes, I know Henry he was my mate some years back, he is more capable than people can imagine!

• 1907 11 years ago

We have to let those stupid chiefs know. Snr Boat, nice comment.

In the Akan tradition, no one is born to occupy any stool. In the Akan system we do not operate a system of primogeniture, where the heir to throne is known. Like the British crown, where the first son becomes automatically h ...

• Osei Yao 11 years ago

SHALLOW SOCIOLOGIST. DELVE A LITTLE DEEPER.

• tHE sHAKARA 11 years ago

There are clear differences between a chief, and a minister: The first instance is, that a chief sits on a traditional sacred stool, or skin, but a minister does not. Another instance is that, the chief rules, but the minis ...

• WA LIMAN 11 years ago

He is our son and we made him chief. Danaa is our chief. Naa means a chief. Any bastard who thinks our chief is not a chief, his chief is not a chief.

"The other instance is that the chief is the over all head of the land, but the minister is not. "

No, the ohemaa is the owner of the state or town, the ohene only rules on her behalf. Secondly, absolute nonesense, that th ...

• Honesty - the best policy! 11 years ago

The man and the President must be applauded for their courage and wisdom. the ugly noises will only remain noises.Ghana shall move forward in tandem with the progrssive world.

• Ross 11 years ago

If the President consulted the chiefs on council of State then he did the right thing as the constitution requires.
    He was already serving the chiefs in the National House Of Chiefs.
    Any custom that dehumanizes must be abol ...

• Appletus 11 years ago

\what is wrong with Dr Dannaa becoming the minister even if he is visually impaired? How many chiefs have PhDs? Stupid chiefs. Do they even have sense apart from drinking schnapps, apeteshie. Tell that idiot chief to go back ...

• william 11 years ago

Compile list of such feudally backward chiefs and circulate widely if they insist. tHEY SHOULD BE SHAMED OUT OF THEIR DECIDEDLY RETROGRESSIVE STANCE.In the 21st century some people can still live in the past darkness despite ...

• JB 11 years ago

THE B/A CHIEF IS ONE OF THE USELESS CHIEFS IN THE COUNTRY WHO REFUSE TO SEE THE LIGHT.THEY SHD BE LEFT TO ROT AT THEIR VILLAGES SELLING LANDS TO MULTIPLE BUYERS AND FUCKING SMALL GIRLS.

• skotsman 11 years ago

I told Ghanaians that they stand to destroy the nation if they voted Mahama into power. The man knows no tradition and culture. He used his deceitful tongue to convince you people to vote for him. Now he is stealing your gold ...

• SAY IT LOUD 11 years ago

Too bad most Ghanaians do not share your primitive views. So you can continue to rot in your backwardness. SHAME ON YOU with a million exclamations

• Boateng 11 years ago

You want to live by your traditions then you need to tell the chiefs to go back to the live in "KYENKYEN"! You want to live by your traditions? Then the chiefs will continue to sleep with hundreds of teenage girls condemned ...

• Prosper 11 years ago

Chiefs that are not impaired, physically able, what are they doing in Ghana that a physically challenged chief cannot do? At least, I know one thing he cannot do; impossible for him to decorate himself with royal regalia and ...

• Kofi Asaase Asa--- Mantukwa 11 years ago

Can you substantiate your claim? Give at least, one example of an impaired chief?

Chieftancy is an august institution which is based on traditional beliefs in taboos, norms and superstitions.
    There is no logic or scientific basis or hypothesis for such traditional beliefs.

It is therefore rational and ...

• Proud Pepeman. 11 years ago

The queen of England interacts with blind people without difficulty. Are our chiefs better than her? After all the british used to rule over all of Ghana including our chiefs. This guy is more intelligent than all those chief ...

• Adwoa Peadzeyei,NY 11 years ago

The rejection of the chieftancy minister in the name of customs and tradition is plain discrimination and cruelty.It is a result of our cold heartedness towards the disabled in our society.I believe that in every situation,we ...

• SHALOM 11 years ago

This is a response to the appeal by the diabled persons in Ghana for recognition. The President's promise of all-inclusive government is therefore recognizing the disabled. It is rather unfortunate that that minister was desi ...

• Boateng 11 years ago

Of Course some people are also not happy with Mahama being the president! All cannot be happy at the same time. Do not mind these guys that are protesting. Let us break the ground and move on. They can stay with their ...

• kobbydoe 11 years ago

Where in the Bible can we difine this

• Joe 11 years ago

This is the second time Mahama is being compelled against the nomination of his ministers; the first one was Nana Oye Lutor which Mahama failed to listen to conscience and have her confirmed. Now it is the turn of the chiefs ...

• Boateng 11 years ago

Forget this tradition that is archaic and come into civilization, Ghana!

• Duke 11 years ago

Mr Prez, u r absolutely right in appointing anyone you deem fit to any position in your govt. but please respect tradition. Do not railroad potential controversy-stirring persons into office in disregard of our core values. T ...

• joyfulness 11 years ago

I cant believe you just wrote this. May the almighty God forgive you. By the grace of God Danaa would be approved, and your primitive chiefs can accept him or forever perish in their so-call tradition.

If Danaa is approved he will live in an Island. No Chief will admit or accept him into his palace.

What about that? Would it not be a frustration to him?

He should be appointed as Minister of public affairs.

• Chikay 11 years ago

Is the chieftancy institution even relevant in our modery dispensation???

• Paa nii 11 years ago

Which one of the local tradition is moving Ghana foward?

• Wunbenkpang 11 years ago

It is even suprising to hear that, disable people don't enter certain palaces. What a backward culture! If a disable person can't enter a palace where else will they be able to enter. Palaces are places for everybody, esp. th ...

• Abudu i adam 11 years ago

Distant relativew of Dr Daduga - Chief Eduucation officer of Wallaa Traditional Council from 1950 - late 1960 he hails from Dusie .

An intellectual with vast amount of Ghana's hidden chieftaincy artifacts with imperial br ...

• Oppong Kyekyeku 11 years ago

This is an outmoded tradition that can't stand a test of time. A physically challenged person can now be installed as a chief if we want to be modern.Now Otomfo Osei Tutu II wears suit and speak english at public gatherings a ...

• kojo 11 years ago

I support the call by certain chief (s) in Ghana that it is against custom, and indeed a taboo, to appoint a physically impaired person (a blind man)to supervise the noble institution of chieftaincy in Ghana as a Minister and ...

• Joseph cudjoe 11 years ago

Why ? In this modern world

• Richard Boateng 11 years ago

If that Oye Lithur is fit to be a minister, then i can't see why this man can't. Who said blind people can't run a ministry? Fuck all this chiefs, JJ should have eradicated them all.

• Abena 11 years ago

This is a clear human rights issue..guess it is now time for global laws to take into consideration local or customary laws....this is one of the major tensions within human right

• Stephen Gyan, Kumasi 11 years ago

DR.Seidu Daanaa is physically challenged but the Seikwa chief is intellectually challenged. Who then is more capable of contributing to national development.His myopic and disabled intellect is preventing him from researching ...

• NANA KWADWO ADUSEI 11 years ago

Sir ,this job is gonna be Uncomfortable to him .Embarassment to his family .Non Cooperation to his staff .Give him a job where it would be less controversial .For example ,a Minister for the Physically Challenged .I hope that ...

• Roger 11 years ago

GHANA NEEDS TO GROW UP!! BLIND DOES NOT MEAN BRAINLESS.

• owoahene 11 years ago

We are all sinners and have no chance to be in front of the thrown of Heaven but now bcos of Jesus we are boldly go to thrown of heaven.
    some aspect of our culture need to be advance and other need to preserved. being blind ...