Kenya and Ghana in row over top WTO job

Read Comments Comments (73)

• ui 11 years ago

good luck

• KOLA, INSIDE LONDON. 11 years ago

and good for Ghana.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

WHILST NPP SPENT TIME AND WASTE HUMAN RESOURCES LITIGATING IN THE SUPREME COURT. I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY ASANTE-AKYEMS TAKE PRIDE IN LITIGATIONS. THEY FEEL TOO PROUD ABOUT IT BUT THEN IT IS HIGHLY RETROGRESSIVE AND AN IGN ...

• Gorfrey 11 years ago

No tribalism please. We need more tribalism police on this site; lest we would be divided, with foreigners and their Ghanaian agent, including the NDC and NPP, exploiting us.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

Be realistic. Asante-Akyems are professional litigants and they take pride in it. I have lived with them. they would spend all their time litigating instead of cleaning up their own backyard. ANYWAY, GHANA IS MOVING FORWARD W ...

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED 11 years ago

PLS DEAR GHANAIANS I KNOW,WE HAVE TO TALK POLITICS NO MATTER WHICH PARTY YOU BELONG TO..YOU CAN CALL THEM SO MANY NAMES BUT PLS NOT ..TRIBAL AND FAMILY INSULTS THAT DOESNT BELONGS TO POLITICS....ANY POLITICIANS DESERVE STRAIG ...

• JUSTMAN 11 years ago

Is not enough to say you are AU choice.This is feeling of the post belongs to me has become too deeply rooted in these NPP people.
    The kenya lady was straight forward about her vision.Alan why can't you also atate your viasi ...

• Dantankwa 11 years ago

Justman, I am sure Alan must have spelled out his vision to earn AU's endorsement. I see clear bias in this reportage. It gives an overview of the skills and competence of the Kenyan candidate but failed to do the same on Ala ...

• william 11 years ago

There is no row between Ghana and KENYA! tHERE IS A BREAK FROM AFRICAN SOLIDARITY AND ELECTION STRATEGY DISCIPLINE BY THOSE WHO CHOOSE TO COMPETE ALONGSIDE THE AU-SPONSORED CANDIDATE.A sad commentary on African discipline!Rid ...

• Evans 11 years ago

What can this Russian -trained lawyer do ... just going to waste Africa's chance for nothing ...

• Ridiclous 11 years ago

I am a strong supporter of NDC but Alan go go go.As for this to hell with my support of NDC.I say Alan go
    go! Go for the victory.Show them that you are a proud Ghanaian

• Two Legge 11 years ago

saayooo, onukpa begyen lo?

• Amen 11 years ago

This race is between Agadas and Bamako

• Frimpong 11 years ago

I think the other one will surely win. The one facing the judge. Yes that one.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

If AU is supporting Allan's candidacy is Kenya supporting her national's candidacy? If that is the case, why couldn't AU persuade Kenya to tow the AU line? Again, why did Ghana and Kenya not come to an agreement to support on ...

• william 11 years ago

If the country insists the AU cannot compel it! A reflection ofthe state of AFRICAN SOLIDARITY AND STRATEGIC DISCIPLINE!

• ' and Jesus wept ' 11 years ago

I think 'Go Ahead' will win even though 'Rely on Me'and 'The Best' are also in the race.

• KWAKU MENSAH AZAY 11 years ago

ALAN CASH ALL THE WAY.I WISH HIM A SUCCESS.

• Yo man 11 years ago

Abi Alan Cash,this one no bi cash matter.The woman go lick you well,na Keyna woman,i don see them all.Any way good luck,

• Yeoman 11 years ago

African elites are so delusional. We contribute about 3 percent to world output and we want to manage such an important organization to world capitalists. We are so full of it.

• Ondin 11 years ago

Yeoman, are you talking about Annan?

• Yaa Rose 11 years ago

God is certainly with you Mr.

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 11 years ago

ALAN IT'S YOURS HANDS DOWN. GOD BLESS YOU!

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 11 years ago

Alan will be the right choice for the WTO job.My fear however is the world's obsession with gender promotion in favour of women.I wish Alan all the best.

• MUGU YARO 11 years ago

I have the same feeling. Allan is the better of the two but .... gender promotion!

• beshte 11 years ago

Come on seriously that all you can say? gender. The lady is a lawyer + her job experience that doesnt count? Like someone said its a job application let noth of them fight for it. Some folks look down on women for silly reas ...

• RICHARD 11 years ago

As much as I am a Ghanaian and want the best for my fellow Ghanaman, I am afraid it may go the way of the lady. I also think that the woman has a better chance than Alan given her experience with UN and gender balance will fa ...

• Minenken Piss 11 years ago

Am a Ghanaian, but I know Amina very well and she has the qualification and qualities to head the WTO. So my vote goes for....does my vote count?

• AFARI GYAN 11 years ago

Minenken,no ur vote won't count according to CI 70 something. No verification, no vote period.

• BENJAMIN TAKUM 11 years ago

THE ALMIGHTY JAH IS ON YOUR SIDE SO NO FEARS....!!!!!

• Adama d'Gharty, UK 11 years ago

As I see the situation arising here it hardly makes any difference who carries the WTO torch on the continent of Africa, Kenya or Ghana, but if the Kenyan candidate is bent on taking the position so badly then, Alan by all me ...

• AZU NARH 11 years ago

FOR SURE MS MOHAMMED WILL GET THE JOB;ALLAN PLEASE FOCUS AT HOME TO TAKE OUT THAT FOLIH GHANA DRAMANI IN 2016.

• KOO-SWISS 11 years ago

ALAN WILL LOOSE;

HE IS THE NEST PRESIDENT OF GHANA

• Lt. Col. Obiri Yeboah(rtd) 11 years ago

I'm anti-NPP but Alan cash is reasonable person and do not subscribe to the all-die-be-die nonsense, therefore my votes and prayers go to him. I hope and pray he becomes a good president one day for Ghana. I want no dwarf in ...

• Ross 11 years ago

Both must try it out. It's a job application.

• AMINA YUTONG 11 years ago

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Kyeremanteng

Read Alan's profile and compare it to the anaemic one of Amina.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amina_Mohamed

• Ross 11 years ago

Mahama sails through 2016 with Konadu as new electoral commission Chair.

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

unbelievable , more tricks and impressive hogwash for the illiterate fools to think something serious is going on . so you ndc what did you do for 20 years with jj and also the last 4 years? you just confirmed we are so far a ...

• truth 11 years ago

What type of talk is this 20years etc?

• SASABONSAM 11 years ago

The same old story since the days of Nkrumah, they are always in the way of progress. When OAU was meeting they were in the US and the Ivory Coast was in France. When Ghana was learning to walk on her own two feet they were l ...

• Akosua Faibille 11 years ago

She is a devil.

• nana oye,usa 11 years ago

good luck MR ALLAN

• IDEY BE KE KE 11 years ago

IGO BE KEKE-A GHANANAIN DIRECTOR OF THE WTO.that woman cant STOP U!!!

Son of KWAME NKRUMAH go go and go for the ultimate.
    The NATION'S BLACK STAR SPIRIT IS BEHIND U.

U RE THERE!!!

• The same 11 years ago

If Allan lose let kuffur go to the ICC.

• Nima 11 years ago

Did Kenya find this lady in Ethiopia

• INNOCENT yum yum 11 years ago

she is a somali-kenyan..

• KOFI NUA 11 years ago

NOT ALL AFRICANS ARE BLACK-SKINNED. MILLIONS OF AFRICANS HAVE HER SKIN COLOR.

• ekow 11 years ago

I know amina...she drives youtung bus with MTN..Mike Teye Nyaunu as her mate...lol

• beshte 11 years ago

As she said,"The procedures are not intended for selection, but election purposes" So i say let her fight with the Ghanaian. That's democracy. May the best candidate win.
    Someone said she looks Ethiopian. For your info Kenya ...

• RINGO 11 years ago

Competing with a BEAUTIFUL and ATTRACTIVE lady who is currently UN assistant Secetary-General is an uphill task.Goodluck anyway,Allan

Kenyans are black. I mean tar black like charcoal and they are Africans. This molato Amina, only heaven knows where she is from.

Who goes to university of Kiev and thinks he or she too belongs?

Just read Alan's profil ...

• Nii 11 years ago

I am a strong Allan supporter but seriously, anybody with a brain will see that the woman is highly qualified - did you not see her profile? I do object to what Kenya is doing but attacking her with respect to her q ualificat ...

• STOP BEING A JERK 11 years ago

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Kyeremanteng

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amina_Mohamed

• ' and Jesus wept ' 11 years ago

Motherland-Kenya or Ghana-The light of Africa?

• Nkwansa 11 years ago

The democratic credentials of Kenya is not anything to write home about. This therefore should o against it's candidate.

• RINGO 11 years ago

Which organisation should present a candidate? Is it the eight-member East African body-IGAD or OAU

• Xxx 11 years ago

that was a good question.

Inter-Governmental Authority for Development (Igad)is an Eastern Africa org representing 8 countries.

• nana 11 years ago

oh alan so now you see how the world is?instead of supporting nana addo to win the election,your faction were dragging their feet and some were sabotaging nana addo.you see,its now your turn for a position and we shall see.do ...

• oldtimo 11 years ago

It is not enough to give the AU the mandate to choose who represents Africa in Trade or any business for the Continent. Ms. Mohammed has a better resume for the leadership row than Mr. Kyeremanten's failure to tell readers ...

• Oh Africa! 11 years ago

True! But, who is doing the reporting? And for what effect? Did you see the picture of Alan that was presented? Seems worked on to give a very negative first sight effect!! Alan is a lawyer just like the woman, and more impre ...

Every continent has a vested interest and it is in order that Africa present a united front. You just don't know how things work at such international levels and that is a betrayal of how dumb you are.

• Damani Kariku Tendana.Walibie.US 11 years ago

Ghanaians ! Let's pray for our own Allan to top the Kenyan, our african sister. For, Allan is our own. We thank AU. They have made an excellent choice.Indeed, Ghana is the gate way to Africa.Amina! step down , you are trying ...

• Tete - Abofra 11 years ago

Mark my words. It is going to be like the way the world bank president was selected....the insiders know that. Everyone thought the Nigerian woman was going to get the world bank president position but what happenned?

• Maame ESi 11 years ago

I think Ghana will win because l came from Ghana

Who goes to university in Kiev?

• Hebert, Sweden 11 years ago

Mina Yutong, what do you mean? Where did you studied. Some of you Ghanaians just open your mouth and pronounce rubbish,with primitivity. Did you read her carreer? Please she is more qualified in terms of UNO working requireme ...

Inter-Governmental Authority for Development (Igad)is a Eastern Africa's equivalent of West Africa's ECOWAS.

The story was written by ALLAN ODHIAMBO in Nairobi and the email used is aodhiambo@ke.nationmedia.com

Ironical ...

• K.B 11 years ago

Alan will u resign from WTO when NPP nominate you as the flag bearer for 2016 election?

• Paa kwesi (Holland) 11 years ago

Do u need powerful spiritual help? I know of a very very powerful young lady name Queen who has rescue me from hell, poverty nd shame. Nd has made me very very rich nd powerful. Wats ur problem? Name it nd Queen will solve al ...

• TRUTH 11 years ago

KWADWO DONT WORRY EVEN IF YOU LOOSE THE NPP WILL FILE A SUIT AT THE COURT AND CHALLENGE AND IT WILL DRAG FOR YEARS SO THAT THE WOMAN TOO CAN NOT A RECOGNISED CANDIDATE.

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

TERRIBLY SPECIFIC I AM HAPPY YOU HAVE NOW REALISED THAT NPP FALL BACKS IS TRIBALISM.CONTINUE GIVEN POSITIVE IDEAS

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

I HAVE CLOSELY WATCHED YOUR COMMENTS AND THIS TIME YOU BEEN A GOOD CITIZEN.NPP WASTE MUCH TIME ON DISPUTES AND TRIBALISM CONCEPTS