You are here: HomeNews2013 01 31Article 263711

Bui Dam 97 per cent complete

Read Comments Comments (66)

• THEO 11 years ago

How much have we paid Asiedu Nketiah block factory, we want to know.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

WE WANT TO KNOW THIS FIRST? ONLY GOD KNOWS HOW MUCH KICKBACKS KUFFOUR IS STILL RECEIVING FORM THIS PROJECT BEING AN ASANTE. ASANTES WILL NEVER LET MONEY GO FREE. DIRTY, GET-RICH-QUICK BOYS.NKRUMAH, GREAT AS HE WAS, NEVER PICK ...

• THEO 11 years ago

Dove; A Town Where It Is A Taboo To Menstruate, Give Birth And Bury The Dead

It is a taboo for women to give birth to babies or even menstruate in Dove, a town in the Mafi Traditional Area of the Central Tongu District.

• Be Bold 11 years ago

They find it so difficult to accept that k4 did a lot of good for Ghana. Just a simple thank you is hard for NDC to say.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

HALF OF THE COST OF THIS DAM IS IN ASIEDU PALM WINE TAPPERS POCKET! WHY DO YOU THINK HE IS DOING EVERYTHING TO STAY IN POWER?

NANA ADDO IS FUCKEN BROKE, WORST THAN CHURCH MOUSE. OTHERWISE HE WON'T GO TO COURT TO SHADOW BOX.

• JATO 11 years ago

NDC IS NOW PROPERTY OWNING POLITICAL PARTY.

• SHAMO 11 years ago

OBOY SO CHOPING GHANA MONEY IS BETTER THAN SOMEBODY DOING HIS PRIVATE COCAIN BUSSINESS? HAHAHAHA NO WONDER YOU WILL 4EVER REMAIN IN YOUR CAGE YOU CALL A VILLAGE! MONKEY BROTHER

IF ONE OPERATES HIS OWN BUSINESS AND MAKES CLEAN MONEY IT IS VERY GOOD. IN OUR PART OF THE WORLD A DRUG BARON IS MOST DISPISED, NOT RESPECT AND VOTERS RUN AWAY FROM HIM WHEN THEY SEE YOU COMING COS YOU ARE CONSIDERED A DANGER ...

• PAA NII 11 years ago

Try to RESERACHING/DISPISED your brain before your brains starts to rot from all that festering stagnation and terribly cognitive dysfunction.

You're just another internet-addicted idiot suffering from diarrhea of the mout ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

TEERIBLY STUPID SO CHOPPING A NATION'S MONEY WILL LET VOTERS EMBRACE YOU AND VOTE FOR YOU? HAHAHAHAHAHA...! YOU SEE NDC LIFE? KWASEA LIKE THIS VOTING IN GHANA! WE HAVE A BIG PROBLEM

• Sebastian Parker 11 years ago

THIS IS COMPLETE ILLITERACY!! WAS IT ASIEDU NKETIAH WHO MANAGES THE BUI PROJECT? FOOLISH BOY!! LOOK FOR SOMETHING BETTER TO WRITE!!!

• NDC FOOOLS 11 years ago

TALKING ABOUT ILLITERACY? HAHAHAHA.. OFUI LIKE YOU DONT EVEN KNOW ASIEDU NKETIA IS A BOARD MEMBER WHO MANAGES THE BUI DAM? NO WONDER YOU ARE NDC PIG

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

That means the Bui Dam was actually initiated by Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah and NOT the Npp.

In same manner Atta Mills continued with dam project so did Kuffuor continued with what Kwame Nkrumah initiated with the drawings on ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

so did kuffuor continue NOT continued.

• YOU GO KILL ME 11 years ago

"so did Kuffuor continued"

Are you deaf? How long are you going to continue writing your trokosi English?

• Yaovi Michael 11 years ago

Your brain is very hollow and empty. This makes it impossible for you to think deep. Asiedu Nketia used his 'office' (insider dealing) to win a contract to supply blocks to the Project at prohibitive price. Insider dealing is ...

• Nana Tutugyagu-USA 11 years ago

we are all witnessing the good things that can happen to a nation when the nation is lead by competent and visionary peoples. This Dam is one of the bold initiatives NPP took to help the nation and the other good policies th ...

• Terribly SpeCific 11 years ago

NPP was full of wise foresighted politicaians unlike......

• gyan 11 years ago

What was the percentage of work done b/4 NPP left power? SHUT-UP

• remember 11 years ago

Go and ask your evil ewe tribe and Kotoka. They will give you the answers you have been looking for all the time. You heard me right.

• Yaovi Michael 11 years ago

Bravo NPP. We know NDC lack the capacity to initiate and successfully complete any programme eg STX. But when someone initiate and set the schedule plan then they can implement at a higher cost. This is what we call 'Spoon Fe ...

• SHALOM 11 years ago

I is better we extend our appreciation to Ex-President Kuffour for his excellent and bold decision to embark on the execution of the Bui Dam Project during his regime as all previous governments had failed to take a bold lead ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 11 years ago

The delay in the execution of this project bears ample testimony to the enormous damage the 1966 coup of Kotoka and Afrifa,engineered by Busia and supported and financed by the americans[CIA] has done to the development of Gh ...

• MENSAH 11 years ago

JJ RAWLINGS RULED FOR ALNOST 20 YEARS.HE DELAYED IT.

• OSEI ASSIBEY-UNI OF PHOENIX-USA 11 years ago

Well, need I remind you not to tarnish the name and image of General Akwasi Afrifa because when the coup took place, the General wasn't even in Accra!!!.

Gen. Kwasi Kotoka with the help of the CIA, overthrow Dr.Nkrumah!. ...

Well, need I remind you not to tarnish the name and image of General Akwasi Afrifa because when the coup took place, the General wasn't even in Accra!!!.

Gen. Kwasi Kotoka with the help of the CIA, overthrow Dr.Nkrumah!. I ...

• JAMES PEROVER 11 years ago

THANKS TO ALL GHANA GOVTS.WHERE ARE THE HIPPOS? WE NEED MORE MINI DAMS ON THE ANKOBRA,PRA AND TANO RIVERS.
    EX-PRESIDENT KUFFOUR'S AND ASIEDU NKETIA HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH 97% COMPLETION OF BUI DAM.LET US WRITE GOOD COMMENTS ...

• kojo poku 11 years ago

happy ending. i am happy for all of us. because this is a national asset. it will benefit all ghanaians.

• Odikro 11 years ago

Good to read a "journalism" piece from the Guide.
    Can we expect "Positve" news items from Daily Guide...as a departure from the NPP leadership debacle at the.Supreme Court.
    More importantly,as their contribution in "highlti ...

• Jato Rawlings 11 years ago

Don't forget the dam is being built with Asiedu Nketia's cement blocks

• DECOPA 11 years ago

NPP BOMBED DZORWULU TRANSFORMER

• Boateng 11 years ago

The same Chinise were brought in by Nkrumah to build the Dam, Nkrumah did not only do feasibility studies, the Chinise were actually there to build the Dam with millions of equipment and materials in place when Nkrumah was ov ...

• Fifi Orleans-Lindsay, Surrey England 11 years ago

Spoken like a true patriot. I wish all my compatriots were as well-informed and as magnanimous as you are. Ghana was destined for greatness and this is waht Nkrumah saw all along.

The trouble with his then opponents was t ...

• Ross 11 years ago

One man show, a visionary with bad advisors. RIP.

• GH 11 years ago

Why didn't Rawlings in his 20 years rule build the dam? What about Nkrumah's light, Limann? Nkrumah did not bring any Chinese or any millions of equipment when Nkrumah by the time he was deposed did not have a cent in the n ...

• WOFA KOJO 11 years ago

the USSR,WAS TO BUILD THE DAM IN1966 AND NOT CHINESE OK.

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Boateng, excellent contribution!

Let us all put the interests of our country first above narrow, selfish personal and party political interests.

Our politicians shoould learn to carry on from where others have left off ...

• Sethoo 11 years ago

Longtime Politicians cast their noise ,to hail and run Bui Dam after Dada Nkrumah,overthrown and still Nyenhuhweeee action not words

• KWASHIE ADJAH 11 years ago

WE HAVE KUFUOR BUSES, WE KUFUOR DOLLAR AND NOW KUFUOR DAM.

ALL HAIL KUFUOR AND THE NPP!!!!!!!!!!!
    "DEVELOPMENT IN FREEDOM IN ACTION".

• HONESTNEST GOD IS MY JUDGE 11 years ago

The dam was build with ghanaianas taxpayers money

• FREEMAN 11 years ago

At least for once, a report from this trash newspapaer shows some history.

• Jato Rawlings 11 years ago

How much is Asiedu Nketia's cut in the deal? We know he is supplying the cement blocks even though he is a member of the Board.

• Abena 11 years ago

President Mahama and team relocate the capital city to Kintampo now!

• MB 11 years ago

Does it really matter which political party started this project? Just get it done.

ARE U SERIOUS? THEN WHY DO U VOTE FOR A PARTICULAR PARTY? ASK YOURSELF!!

• Atta K, London 11 years ago

Oow! This writer is not historically balanced. Bui Dam was not initiated and executed by his Execellency Kuffour. It was the brainchild of former President Dr Nkrumah but was abandoned after the 1966 coup. Ex President Kuffou ...

• Balawo President 11 years ago

These thieves in NDC have all become millionaires from the president through Asiedu 'the cat in glasses' Nketia to the foot-soldiers. Ghana is the loser.

• Pa Kodwo 11 years ago

STOP THE HEAVY LIES.

STOP TWISTING HISTORY

WAS BUI DAM INITIATED BY NPP.

THIS WAS A PROJECT STARTED BY NKRUMAH
    AND WAS STOPPED BY THE ARMED CRIMINALS IN MILITARY UNIFORMS,WARRANT OFFICER KOTOKA, CORPORAL AFRIFA AN ...

• BULAALA 11 years ago

Mr. Daily Guide, brilliant revelation. Which government also started the exploration of Oil in Ghana as well?

• MENSAH 11 years ago

If a CHINESE COMPANY can build a dam for GHANA,why did they(CHINESE)GOVMENT engage AMERICAN & CANADIAN ENGINEERS to build their biggest dams in CHINA?
    Chinese know they fall short in many areas but we AFRICANS,being so naive ...

• KOFI KOFI 11 years ago

IT'S A MATTER OF SCALE, DUMB ASS. The Three Gorges Dam on the Yangtze river is the world's largest power station. The project was so big that China couldn't do it alone. That's why the US & Canada were there. The Chinese are ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

WHERE IS OUR TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION, DESPITE THE MANY PUBLIC AND PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES,RESEARCH INSTITUTIONS, BIG TITLES FROM HOME AND ABROAD AND FOR FOREIGNERS TO COME ALWAYS TO US TO DO THE TECHNICAL JOBS FOR US.

YET,I ...

• Emmanuel Obeng 11 years ago

Currently, the economies of the two countries that you mentioned are being controlled by China. 1993 - 2013 is enough years for something better to happen. There is nothing wrong for China to contribute to our development.

• PATAPA BA 11 years ago

The PNDC and NDC were in power for 20 years and could not pull off the construction of the BUI Dam until the NPP came to power. Now the NDC and Asiedu Nketia and Co. are enjoying the fruits of the NPP labor. This shows which ...

• jb 11 years ago

If not already done, the flood path of the dam be cleared of trees so that the lake created by the dam be navigable.

• Isaac Amanor ,USA 11 years ago

That is a very wise advise.Get Chainsaw operators and give them a contract for cutting all trees in the lake area for firewood and charcoal.

• HAILLE SELASSIE 11 years ago

The only presidents who have contributed immensly to Ghana are Nkrumah and Kuffuor.

God bless these two.

Mahama, Start thinking about Ghana instead of your pocket.

• JOJO SEY 11 years ago

If the Chinese are in charge of this project then what is the purpose of the Ghanaian Engineers.We can do this on our own and do not have to depend on foreign company.Its a big shame

• MUGU 11 years ago

GOOD JOB NDC FOR THE CONTINUATION OF AN NPP INITIATED PROJECT.

• Tami 11 years ago

This Asiedu Nketia guy knows what he has done and still doing which is why he is doing everything to stay in power because he knows there is nothing transparent about dealings with this Bui project.He knows he can always sit ...

• Agyen 11 years ago

U and Rawlings stayed in power for 20 good yrs.U never had focus to initiate this all important project.Kuffour started this project and the time frame to complete was until 2010.It took u extra 3yrs to finish this nonesense ...

• Onyame Nipa (Man Of God) USA 11 years ago

AMEN & AMEN

• Sankofa 11 years ago

THe Bui dam vindicates Nkrumah's vision.

Why did it take so long to begin constructing this dam, if the plans had been laid in 1960?

THis is the kind of project we need to provide us with energy.

We urge all concern ...

• Ebo 11 years ago

Very impressive progress by the Chinese. We have a lot to learn from them

• naa 11 years ago

we gave out a government that were building dams to government that are paying judgement debt