You are here: HomeNews2013 01 31Article 263676

Haruna Atta: Why I Voted JM

Read Comments Comments (84)

• Dream Seeker - Nima 11 years ago

Alhaji Haruna Atta are you real? Why are you opening your mouth taliking about tribalism in Ghana? If you're educated you should preach equitable & equalism. We don't care how you voted but please be real...

• GA MAN 11 years ago

Every sound minded Ghanaian will not vote for npp because they are too tribalistic.i could still remember that hopeless krunfuo kuffuor was always on air traveling around the whole globe leaving the job for Aliu Mahama.when t ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 11 years ago

I don't get it, do these idiots who talk about "maltreatment" of Aliu Mahama because he is a Northerner and a Moslem think with their heads on?

To even hint that Aliu should have been given an uncontested free pass to the ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

The NDC would have to explain to Ghanaians how a dead man came to author and sign a letter!

The opening paragraph states, “I came to serve; I have finished my time here on earth and have moved on to everlasting rest and ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

IF YOU FOOLS ARE IN A BUGABUGA PARTY WHERE PREZ CANDIDATE IS IMPOSE ON YOU OUR NPP IS NEVER LIKE THAT! AS FOR NPP A VICE PREZ CANDIDATE IS CHOSING BY THE PREZ CANDITATE... HE WAS NOT VOTED FOR SO TO BE A PREZ CANDIDATE HE HA ...

• MR. FIGURE- OUT 11 years ago

Would Haruna Attah have come out with this useless talks if the elections had been declared in favor of the NPP of which he claim to be a member? Dead men don't talk indeed. Even if this 'true' lies has some element of truth, ...

• charlesey 11 years ago

u are sooooo stupid and u exhibit sense of illiteracy in what u ve said. u sound so tribalistic and full of insults which is one of the features of uneducated people. if he had said something n u think its wrong, u ve to corr ...

• AKONOBA 11 years ago

Haruna Atta is illogical. Just becasue Mahama is a northner and a president then northners voted for Mahama. The police must invite Haruna Atta for his tribalistic utterances which has the potent of inciting ethnic responses. ...

• Patrick Boateng, Assin Foso. 11 years ago

Great response. The riding factor was the absence of any insults but you argued your case beautifully. Keep it up man. Tx

• Kumbi 11 years ago

well lets see.

• KO 11 years ago

HARUNA ATTA IS NOW HUNGRY. NEEDS A JOB FROM MAHAMA

• AKONOBA 11 years ago

The police must invite Haruna Atta for his tribalistic utterances which has the potent of inciting ethnic responses. I have decided to remain silence till the Supreme Court gives the verdict on the the challenge of Mahama leg ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

This sounds like opportunism and an attempt to seek favour from President Mahama for ministerial position. Why is he making public who he voted for and why has he kept quiet over the alleged treated of the late former Vice-Pr ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr 11 years ago

Kofi, he is not looking for a job, he has all the facts. You can also cross check from Dr. Wahab Alhassan, Dr. Haroun Majeed, Cudjoe, the Police/security officers and the gang that was around the late VP. They need to write ...

• Imoro Dawda 11 years ago

.... Rawlings did more development in Ashanti than his own backyard, Volta. If we can eschew this tribal wars and see our leaders as people chosen to serve the people irrespective of whichever region one hail from, and stop t ...

• Birahma 11 years ago

Close associates can confirm how Mr Aliu was so much disturbed about his role being hijacked by powerful forces attached to Mr Kuffour.Is a shame he did not quit that party before his demise

• Nii Sackey 11 years ago

Listen to this Bitter Minority who doesnt't want to work hard through the hierachy to the top but rather want a top position on a silverplatter. Throughout History, the Presidency of a Country has been dominated by the Major ...

• S.Dikaini 11 years ago

There is no smoke without fire,NPP must extinguish the root of their problem else they will keep going to court,court ,court.Alhaji Alieu rest in peace

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

Haruna you are Abigail fool to preach tribalism and religion. Why isn't it because of stomach tribalistHaruna that you voted for your womanizer and thief Jm. Oh god save Ghana

• AKONOBA 11 years ago

How could you be tribalistic and so devisive in your utterances? What is the Peace Coucil doing about this? The police must cause his arrest for inciting chaos on tribaal lines. I have decided to remain silence till the Supre ...

• RED-SOKOTO-GUDARI 11 years ago

If northerners really want to feel part of a party, then I recommend NDC for them. Though I'm NPP, the truth is that we "Akans" will never sit down and allow any northerner to rule Ghana. For us, northerners are not full huma ...

• DD 11 years ago

An animal like dog will not say the things u said. indeed you need counselling and psychologist to treat your sickness that have over power your morality, i have few words for you, be decent, kind and respect others.

• Nii Sackey 11 years ago

Which style and by whom ?

• SHORT 11 years ago

NPP SAW HE WAS SICK AND WOULD NOT LAST ON THE SEAT. THEY WERE RIGHT. IS HE NOT GONE?

• Chief 11 years ago

This can only come from an idiot. So Haruna Atta and Bature want us to believe that when mahama finished serving his term they will automatically make amisah arthur their flag bearer?

• Robert 11 years ago

If what he is saying is trues, how come the NPP got 10 seats in the northern region, which is a gargantuan achievement ever since we started having elections! Its their best performance in the North to date. Another self serv ...

• ATAKORA BEDIAKO 11 years ago

I AM TRULLY SHOCKED THAT HARUNA ATTAH IS TALKING AND BEHAVING THIS WAY.EVERYBODY WHO THOUGHT HE COULD BE FLAG-BEARER WAS GIVEN A LEVEL GROUND TO CONTEST. DID ALIU WANT THE FLAG BEARESHIP ON A SILVER PLATTER? BELIEVE ME, NDC D ...

• Obenfo 11 years ago

I understand V.P Aliu sometime during NPP's term in office walked into a meeting only to find empty chairs without knowing the meeting had been cancelled without his knowledge, that might have been really sad.

Maybe it wa ...

• Baba 11 years ago

Aliu Mahama was a nation builder who did not engage in dirty politics and would not have said a thing, but that does not mean some of us did not see him being badly treated by his own party sadly. Did get it wrong,I am am Ash ...

• FREEMAN 11 years ago

I do respect everyone and I'm a northerner and also NPP, sad to say that utterances and actions within my own NPP tell me that I do not belong there. I do like Ashantis/Akyems but sometimes when I sit with them they forget I' ...

• malam 11 years ago

christians in npp,ndc ,dont like we muslims,my brother u voted 4 jm be
    cos he is your brother, u voted on tribale if u are a real muslim why voting 4 jm a muslim who is now achritian,why do u promote him against allahs sha ...

• Awukugua 11 years ago

Yen akanfoa, yen suro hu....wo kum apim a apim beba. Ghana foa nyinaa ye mmoa.That's who we are. We cleared ewes and took their land, we scared the shit out of Ga's but the white man protected them they would have shit shito ...

• Peter Vanwor 11 years ago

No cat calling. Let peace prevail through our collective prayers. We all are desirous that Ghana excells in these turblant times.

• akan history full of lies 11 years ago

All your history is lies and fabricated, no one capture no one, if u truly believed it, then why not try it now?

• KING 11 years ago

COMPETENCE ALSO COUNTS,HARUNA

• KING 11 years ago

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Is it true that Haruna Atta is married to Nana Konadu's sister?How could they accept him since he's a northerner?How are they treating him since they are Ashantis?For how long have they been married?

• Baffour 11 years ago

Where in the npp constitution has it been stated that the vice president should be given the free ride to stand on challenge? Is a shame that Hurana Atta will say such things. If you voted for Mahama that is your vote but don ...

• inusa 11 years ago

Who would believe you? Why did Aliu not say it whilst alive? Granting that all you are saying is true, is the ndc any better? Did fifi kwettey not say that the time was not ripe for a northerner to rule ghana? Is not an ...

• barbara uk woodgreen 11 years ago

fghzunmkoldfer

• abdl 11 years ago

the time will come

• the offended northerner 11 years ago

IT IS TRUE. THAT MAN ALIU SUFFERED TOO BADLY IN THE HANSD OF THESE OPPORTUNISTS. I WITNESSED IT. I WORKED CLOSELY WITH HIM. NO NOE WILL LIE ON A DEAD PERSON. HE SUFFERED. ASK HIS WIFE.

• alfred 11 years ago

so called journalists/politicians. cheap shots to get what,bread??
    1.prez.and vice have disagreements.
    2.alui competed and lost
    3.no rule says vice has a free run
    4.this Muslim/north 'thing' must stop
    5.vice not a baby ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

Haruna Atta, what do you want to achieve with this tribal shiit? I have respected you so much but with this garbage.....? Unfortunately this clearly underlines why the Ashantes openly call these people Ntafuor to their dispr ...

• Patrick Boateng, Assin Foso. 11 years ago

Good piece from you Nii. I love the gas because they are one of the least tribalistic group in ghana. And you argued your case with distinction wwithout any insults. tx

• SML 11 years ago

Late Vice President Aliu Mahama was not even voted by the northerns when he stood as a candidate for the flag-bearer. It is therefore sad for one to say the NPP party is being trabalistic when indeed the late vice president n ...

• KA AKYIRE 11 years ago

ALL NORTHERNERS SUPPORTING N P P ARE LIKELY TO FACE SAME FAITH. IT IS TIME THEY JOIN THE CONGRESS. NDC IS WHERE THEY CAN BE RECOGNIZED.

• ANIMAL FARM 11 years ago

Haruna Atta has forgotten that politics is about numbers.Northners voted massively for the NDC in the 2000 and 2004 General Elections, eventhough Aliu Mahama was the running mate for the NPP Presidential Candidate.Haruna,what ...

• samuel owusu afriyie 11 years ago

i quite recall haruna atta's days with npp,with nostolgia.he was so passionate and selfless to the cause of npp.again,thinking tht this same person who has now "seen" the light would be a bit logical by also refering to the t ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

I feel and fear for Dr. Mahamudu, instead of him thanking his God for their lose he still thinks he can be a veep. anyway he bought some of the vehicles Nana used for the 2012 campaigning. Aliu would have been better than Mah ...

• ibrahim 11 years ago

One you married Akan.
    two you claim to be Npp
    WHEN DID YOUR IDEOLOGY CHANGE.
    You DAGOMBA FOOL.You think you are a kingpin? Even your so call news pare has no patronage.so who do u think you are.we wouldnt listen to you.Ali ...

• joe dovi 11 years ago

haruna should shart up!,he is looking for appointment if not so he should have made this public before or during the elections and declar his support for JM to boust his chance of winning but not after his election.

• John Musah 11 years ago

This man is justifying his opportunism. You left your party and voted for another presidentail cnadidate. Simple as that.
    Whether the late Vp was maltreated by his party or not is here nor there. What did you say when he was ...

• alosman 11 years ago

have you also be given something small?

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

We Akans will so much love to leave Ghana to you , we are ready to take our gold oil and cocoa and form a country of our own as this marriage called Ghana is on the rocks and more and more people realize it . nothing works ex ...

• GH 11 years ago

kwaaaasea!!! I presume the oil sits in ur mother's pussy (ie. if u were born by a woman), and the investments came from your father's stinking mouth. Not to mention the labour that contributed to the development and extractio ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

well ask the british if that counts for any shit eg nigeria . our money sweet you so you are upset and will not return your idiocy . that is the fact of life see Kazakhstan and Russia , the Russians didnt complain so nor shou ...

• Ebenezer 11 years ago

Mr.Haruna, kindly revisit the constotution of NPP and see how presidential candidate is chosen

• Gall 11 years ago

Take it or leave it. The NPP blew its chance of winning political power in 2008 and beyond away for failing to endorse the late Alj. Aliu Mahama as flagbearer but when Aliu passed on they shed crocodile tears as though they l ...

• Joe 11 years ago

Who cares whom you voted for. Of all what you went through with this NDC thugs, I thought you will learn a lesson fom it.

• Paa Willie 11 years ago

I pity you, Joe for asking such a rhetoric question. You do not care but some of us have cared from 1992. The scales are just falling off the eyes of our compatriots who were so blinded to see that the Akans (the Ashantis & A ...

• Yaw B 11 years ago

Pity yourself because you sound very inferior. Go and find out what happened to Vice Prez Ackaah before you talk nnonsense. Or better ask what happened to Limann because somebody thought a northerner wasn't fit for president. ...

• OAKMAN 11 years ago

Of late, every news coming out Ghana is either carried by some media which can be described as a 'tabloid'; and run by a cohort of a particular political party,which makes it hard for the stomach journalists to report objecti ...

• AGBENYEGA FIAWODZIFIA 11 years ago

HARUNA YOU HAVE DISAPPOINTED ME ONCE AGAIN.IF LATE ALIU COULDN'T CONVINCE THE LITTLE OVER 2,000 DELEGATES OF NPP TO VOTE HIM AS NPP PRES. CAND. IN 2007, HOW CAN HE CONVINCE THE ENTIRE GHANAIAN VOTER POPULATION OF ABOUT 12M TO ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

HARURUNA SPEAKS THE TRUTH. WE ALL AGREE TO THE FACT THAT THE LATE VICE PRESIDENT WAS IGNORED BECAUSE OF BEING A NORTHENER AND A MUSLIM. HE IS FREE NOW FROM HYPOCRICY. MAY HE REST IN PEACE

• ASANTEWA 11 years ago

HE WANTS POSITION.

NO PRINCIPLES.

LOW SELF ESTEEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Balawo President 11 years ago

Yes, after JJ Avaklasu shot the Ewes into limelight in Ghana nobody thought that they would one day give up political power. Now that the Northerners have silenced the Ewes, the Northerners think they should use tribalism to ...

• krupi 11 years ago

A word to the wise if Bawumiah will not learn a lesson from this im wishing him my best of luck with npp
    Now akufo Ado and Jake are draging u to follow them to court as if u ar going to be the next of king in npp I pity for ...

• ASANTEWA 11 years ago

STOP IT(HARUNA)

NPP is made up of a PARTY from the NORTH(HISTORY).

Ashantis/Akans very accomodating.

Example,in Kumasi we have SETTLERS from FANTI,VOLTA,NORTH,NIGERIA,NIGER etc.

WE DO NOT FIGHT AMONG ourselves.

• ato 11 years ago

there is no convention anywhere in the world a vice-presidents automatically succeeds a president after the president has served his/her term. the vp like all others have to subject himself to the primaries, and if he wins, s ...

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

Playing the tribal card in the politics of Ghana and in the NPP, is shameful. I do not think the NPP operates on hegemony. There is no provision in the NPP constitution that suggest a succession to the throne! There is no sec ...

• ama ghana 11 years ago

When haruna accepted a job in k4 government, I wasn't comfortable it. He should have concentrate on his journalism. No wonder Kweku baako says, no politician can buy him.

• HARUNA ATTA IS A HYPOCRIT 11 years ago

IT IS VERY CLEAR TO ALL ANS SUNDRY THAT HARUNA ATTA IS SHAMELESSLY LOOKING FOR A JOB IN THE JOHN MAHAMA ADMINISTRATION. EVER SINCE JOHN MAHAMA WON THE ELECTIONS HE HAS BEEN PARADING THE CORRIDORS OF JOHN MAHAMA AND LOBBYING F ...

HARUNA ATTA IS A HYPOCRIT. HE IS LOOKING FOR JOB IN JOHN´S ADMINISTRATION.
    IT IS VERY CLEAR TO ALL ANS SUNDRY THAT HARUNA ATTA IS SHAMELESSLY LOOKING FOR A JOB IN THE JOHN MAHAMA ADMINISTRATION. EVER SINCE JOHN MAHAMA WON ...

ALIU MAHAMA WAS A BIG HYPOCRIT AND HARUNA ATTA IS A SYCOPHANT.
    IT IS VERY CLEAR TO ALL ANS SUNDRY THAT HARUNA ATTA IS SHAMELESSLY LOOKING FOR A JOB IN THE JOHN MAHAMA ADMINISTRATION. EVER SINCE JOHN MAHAMA WON THE ELECTIONS ...

HARUNA ATTA IS A SYCOPHANT. HE IS NOW HUNGRY AND LOOKING FOR A JOB. THIS SAME MAN DETESTED NDC AND ALL ITS FEATURES WHEN NPP WAS IN POWER. THIS SAME HARUNA ATTA SAW ALL THE BAD THINGS THAT ALIU MAHAMA DID, BUT KEPT HIS SILENC ...

• ADABRAKA 11 years ago

One way of writing of his/her garbage is similar to all.

• BOSS 11 years ago

EVERYTHING YOU SAID IS TRUE. UNTIL THE NPP STOP THAT PRACTICE, THEY WILL FAIL TO BE GHANA PRESIDENT. TREATING PEOPLE FROM NORTH, VOLTA AND GA LIKE SHIT IN FOOLISH AND THEY WILL HAVE IT.
    THANKS Haruna

• JUSTMAN 11 years ago

YOU HAVE EXPOSED YOURSELF.STUPID IDIOT, GOOD FOR NOTHING BROTHER.YOU HAVE MISLED YOUR BROTHER AND DESTROYED HIM FOR EVER. HE IS ALSO STUPID AND NOT DISCERNING BECAUSE OF THE TRAITS OF UNGRATEFULNESS IN HIM. MAY HIS NAME BE WI ...

• Alan k 11 years ago

We should repect all tribal groups in Ghana so that we can live peaceful.Amen

• Eng 11 years ago

What the hell!!!
    This is a bunch of rubbish. May God help Mother Ghana for churning out such tormented souls and idiots like the editor of this stupid newspaper and such tribalistic gullibles such as Harruna Atta.

So it ...

• Amadu 10 years ago

Alhaji Haruna Allah bless you, the NPPs are very extremist when it comes to Islam. urusila who said had it not bcos of free education all northners would have been cow boys. Am very proud to know you are a Muslim.

• Jaween-Sama 9 years ago

Alhaji Atta You are a BIG DISGRACE to northerners following your daily bread and not the truth. How can internal party politics mean maltreatment? Did people not contest a sitting president in you newly found love create loot ...