You are here: HomeNews2013 01 29Article 263540

Election petition: Supreme Court adjourns case to Thursday

Read Comments Comments (101)

• OK 11 years ago

Why is the NPP worried about the discovery process? There is no need to stonewall. Just provide the info and let the process flow!!!!

• ASIEDU NKETIA 11 years ago

Eeeeei MAHAMA,saa de wokura abodin akese paa. Woye okromfo,otorofo, atopahene san ye owudini ka ho. Wakum Atta Mills abedi ade, na kae hu se "SE NIMO ANTUMI WO A OTETE WO NTAMA".Wobere nam kwan so reba.

• DANIEL. 11 years ago

The NPP did not anticipate all of this. In their minds they thought it was going to be a joyous and a jolly ride. But from the look of things it's going to be a long ride full of turbulence. They should fasten their seat belt ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

ITS TIME FOR ALL BURGER (DIASPORANS) TO COME AND FIGHT FOR THEIR COUNTRY GHANA BECAUSE IT IS GETTING OUT OF HANDS! .. NDC HAS VOW NEVER TO ALLOW DIASPORANS TO VOTE... THEREFORE THE TIME IS NOW TO COME HOME AND VOTE NEXT TIME. ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

NPP THOUGHT THEY WOULD HAVE AN EASY RIDE IN COURT. NOW THE DEMANDS FROM EC AND NDC IS REALLY BREAKING NPP MOSQUITO NETS INTO BITS AND PIECES. THESE NPP GUYS ARE BEHAVING LIKE THE PROVERBIAL HE-GOAT WHO CLIMBS ONTO THE ROOFTOP ...

• Ganaba 11 years ago

EASSY RIDE? NOT AT ALL. JUST AS NPP WONT HAVE IT 'WAA WAA' SO IS NDC GOVERNMENT NOT HAVING A 'WAA WAA' PEACE OF MIND. INSIDE THE COURT, EQUAL RIGHTS APPLY, SO I DON'T KNOW WHAT'S FUNNY HERE. YOU WANT THIS FROM ME AND I ALSO W ...

• ALHAJI MOHAMMED 11 years ago

NPP IS FINISHED;FINITO;KAPUTO:::FATIGE::::::::STOP I MEAN;NANA ADDO:::THATS THE FACT;;ONLY THE FACT

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

NPP CALLED THE TUNE...THEY MUST DANCE TO IT TILL THEY DROP DEAD AFTER THE VERDICT HAS BEEN READ IN FAVOUR OF NDC.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Nana Addo is holding Ghana to ransom.

• Bamba saani 11 years ago

it is the law of the land that is holding ghana to ransom. let's change it sgt anani fiadzoe. the alternative, ceremonial president of ghana= president of the national house of chiefs-ksi. the prime minister- majority leader ...

• YAHAYA MOHAMMED 11 years ago

You are not helping Ghanains at all. The truth is that, the court did not accept the request of the president's lawyers. The ruling was 8-1 against the second petitioner(president). Why are not reporting this also ? Shameful ...

• KWASI ABROKWA KYEBI 11 years ago

ou are not helping Ghanains at all. The truth is that, the court did not accept the request of the president's lawyers. The ruling was 8-1 against the second petitioner(president). Why are not reporting this also ? Shameful a ...

• Apepesu 11 years ago

The EC has the original papers so why ask for more just show up in court and prove to the world why the declaration of Mahama as president right

• CTZ 11 years ago

NPP PLS LET THE BACK GONE BE BACK GONE!!!

• My Name 11 years ago

Massa, it is "By gone"

• Kofi Amankwaa London 11 years ago

My name you have made my day.
    "Let back gone be back gone indeed".
    Thanks for the correction. I hope CTZ reads your correction. I can sense your frustration with the grammatical murder.

• Ozymandias 11 years ago

Interesting !

• DAAVI 11 years ago

CTZ,WA BON S3 TOTOBI.

• GHANAian 11 years ago

DAAVI, YOU MAKE ME LAUGH (LAAAAF)!!
    TILL TEARS!! "WA BON S3 TOTOBI"!! GOOD ONE THERE!! THANK YOU FOR MAKING ME LAAAAAAAF!!

• Bumbebo London 11 years ago

I wish those of us not called would mind our work and use the time use to do these follow follow to care for our families and allow those who are called answer; let us be onlookers and learn from this. Ghanaian mentality: enn ...

• NDC MAN IN BAWKU CENTRAL. 11 years ago

ALL CONCERNED MUST REMAIN CALM AND FOCUSED TILL THE TRUTH IS BORN-THANKS.

• bobo 11 years ago

Oyiwa. This case is gradually moving to 2017

• Abena Milton 11 years ago

I LIKE THAT. OYIWA

• Adjei Boahen. 11 years ago

Me too, my brother. The EC will not be able to conduct the 2014 general election for the nation if this continues till then. NPP and NDC, we don't need any war in Ghana. Especially this goes to NPP.

• Mania. 11 years ago

The journey from accra to Damongo, is a very long and tedious one. All fasten your seat belt

• Amewu@ 11 years ago

you have no evidence, why go to court?

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

You don't know what is going on you better ask someone elses to give you further explanation.

Listen, NDC will lose this case with supreme court. They know it. Nana Addo has real evidence to prove that the 2012 election w ...

• Nana Yaw III 11 years ago

For as long as this is played in a peaceful atmosphere, I am begining to love the game.

Day in, day out, we are getting to know that making an allegation in public because you have access to a microphone is not enough to w ...

• Kaakyirenua Kwadwo 11 years ago

Gabby Otchere Darko,and you`ll get the drift of where the NPP is going with this petition. All of a sudden the "mountain of evidence" seems to have evapourated into thin air! What a
    joke this whole thing has turned into!

• Nat 11 years ago

that's true ooo

• ASIEDU NKETIA 11 years ago

Mahama is a clever thief. Watch him for he is ready blind fold Ghanaians.twist their hands and spoil the nation before he runs away

• addo 11 years ago

fools speak like this.you don't know a thief

• KKK 11 years ago

Do you have brains in your head at all?

• ManBelhomme 11 years ago

Ghanaians should embrace themselves for a long trip to JERICHO.
    I pity the supreme court judges and no wonder Christmas has been fixed for the inauguration of president Nana Addo.

• Efo Paapa 11 years ago

Nana Addo as father Christmas, curtsey Sammy Awuku, then let's all prepare for the most enjoyable Christmas in Ghana.

• K BOATENG 11 years ago

NPP WHERE IS YOUR FIRST KWABENYA CONSTITUENCY RIGGING ALLEGATION AGAINST THE NDC WHICH HON.ADWOA SARFO OF THE NPP SHOUTED ABOUTNO CASE

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 11 years ago

YOU ARE SO BEHIND SO FAR AS ISSUES ARE CONCERN. SO GO TO SLEEP AND STOP MAKING NOISE.

• Kofi Asante 11 years ago

Who is going to bear the cost of the president's defense and all the witnesses. How much will it cost. How will all the lawyers be paid. What of if in the unlikely event that the courts declare Akufo Addo winner Mahama refuse ...

Why not turn the questions on the other party as well?

• Doe Dennis 11 years ago

Why not think of what will hasppen if the courts throw the case out?what will Nana and his Mates do next,cause trouble in the country or take a big snif to end it all.There is going to be drama soon.watch out!

• nana 11 years ago

Nana has come out to say that if he lose this case he will accept it in good faith . mahama should also come out to say the same.

• CASTLE BOY 11 years ago

Nana has come out to say that if he lose this case he will accept it in good faith . mahama should also come out to say the same.Mahama will never
    accept defeat,

• Fatawu Dinlibgiba Tamale 11 years ago

Action speaks louder that words.Was it not that same Nana Addo who signed for peace in Kumasi during and after the elections.SOLID LOSERS.

• pachiko 11 years ago

This is hypetetical question that every Ghanaian should be asking. Will Current President, Mahama accept the verdict of the SC or will Akuffo Ado also accept the SC verdict? The best case scenario, is to return to Party Head ...

• Nat 11 years ago

the fact of the matter is that the court will first and foremost think about the nation's stability before deciding on this matter.

• MENSAH 11 years ago

HE CAN ONLY GO TO COURT TO APPEAL.NANA ADDO HAS GONE TO COURT TO APPEAL,MAHAMA SHOULD ALSO GO THERE IF HE DOES NOT AGREE TO THE COURT'S VERDICT AGAINST HIM TO BE DESTOOLED.
    PERIOD.
    Ghana is not for any body.

that is why i keep on saying, we do not need an executive president. all we need is majority in parliament to become the chief executive of ghana and the president of the national house of chiefs the ceremonial president and ...

• EBIBIMAN 11 years ago

Is the NPP spending the rest of their cash on a case they will never win?
    Eii, this short Devil to deyooo.

Easy win for NDC 2016 cos they hav the oil money to drag this case anywhere .
    soon the lil cash the NPP hav woul ...

• GOAHEAD 11 years ago

NPP ARE SORE LOSERS.

• Atta Fiifi Mills 11 years ago

Should the NPP provide their evidence to the very people and entities they claimed to have cheated them before they meet in court? Shouldn't the evidence be provided in court before the justices for the NPP to prove their cas ...

"The petitioners are also asking for declaration forms for all polling stations in the 2012 presidential election, minutes of all meetings held between the EC and the political parties between 2010 and 2012, as well as the sp ...

And send these sore losers packing!
    Now we all know who wants to use the SC to play a game of 'political football'.

• Adun 11 years ago

Look I am sick and tired of all this. Let Nana Akuffo Addo go find some job to do and stop wasting everybody's damn time.

• Benoni 11 years ago

Are you proposing a new type of litigation?Have you ever heard of a case where the respondent has no idea why he is in court what the offence is and where the offence was committed and how do you expect the person to properly ...

• Alugu 11 years ago

Why is NPP also now asking for informations from EC? Just to find some fault? I bet Nana Addo himself voted without verification.

That can also be true that nana did vote without verification.,some one should check that.these 419 boys!Hmmm

• YAW BOATENG 11 years ago

Thank you simple as ABC.

• anna 11 years ago

only the truth will stand for now patience is the rule!!!!!!!!!

• Edmond S.K 11 years ago

if i voted in the morning and was verified and others voted later without verification, all votes in our ballot box can not be nulified.

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

GOD WILL DEAL WITH WHOEVER IS INVOLVED IN ELECTORAL FRAUD IN THIS CASE!!!
    EVIL MEN WILL NEVER HAVE THEIR WAY SMOOTHLY.
    WE WANT THE TRUTH AND NOT MANIPULATION.

The ease with which some of us call the name of God in very simple issues really baffles me. We seem to tend to be so God-fearing and God-loving, and yet end up as corrupt as ever in our dealings with our neighbours.

Can' ...

• ATO 11 years ago

I agree with every single word you have written. I will even go further and say that we even seem to think that we can implore God to condone our wicked ways.

• Mania. 11 years ago

ANOTHER SMELLY DAFTY!

• Jato Kaleo 11 years ago

THIS IS A TEST FOR THE JUDICIARY. LET US SEE IF WE WILL SCORE ANOTHER FIRST IN AFRICA.

• Pelicles 11 years ago

The three statues in the Supreme court premises, reminds the current judges of what awaits them if they rule against NDC. It was NDC's founder who orchestrated the arrest and cold blooded killings of those judges whose bodi ...

• Alugu 11 years ago

It means NPP is stupid going to court then, because they knew the court would never rule in their favour.

• GOAHEAD 11 years ago

NANA AKUFFO ADDO, YOU HAVE LOST THE ELECTION. NPP ARE JUST SORE LOSERS.

• Yaaya 11 years ago

U think Rawlings is so stupid to kill Judges and make his G'ment unpopular?If Rawlings killed the Judges, then K4 killed Yaa Na.

Furthermore, your stupid Reconciliation Commission with theu power of HighCourtu under the NP ...

• Yaw Adjei 11 years ago

The blue yellow sheets belong to all ghanians and as such EC should give it up to SC.We hope this time, that justice will be pronounce.Exchange is no robberly.

Batting 0 for 13,the Judges had no reason to fear. And I believe nothing has changed since! And attempt to insinuate the Justices are scared to rule against the NDC is simply 'malarky'.

• Yaaya 11 years ago

Is it not the same Judges who pronounced all verdicts against the NDC whiles the NDC was in power? We got blocked brains living in our dear nation, Ghana. Its a pity.

Don,t worry we will all protect the Judges,this is not a Revolution,pure african democracy.It already shows NPP are losers.-now the judges safety is what you are using to cover your stupidity.You think every body in Ghana is ...

• Mania. 11 years ago

Nonsense, simplicity!

• AKASI MARTHA ARIZONA USA 11 years ago

ARE WE GOING BACK TO STONE EGE OR NOT. NANA ADDO UNCONVENTIONAL BEHAVIOR SHOCKS PEOPLE. NANA REPECT YOUR PRESIDENT.AND STOP THE COURT CASE.

Come to the realization that 'cooking' up numbers and dropping a bunch of zeros as a 'cure' to Zimbabwe`s spiralling inflation problem is much easier than trying to hodwink Justices of the SC with 'vodoo arithmetic'. I think ...

• Yaaya 11 years ago

U are a thinking man.

• GENERAL DeGAULE 11 years ago

The respondents are entitled to ask for evidence under under Rule 69 A (4) of the Supreme Court (Amendment) Rules, 2012 (C.I. 74), which says a respondent may apply for further and better particulars in order to prepare adequ ...

A register of foreign voters may be compiled, but without going through the books, I can bet my last pesewa that it is illegal to disclose the address of the voter.

So what must be going on in the minds of the petitioners lawyers to make such a request?

mischief and/or ignorance

• New Sherrif in Town 11 years ago

Even in the USA addresses of registered voters are accessible to all political parties. They even know those who register as Democrats or Republicans. The polical parties even send letters and sample ballot papers to prospect ...

In the US you can register as a Democrat, Republican or an Independent and take part in Caucuses or Primaries. In some States registered all voters can take part in another party's Primaries.
    In Ghana we are not registered ...

• New Sherrif in Town 11 years ago

The EC has material evidence in their custody and it would be a mockery of this Rule 69 A(4) you are referring to if the EC is to request of the petitioner information that the EC is supposed to be a custodian of. The EC does ...

• Solugram 11 years ago

If the Supreme Court messes up I will immediately go to the law school and kick ass.

• AKASI MARTHA ARIZONA USA 11 years ago

OH NPP NPP NPP NPPIANS. YOUR UK BRANCH KNOWS THEY LOST SHAMEFULLY. NEXT TIME REPECT YOUR PRESIDENT DON'T INSULT HIM TO A ROAD WITHOUT AN EXIT.

• DONDO 11 years ago

EC, somebody is making a case against you and are asking him to give you his evidence.
    EC, you have all the information Nana and his team is talking about. Akofu Addoh and the supreme courts would ask EC to produce all that ...

• Benoni 11 years ago

The ec is cocksure that there were no rigging and that their conduct through out was impeccable.You disagree with that so the onus is on you to show how the malpractices took place.If you have no evidence for the allegation ...

• Kwame Asamoah, Deutschland 11 years ago

NO burried Truth remains in the Grave for-ever. I am an eye Withness of the Fake Registration the EC made Overseas

• npp chairman asuoyeboah 11 years ago

idiot bring it on board

• Kwame Asamoah, Deutschland 11 years ago

That is exactly what Iam going to do.So just shut up and wait. Thief!!!

• Thomas Owusu Babai 11 years ago

The EC & their propose president should aslo do their own investigation about election irregularities & stop asking the NPPs to spoon feed them.

• Joe 11 years ago

People must start paying attention in school. The NPP are bound by law to provide further and better particulars of their allegations. They cannot say they are keeping their cards to their chest and would produce it at their ...

• KWABENA DANSOMAN 11 years ago

DEMOCRACY,AN EFFECTIVE TOOL FOR REALITY!

• Fatawu Dinlibgiba Tamale 11 years ago

WAS IT NOT THAT SAME SHORT MAN WHO SIGNED FOR PEACE DURING AND AFTER THE ELECTIONS IN KUMASI?.WHAT ARE YOU TELLING US.WE CAN ALL SAY ALL DIE BE DIE DON'T THE NPP KNOW THAT.

• Nana Kofi 11 years ago

This interesting case is turning out to be a long drawn one...may be 4 years to resolve. Would the NPP take part in any future election as they perceive the EC as corrupt and anti-NPP???????Ayahyahhyai!Just wait and see...... ...

• OWEN, NEW YORK. 11 years ago

This is to test our judiciary.All eyes and ears are watching and listening.What Ghanaians need,is fair judgment.No 419 nor Woyomism.

does Ghana need an executive president to run as a state? the people of Ghana must consider the Westminster system and allow for a second chamber parliament with the president of the national house of chiefs the ceremonial pr ...

• Agyemang Duah Gyamfi 11 years ago

We are very happy so far and have the believe that there will be a change is only illiterate who will get confuse about the NPP procedures in Court, the leaders know what they are doing and things are moving steps by steps an ...

• issah douglas 11 years ago

The election 2012 is unfair,i was a party agent for n.p.p and my name is issah douglas.the n.d.c are thieves.mr kwadwo afria want to course war to ghana,I truely and strongly believe in the juges of this case.God bless akuffo ...

• Richard Owusu 11 years ago

I do not see the reason why the highest court of the land cannot make a bold stands about the 2012 election , there by creating misunderstanding and instability in our dear nation .the court should as a matter of fact come ou ...