You are here: HomeNews2013 01 26Article 263279

Wakaso Celebration Sparks Controversy

Read Comments Comments (116)

• Conventional Youth. 11 years ago

Hmmm

• Amavi 11 years ago

Ghanaian players should be schooled in the rules of the game. football is not just kicking balls. it has rules. because most ghanaians are not law-abiding it is pervading through all spheres of life, even internationally. yes ...

• Ogyam 11 years ago

Senseless talk!What about those players who prayed before the match?what about the water that ghanaian players were pouring on themselves before the match?What about some players that show a sign of cross before or after the ...

• K AGYAPONG! 11 years ago

LIVE THAT WAKASO ALONE!! what happened to John Paintsil when he waved the Zionist flag at the World cup even though he was playing for Ghana -----and never scored?

• MUNDUS 11 years ago

There is no controversy except daily guide wants to create one.

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

WHERE WAS AA WEN WAKASSO N THE OTHERS WERE DRESSING UP? INEXPERIENCED AA LEARNING ON THE JOB. ITS FUNNY BCOS IN EVERY GAME, WE SEE AA'S INEXPERIENCE N INCOMPETENCE REVEALING IYSELF

GAME 1: U GO UP 2 GOALS TO LE ROY WHO HAS ...

• Kwesi Brenu Akyinim 11 years ago

You blaming a coach for a player's stupidity ? you guys have a problem. The whole Ghana blamed Asamoah Gyan for not scoring against Uraguay and also Zambia . Why were you not blaming the White Coach ?

• TK 11 years ago

No one is to be blamed except the writer.I see no any crime if someone praise God for being offered him something good. You cannot called Player a stupid.I thing you are rather stupid.

Thank you for calling me stupid anyway , You simply should know there are rules everywhere , that is why in your own house you need to stop behind your own door for a minute before getting in ,Why don't you leave your doors c ...

WAKASSO ISNT STUPID. HE WAS JUST NEGLIGENT OF THE RULES. THIS IS WHERE THE COACH/TECHNICAL STAFF COME IN TO EDUCATE THE PLAYERS ON FIFA RULES N REGULATIONS. AA IS EQUALLY INEXPERIENCED.......
    BCOS PLAVI/MILO WASNT THE PENALT ...

Keep blaming innocent people for other people's fault. But anyway we are all entitled to our freedom what to do with our lives, that's where slaves and Masters comes in.

• Aduanaba 11 years ago

John Painstil could not be punished for waving the flag of a nation. Where I agree is the fact that a lot of players are seen making the sign of the cross, which is tied to Christian faith. If that is not seen as bringing the ...

• Amavi 11 years ago

Fatawu Dauda was praying b4 the match with forehead down but he never received yellow card. read the rules well

• SASABONSAM 11 years ago

You are right, from the president to the man in the street, no one is law abiding and wrong doing is not punished and that explains why there is water every where but none to drink. I would rather put the blame on the team ha ...

• Ogyam 11 years ago

EVEN KWAKU BONSAM WOULD DISAGREE WITH YOU. IF SOMEONE SHOW GOD IS GREAT ON HIS SHIRT; WHAT IS HIS CRIME?WE ARE ALL SEEKING GUARDIANS FROM ALL MIGHTY GOD.GHANAIAN PLAYERS WERE POURING SOME SPIRITUAL WATER ON THEMSELVES BEFORE ...

• Apia 11 years ago

"spiritual water"...come on it's only
    left over drinking water...just a placebo as in medicine!

• Africanus 11 years ago

Brother Ogyam, you do not seem to understand the message here. There is enough tension, conflict and killing all associated with differences in religious doctrines. Sports is supposed to help humanity to mend some of these re ...

• wajoo 11 years ago

Africano,point of corectiong,u and the people who put the laws re not people of God almighty,but to the satan,if u blieve killing people around world and wars been cuse by religious, them selfs the world supper powers knows i ...

• BENYIWAH DOE (Rat Poison) 11 years ago

Bro, are you tell us that, its a crime to say God is great? come on my brother.God have different names and thats how muslems call it so what is the crime in this?

• Africanus 11 years ago

You are right, that our players need to be educated on football rules. If you want to play the game you must know the rules. John Panstsil's showing of another country's flag in a game is a testament to the fact that some of ...

• Abdullah Bawah 11 years ago

this means you do not know what you are saying.You also should go to school.You should understand the meaning of Allah before you can tell if it is a religious slogan.Allah means God in arabic language.So i can be a christia ...

• Prince 11 years ago

It is unfortunate that a player in a tournament who is 22 and is even playing in Europe will not observe the simple rule of religious slogan. It is a shy indiscipline and not ignorance.

• ceaser 11 years ago

àsem be ba dabi,,,supposin he used the word GOD which is similarly known as (allah)i think he wouldnt have been punished,,,this shows a clear discrimination against islam, that is my view even though i stand to be corrected

• Banana.com 11 years ago

Allah is great is not a slogan for any religion and nobody should be punished for displaying that. What about players who show the sign of cross -a symbol of Christ, or postrate symbolising islamic prayer when celebrating the ...

• Abrewa Nana 11 years ago

Either God or Allah is great, Fifa has rules and must be respected by the players.
    I heard the commentator said, with all his international qualities he could not remember to avoid this simple rule.
    Remember in Ghana, we ...

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

As somebody said yesterday "send Wakaso to the mosque to preach and replace him with a player. Lol

• Jesus 11 years ago

ALLAH IS NOT THE SAME AS GOD ALMIGHTY

• ABU 11 years ago

Another ignoble ignorant,in Ghana it is brodeye whilst the english calls it plantain so the arabs name for the almighty Allah whilst he is God in english and Dieu in french.It's only the stupid and senseless that will equate ...

• wajoo 11 years ago

may Allah bles u, you said all to ignorants.

• Mr Yak 11 years ago

How do Arab Christians call God? What an ignorant!

Ít's an entity attached to a shrine somewhere in Saudi Arabia and to be precise Mecca. Besides, there are so many things that followers of God do that is contrary to what followers of allah do. If they are the same, there sh ...

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Where are all the so-called defenders of freedom when "Own Goal Scorer" Paintsil pulled out the Star of David during the 2006 World Cup. I guess if this Mubarak Wakaso guy had "Meeewuradze Nyankopon “Kolomashie, Abontoa Bon ...

• AA 11 years ago

Need to dissociate your mind from your heart, and think deep man! You are just too, overly ignorant my brother.

• Abe 11 years ago

Yes, He is Allah, the most high, most gracious, most merciful.

Moses called Him ELOHIM in Hebrew
    Jesus called Him ALAHA in Aramaic
    Muhammad called Him ALLAH in Arabic.

Chunky ignorance... go back to school!

• Mr.N 11 years ago

I thought the same God, ELOHIM, ALAHA, ALLAH or Meeewuradze Nyankopon said the following "To obey is better than sacrifice"

Why don't you and all your ignorance friends educate Mubarak Wakaso that there are rules in this ...

• Africanus 11 years ago

Who cares???

• Rabon Zee 11 years ago

Jesus ( Emmanuel Joseph , Jesus Nazarinus, Yesu bin Yahweh, Son of God) was the anthropomorphic incarnation of Lord Jehovah on this terrestrial subspace of the universe who preached the doctrine of Divine Love.

• Ibrahim 11 years ago

Ignorance at its peak. Allah means God and so what is wrong with showing appreciation to God for rescuing ur country through u.

• Ghanaba No.1 11 years ago

How do Akwasi Appiah understand by indiscipline? If not he and those GFA fools are heading the wrong way by combining politics to sports,where can he prove to Ghanaians that Jordan Ayew is Indiscipline?Is Wakaso disciplne as ...

• Ibrahim 11 years ago

You re a stupid fool. Mohammad..pbuh.is not somebody u can just insult. Football has nothing to do with religion n so take it out of it. You are so ignorant that u can see he was simply appreciating God and not mohammad.pbuh. ...

• Ghanaba No.1 11 years ago

Mohammed my ass,is he not the son of a prostitute who was stoned to death under sharia law? go read ur Koran and find out.dirty fanatic religious group

• CHARLES YEBOAH OBENG.USA 11 years ago

Kneeling down or standing and acknowledging GOD is done by many victorious sportmen and women.Organizers don't want a particular religion to be identified.There are so many religions and I believe RELIGION is a very volatile ...

• TK 11 years ago

THANK YOU! MAY GOD(ALLAH) BLESS YOU TOO.

• CEREBRAL 11 years ago

Ivory Coast looks very good. They will go very far!!! Tunisia did well, but they had no options up front. This is the group of DEATH, hands down!!!

• OYIBI 11 years ago

SEPP 'BLADDER'OR BETTER BLUNDER, MUST SANCTION HIMSELF FIRST.HE IS THE MOST THIEF AND CORRUPT PERSONALITY IN FOOTBALL HISTORY.

• AMA 11 years ago

EVEN THE DEVIL KNOWS IT SO WHY ARE THEY PUNISHING HIM.

• AMA 11 years ago

YES !!!!!!

• PERKELE 11 years ago

If CAF disagree that God is great

• EMMA 11 years ago

this ismadness forthat THAT SO CALL CAF, THEY DIDN'T SAWWHEN kaka do the same said i belonge to JUSES? MADNESS .

• Tanga star in Egypt. 11 years ago

weather you punish him or not, God is great. You are going to punish some one because he said God is great?

• HONESTNEST GOD IS MY JUDGE 11 years ago

I blame Appiah for this,why because he could have check what the players put on in the dressing room.That is Appiah's responsibility concerning fifa rules period.

• kwaa 11 years ago

Appiah can only advice, his job is technical and tactical discipline not dressing up player!. Me danfo if u got nothing to offer pls don't comment (being polite) or else shut it

• HONESTNEST GOD IS MY JUDGE 11 years ago

The wrath of God will come upon anyone who punishes Wakaso for praising God the creator of all mankind

• NANA YAW BAWUAH 11 years ago

U BLAME AA FOR EVERYTHING? U ARE STUPID ON THIS ONE.

• Tanga star in Egypt. 11 years ago

if you punish him you will be punish by God. you want to punish him because he said God is great, but if he say Caf or Fifa is great will you punish him?

Tanga, Wakaso was sent to South Africa to play, not to preach. If we knew he wanted to preach, we would've sent him to a mosque or some "makalanta" somewhere. Is he not a professional for God sake and what was his beef showin ...

• TK 11 years ago

If Wakaso is not in south Africa to preach then tell Akwasi Appiah to stop praying with the players before the training.

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 11 years ago

I think Kwesi Appiah is doing a brilliant job. He was very vocal in the Mali game and made sure no player rested on their laurels. His tactical deployment against Mali was spot on, our keeper hardly had a ball to save. What e ...

• Mr Yak 11 years ago

Allah(God) is indeed great ,whats is wrong with that. This is not a religious slogan.

• Visionary, Billings, USA 11 years ago

If this sort of display is entertained, where will it leave us. Suppose every Christian, the majority of the Afcon players, were to do the same thing with say Jesus Christ, and the non-believers with "God is not great"? Jum ...

• Ogyam 11 years ago

You are real idiot by telling someone to be wise.Did you comment on some players that show a sign of cross before or after their football matches across the globe?What about the spiritual water that Ghanaian players were pour ...

• Sien 11 years ago

You are wrong! He doesn't need to be banned, he's got a yellow card that's punishment for revealing the message and that's enough in itself. Most Brazilian and Italian players they show the sign of the cross as Catholics, I a ...

• talk-talk 11 years ago

idiot, all christians are doing the crusifix sign before they enter the field,Mutari and others prostrate when they score. You see players pointing their up to God thanking him for victory.Are you blind?
    Leave the game then ...

• MUTAWAKIL 11 years ago

Wiseman,how about some plaers who kneel and make the sign of the cross b4 coming on to the field or after scoring a goal.Some players even say "first of all I Thank God or Jesus" during interviews,and nobody says anything....

• PEPENI 11 years ago

MAHAMA THE THIEF.PRESIDENT WAS A JIHADER NO DOUBT WE HAVE JIHADERS AMOUNG US.THE SLOGAN IS ALWAYS USED BY THE FOOLISH MOSLIMS WHO KILL MANY PEOPLE EVERY DAY.

• Ogyam 11 years ago

YES THE KILLERS AND YOU ARE THE SAVIOUR, WO MAME ASHAWO NI.KWASIA!

• Fiifi Boadu (USA) 11 years ago

Ghana is for all of us (Muslims,Christians,Idol worshipers & non-believers)and we've lived in peace ok?? So don't start anything stupid ok? No need to hide behind your computer and play with people's lives and religion.

• Ibrahim 11 years ago

I pity ur father. He gave birth to a pick. Mahama all d way. You can leave Ghana if u dont want his rule or better still go to hell.

• Dealer usa 11 years ago

It seems we have forgotton this that When you go o rome do what the romans do and this is Gods word..Its law passed by fifa let him answer God that and we have to obey the rules since we have given him the mandate.

• Ogyam 11 years ago

An Arab player should write onyame ye kesie or God is great before he can be free.If Wakaso write Allah is great what is his problem? I think some Ghanaian jounalist lack sense.

• GHANA-LOVER.USA 11 years ago

Rules and regulations are meant to showcase orderly behavior at all times.Painstil pulled out Israeli Flag after scoring in a World Cup game and he was reprimanded.Let's always respect the rules and play it safe.Our coaches s ...

• Ogyam 11 years ago

Please can you comment on the players that show a sign of cross whenever they are about to start game or they have been pulled out from the game?PAINNTIL case is onother issue.it is political but not about religion or God.The ...

• denni 11 years ago

what did they do to painstil by caring israeal flag the most violented nation on erth, what if he uses a word by saing that ALLAH is great?
    this is always the same,the taget is islam,not wakaso, i can see when they gave the ...

• King 11 years ago

If This Is A Problem Then Caf Or Fifa Or Who So Ever Is Against This Is Satan ...We Stand Behind Wakaso Allah Is Great Do Your Worse God Will Do His Best

• GHANA-LOVER .USA 11 years ago

As a matter of fact RELIGION is a very volatile issue on the face of the earth.More than POLITICS.It is a universal phenomenon, very delicate.If we have only one RELIGION,that will be cool!No troubles.But unfortunately we don ...

• MAHAMA AND AFARI GYA ARE EVIL 11 years ago

THESE GHANAIAN IGNORANCE WRITERS SHOULD GIVE US A BREAK.

• Lottasins 11 years ago

You should give us a break

• osman olando 11 years ago

what of those show the sign of the cross after scoring a goal

• K. BOAT 11 years ago

TOLERANCE, MY FRIENDS, IS WHAT THE WORLD COMMUNITY NEEDS.

• TinTin 11 years ago

He was shown the yellow card for excessive celebration not for the shirt.

• DI ASEM PA 11 years ago

I AM A CHRISTIAN AND FOR ME, I CAN SEE THAT, THIS GUY IS PRAISING THE ALLMIGHTY GOD FOR GIVING HIM A CHANCE TO SCOOR A GOAL. THIS IS NOT ABOUT RELIGIOUS SLOGAN OR SOMETHIG.

• lukman 11 years ago

God is great .this comment is offensive because it came from a moslem or what? Because if is fifa law then samir nasri of manchester city display happy ramadan after he score a goal and nothing happens. There are other player ...

WAS IT RAMADAN? IF THE SHIRT WAS DISPLAYED DURING THE PERIOD OF RAMADAN, THEN IT IS UP TO THE REFS DISCRETION. FIFA RULES FROWN ON THE DISPLAY OF RELIGIOUS/POLITICAL ATTIRE ON THE PITCH/FIELD OF PLAY. JUS FOLLOW THE RULES N B ...

• Tada 11 years ago

Laws are laws and rules are rules.I donot really know all the rules governing these games but ignorance is no excuse.Hopefully he will be given the benefit of doubt but this should go to our leaders.They need to educate our p ...

• ABUBAKAR FROM NIMA 11 years ago

wakaso just said GOD IS GREAT that is all. please give us a break.

• Kwame Boni 11 years ago

This nothing to cmplain or even to be suspended, some people remove their cloths, some make some signs which signifies the God they serve,and some even remove some countries flags which does not belong to the conutry they bel ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

Who complains when players like Messi make the sign of the cross when they score. ..this is absolute nonsense!

FIFA SAYS NO DISPLAY OF RELIGIOUS OR POLITICAL AFFILIATIONS ON ATTIRE ON THE SOCCER PITCH OR FIELD OF PLAY. MAKING A SIGN IS NOT THE SAME AS DISPLAYING SIGNS ON ATTIRE. READ N UNDERSTAND THE RULES OUTHERE...

• william 11 years ago

WHAT FOOTBALL/PROROCOL NONSENSE! 'ALLAH/GOD IS GREAT' CELEBRATION, IS CONTROVERSIAL? OFFENDING WHO? ATHEISTS? EVEN ATHEISTS RESPECT BELIEVERS FAITH will they also ban making the sign of the cross on the field! Or am I MISSING ...

• zack 11 years ago

Even jesus measing the name of ALLAH that is why they crustyfy him, fifa take yr game out of this wold

• JESUS 11 years ago

ALLAH WE ARE PROUD TO CALL YOUR NAME ANY WHRERE WE GO!!ENEMIS ARE UNDER YOUR CONTROL

• Kaimenyi 11 years ago

Isn't Allah great?

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

STOP THIS WHAT WRONG WITH IT, HE CAN CELEBRATE ANY HOW HE WANT TO.ALLAH IS GREAT IS NOT A SIN.

• emmanuel 11 years ago

I wonder if the disciplinarian coach Kwasi Appiah who dropped Dede for indiscipline saw the inscriptions on Wakaso's jersey & allowed him 2 wear it. What is more of indicipline than this. Surely that Wakaso guy is not educate ...

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

LEAVE HIM ALONE.ALLAH IS GREAT IS IT WRONG.CAF CAN NOT DO NOTHING.STOP WRITING STUPID THINGS ON GHANAWEB OK.HE CAN PRAISE GOD HOW HE WANT IT OK.

• FUFUO DADESEN 11 years ago

ALLAH IS GREAT IS ALSO KNOWN AS GOD IS GREAT.WHAT CONTROVERSY?

• goseethere-McBushmann 11 years ago

This is no news, you better write something new. How long will this site repeat this story. please be up and doing and stop giving us DEAD STORIES.

• please 11 years ago

please remember the nineties when starless score a goal the bow down even the christian were doing that but we never had problem with that, why now? We will be strong Ghana if we stop looking at this petty issues and celebrat ...

• Bekwai nyansa@fb.com 11 years ago

Did Wakaso make any statement contrary to the Daily Guide and Fifa rules? If that rule exists at all,it would require that the offender makes it with the intention of provoking something mischievous.My five-year old son can e ...

• show man 11 years ago

fools whats is wrong, GOG IS GOD,leave these bastards whites, they believes only on gays.

• Sonie Badu 11 years ago

some of you are educational, please go back to school learn more.... NKWASIAAA'FU

• BA 11 years ago

How can a mention of GOD IS GREAT become a controversy!! We welcome CAF and FIFA to explain to us who is fit to be call GREAT.. Even the bone head SATAN knows GOD IS GREAT....

• A.M. 11 years ago

If the law has been made everyone has to abide by it. He did not abide by it and Ghana is facing the prospect of not having. I think the GFA should also sanction him for his doing it.

• TK 11 years ago

He should be rather send to Guantana-Bay or International Criminal court by writing God is great.But I want to remind you, not only Wakaso but entire Black Star Team.Before the Cmmencement of the match Black Star players geth ...

• A.M. 11 years ago

Iam a stunch Christian but if any of the Christian folks wear a t-shirt the says Jesus is Lord it will still be wrong. We must all learn to be under authority. The law is the law.

• Simberere k shie 11 years ago

He shuold know better ,ghana could not afford missing him this time but discipline shuold be instiled,but my other worry with the laws is wether one can raise his finger index up when celebrating a goal,pls somebody shuold h ...

• ben 11 years ago

pplease my fellow christians do not be deceived that Allah is God. God has a son who is Jesus christ but muslims believe that Allah has no son. This clearly disputes the fact that Allah is God.

• Nketia Watuzi 11 years ago

Does the GFA initiate any programmes for the training and education of these illiterate ghananian players ? How did Asamoah Gyan become captain of the Black Stars ? He surely must have bribed some people. The coach's selectio ...

• Kausar kbaby 11 years ago

I dnt thnk wakasu deserves any further punishment,simply bt calling God's name.are dey satans?.zmand one emmanuel guy der shd watch his tongue.is he jealous of wakasu?

• Otobrafo bi Otobrafo 11 years ago

...to be forthright and fervent, I am quite tired of all these religious protestations, be it made in a social, political or any other forum. Did all Christianity not slave and brutalise my people in the name of Christ. Did ...

• abby 11 years ago

wel l dont believe allah is god so islam is a doomemed religion...story end

• P.K Acquaye 11 years ago

Technical men need to always remind the playing body about the rules of the game. It's a shame that we are missing this player because of this irresponsible attitude.

• ABDULAI FREEMAN 11 years ago

Personally i do not see anything wrong if a player shows appreciation to God after scoring a crucial goal,FIFA should not be anti God

• HAWA YAKUBU 11 years ago

Was this guy told by Coach Appiah that such a behavior was against the rules of the game. I think Coach should have reminded about the rules.

• Phranxix 11 years ago

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm spare him n correct him.

• KOKUVI 11 years ago

FIFA RATHER SOLVE RACISM AND STOP COMPLAINING ABOUT TRIVIALITIES