You are here: HomeNews2013 01 21Article 262736

24 dead in Tamale-Buipe road accident

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Yoosi 11 years ago

People just get thier uncles to buy them vehicles from abroad and asks their nephews who have learned how to push vehicles unto car washing rumps to drive. this is the result.

• GHANA 11 years ago

nothing can stop all these lost of lives apart from daul lanes

• pop 11 years ago

that is where we should be crying of not Free shs

• Coolman at work 11 years ago

Let us just wait a see what the politicians would say `"r.i.p"
    that´s all!!!!!!!!!!
    Political priority must be Road safety and the fight against corruptions

• Kojo 11 years ago

It is only the strong enforcement of laws and construction of dual carriages that will solve the problem. Unfortunately our politicians cannot think that far. They are too busy with tribe, perks of power, milking the treasury ...

• Nana 11 years ago

It is our fault that we keep voting for the same people - NPP & NDC- what do we expect?

• The African Patriot 11 years ago

Thank you. This is what i have in minde. But you was fast to commend on this issue. This is exactly the problem Ghana is facing the whole time. No brain is working for the masses. Everyone work for his own pocket. The change ...

• RICHARD ANANGA 11 years ago

HONESTLY SOMETHING IS WRONG IN THIS COUNTRY AND GHANIANS HAVE ACCEPTED IT AS NORMAL.
    NO MORE PARTY FOR GHANIANS AT WEEK ENDS BUT FUNERALS AND WE CALL SUCH CALAMITIES "CELEBRATION OF LIFE.
    UNLESS WE DECLARE WAR AND STATE OF ...

• gretchy 11 years ago

How true Kojo.Tell me bro who runs the country?The sooner the Politician's get's off their arse and not let those damn power chiefs run the country,you will then see a beautiful Ghana.Western travellers have all been giving r ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 11 years ago

May I know if it is only Ghana that has cars to run on the road?

Ghanaians should not take this for granted. There is something wrong that our leaders need to taclke it.

Why why why Ghana?

• MERCY 11 years ago

WHAT IS HAPPENING IN THE NORTH, PEOPLE HAVE BEEN DYING LIKE CRAZY AFTER THIS ELECTION. MINISTERS, POLICEMEN AND OTHERS, VERY VERY STRANGE. HMM

• John Atiga 11 years ago

It cost GHc500,000 to build One kilometre asphalted road. The money given free to Wayome could have built 110 kilometres of asphalted road.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

YOU ARE PERFECTLY RIGHT...BUT WHEN?

• akromfo), 11 years ago

WHEN THE ALL THE GHANA MONEY GIVEN TO WOYOME IS RETRIEVED! TO CONTRUCT BETTER ROADS FOR GHANA. OFUI TERRIBLY!

• MOSES. LAGOS 11 years ago

WAYOME'S MONEY IS A A DROP IN THE OCEAN COMPARED TO THE OIL MONEY THAT KUFFOUR TOOK THROUGH THE EO GROUP. WE ARE NOT DUNDERHEADS IN GHANA.

• Kwame USELESS Nkrumah 11 years ago

WHEN YOU BEGIN TO THINK LIKE A HUMAN BEING

• EFO 11 years ago

Dual lanes, can anyone believe that the some portion of Agona Nkwanta - Tarkwa in the w/region highway are having no road markings and driving at night there is almost a death trap??? are we serious, sometimes i start thinkin ...

• Yarchoe 11 years ago

Yes dual carriage lanes and proper marking of roads plus enforcing the law of driving will avoid all these unnecessary deaths. What are the politicians doing?

• akromfo), 11 years ago

LIKE THE NDC LEADERSHIP!

LIKE THE J.A. KRONFOUR'S EO GROUP

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Never properly analysing a problem is our bane in the country. People just jump to simplistic ideas. Let's be realistic: How many roads can be dualised? Certainly not many.

I know that training, providing dual lane roads, ...

• Krakye Kwakye 11 years ago

What is so simplistic about insisting that all major roads in Ghana be dual carriagewy? No amount of training or enforcement will prevent cars speeding in opposite directions on the same road without any barrier separating th ...

• napodoo 11 years ago

Mr PV Obeng who is a consummate engineer should advise the president to dualise the road and not the construction of the tamale international airport.it s a misplaced priority.

• Dr 11 years ago

dual

• joseph - gijoepowers2006@yahoo.co.uk 11 years ago

black Monday...

• ManBelhomme 11 years ago

Head-on collisions are often a result of "careless driving" One would think such accidents should happen only between trains when tracks are missed and the inevitable collision then happens.My heartfelt condoleance to the fam ...

• basoah george 11 years ago

EDUCATE DRIVERS,& STOP SELLING DRIVING LICENCE

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

YOU CAN AL;L KILL YOURSELVES IF U WANT TO. MAHAMA DONT CARE. AFTERALL, THERE R TOO MANY PPL IN GH. SOME HVE TO DIE FOR OTHERS TO COME. THE RESOURCES ARE NOT ENUFF FOR ALL....MUAHAHAHAAAAA

OH PRIMITIVE GHFUO....

• Paa Joe (UK) 11 years ago

Why oh why? And when will our iilliterate drivers warn. In ghana people don't die in ones & twos in road accidente. Double digits in most cases.
    In ONE month, more people die on the roads in Ghana than in ONE YEAR in UK.
    I ...

• Nii Abokobi 11 years ago

This early morning? They could be dozing behind the steering wheel. It could mean the drivers did not get enough sleep as they left at dawn from their respective places of origin Kumasi & Tamale. May Allah help us!

• Kwesi 11 years ago

Another senseless death!!!.

• Fad 11 years ago

24 dead in Tamale-Buipe road accident

• ali 11 years ago

u are nonsensical being. fooooooooooool better no that to say.

• NANA O!! MOTHER 11 years ago

Please this is not about politics,let face the facts. For sometime up to now lets see how strange people die in this country.Fire,accidents,Hanging sakawa. From the time Nigeria emigrants came to Ghana we have get no peace.P ...

• Mummy 11 years ago

This is a very very sad news. The government should work very hard to get rid of these numerous road accidents in Ghana. For goodness sake, what is going on in Ghana.
    Road safety should be the government's priority. I a ...

• Egya Nda 11 years ago

No one can actually tell how many people have perished on our roads travelling with these 207 Mercedes Benz. My humble appeal is that it is high time these 207 were got out of our roads

head-on collision between the KIA truck, which was carrying cattle, and the Mercedes-Benz Sprinter vehicle.

DRUNK DRIVING,
    SLEEPING BEHIND THE WHEEL
    OVERSPEEDING
    HOW MANY TIMES WAS I YELLING TO TAXI DRIVERS TO SLOW DOW ...

• Theo Nketiah 11 years ago

This's how I would have written the story; Twenty-four people have been confirmed dead in an accident that occured on the Tamale-Buipe road in the Northern Region on Monday morning. The twenty-four including 23 other people i ...

• Sumaila bande 11 years ago

De minister of road and transport is not hardworking.

• JAMES Y 11 years ago

Fatal accidents on our road have become a daily occurrence on our roads. The Road Highway Authority, DVLA and DLA should find a lasting way to arrest the situation. There were many reasons for the accidents:

1. Drivers hav ...

• Theo Nketiah 11 years ago

Drunk-driving, fatigue, poor maintenance of vehicles and improper training of drivers on safty issues regarding the vehicles and the roads are the main causes of these accidents which are claiming human lives. And it is not a ...

• obelige 11 years ago

let us concentrate on our religion.those deaths are not normal.how many accidents of that sort have we experience in ghana here.young guys are desperate looking for money with the help of human blood what are religious leader ...

• Mani 11 years ago

"From HIM we came from and unto HIM we shall all return". May their souls R.I.P. May ALLAH provide for the widows; orphans and all dependents they left behind.

• arafat amsterdam 11 years ago

why? why? blame police and GPRTU who only think of booking fee, they do not care who should and who should not drive commercial passenger verhicle, in my opinion drivers with only 10 years experince should allowed to drive c ...

• Hope Agbley 11 years ago

Happens when a cursed gov't is in power. Juju has it drawbacks.

• Birahma 11 years ago

What about the stadium disaster during Prez Kuffour's era?Don't be callous.Be sympathetic to the bereathed family for tmorrow it could be u

• ABU RASTA 11 years ago

Power belongs to Allah, he does what he wil. stop blamming people.

• Mamaa Efua 11 years ago

This is too much for us. The government should give hire purchase on vehicles for drivers to let go of the old and wretched cars that are taking the lifes of our people. May God keep their souls, Amen

• Owura Wiafe Akenten 11 years ago

This is the time for DVLA to implement severe regulations on Ghana road. Any drive involved in such fatal incident should be sent to prison and revoke his/her driving licence forever. I trust once this occurs useless drivers ...

• ADAMA 11 years ago

NDC IS JUST CURSE FOR GHANA

ADAMA GO BACK TO HISTORY AND YOU WILL KNOW THE GROUP THAT HAVE RETARDED GHANA'S GROWTH. ASK WHO SOLD THEIR RIGHTS TO THE CIA TO DESTROY GHANA. WHO INTRODUCED COUPS IN GHANA...KILLING FOR POWER... IN 1966. OR ARE YOU ARE FOREI ...

• Minti gyae aka enko nkoaa 11 years ago

Hey stupid fool,kwasia boy.God get a life!....aboa!

• awal 11 years ago

kaluu innalillah

• awal 11 years ago

careless driving

• hi 11 years ago

four of them are said to be students

• aaaa9 11 years ago

Even Roads from Accra to Aflao should be a Dual carriage roads. Accients are unavoaible when it is a single traffic. Dual carriage roads would address most of our fatalities happening ion our roads.

• aaaa9 11 years ago

Fifty percentage I hope.

• ADABRAKA 11 years ago

Our roads and use of speed is outrageous, it is not the govt but the attitude of drivers. In UK, the highest speed shouldnt be above 70Kph. Ghana has got no limit. I am not sure I can go 50kph on Gh roads. Overspeeding is th ...

• POPE CK ADU 11 years ago

LORD HAVE MERCY ON US:

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

Too much of road accident,Am sad

• Sumaila bande 11 years ago

Rest in peace

• YEBOPOWER 11 years ago

Is the fulani care taker president aware of this.Probably not.He now lives in a mansion in Accra.These things don't bother him anymore.

• Joe 11 years ago

Some people talk about dual carriage ways on Ghana roads which the NDC will tell you there is no money for it and yet will give millions to someone who did nothing for the nation and still proud about it. These accidents are ...

ASK FOR OUR OIL MONEY FROM EO GROUP FIRST. WHAT DID J A KRONFOUR DO TO TAKE 3% SHARE OF OUR OIL WEALTH FOR ONE MAN AND HIS FAMILY.

• NANA BOSORE 11 years ago

FOOLISH JUDGEMENT DEPT MONEY CAN HELP TO BUILD ROADS BUT INSTEAD ....... POLITICIAN POCKETS.

• Akos 11 years ago

GOD save us all,this terrible accidents will continue to happen untill the authorities stop issuing licence without driving test.A neighbour of mine got a licence without appearing at the licencing office in person.

• Amadu 11 years ago

Infact, Irresponsible Drunkards,J H S School Drop Out Are Commercial Drivers In The Country. So That Is The Prize. Our Institutions Are Weak Due To Corruption. Social Atitudes Should Be Examine Be4 Allowing Drivers To Registe ...

• David 11 years ago

This is very tragic, it is incomprehensible. GH gov't pls do something, do you want to lose all 233mn ppl to road accidents.

• Kofi 11 years ago

Twenty-four dead? Was it a plane crash?

YET PPL ARE DYING LIKE SARDINES ON OUR ROADS...TWEEAAAAA!

MEANWHILE AKWASI APPIAH, NYANTAKYI AND HIS MBAA KUBE (FEMALE COCONUT) HEAD ARE COLLECTING MORE FIFA, GOVT MONEY FROM WANNA POCKET. ALL WILL DIOE BEFORE GH GOVT DOES ...

• KWAKU MANU 11 years ago

we should all pray may almighty god bless ghana amen

• iddrisu adam afuli 11 years ago

this is black monday, what a tragedy to mother ghana. may their souls rest in perfect peace.

• THE ROCK 11 years ago

When the our stupid politicians have the country at heart

• fantastic boy 11 years ago

The solution is there.
    95% of the road accidents in GHANA IS due to head- on collisions.
    Why can't the leaders--policians and the clergy have the will to fix it.WE NEED DUAL CARRIAGE HIGHWAYS LIKE THE BUSH EXPRESS WAY AT MA ...

• WARD GDX 11 years ago

Ghana has zombies occupying positions

• Sethoo 11 years ago

politicians must something new, ghana still enjoys what Nkrumah did in the past an nothing else. DUAL ROAD MATHEMATICALL Y SOLVES THE PROBLEM

• Nana Kwame 11 years ago

Very sad indeed. People need to be educated about the horrors of over speeding. I was on a bus travelling from Kumasi to Takoradi, and the driver was speeding so much, I had to say something. Some of the passengers were enco ...

• kwame USA 11 years ago

LET THEM DEAD THEY ARE ANC PEOPLE

• mimiwas 11 years ago

I think Ghana must enforce very good driving schools in the country.We should adopt to west world driving shools.No whom you KNOW.Agya Koo I will suggest that if the visa business has failed, just try this ,if the air has fai ...

• shaft 11 years ago

drive overtaking or defective vehicle nothing to do with politics nor tribe,do most of these vehicles on the road havew MOT,or defective checks made on them. its always the mercedes benz and another vehicle.

• ATOPAHENE MAHAMA 11 years ago

MAHMA NEED MORE BLOOD FOR HIS JUJU,GOD IS WORKING OOOOOO FOR GHANIANS

• scarecrow 11 years ago

GHANAIAN POLICE MUST WAKEUP TO CLEANSE THE SYSTEM OF BAD AND ANATHORISED DRIVERS ON OUR ROADS,IT IS ONLY IN GHANA THAT A DRIVER OVERTAKES IN A CURVE,IT IS ONLY IN GHANA THAT A BRIVER OVERTAKES ON A STIP HILL,IT IS ONLY IN GHA ...

• Honestman 11 years ago

Drivers of Benz sprinter vehicles are engaed in serious overspeeding and unneccessary overtaking on all roads in the country. Those fast moving vehicles are certainly not meant to be driven by indisciplined Ghanaian drivers

• AD 11 years ago

We are the Gvmnt. If we all say Gv. should do this and that without taking the initiative nothing will get done.Thats why we have Assemble Men, MPs etc.

• NTAMKESE 11 years ago

UNTIL MAHAMA HIMSELF IS DEAD, ALL HIS TRIBES MEN WILL PERISH!