You are here: HomeNews2013 01 17Article 262419

Sodom and Gomorrah to be cleared for $600m project - Mayor

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Ashanti Boy 11 years ago

Well Done Mr Mayor. Our capital city needs a facelift.

• Peter Mortey 11 years ago

The Accra Metropolitan Assembly must be firm and resolute in evicting all the squatters from this area. The Capital of Ghana is too filthy! Move all of them to Ho.

• ATSU, HO 11 years ago

WHY THIS LONG

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call h ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

SHAMO WILL NOT HAVE A SHANTY AREA TO LIVE IN ANYMORE...AND ALL THE NPP ASANTE-AKYEMS WILL HAVE TO GO BACK HOME TO DO THEIR PICKPOCKETIONG AND GALAMSEY BUSINESSES.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

What a name! SODOM AND...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

I was with Gifty Tehoda when she changed into a Pillar of salt because she thought i am Lot.
    Now she calls the town Soduim Bicarbonate and Gomorrah.

• CITIZEN ONE 11 years ago

With this kind of money, just about anybody who really wants to work should have some skilled and even unskilled labor opening. Sadly enough, majority if not all of these people seriously don't wanna work. To wake up in the m ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

Accra Mayor Alfred Vanderpuije about to destroy NDC's legacy ?

The only legacy left behind by the NDC during the misrule from 31st December 1981 till 7th January 2001.

And what will Oye Lithur and his NDC cohorts, who f ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

DONT MIND THIS GUY. HE SLAPS HIS THIGH N TALKS ANYHOW.....MIGHT BE BCOS OF THE WEED HE SMOKES. WABODWE HO NHWIN TES33 OLD SKUUL PUSSY....WAI.....LOL

HW3, IF WISHES WERE HORSES. ALL CAPITAL CITIES IN GH WILL HAVE BASIC PLAN ...

• Kwame Okoampa Ahoofe, Jr, Ph.D 11 years ago

HERE WE GO AGAIN...kwame okoampa ahoofe, jr, ph.d, opens his mouth...and what comes out???? filt!!! like his uncle, WEE SMOKER, NANA "AVAN GARDE" AKUFFO ADDO SERIEL WOMANIZER....ASEM BE BA DE BI...SEE AKYEM DWARF WITH LITTLE ...

• Egya 11 years ago

Tell this man to stop talking and act!!!What is the point?

• Obenfo 11 years ago

Squatters at Sodom & Gomorrah are human beings, and so it becomes very sensitive when such drastic actions are initiated against them.

Normally, the people should be given about 6 weeks ultimatum to move, but they won't ...

• lili 11 years ago

Instead of trying to make a different place for tourists, Accra needs to make it better on the beaches and not just clean up the lagoon. No one is coming to fish in Accra. If the beaches were cleaned up, they could surf fis ...

• Major mayor 11 years ago

People like u always support negative things.We must support the mayor!

One night a man and woman went to his house to have sex in Sodom and Gomorrah .when he stopped her to say "I still live with my parents and me and my brother share bunk beds so if you want to change positions say "Kenkey" and ...

• Old Dirty Bastard 11 years ago

Get lost with your lies.

If an old dirty bastard is calling me an idiot,he will be waiting for the sanitation worker.

• Kojo T 11 years ago

You are right they need to be RELOCATED .

• okukuseku 11 years ago

Ghana has plenty of land. why cant we resettle them? we are jst producing armed robbers. period

• Joe 11 years ago

And why should tey be compensated? They must just return to their villages.

• OBIBA 11 years ago

Oko Van, we've heard enough of your bla-bla-bla, it is time to put it into action.

• derrick 11 years ago

i challenge u vanderpoje, u can't do anything. u people were in the hood telling us the eviction will not come on, now u want to turn arround just after the election. try an see what will happen, the wragth of the people will ...

• Animle 11 years ago

Which people are you sympatising with.

All these people came there on their own from somewhere so they can leave the site for the land owners to restore and put to a use that can benefit the residents of the city.

Perh ...

• zanni 11 years ago

Well where do u want them to move to? They r there free rent am guessing. Rent is high so the best thing the gov purchase a land move them there and charge cheap rent. But remmember what happened when they tried to move nima ...

• ollie, 11 years ago

You are right Zanni. This money must include a developed or semi developed place for these pple to be evicted.

• Benoni 11 years ago

Oko vanderpuije please it is time to act.You have the support of Ghanaians so we want to see more action than talk.Accra is stinking and it is the jock in town and in the diaspora.More decent toilets for visitors to Accra and ...

• Ghana citizen of integrity. 11 years ago

Alfred Vanderpuiye is shaking Accra with challenging task. Well done. Do rehabite the local slowly into an affordable homes.

• kojo pee 11 years ago

It's about time

• yen asem hwe 11 years ago

oko,look we don't want to hear this top again please do the work.

• Abeeku Mensah 11 years ago

Like everything Ghana, I bet there has not been any public review and or comment period nor has the public been privy to project architectural plans.
    The government however, has a price value for the project and for all I am ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 11 years ago

You are right on spot, Abeeku!
    And not only the lack of public review and comments, but also public input is never solicited, neither is the public ever invited to participate, as if they don't have anything of worth to con ...

An Italian, a Scotsman and a Chinese fellow are hired at a construction
    site. The foreman points out a huge pile of sand and says to the Italian
    guy, "you're in charge of sweeping." To the Scotsman he says, "you're in
    char ...

• okukuseku 11 years ago

This is wrong. There must be ressetlment

• Major mayor 11 years ago

Fools always supporting illegal settlers.Support the Mayor!

• Krakye 11 years ago

....."As part of the city sanitation upgrade project, the Mayor has promised to transform the filth-laden Korle Lagoon in Accra into a modern pleasure and transport complex comparable to those in Paris".

WHEN PEOPLE START ...

• GOAHEAD 11 years ago

WELL DONE, IT HAS BEEN AWHILE (20 YEARS) SINCE THIS PROJECT WAS SCHEDULED TO START. WE NEED TO MOVE ASAP!

• Pearlsoflace 11 years ago

Where do they expect them to go with their families if a temporary shelter has not been offerred to them. These are people who are also in need of emergency subsidized housing. Are they expecting them to go and live on the st ...

• CONCERNED 11 years ago

PLEASE ,IT IS EQUALLY IMPORTANT TO RELOCATE THESE PEOPLE.THAT IS THEIR HOME AND I GUESS THEY MIGHT FACE BIG PROBLEMS FINDING A PLACE TO GO.YOU CAN GIVE THEM SOME REASONABLE AMOUNT OF MONEY THAT COULD HELP THEM TO RENT A PLACE ...

• K Philly 11 years ago

Oko is again engaged in forced eviction of the poorest citizens --- the street hawkers, and the people of Old Fadama.

Why don't you rehabilitate them? We did that for Liberian refugees. We could use that camp for some of ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

HE SHAA PASS THE KORLE. HE IS CLUELESS! ALL MAYORS MUST BE VOTED FOR.
    RELEGATE HIM LIKE HEARTS WILL BE RELEGATED VERY SOON.

• Eben. US 11 years ago

Stop your backwardness and nonsense. The major has a vision and is doing an excellent job.

• smileyrose1933@hotmail.com 11 years ago

Don't we all like to know where our Gold money goes, where does our daimond money goes, where does our timber money goes, where does our peanut money goes, and last but not least our so called oil money they brag about to the ...

• Tax man 11 years ago

How will they go because they are leaving like animals

• NA BUGASHI 11 years ago

Long ago that area was Fadama, in 1958 it was closed down, we should not support such bad names in our nation. Fuck this Sodom and Gomorah Shit. The Army and Police have a chance to earn their pay with some real time Power S ...

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

ACCRA MUST BE CLEAN ALL MUST HWLP

• KOLOOKO, JAPAN 11 years ago

MAYOR CARRY ON YOUR GOOD WORK

• takdiman 11 years ago

let push the moyor to the ladder he
    doing great job, support him.

• pk 11 years ago

Well done, Mayor and your team. This is what I have been dreaming for.

• KING LOMOTEY 11 years ago

The sanitation and drainage upgrading project can't be limited to only Sodom & Gomorrah.
    It will have to include Alajo, Odawna, areas around the Daily Graphic, Abbosey Okai, Agbogbloshie, Korle Workoh, Sabon Zongo, Russia-Su ...

• sas 11 years ago

lets all support this course and let Ghana/Accra become a little bit niece.

• JUSTICE TSEKPO 11 years ago

HE SHOULD STOP PAYING LIP SERVICE DELIVER THE GOODS THIS TIME. THE ISNTITUTIONS IN GHANA MUST BE MADE TO WORK FOR THE BETTER GHANA AGENDA TO BE ACHIEVED. GO AHEAD AND EVICT THEM.

• smileyrose1933@hotmail.com 11 years ago

(WHO) World Health Organization at rileyl@who.int come on everyone here i strongly believe that we are all on the same page. There is only one thing we can all do to save the children at Sodom and Gomorrah. Please you should ...

• VAQ 11 years ago

RIGHT ON BROTHER VADERPUJE, THAT IS THE WAY TO GO. OUR BELOVED COUNTRY IS FAST GROWING AND TOURISM IS AT AN ALARMING SPEED AND WE CANT ALLOW THESE LOW-LIFE FREE-LOADERS TO BE SQUATTERS FOR THE REST OF THEIR LIVES BECOMING DEP ...

• Eben. US 11 years ago

The unsanitary conditions in Sodom and Gomorrah is a national health hazard and a human rights issue that affect all Ghanaians. We should not allow that the rights of few Ghanaians who want to live in filth jeopardize the hea ...

• sam (usa) 11 years ago

what shows that this time around they gonna evict them .its talk talk talk .why should a capital city have a filthy place like this.only in Africa!

• Sankofa 11 years ago

Resettle these hapless folk.

They are human beings and our fellow-countrymen. And they have a vote.

• DAGADOO,EAST HAVEN,USA 11 years ago

Put your foot down and do the right thing.Ghana needs to move ahead.

• EDDIE 11 years ago

In my opinion, we must be honest and accept that the situation at Sodom & Gomora can no longer be tolerated.Maybe some people have not been there to acquaint themselves with the situation. Ghana needs to develope, and the pro ...

• agege 11 years ago

this area shouldn't exist in the capital city of ghana. It should be wiped out entirely. Even the villages aren't of this nasty look.

• Stop it! 11 years ago

The stench, filth and lawlessness will be there for a long time. Please don't compare that site to any place in the developed world.

• Amma 11 years ago

It's all very well, but alternative housing has to be offered to these people, otherwise the problem will just shift elsewhere. Where will they live? I'm assuming no-one deliberately chooses to live in a slum if they can help ...