You are here: HomeNews2013 01 17Article 262418

Ghanaian Security on high alert over fears of terrorists attack

Read Comments Comments (99)

• Old Dirty Bastard 11 years ago

They are ones saying all-die-be-die, kill Ewes and Ga

• Obaa Yaa Odo de 11 years ago

NDC ewe gov't it seems will provide cover for Ghana, no joke.

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

These terrorists are ruthless and fast. We must improve our intelligence and tighten things NOW and not wait. The bribe taking at the airports does not augur well for our security.

• CHE ANDREW 11 years ago

These Islamists from Mali and elsewhere are already in Ghana.

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

IT IS SAID LITERALLY THAT IF AN ANIMAL WILL BITE YOU IT WILL BE FOUND IN YOUR OWN CLOTH. KEN AGYAPONG AND AKUFFO ADDO, WHO ARE AGGRIEVED OVER THEIR BITTER DEFEAT IN THE RECENT ELECTIONS ARE OUR OWN ENEMIES. THEY CAN JOIN FORC ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago

Gbevlo-Lartey the clown again ?

What did I hear him saying ?

At the end of April and the beginning of May in 2010 when there was land dispute between the villages of Kombatiek and Nadongou which resulted in over 3,600 G ...

• Kwame Dokyi 11 years ago

Jato Julor is masturbating in a defensive quagmire, charactarized by sudden outbursts of off the point spinning!! He is shocked in the midstream of myopic conjecture!!! Give him the benefit of human limitations!!!!

I thought you were going to debunk the facts in my submission, my stepson .

Your failure to do so gave you out as someone who hears no evil,sees no evil and feels no evil, when the culprit is 'citizen NDC'.

Keep it up,k ...

Government confirms refugee movement from Ghana to Togo

By myjoyonline

There are no shortcuts in life.
    By: Bismark Omari Somuah
    More Quotes | Submit Quote

Government has confirmed a BBC report that sever ...

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

We could not even protect our webservers against the Argentinians so stop making this "mouth mouth", all it takes is bribing a few Ghanaians and they will do the terrorist dirty work for them. I have no faith in this Ggevlo g ...

• brown 11 years ago

you think it is funny eee? you go ahead and continue calling npp people names. when your head is CHOPPED off by your ndc terrorists then you will have thousand tongues to shout 'all die be die'.

• Warrior 11 years ago

Gbevlo is so full of himself. How can he stop anyone who wants to from planting bombs and blowing people up? Even super-powers like Britain and Russia with all their sophistication were vulnerable and could not prevent this m ...

• Awura Ama 11 years ago

The only security NDC knows is we will show NPP where power lies.The real power is on the way so get your thugs with canes ready.The Tuareg rebels are coming Asiedu Nkatia, Yaw Boateng Djan and his boys are you ready this is ...

• Greedy Bastards 11 years ago

Can this guy change his looks once ? I'm having nightmares about how this dude look, always drape in the same faded suit with 99cent sun-glasses. He looks like wannabe-ghetto pimp, it's horrible!

Tell Ghanaweb, idiot.

• Gawuga 11 years ago

No more shit pan carrying for you and family. What are you going to do? Continue your cannibalism ha! ha! ha

Bush Ashanti idiot

• Awura Ama 11 years ago

Of all the tribes in Ghana you are most disgusting in terms of civilisation.Look at your towns and villages roofed with rafia.Stupid, leave Ashanti alone.They Have a city named by the Qeen of England and that is the Garden ci ...

• folks 11 years ago

i will grant you a job ok. I need someone to wipe my ass after i doodoo and i think you will be a good candidate. i will pay you good mr "old dirty bastard." a useless and envious person like you will continue to be looked do ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

you must be a terrosist. make any attempt and you will see his beauty and might.

• NYARKO U.S. 11 years ago

ABOA KUSIE GREEDY BASTARD OFUI. YOU ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT COL. LARTEY'S APPEARANCE, BUY HIM NEW ONES THAT FIT'S HIM TO YOUR SETISFACTION OR SHUT YOUR BEAK.
    THIS YOUNG HARD WORKING COL. IS DOING HIS JOB TO PROTCCT ALL OF US ...

• Ruth 11 years ago

To Greedy Bastards: OMG, You're BAD!

• GOAHEAD 11 years ago

NSC WILL DO HIS BEST-GHANA IS SAFE.

• The Mask 11 years ago

No country is safe. If the strongest Western countries get hits, what then Ghana? It's everywhere. Ghana is no match for them. Just pray and keep watch.

THE MASK , AT LEAST COL. LARTEY AND HIS GENTLEMEN ARE DOING MARVELOUS JOB AND NEED TO BE CONGRATULATEDED AND THANKFUL TO THEM.THEIR ACTIVE VIGILANT SLEEPLESS NIGHTS GAVE US PEACE WE HAVE NOW.
    IF NOT, THOSE SONS OF TERRORIST ...

• Quashigah 11 years ago

The whole world is blind for allowing this devil's Islamic religion in our midst.This jihadist religion is not good. All what it teaches is to kill and destroy.Islam must be flashed out into drainage. The world will have no p ...

• Anali 11 years ago

Islam is always causing problems and the Islamists are pure evil. It is interesting that many Ghanaians do not see the harm they can do if coming to Ghana. It is also amazing that Ghanians keep harping on colonialism, CIA and ...

• Israel 11 years ago

Somalia's Islamist al-Shabaab rebels in tema with long beards, shave their moustaches and wear their trousers above the ankle.

• Quashigah 11 years ago

If it is true, these evil Islamic group do not deserve to be in a Christian country like Ghana.We do not need them here if it is true. They must be sent to hell right now. Islam is the kingdom of satan.

• Gawuga 11 years ago

You stink kole lagoon keta sch boys.

Bushman

• Adehyee 11 years ago

Ayariga is to dog meat, what Kwesi Pratt is to long teeth and Ben EPhson: hypocrisy.

• yes 11 years ago

yes

• K.ENNING-ROTTERDAM 11 years ago

your land lord will evict you his house,you will see.kwasea.

• Kweku Boateng Jnr 11 years ago

Ghana needs more CCTVs across the country particularly in the border towns and urban centres such as Kumasi, Accra, Takoradi, Tamale, Bolga and Wa.

Kwaku no CCTV will be as effective as citizens' vigilance and display of patriotism. At the moment I can speak authoritatively that nomads ridding camels have already infiltrated into communities in the Upper East and Norther ...

Any true Ghanaian should be worried about the influx of camel ridding nomads in the Upper East Region. This is how they infiltrate into the community and unleash mayhem on unsuspecting citizens. Anyone who is close to the Nat ...

CHE I BELIEVE YOU .TO KEEP THE COUNTRY SAFE FROM THE INFLUX OF CAMEL RIDING NOMADS IN THE UPPER REGION, THE CITIZENS MUST BE VIGILANT AND COOPERATE TO REPORT ALL STRANGE AND SUSPECIOUS ACTIVITIES TO THE AUTHORITIES WITHOUT DE ...

• anayomi 11 years ago

GHANA WILL NOT BE SCARED OF THEM AND THEIR FOOLISHNESS

• k the h 11 years ago

You could not and can not even protect Ghanaians from the fulanis. Give us a break.

• NANA KWADWO 11 years ago

THIS STUPID BECAUSE U ARE ALL BEHIDE THIS SHIT

• mc 11 years ago

WE CANT EVEN PROVIDE A CLEAN DRINKING WATER AND WANT TO PICK UP A FIGHT WITH THESE GUYS????HMMMMMMMM!!!!
    LET US TRY TO AVOID OR DODGE THE SITUATION WISELY:

• Napoleon 11 years ago

Security-related issues should concern all Ghanaians.Vigilance is needed especially at the border towns and major cities. We should all help in policing mother Ghana.

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 11 years ago

ACCORDING TO COL GBEVLO LARTEY,"GHANA'S DECISION TO PARTICIPATE IN THE OPERATION IS IN ORDER,SAYING,IT IS IN LINE WITH WHAT THE INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITY THINKS IT IS RIGHT TO DO"
    NDC/MAHAMA ARE AS GUILTY AS THE REBELS IN MALI ...

• Nii Osa 11 years ago

The mess in Mali was created by stupid NATO! NATO turned a no-fly zone criminally and stupidly into regime change in Libya led by France. Ghana had nothing to do with that. The consequence is the mess in Mali. NATO must send ...

• BUKARI 11 years ago

I DONT BLAME YOU 'MC' BECAUSE YOU DONT KNOW THE ESSENCE OF THIS MILITARY EXERCISE IN MALI. WHEN OUR LATE FATHERS WERE DRAFTED INTO THE MILITARY AND TAKEN TO BURMA/INDIA TO FIGHT IN THE FIRST AND SECOND WARS, WE DID NOT UNDERS ...

• Mansa MUsa 11 years ago

Terrorists will not waste their time on Ghana because the country is not attractive to them. Find better thing to do with our security apparatus

• Korsi Vivor 11 years ago

Ghana not attractive to terrorist but when you get them angry they will come at you

• NANA ATTAH 11 years ago

IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN IN OUR DEAR COUNTRY FOR ALL IS TO DRAW ATTENTION AN FEAR IN THE PEOPLE OF GHANA THE OPPOSITION ARE WHO FOUGHT FOR THE DEMOCRACY

• Pumpuni 11 years ago

"...assured that the security agencies are up to speed in taking care of our people and ensuring their safety.”
    These Security Agencies cannot even handle armed robbery cases in Ghana, and here you are talking about your a ...

• Tax man 11 years ago

Please stop the shit please.

• NIMA OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

What is the preparation made by the security operatives and what has our politicians put in place diplomatically for international assistance should in-case there is any terrorist attack on the country in our defence as our i ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Who will attack you?

• Kk3 11 years ago

Where was this dude when the chinese were illegally mining and shooting people? Is he even aware of all the ammunition entering the country? Get real and be serious!! Most of these 'terrorists' are soldiers of fortune and th ...

• nito 11 years ago

Who is this clown anyway? col. my ass!!! long live Akanland, long live all the patriotic AKANS!!!

• KOFI ELLISON 11 years ago

Bullshit!!

• Gawuga 11 years ago

Big mouth Gablo. Armed robbers have taken us hostage with just small arms. How much worse Taliban equipped morrons. God protects us.

• Mansa MUsa 11 years ago

He could not the country from vote stealers in the las election, how dare him talk about armed robers and terrorists?

• dodo 11 years ago

big mouth but nothing behind

• NOTHING LIKE TERRORIST BUT WESTERN TE 11 years ago

PLEASE GHANA SHOULD NOT WORK FOR CIA BECOUSE THE WETERN HAVE TAKEN US AS PAPERT STILL DICTATING FOR AFRICA TO WHAT THEY WANT, BUT THERE IS NOTHING THAT THE AFRICAN CONTINENT HAS DONE WHICH CONTROL'S THE WESTERN POLICY.
    I WIL ...

• Mama 11 years ago

Another ignorant big talking Ghanaian. Stop bringing in CIA when you deal with Islamic terrorists.
    Thank God for Nigeria who has experience with fanatics. Hopefully Ghana is being saved by the Islamists but if not hope you " ...

• yen asem hwe 11 years ago

The terrorist is in the country ,they are alraedy inside there, example this small small chines people they dangers than the Islamist.

• SAMUEL GYABAAH 11 years ago

KEEP ON GHANA SECURITY:

• anayomi 11 years ago

are we in ghana looking for enemys?

• Ataa Ayi 11 years ago

When at all will we begin to share ideas on this forum without trading of insults. Am sure if national security Gbevlo Lartey was an akan, he wudnot be insulted the way he is being. Y3n Akanfuo indeed is true. God help us all ...

• folks 11 years ago

isnt he useless? tell me anything positive this man have done to secure our nation??? he couldnt even help us against the chinese and fulani invaders. what a joke of a man. stop being tribalistic and judge fairly

• nsemfoahi 11 years ago

this islamist should be stop for their nonsense behavoiur and if they dare tempt Ghana, we will face them squarely.

• Wise One 11 years ago

You must be crazy. Ghana cannot keep the lights on. How do you expect that Ghana can fight terrorists?

• ARIMIYAW 11 years ago

OH INFARCT THIS IS A GOOD NEWS COMING FROM THE GHANIAN SECURITY WE ARE HAPPY AND ALSO HAVE CONFIDENT, TRUST IN U AND UR GROUP

• kala 11 years ago

Please no operation blaming it on the opposition... Anyway, karma is a bitch so watch out. More fire, floods, etc...

• The Observer 11 years ago

A Ghanaian will take bribe to pave the way for his own kinsmen to be assaulted and killed. What a country and its people

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

We need a strong West African union.

• You would have resigned if you were 11 years ago

Gbevlo Lartey simply does not know where this nation's security is heading to. He is only sleeping on his job and i believe that is time we had some body step in his position. He is not proactive and has no idea how contempo ...

• KWASI,LONDON NOTTING HILL GATE 11 years ago

my mothers,fathers,brothers and sisters they will not be war in ghana

• Kwabena Apuntuah 11 years ago

Why is it okay to go to Mali but we could not assist Ivory Coast when our help was needed? These people are hypocrites

• peace 11 years ago

this rebels are defending their surventhing against so call westhing civilazation.

they dont want see their doughters becomming prositutes alcholist on mali street what is wrong with that when they took control of their n ...

• JIMY SOMER 11 years ago

ATTACK WILL COME FROM BURKINA AND IVORY COAST.ANYONE CAN ATTACK GHANA AND SAY TERRORIST.WE SHOULD WATCH OUR ENNEMIES VERY WELL

• CHITOWN 11 years ago

hmmm

• YEBOPOWER 11 years ago

The rebels will find safe haven in Ghana because of the fulani president who stole the election with EC help.Give the presidency to Nana and there will be no threat of terrorism.

• Stella 11 years ago

old fashion! old ideas!

• Damani Kariku Tendana.Walibie.US 11 years ago

Dear Brother, "our land's national security coordinator," col.Gbeho Lartey.
    I'm your unknown fellow ghanain and brther in the US.I'm very proud of mother Ghana in where ever I'm in the World.Keep sraight and fight ruthlessl ...

• JONNY 11 years ago

JAKE OBITSEBI, MOCTAR BAMBA,ANTHONY KARBO WILL BE THEIR POINT OF CONTACT. WATCH THEM CLOSELY. I KNOW JAKE IS ALREADY ON THE FBI'S RADAR.

• The Critical Mind 11 years ago

There are various ways of destroying Ghana and the closest we have are TRIBALISM, CORRUPTION, POOR PUBLIC HEALTH, UNEMPLOYMENT, STUPID DEATHS etc. If you are concerned about Ghana, tell the President to solve these national t ...

• A CONCERNED GHANAIAN 11 years ago

seriously speaking, no country in this world is immune from threat. so its wise to gather solid intelligence and act swiftly. as for Ghana we are good at waiting for trouble to come before we act!

• Jato Rawlings 11 years ago

He wants Mahama to retain him as National Security Director.

• anayomi 11 years ago

ghana will burn your ass a life stay away killers you are not wanted here

• folks 11 years ago

if our useless officials and security personals cant even defend us against a few fulani herdsman, how on earth are they suppose to stand against psychos with machine guns??????????? they need to just sit down and eat some fu ...

• SHAKAMORA 11 years ago

look at him were u not there when cocaine travel from ghana to uk stop fooling n be wise kwasea moslems loves demselves like christians look at osama he hide more than 10yrs without moslems release him.moslems r wicked we mu ...

• Nii Ankrah 11 years ago

U can't even protect Ghanaians at kantamanto or the Supreme Court premises.you are a joke

FOOL KUSIE BA, (BABY RAT) GO MESS WITH HIM AND SEE.
    YOUR BIG MOUTH FULL OF ROTTEN SHIT.
    WHEN YOU DRINK HIGH DOSE OF AKPTESHIE AND EAT THE BIG BOWL OF BANKU AND KOKONTE
    ,YOUR NEXT MOVE IS TO TALK BONYASS RUBISH UNGRATEFUL ...

• Alex London 11 years ago

The situation in Mali is frigthening and close neighbouring countries including Ghana who are providing peace force should be on alert for possibe terrors activities. I am however,very disapointed that in a grave situatio ...

• K.ENNING-ROTTERDAM 11 years ago

gbevo lartey must quickly investigate why the somalians are coming to ghana thesedays.i went to the ghana consulate in the haque(holland)recently and there were there applying for ghana visa.what is attracting them in ghana n ...

• mr bonsu 11 years ago

Why are we going to Mali? Who is the international community? Ghana should not get involved on the "war on terror"

• Salifu 11 years ago

Larry Gbevlo is just a numb-skull,in fact all of the NDC bunch are just nonentities! They themselves are terrorists so whom are they going to fight? Gbevlo doesn't know anything and can't do anything!

• Kuuku Annan 11 years ago

No matter how high alert they could be they so-called security people hould check their acts and conscience. The Ghana Ploice is so corrupt so much so that i doubt if they will have the strength to refuse few one hundre ...

• DOME HOTEL2 11 years ago

Country's security was compromised when
    Fulani herds men were allowed to claim property ,roam and destroy farms,kill ,rob and rape our women with impunity.These people are not stupid ,they know the terrain better than any se ...

• agege 11 years ago

the ghana immigration workers should not play any favourtism at the check points. They are hard on ghanaians but flexible on foreigners.

• Igwe 11 years ago

Everybody have to be very careful and vigillant . May God save us from evil attack.

• kwame ghana 11 years ago

do not worry if any attack happens we will attack all mali and niger national here.we know where they are.just relax and let it happen.