You are here: HomeNews2013 01 07Article 261458

Africa must learn from Ghana’s democracy—Kofi Annan

Read Comments Comments (63)

• Kojo T 11 years ago

Let it spread out and our main challenge is how to make NPP embrace democracy. Thye recite it but do not practice it , just as they claim to be Christians but have no love but hate

• moyo 11 years ago

We thank Kofi Annan for a making Ghana proud. What else can man offer his country? God bless you

• Disgrace John Mahama 11 years ago

THANK GOD NPP IS LAW ABIDING PEOPLE IF NOT YOU GO SEE WAR

• JOHN MAHAMA KWASEA 11 years ago

HE IS A THIEF AND ELECTION RIGGER! SHAME TO HIS FUCKEN ASS

• Ghanawoman 11 years ago

IT IS YOUR MOTHER WHO RIGGED YOUR BIRTH, YOU HAPLESS HOPELESS HELPLESS ELEPHANT!!!! YOU SHOULD SUE HER FOR SHITTING AND FARTING IN YOUR FACE WHEN SHE GAVE BIRTH TO YOU, CAUSING YOU TO LEAK PUS OUT OF YOUR MOUTH TODAY!!!

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 11 years ago

THE ENTIRE WORLD HAS SEEN HOW USELESS AKUFFO ADDO HAS BEEN AS A POLITICIAN.

• JOHN MAAMA THE THIEF 11 years ago

UNCIVILISED FOOLS SPOILING GHANA BY RIGGING ELECTIONS! WHO WILL RESPECT AN IDIOT FOOL WHO STEAL PRESIDENCY? HE IS FOR YOU FOOOOOLS

YOUR CIVILISED PARTY IS STILL LANGUISHING IN THE BUSH. KWASIATO.

• NDC SECOND CLASS CITIZENS 11 years ago

WHILE YOU UNCIVILISED FOOLS ARE IN KETU, KULUNGUGU AND TONGO SUFFERING! ACCRA BELONGS TO US BUT WE WILL NEVER RESPECT THAT IDIOT CALLED STUPID JOHN MAHAMA WHO STEAL PRESIDENTCY

• SHADY BLUE niagara falls, ontario 11 years ago

MAHAMA LOW BLOWED HIS WAY THRU 12 RDS ONLY FOR THE REF AFARI GYAN TO DECLARE MAHAMA THE WINNER. IF THE SUPREME COURT/WBC DOES NOT NULLIFY/OVERTURN THE RESULTS. THEN IM SORRY FOR GH FUTURE. GH FUTURE IS VERY BLEAK....YOUR CHIL ...

• Ibby Australia 11 years ago

point of correction of your last sentence.It should be "Who stole"but you wrote Who steal.this is wrong.i don't think your civilised person would write this kind of english

• NO LIE 11 years ago

You also wrote,"i don't think your civilised person would write this kind of english"
    It should be,I don't think a civilised person would writ.....

• Ck 11 years ago

Dont mind that uncivilised ndc bull

• BlindMan 11 years ago

Unfortunately, he suffers a 'black eye' for his stubbornness; now, how do we restore his old image, amid speculation of disaffection at the Party's hierarchy.
    Kofi Annan said, "happenings in Ghana clearly show that country ...

• abraham Osei 11 years ago

War U mean?who will be the looser.If its physical u cant beat the northerners and ews,if it is bravery u can beat them either so what do u think.Fantis and brong wil be on our side too.dont even go there atall.have u forgotto ...

• KOFI, DO YOU CHERISH THIS NWIAMU ABAN 11 years ago

Do you want Africa to emulate your selfless leadership or this " NWIMU ABAN" Kofi?

• KOFI, DO YOU CHERISH THIS NWIAMU ABAN 11 years ago

Do you want Africa to emulate your selfless leadership or this "NWIAMU ABAN" Kofi?

• Banga na Soko 11 years ago

Kojo T kwasea do you understand democracy? Npp members are the people who brought DEMOCRACY to this country. Stupid fool.

• Kojo T 11 years ago

Throwing bombs is democracy to you. Killing school children to further your political agenda is called TERRORISM . Just check from Kulungugu to Accra stadium and find out the bomb throwers.Give your version of democracy to a ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

COUP DETAT NDC FOOL! DO YOU KNOW DEMOCRACY? RIGGING ELECTIONS IS A DEMOCRACY TO YOU FOOLS! THROWING BOMBS IS TO ELIMINATE COMMUNIST AND DICTATORS ASK LYBIA, EGYPT, SYRIA AND MANDELAs ANC! FOOOOLS

FOOLISH BOYS...SHUT UP AND KEEP CRYING IN THE BUSH WHERE YOU RIGHTLY BELONG. WHO BROUGHT DEMOCRACY TO GHANA? NPP? TSIA KAI. NYAMA NYAMA PARTY. GOD BLESS JJ RAWLINGS FOR THAT.

• JOHN MAAMA THE THIEF 11 years ago

SO FAR AS THERE ARE 48 UNCIVILISED NDC FOOLS AMONG US YOU FOOLS WILL AND CAN ALWAYS RIGG ELECTIONS AND DISGRACE GHANA SINCE YOU HAVE NOTHING TO LOSE! WAIT TILL THE DAY ALL THE DIASPORAS WILL UNDERSTAND AND COME SUPPORT AND TA ...

• SHAMO 11 years ago

TSIA KAI? HAHAHAHA ARE YOU LEARNING AKAN? STICK TO YOUR LANGUAGE DONT SPOIL AKAN OK? BUSH IS FOR YOU FOOLS! WHERE YOU COME FROM THERE IS NO EVEN A DRINKING SPOT TALKLESS A HOTEL! ALL HOTELS, BIG SHOPS, BIG BUSSINESS IN TEMA, ...

• zola 11 years ago

CAN YOU SAY THAT AGAIN?

• Disgrace ndc prez mahama 11 years ago

NDCs will forever remain fools and they are still growing in numbers in ourland? that is where we have problem! DIASPORAS MUST COME HOME NOW TO HELP

• kofi USA 11 years ago

hahaha.... we know that u can even say NPP was the one that created the world.

• KROBIA 11 years ago

Even NDC claim to know what democracy means, how much more NPP. please do not compare apple and banana.. Npp is the father of democracy in Ghana whether you like it or not

• zola 11 years ago

YEH RIGHT.YOU MADE US BELIEVE THAT BUT IN REALITY YOU NOT.EVEN FAR AWAY FROM USA PEOPLE KNOW HOW BAD THE NPP ARE.WE COMPARE THEM TO THE REPUBLICANS DOWN HERE IN THE UNITED STATES.

• king 11 years ago

I think RIGGING should be allowed in our elections. What is good for Kwame , is equally good Ama

• K. Sarfo 11 years ago

Its no wonder we have such fools like TX. Does it mean you don't voice your grievances if you are a christian? All should praise NPP but not to tease them. They are civilized and law abiding.They respect the Law.

• king 11 years ago

Any cleaner in the USA can say anything go free

• Kofi Asaase- Asa----Mantukwa 11 years ago

It is too early to praise. The end justifies the means.

• AKUFO ADDO JR 11 years ago

PLEASE KOFI ANNAN TALK TO TO LOOSER A KUFO WEED ADDO TO FINE HIS WAY TO THE BUSH

• baafour twum ampofo 11 years ago

this is stupid talk , have nothing to say

• baafour twum ampofo 11 years ago

stoling verdit

• kingkay 11 years ago

KOFI SAVE THE LAST RESPECT

• Accra-ba 11 years ago

Learn from Ghana`s way of conducting elections, and sending electoral grievance to court. Above all, swearing in the president elect without any violence.

• norvisi 11 years ago

massa thanks , but do you think he understans that ?

• Accra-ba 11 years ago

I suppose, he is a human being so I expect him to grasp that.

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 11 years ago

What else do the NPP and Nana Addo want to hear? For those MPs planning to boycott Parliament or reject Mahama's policies at all cost even if they are good, they should remember their constituencies can amass numbers and pass ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 11 years ago

This is the day Ghanaians are looking for. if npp is looking for their missing vote, they shouldn't come to president MAHAMA OR THE GREAT NDC PARTY, that stupid 1.3million vote the npp is claiming is for the npp or it is goin ...

• ui 11 years ago

foolish man, advice akuffo addo 2 stop his nonsence.
    asante hene's stool is there so he nana addo can fight 4 that 1 coz he's not destined 2b a President in Ghana unless he adopt the 1st name 2b John Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo ...

• norvisi 11 years ago

I thank God that my children would go to school tomorrow and come back and I would also go to work come back and on weekends stay in the night and coma back home all these mean there is peace, no war , Amen

• kabila 11 years ago

Lets give thanks to God for the president. Amen

• AMA-SERWAH 11 years ago

WHAT ARE YOU PPLE DOING?

• KOFI ASANTE 11 years ago

LACK OF DEMOCRACY IS NOT WHY WE ARE WHERE WE ARE-STILL PRIMITIVE.
    ITS THE CORRUP[TION, THIEVERY AND THE INEFFICIENCY--THATS THE PROBLEM. IF OUR LEADERS CONTINUE TO STEAL AND CARE ONLY ABOUT THEMSELVES, DEMOCRACY WONT TAKE US ...

• anayomi 11 years ago

ARE YOU KIDDING ME MR ANANAN ? HOW DO WE KNOW IF MAHAMA REALY "WON" THIS ELECTION AND THIS IS NOT GRAB FOR POWER JUST LIKE NIGERIA

• VK 11 years ago

It will be a terrible mistake for other African countries to copy democracy that looks good on paper but doesn't change anything on the ground. Corruption from high street of politics has not change anything in Ghana but rath ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

GHANA'S DEMOCRACY IS WORTHY OF EMULATION. NPP DID NOT TAKE GUNS WHEN THEY CAUGHT THE THIEF, MAHAMA AND THE EC. KOFI IS RIGHT. EVEN THOUGH MAHAMA HAS BEEN SWORN IN, IF THE SUPREME COURT FINDS THE NPP'ALLEGATION TO BE TRUE, AN ...

• slash yakubu 11 years ago

prince u and ur stupid family will unseat prosperity -stupid NPP FUO,Fire burn u and and ur entire family

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Ghana's democracy is nothing to write home about! It led by thieves for thieves!

• MOSES,LAGOS 11 years ago

AKADU HAS SAID IT ALL. TRIBALISM. CHECK THE HISTORY OF VOTING. IN 2008 NPP HAD FEWER MPS FROM NORTHERN REGON BUT IN 2012 THEY TOOK HALF OF THE SEATS AND NDC THE OTHER HALF. BUT IN ASHANTI REGION ONE PARTY ALWAYS HAS OVER 90%. ...

• MOSES NGOUH 11 years ago

NPP MPS ARE CHEATS.THEY ARE READY FOR PARLIAMENT TO CHOP THE TAX PAYERS MONEY WITHOUT DOING OFFICIAL DUTIES.THEY SHOULD LEAD THEIR SUPPORTERS TO DEMO IN AKYEM CAPITAL.ASANTEHENE SACKED THEM FOR DISOBEDIENCE AND THEIR STILL CR ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago

GHANA'S DEMOCRACY IS WORTHY OF EMULATION. NPP DID NOT TAKE GUNS WHEN THEY CAUGHT THE THIEF, MAHAMA AND THE EC. KOFI IS RIGHT. EVEN THOUGH MAHAMA HAS BEEN SWORN IN, IF THE SUPREME COURT FINDS THE NPP'S ALLEGATION TO BE TRUE, ...

• STATE OF AKANLAND 11 years ago

This article is a big lie. To The Whole World, Ghanaweb is a big lie, bought and bribed by John Mahama Dramani and PNDC/NDC.

The Akan and Noble Laureate --> Kofi Annan has not, and will not say such blasphemy.

Ghana is ...

• NTINSHINU! AKA KENKEY WATER 11 years ago

MAHAMA LOW BLWED NANA ADDO FOR 12 FULL RDS AND THE REF AFARI DWAN JOKE DID NOTHING TO STOP OR DQ THE FIGHT. HOW CAN U LOOK YASELF IN THE MIRROR N CALL YASELF PRESIDENT/CHAMP WHEN WE ALL SAW THE REF DECLARING U CHAMP ON A SILV ...

• TABOOWA 11 years ago

We salute you. Even knowing Mahama didnt win the presidencial election, but laws of the country says we should follow it. Annan and kufour has done very well for attending. We say thank you. They are going to be the very peop ...

• Samuel Osei-Tutu 11 years ago

Poor journalism. Poor English. What does the statement below mean?

"Speaking to XYZ News, who is also former Executive Secretary of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) urged to Ghana to continue to be de ...

• Onyame Nipa (Man Of God) USA 11 years ago

CROOKS

• The Diasporan 11 years ago

If you say that the NPP are the crooks who wanted to damage Ghana's democratic record, you are right.

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

IT IS A SHAME THAT GHANA HAS TAKEN A LEAD IN TEACHING OTHER AFRICAN LEADERS HOW TO STEAL ELECTIONS ONCE YOU ARE AN INCUBENT WHICH FINALLY LEADS TO DICTATORSHIP. ITS A MOCKERY OF DEMOCRACY MR. ANAN AND YOU KNOW IT. WHAT A SHAM ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

KOFI ANNAN KEPT HIS SILENCE ON THE ELECTION RESULTS IN DECEMBER DECEMBER 7,2012.

HE FAILED TO ADVICE THE NPP TO REFRAIN ON THEIR ANTI DEMOCRATIC CAMPAIGNS AGAINST THE NDC GOVERNMENT THAT HAD WON THE GENERAL ELECTION WITH M ...