You are here: HomeNews2013 01 05Article 261144

Male Circumcision – A Painful Traditional Excision or ......

Read Comments Comments (49)

• A GERSIS 11 years ago

GYVB TV

A Gersis reporting

Fellow Ghanaians

Throughout all our lives, every male shall be circumcised when he is seven days old according to our Mohel. It is the covenant between us in our flesh and GOD, It is the pe ...

• Kwesi Atta Sakyi 11 years ago

I thank you most sincerely for youe kind and warm rejoinder which goes to confirm that it is anathema and perhaps sacrilege in Ghana to be male an uncircumcised like the Gentiles and Jebusites mentioned in the bible.

• Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago

Likewise myself. There are still some stock in Ghana who believe in dangling the "bolobolo."

• Frank 11 years ago

I enjoyed reading this well written article.

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

I agree with you that if carried out by well trained individuals, neonatal circumcision as
    Factored by certain religious groups in Ghana is best, least painful and rapidly healing. However the fact still remains that in som ...

Hi Paul, would you believe that an NGO in the USA has written to me protesting vehemently that I am promoting neonatal circumcision against the rights of the newly born baby boy whose consent is not sought! Puerile, feeble an ...

Kwesi, I would ignore them. There are simply too many ignorant people especially in the Western world who hide behind the 'cloak of human rights' to peddle their brand of what they think the world should look like, do and not ...

• Nana Bawuah 11 years ago

"I am yet to hear anyone raise a finger in then US or Europe against Muslim and Jewish circumcision of neonates one Weekmafter birth. Simply ignore these hypocrites my friend."

Recently, there was a court ruling banning ci ...

You are right about this case it as you know, the Muslim and Jewish communities in Germany are fighting this case. In the UK, this is not a problem and one can easily see people travelling across just to have their infants ci ...

• Nana Bawuah 11 years ago

However, the German parliament passed a law in December to allow religious circumcision.The legislation states that male infants may be circumcised for religious reasons within six months of their birth by a "specially traine ...

• natty 11 years ago

Hey man i had the same problem in Spain, i was sent to hospital tribunal, at the moment all my sons are circumcised.

• Skinny 11 years ago

Great article. During our time uncircumcised males could not be in boarding schools.

In my earlier days in the UK, I refused to go out with a beautiful Ghanaian girl because she confessed to having had a former uncircumci ...

• Hamid 11 years ago

"Having digressed a bit..." No, having digressed toooo much. You got carried away far too much from the main topic. Your big problem is that you don't when to stop yourself.

You've just repeated the old canards about the a ...

I wonder whether you did English Literature at school or took your lessons seriously in creative writing or english composition and writing styles.You must know that suspense is part of good writing in delaying the climax ( s ...

• Hamid 11 years ago

The terms you used to describe me rather fit you perfectly. You think if you digress UNNECESSARILY, it is tantamount to creating suspense!!! You don't know that when you're creating suspense, you must still keep your eyes on ...

• black hispanic 11 years ago

Hamid ... bless you! I loved your retort. It was well written and intelligently expressed. I was more than familiar with your references (Bibilical, Spain, Christianity, Islam, etc.)...Yours is one of the best written comment ...

• Rino Johnson 11 years ago

A very good piece. Very educative and interesting. Good job!

Thanks Rino Johnson. I applaud your compliments. Some readers take issue with me for digressing too much but they forget that the art of suspense is part of the ingredients of the art of a good storyteller.

Hamid should please tell us at least six disadvantages of male circumcision as he says I did not do justice to that. I was merely telling my story and not His story and sharing My and not His experience. If he has nothing bet ...

• Hamid 11 years ago

In my main submission, I criticized your points that I thought deserved criticism - and concretely too. I expatiated on areas that I thought deserved them and added some of my own stuff. In all these, I don't think I insulted ...

Hamid peace. You dont have to sit on a high horse to assume airs to criticise my opinions and what I have personally experienced. I choose the style I want to reach my audience which may not please everybody. Do you think At ...

• Hamid 11 years ago

Your problem is that you cannot tolerate an iota of criticism because of "[your] age and ... [your] vast academic experience". Even the most experienced published writers come out with novels that the literary critics condemn ...

• Hugh7 11 years ago

Reasons not to circumcise:

Infection and sometimes death
    Haemorrhage and sometimes death
    Pain / shock, and sometimes death
    Necrotising fasciitis ("galloping gangrene")
    Damage (scarring, pitting) to the glans or *shaft. ...

• Paa Kwesi Mintah 11 years ago

Cousin, I suppose you and your twin sister weren't dropped at a hospital. Anyway, sorry for your prepubescent ordeal.

Being a hospital baby I can't relate to your pain.

Now one question for you: Do you have a real birt ...

• Nana Odumgya Kotiware Kotipo 11 years ago

Oga Paa Kwesi, I salute oh. I read about the Egyptian relief but writing an article like this is challenging as you have to be selective andnot parade all the facts. Did you go to Papa Wanzam at Zongo? If you had crossed my p ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

I dont like "kortiboto" men. Ashantis are all 'kortiboto" so I cant find a man within their tribe. Ewes are not "kortiborto" and their "thing" sweet me paa. But Ewes dont like me. So I HATE them!!!

• Kwesi Sakyi 11 years ago

Akadu, sex knows no tribe. It is tribal blind.

Kwesi, someone is being msichievious and I don't know why the webmaster aloow that to happen!

• AYIGBE KORTI D3D33D3 11 years ago

you should also take this person to the supreme court for cheating on you by fraudulously using your name,so they should nullify /neutralize and declear you a winner;

• THE TRUTH 11 years ago

You are asking why the Webmaster allows this to happen with your name?
    When you insult all Ewes here everyday- why should the Webmaster allow that to happen?
    People use President Mahama, JJ and other names here. Why should ...

Stop using my name for this mischief!

• Nana Odumgya Kotiware Kotipo 11 years ago

Akadu Mensema, waka nokware paa. Ware Nana Odumgya Kotiware na gyaa wo ntoatoa no na wobefa me lantoshe! Candidly frankincense Frankistein.

• Maame 11 years ago

Who told you this is Akadu? If you've been reading Akadu on this forum, she or he, will never write a thing like that. It's somebody who has hijacked that name.

If I am wrong, Akadu should come here to say that I am

• abrantie gyasi 11 years ago

Great article about being the letter writer at a tender age, in your town with those old school materials, but best at that time.You forgot one important material BLOATING PAPER.

I have taken a New Year's Resolution.
    I am now a changed person:)

Someone is using my name for mischief!

• THE TRUTH 11 years ago

How do we know who is who?
    You may be suffering from double -personality disorder!!!

• Vodoo Xebieso 11 years ago

Some stocks in Ghana do not circumscise, so let it be with them.

• ISSAH ALHASSAN / HAUSA WAZAM 11 years ago

"MUMU" Where are the ASHANTI KORTIBORTORS? why this silence?give your comments...

• JOSEPH GANYOBI 11 years ago

ASHANTIS ARE KORTIBOTOR .THEY DON'T EVEN SUPPOSED TO OLD A BIBBLE IN A CHURCH

• Ade Sawyerr 11 years ago

This is an excellent story with some digressions and i am going to post it to my facebook page

• Princewilly@Ymail.com 11 years ago

Nick was in the hospital for a routine circumcision. When he awoke from the anesthesia, he found a group of doctors gathered around him.
    "What's wrong? What happened?" Nick asked, a concerned look on his face.
    "Nick, we're ...

• Princewilly@Ymail.com 11 years ago

Four Catholic men and a Catholic woman were having coffee.

The first Catholic man tells his friends, 'My son is a priest.
    When he walks into a room, everyone calls him Father’.”

The second Catholic man chirps, 'My ...

• Hugh7 11 years ago

Well it's a pity Mr Sakyi's culture thinks he needs to go through such an ordeal. Other cultures don't and are no worse for it. Cultures can change, and some should. How ridiculous to taunt a man - yes, a MAN - for having all ...

Prince Willy must be a comedian of the highest order. Check his 2 comments and you will laugh your lungs out.

• francis sam 11 years ago

dont you think ghana has more
    pressing issues facing us than
    spending time on circumcision what
    about sewage water and adequate
    healthcare to mention just a few

• Ron Low 11 years ago

A truly brave young man would stand among his peers and say: "this is a barbaric superstitious pleasure-reducing ritual and I will not take part."

Foreskin feels REALLY good. Seriously, it's the the best part.

• Jai Mason 11 years ago

Galatians 5:2-4 says that a man who is circumcised is estranged from Christ and has fallen from Grace. I don't know why more Christians aren't familiar with this verse. Christianity definitely does not require circumcision. C ...

• nice penalty removal 9 years ago

5J0ynD Thank you for your article. Cool.