You are here: HomeNews2013 01 03Article 260986

Akufo-Addo v. Electoral Commission: Matters Arising (Part 2)

Read Comments Comments (102)

• MOHAMMED 11 years ago

NDC IS EVIL , THIEVES,FOOLS AND ANIMALS

• Alugu 11 years ago

NPP read the laws and other provisions! The sad part is that our former Attorney Generals are involved in this childish petition.

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

Please note, you shouldn't be surprised if the attorney-generals are under-performing. They are the government's legal advisors but are not always the best legal brains appointed to the position. One would hope for better but ...

• Nsem fon Ahi 11 years ago

I want to ask NPP whether in 2016 they will go to the EC they have discredited to register their party for the 2016 elections. I wish NPP well in their attempt to discredit the EC. NPP should know that some good people of Gha ...

No, but Nsem, if you do that, you are destroying our hard won democracy. I can see you are frustrated by what the NPP is doing, but it is within their rights. The best way of showing disapproval of a party if to VOTE. Banning ...

• KAB 11 years ago

Professor, you suggest the inclusion of Mahama is wrong because of his presidential immunity from suit. I'm very supprised someone of your standing could be so uncritical in your analysis or reasoning. The immunity of the pre ...

• Nana Tutugyagu-USA 11 years ago

You explanation make sense. i don't think these ndc guys really understand the constitution very well.

• Bangbene 11 years ago

Massa you reseasoning is like class one child.

• somebody 11 years ago

Can Mahama assume to be full president since he was not voted by the people of Ghana?He is only acting bcos he bos fell out unexpectedly. otherwise would you say that in this recent election mahama did run for his first or se ...

• KwaK 11 years ago

Well done KAB! The argument put forward here by the Professor is one-sided. No election can be free and fair without rules that pitch the participants on a level playing field. The EC cannot deny some citizens their voting ri ...

• Nana Yaw III 11 years ago

KAB, certainly the immunity of the president is not absolute. Your argument, "The constitution states expressly that such is subject to prerogative writs" is drawn from Article 57 clause 4 of the constitution and it states t ...

• Kobena 11 years ago

Mahama announced after voting in his contituency that those who could not be verified biometrically should be allowed to vote. There are records of this statement
    Cry the beloved country!

You said he announced. Granted. De he make a law to this effect? No.

Did the NPP make any accusation in their petition to this effect? No. Do you think they thid not hear him?

This has nothing to do with crying. It ...

• KAB 11 years ago

Nana, the presidential immunity is a farce.Mahama probably hasn't committed any wrongdoing and there dont appear to be clear allegations against him in the petition. But what many legal persons fail to realise is that this ca ...

KAB, I have not mentioned anywher that "president is not answerable to any suit before any court." In all the comments I have made with reference to this case, I have restricted myself from generalisations and quoted the app ...

• KAB 11 years ago

Nana, I dont expect Mahama to say he has nothing to say. I believe he is likely to say 'he is the legitimate winner of the election and that the results as declared by the EC is correct and free from fraud as alleged or at al ...

• KOLA ,LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

Yours is generalization of issues without regard to the constitution as quoted clearly by the renowned professor.

But in anyway, you've tried but accept that you are not what you see yourself to be.Technically you've been ...

How do you expect him to defend his interests when in the writ he has nothing to answer? Please read the petition.

The normal thing would have been to sue the EC, let the case be decided, and if the court decided to uphol ...

• KAB 11 years ago

Put immunity arguments aside. It would have been tactically easier for the NPP to sue just the EC though I believe including him as a respondent is not a mistake. If the person whose interests are at stake is not party to the ...

Check the other thread. The writ IS NOT about the constitutionality of the declared results. It is challenging the ACCURACY OF THE RESULTS based on the allegations of irregularities.

The NPP has suddenly moved from accus ...

• KAB 11 years ago

It is about the constitutionality of his election because the petition clearly states that Mahama did not obtain 50% plus of the valid votes cast as required by the constitution and therefore his election is unconstitutional.

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

If the results are not accurate, then it cannot be relied on. If the corrected results then shows either did not reach the constitutionally mandated figure, then the declaration is unconstitutional. ,

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

This court case by Nana Akuffo-Addo and Jake must be very important to every Ghanaian who aspire to elective public office. We must congratulate the petitioners for their efforts in making sure right things are done and rules ...

The issue we've been discussing is not necessarily about imunity, but rather the correctness of making Mahama a respondent in the petition. Have you read the petition? Have you paused to ask yourself what Mahama will be doin ...

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

Exactly, why the voting was suspended to the next day so the faulty machines will be replaced. As it turned out there were nothing wrong with the machines in most places. None of the voters would have beendisenfranchied. So t ...

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

The EC declared the total number of voters after the registration, and the changed it on their website. The EC after the votes declared the total number of votes cast both valid and rejected votes. Few days after the same EC ...

• DAVID ATUGIYA 11 years ago

Kab, why would Prof and for that any other person need to contact you for practical legal reasoning lessons, when your legal impairment has unable you to see the unlawfulness of the NPP joining the sitting president who happ ...

• KAB 11 years ago

Article 57[5] does not give absolute immunity. It gives him immunity from personal liability. This is a challenge on the constitutionality of his election. And in such circumstances the constitution doesn't grant him any immu ...

I beg to differ here. The challenge is NOT ABOUT THE CONSTITUTIONALITY of Mahama having been declared winner, but rather about the VALIDILTY and/or CORRECTNESS of the results that were declared. Let's understand the princip ...

• Bangbene 11 years ago

This is wisdom in law and i think the block headed Nana Addo and the NPP lawyers should copy notes from him.

• The Motherland 11 years ago

Thanks Prof., yours has been sheer legal wizardry. Please give us some more, pleeeeease!!!!

• Bangbene 11 years ago

Nana Addo and his lawyers should copy notes since they are block headed.

• Ed. London 11 years ago

With all apologies, I think Doc overlooked the simple fact that if stake holders arrive at a gentleman's agreement duly signed by all involved, that surely stands in court. Similarly, if all parties have agreed on "No verific ...

• CD 11 years ago

Whereas the law is not made by the entities responsible, any gentleman agreement is not the law of the land. There is nothing like common sense law.

• miracles 11 years ago

Please,common sense/law or constitution are different terminologies all together,,they never meet.

• Trokosi 11 years ago

The law cannot be common sense, when it can bite you left and right. The law is an ass, you can be found guilty even if you ignorant

• Sani 11 years ago

Scepticts to Ed's analogy, read this. Try to agree on a sale of an item by gentleman's agreement, duly signed by the buyer and seller, then one party breaches his side of the bargain. Isn't it sufficient for the complaint
    t ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Ed, it is not a gentleman's agreement that is the law, especially in this particular matter but the supreme law of the state, the Constitution. There appears to be a perception amonst both NDC and NPP that because the "no ver ...

1. Was any agreement signed?

2. If signed at all in legal issues of this nature (and we are talking about constitutional issues) an agreement of this nature without a constitutional backing cannot hold in the Supreme Cou ...

• KB 11 years ago

You have provided a very deep insight into the NPP's pending case against the EC and the president. I think the immunity of the president is limited to acts of the president in the course of carrying out his official duties. ...

• Foso 11 years ago

Prof P. Kuruk, so with all these chains of degrees give you the wisdom to analyse these two cases by ending and summarising as JHS student.

You seem to have lost the way to analyse issues just because YOUR STOMACH AND POCK ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

this Kuruk guy may have all the degrees in the world, but he puts ethnicity before ethics of his profession.

Akadu, please, I know you have a good heart but are hurting. Frankly there was nothing tribalistic about this beautiful legal exposition. Are you not proud that Ghana has such a fine scholar? Kweku Asare gave a brilliant arti ...

Some of you people paa!

• Taamiawu 11 years ago

Since Akadu Mensema sees everything through a jaundiced prism,I am not at surprised to her introduce an extraneous factor, like ethnicity, into an intellectual and scholarly discussion,when that element was never broached,eve ...

• Kofi 11 years ago

Look who is talking!

• A GERSIS 11 years ago

GVYB TV

A GERSIS REPORTING

Fellow Ghanaians

Akadu is nothing more than a rhymeter and a versifier of inferior verses.

ANTONIO GERSIS
    PLAZA ONE
    DALLAS

• Kpengson Ray 11 years ago

I think A. GERSIS and Akadu Mensema are in love! That is how some start their love affair-by quarreling before they bond and make love!

• van-london 11 years ago

I thought you were also going to put forward your analysis for all to read!! Talk is indeed cheap!

• kormi 11 years ago

Well, we are waiting to hear what akufo addo and his lawyers will say when their case is thrown out of court

• George 11 years ago

I am not surprise,about P P Kuruk,after buying his degrees,under the NDC rule he can get shelter in ghana.birds of the same feathers flies together.

• miracles 11 years ago

Look,,,,hmmm,correct your english before you insult the Professor.You are funny,,,,,,,correct yourself ok.You really need free SHS.It is bad to write"birds of the same feathers flies together" shame unto you,consult your engl ...

You argue that the President is above the law! Does it mean that if the President kills his wife, he will not have to go to court at all?

• A GERSIS 11 years ago

Indeed, this lesbian who calls herself a Prof and who writes colorless poems is a sick lesbian goat.

ANTONIO GERSIS
    PLAZA ONE
    DALLAS

• somebody 11 years ago

Are you sure you have human brains in your head? you sound like the people who lost their brains during the revolution

• JOEMOORE 11 years ago

yes the law said the president must not go to court while in office. but if he commits any crime or kill his wife as you ask, he would appear in court after the presidency, that is the law and i believe all the president in t ...

Why do we go to court? It is based on the belief that one is right and the other is wrong. of course, it is the court that decides. Based on this, I find your statement below very childish and unscholarly, if not stupidly bai ...

• TRUTH GURU 11 years ago

TOO KNOWN PEOPLE ALL OVER THE PLACE!!!

The professors makes stupid arguments and your anger should be should be directed at him for a simple question: Prof. Kuruk, why do we have courts?

• A GERSIS 11 years ago

The courts are for these lesbians; Akadu, Akua, and Ursula; the other pretty ones

ANTONIO GERSIS
    PLAZA ONE
    DALLAS

• KOLA ,LONDON PROPER 11 years ago

Akadu you sounded as an illiterate. Reason being that the professor has stated clearly using the constitution in his argument. And here you are just writing words you have no idea of.

Can you argue against what the profes ...

• tony 11 years ago

I can see that the Professor isn't knowledgeable enough tr I know what our constitution say about who can be sued in electoral matters. Where did this guy get his professor from? Waste of space.

• Wiafe 11 years ago

I agree with the Prof.
    1. The presidency is a "big" position. So the president is immuned from prosecution even if he kills his wife. However the constitution allows for him to be impeached. The courts cannot try a sitting ...

• miracles 11 years ago

NPP is gonna cry at the S.C

• KOJO 11 years ago

Ghanaians I think there is something everybody is overlooking, if the right to vote is not coupled with the biometric verification, the voting period should have ended just a day and not continue the following day because som ...

• Patty 11 years ago

Because the verification machine broke down, voting was extended. So it makes sense to conclude that 'No Verification No Vote'

The pity is that YOU cannot even construct a meaningful sentence and yet you question an expert legal opinion. Clearly you do not and cannot understand this analysis let alone our Constitution!

Apparently you did not read ...

• mRNA + tRNA 11 years ago

We have to listen to what a real professor of law has just said NOT the "kokoase" NPP lawyers who know nothing just "takashi!"

Thank you Professor Kuruk for your very clear, insightful and eloquent legal analysis. It is concise yet detailed enough to provide what I believe is a neutral but helpful expert opinion. I recommend this for all readers on t ...

• Adu Poku U.S.A. 11 years ago

The court case of the NPP is outmoded at birth. It will be struck out by the supreme court in no time. They should read this article advice themselves and stop wasting our precious time.

• Private Eye 11 years ago

It's very distasteful and offensive for Ghanaians to hurl insults on the Prof. for a well written and insightful "scholarly/academic" opinion; he did not cast a verdict - please grow up!!. In my opinion, this is an opportunit ...

• Wiafe 11 years ago

Political parties are voluntary organizations organized for the purpose of running and contesting elections--but they are not necessarily legitimate and good for the polity. So NDC and NPP pushing to destroy Ghana's democrac ...

• Kojo 11 years ago

I was indeed searching the internet to read Prof Kuruk's comments on this case. Prof. please don't give up providing your views on these legal issues affecting your country. I notice the insults from some readers but I pra ...

• Kwadwo 11 years ago

As practical matter, do you expect Mahama to invoke presidential immunity in an election fraud case that could end his presidency? It will be suicidal for him to do as the case against the EC will go on even if such a motion ...

• Wishful thinking? 11 years ago

All the discussions we are engaged in are mere speculations - only the Justices have the final say.

My question to the Professor is: why did we go into a second day of voting if verification with the machines was not an in ...

• obodai 11 years ago

The answer is simple.If it is determined by the ec that an act of God had unenabled the elections to take place at some polling stations through no fault of anybody the electoral commissioner can postpone the elections to the ...

• koi 11 years ago

like it happened in the tai elections in brong Ahafo last elections which was postponed and determined the last elections results.

• Dr Yaw Ohemeng 11 years ago

We all know what happened in the last election was not an act of God - it was simply because the biometric verification devices broke down.

There are radio recordings of Mrs Sylvia Annor (PRO for the EC) entreating all Gh ...

• koi 11 years ago

No it needn’t be only an act of God that determines the postponement of an election but all circumstances inclusive.The EC determines when there shall be a postponement in order not to disenfranchise the eligible citizen of ...

• Paa Kwesi Mintah 11 years ago

The suit is against the EC and the sitting government that supervised the elections.

Mahama is the head of the NDC, besides being the president of Ghana.

Mahama is being enjoined as a respondent to the suit an act of sy ...

What a fake lawyer you may pretend to be. How could possibly put out these illogical comments. The author does not need any court room experience, not from you or any attorney, he is an authority in own right.There are those ...

• Paa Kwesi Mintah 11 years ago

You're not helping yourself or the author's lame assertions.

The author is talking about "no verification, no vote" being acceptable and legal. Yet the voting was extended another day to allow others to vote who previously ...

• Taamiawu 11 years ago

"..the voting was extended another day to allow others to vote who previously were rejected by the verification machines etc".
    You listen to people like Asante Bediatuo and other NPP lawyers who have argued voceferously that ...

The more you write on this matter the more you make yourself laughable as a lawyer or whatever you call yourself.
    The elections as konw you were extended for one extra day to enable voters in some constituencies exercise th ...

What a fake lawyer you may pretend to be. How could you possibly put out these illogical comments. The author does not need any court room experience, not from you or any attorney, he is an authority in his own right.There ar ...

• MIREKU 11 years ago

This is the real and true professor,and not that hopeless idiot like Ahoofe who is mut decieving himself that he is normal being. What a foolish case and disgrace these criminals are bringing uppon themselves.I thought they s ...

• Lee Gbiriko 11 years ago

Trully. peace is a by-product of justice. When issues are legally explained like this then every one's mind is cleared, grievances ease off naturally and peace prevail. Who says going to court is wrong? Thank you Judges.

• KD, UK 11 years ago

Prof, I am very disappointed in your one sided analysis. How can an election be free and fair when some people are not allowed to vote without biometric verification while others allowed. Are you saying a president / presiden ...

• KD, UK 11 years ago

Prof, I am very disappointed in your one sided analysis. How can an election be free and fair when some people were not allowed to vote without biometric verification while others were allowed to? Are you saying a president / ...

• ABK Gabon 11 years ago

NNP Empty headed bunch of lawyers who knows nothing about law.Go back to law sschool and obtain your proper law certificate and stop using the fake ones you criminals are parading with. GOD will punish you for touching his an ...

• Kobena 11 years ago

Professor Bon Kankan,
    Mahama stood the election as plain John Mahama, not as Presideent of Ghana, that was why he had to campaign lke everybody else. That is not law, that is simple common sense.

Even Uncle Atta who had a ...

• Luther King 11 years ago

this prof kuruk guy is intelligent and if NPP listerns to him the better. remember his articles on the legality of the creation of the new 45 constituencies came to pass. ok prof if u have condemed the no verification votes, ...

• Kwame Philly 11 years ago

NPP's paper Argument in Flames

Professor Kuruk rejects NPP's paper argument.

Professor Kuruk is succinct and objective. His narrative is cogent and direct. It is free of legalese; it does not bear the finger print of a ...

• Offin50 11 years ago

I am indeed surprise a whole Professor educating the public on CI75. At some point he said the matter is in court and that he was not going to comment on it. Why showing that stomach direction. If the verification was no esse ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

Don't your time on him

• nana addo dankwah 11 years ago

I wish the Npp would read this,pls advice them.they need you to explain this to them.they should consult u for advice as I dnt think most of them are lawyers as they claim.they may be clerks at a law firm and think ,oh yes we ...

• GHANABA 11 years ago

This is the type of matter we want to read on Ghanaweb.

• KOFI 11 years ago

LET US LEAVE THE SUPREME COURT TO DETERMINE THE MATTER IN COURT. OUR COMMENTS WILL AFFECT THE JUDGES'S MINDS.

• Ghanatta Ayaric 11 years ago

Insightful exposition!

Looking forward to reading more MATTERS ARISING, Paul.

I wish you a blissful New Year!

Your classmate.

• Okoe 11 years ago

Ghanaweb! why do you allow very abusive articles into your publications? I think you must edit and disallow offensive articles to appear in your publications although you may be practising freedom of expression, still, I do c ...

• A friend 11 years ago

Former visiting prof at Oxford , my ass!! You might fool weak Ghanaians but not me you fraud!!

• Joe 11 years ago

I checked his name in the faculty list and he was not there