You are here: HomeNews2024 05 05Article 1929343

Dr. Bawumia clarifies plan for tax amnesty and flat import duty rates

Read Comments Comments (60)

• Maame Abenah 3 weeks ago

God sent Dr. Bawumia to change the living standard of our nation. The import duty tax is confusing and needs to be simplified. My prayers are before God, and Dr. Bawumia becomes the next President of Ghana. Amen.

• ALETSE GBONTON 3 weeks ago

THIS BAWULIAR GUY MUST GET SERIOUS... WHAT HAPPENED TO GOLD FOR OIL POLICY... NOW FUEL IS 15.77 PER LITRE.... WHAT ARE U EXPLAINING AGAIN??? NDAADAAA NKOAAA!!!

• mr amin 3 weeks ago

My brother ALETSE fuel prices went up mainly as a result of the depreciation of the cedi to solve it he says he would charge import duties in cedis that would go a long way to solve the depreciation of the cedi because trader ...

• Joe 3 weeks ago

He’s Bawuliar , the greatest liar in the world, mother serpent of corruption kid nobody should trust him

• God strike the devil. The devil is a liar.... 3 weeks ago

My brother Mr anim.... Imports are not bought in Cedis... So you need the exchange rate to convert that currency into Cedis before you can tax... This is what the tax authorities everywhere do. Please don't disappoint the inv ...

• Best man 3 weeks ago

Talk in cheap. Has he "arrested" the cedi. The economic wizkid who was suppose to tame the running cedi has pivoted to something else while the cedi keeps falling. A useless economist

• No Nonsense 3 weeks ago

BEST MAN, I AM WITH YOU. INDEED HE IS A USELESS ECONOMIST. EYE NDAADAA NKOAA.

• sungod 3 weeks ago

clueless bawliar .. he as confused as the word itself, laughing jackal who dances like praying mantis. economist banza . where is the dollar now , it has exposed you. what of inflation ? clueless

• Clifford 3 weeks ago

7 years now. Where is the Kpalugu Dam

• mr amin 3 weeks ago

Import duties to be calculated in cedis this would strengthen the cedi and reduce the cost of doing business,, why should a sensible leader charge import duties in dollars and traders pay in cedis? This will put huge demand f ...

• FK 3 weeks ago

Import duties are always charged in cedis. Not in dollars. Import duties are charged on value of goods imported. Since, the value is in foreign currency, it needs to be converted in cedis before the duties are charged.
    What ...

• Jason 3 weeks ago

So you guys still listening to this bawumia .who promise to change the economy from taxation to industrialization?what was the outcome?

• We don't believe the pitch 3 weeks ago

Great idea but why didn't u implement under this govt .

So campaign will easier ..nobody trust u will do ..all political talk

• mr amin 3 weeks ago

He is not the president he might suggest it to the president he doesn't make appointment or take the final decision

• Koo Fori 3 weeks ago

Mr . Amin with all due respect how old are you? You sound like a 5 years old child.

• Jack 3 weeks ago

TRUE... or better still you should implement it now.

POLITICAL TALK! NEVER BELIEVE HIM BECAUSE HE WILL PUT YOU TO SHAME AND IN THE END, YOU WILL REGRET IT BIG TIME.

• Kk 3 weeks ago

Masa make we think ok......

• Adansie 3 weeks ago

How is this simple.are you saying Duties are paid in dollars. And with flat rate the dollar will stabilise? The problem with this man is that he is a hypocrite, selfish and insensitive because duties are proposed a by governm ...

• Boldsteven mother serpent of corruptionn 3 weeks ago

Bawumia you were the same person who heaped these taxes on ghanaians as head of the EMT. Now pretending instead of removing them right now. You think ghanaians wash their faces upwards. Who shd vote for you b4 coming to remov ...

BOLDSTEVEN, I AM 1000% WITH YOU ON THIS MATTER.
    GOD BLESS YOU REALLY GOOD.

• Emil Mensah 3 weeks ago

Talking as an opposition leader. Bawumia, are you not the VP of Ghana? What stops you from implementing it under this government if it's a good policy?

• Nana addo the clearing agent 3 weeks ago

Why can't you do all these nice things now, you are in power Mr liar

• Kojo Menkah, Bremen. Germany 3 weeks ago

Good. Why not immediately to convince the people that you can be trusted.

He knows it wont work... He's more than a con-man

BAWULIAR IS A CON MAN INDEED.

• James Owoahene 3 weeks ago

Putting the youth at the centre of our national development agenda makes Alan Kyerematen well and truly a generational thinker. 60% of Alan's Cabinet is reserved for the youth.
    WOW!!!. THAT'S GREAT!!!
    Therefore, the youth, ...

• mr amin 3 weeks ago

Pls stop talking about Alan he is incompetent

• Kido 3 weeks ago

Bawumia is a trickstar. What is he talking about? We currently pay about 22 different taxes at the port. These taxes are currently paid in cedis, not in US dollars or Euros. So who does he think he is deceiving? In any case, ...

And as stupid as his NP-pig followers too. (Pls next time add that one too)

• ABASS Amogobo 3 weeks ago

He is a big time LIAR Nobody should believe him

• Kofi 3 weeks ago

Useless man with his lies! We are still waiting for you to arrest the dollar. Why not called Mahama incompetent again? Foolish and most useless Vice President in the history of Ghana

• Why Listen 3 weeks ago

There is no point listening to someone always with the intention of swindling people's minds.
    Analyse and seek for the reality by yourself.

• Akajatayogogo 3 weeks ago

Useless

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

Woboa he is liying ! He is completely useless liar

• Liar 3 weeks ago

Liar , you’re also of nana Addo government

• Nana addo go go away nation wreckers Npp 3 weeks ago

Nana addo go go away nation wreckers Npp
    Nana addo dumsor nation wreckers leave us alone Npp kasoa no light since yesterday

• Atsu London 3 weeks ago

At Dr Bawumia understands what he is saying unlike Asimasi who cannot explain he's so called 24hr economy. Who in his right sense will vote for this scam

• Good Citizen 3 weeks ago

BOGUS ECONOMIST
    Is this man truly an Economist and a PHD holder? I am having my doubts. How can calculating duties in cedis tame the dollar?. As at now duties are caculated and paid in cedis. Every cedi has a dollar ecquive ...

• Bawumia WON'T get even 30% 3 weeks ago

He go explain TAYA......FOOLISH!

• Abraziaa 3 weeks ago

Useless Vice President bawumie do it now and stop foolishness akans and week thinking people will understand you animal no sensible human beings will listen to this liring man Ashanti's voting for animals

• SPOTLIGHT MEDIA 3 weeks ago

*/ ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A YOUNG SOCIAL MEDIA EXPERT TO HELP YOU PROMOTE YOUR BUSINESS,SERVICES,PRODUCTS,EVENTS,MUSIC ETC ON SOCIAL MEDIA THE RIGHT WAY..THEN CONTACT ME...I AM A PROFESSIONAL WEBSITE DEVELOPER,DIGITAL MARKETER A ...

• Nii Odapagyan 3 weeks ago

Useless Liar. You think we a dumb. Are you not the same person who organized economic lectures to proffer solutions to our economic woes? What happened? What of taxation to production? Useless Liar.

• Nii Adjei 3 weeks ago

Lakpator Bawuliar! Anybody who takes you seriously does so at the peril of his life. You cannot be trusted. How many of these lofty promises to us have you not broken? Arrest of the dollar, from taxation to production, no E-l ...

• JJ 3 weeks ago

Same lies as 2016.please.No ghana will take you serious again

• Christopher Azu 3 weeks ago

If you have this idea of taxes why you didn’t advise your boss to implement it liar!

• TonyB 3 weeks ago

You could not do all these reforms in almost 8 years as the chairman of the nations economic management team and will do that only when you become president Do it now for us to believe you

• OSAFO KANTANKA 3 weeks ago

This guy is a jerk. My question is why is he Not helping his driver to implement all these Fantasy plans of his. I don’t trust him. He should be avoided like Plague.

• Ike Boris 3 weeks ago

Why can't they initiate that now, it might probably give a reason to vote for him.

• Agyei Agyeman 3 weeks ago

Ghana is cheap paa for someone like Bawumia having the ordersity to stand for presidency is annoying paaa and you see people are even supporting him. Honestly not that i hurt Bawumia but now this current crop of NPP have mad ...

• Justice 3 weeks ago

Are Ghanaians dump enough to vote for this guy?
    After bragging about arresting the cedi, look at how weak the fundamentals are! The cedis is now 14,ghs plus to the $ !
    Was he not talking nonsense when the cedi was 3.85 ghs ...

• WEB SERVICES. 3 weeks ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - eCommerce/Online shop Websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call us today. 0501796870 for more info. FGF4 ...

• manner less 3 weeks ago

The chief confident trickster

• Jack 3 weeks ago

Lies ooh lies!!!

Do it now. You are still in power. Eiii.

• Sam Fante warrior. 3 weeks ago

The mountain goat is jumping from church to church and from mosque to a funeral like mad little goat. He is an useless more than GHC. Fake dollar police officer.

• El Chapo 3 weeks ago

Cocain head, so only when u in power that u can do that

• JJ 3 weeks ago

Another scam by the vp.This man has no shame at all

• Abramtie 3 weeks ago

Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar Bawuliar

• Anemana Gregory 3 weeks ago

DMB this is Damage Control!

• Nana Addo 3 weeks ago

Why can’t you do it now ? You think Ghanaians are fools anaaa, why? If your boss is really serious about helping you, he should do this just for your votes,,, you are saying something to your boss as well that this policy o ...