You are here: HomeNews2024 04 06Article 1924800

Stop escorting your friends to and from KIA, else you’ll be sacked – Henry Quartey warns Immigration officers

Read Comments Comments (145)

• plantain chips 1 month ago

GHANA NO LONGER IN THE TOP 10 ECONOMIES OF AFRICA!

Ghana used to rank 8th in the top 10 economies of Africa. We are now 11th behind Angola, Ivory Coast and Tanzania.

Imagine that! How did we get this far?

Are Ghanaia ...

• iPRONOUNCE 1 month ago

Drug barons in immigration officer uniforms. Those are not their "friends". They're their mules. And those bags are their investment and source of wealth. WE NEED A SECOND RAWLINGS

• Who Killed Mills 1 month ago

Can Henry Quartey be a President. As for Mahatma he is clearly better than him and even better than bawumia. Henry has always been a man of action. What can he do when given the mandate?

• Kutunsey 1 month ago

Well he is better than bawumia the liar and mahatma but can not be better the our Mahama. Mahama all the way. The NDC is coming again and the people say ahedzor bordoor. ;)

• Apuuuuu!!! 1 month ago

The immigration boss needs to be sacked immediately. He cannot control the institution he is taking care of

• Obestebie 1 month ago

Yes, sack the leader!

• Captain Poison 1 month ago

Does CG stand for Corrupt General or Commissioner General or .....? Poor journalism or does Henry Quartey expect all to know what CG stands for?

• Immortal 1 month ago

Comptroller General

• Captain Poison 1 month ago

Thanks.

• Ewvevi 1 month ago

Yua morda. Didn't you read that Henry was at the Immigration office to address them, such that everyone gathered there worked with immigration service thus understood CG? He wasn't talking to ordinary forest monkeys like you. ...

• Ghanaian 1 month ago

hey mr, poorly educated,
    some of us reading on line, don't know what the acronym cg stands for.

• Ewvevi 1 month ago

Foolish 'Ghanaian', no wonder most Ghanaians are fools. Captain poison blamed Henry quartey for using CG, which was wrong. He started off by blaming poor journalism. Fine! But he went on to blame the minister. For what? Again ...

• Nana 1 month ago

Google and read. Mr. Illiterate!

• Akan Prophecies 1 month ago

HENRY QUARTEY SHOULD NOT CROSS BARRIER AND EXAGGERATE ! THE COMPLEXITY OF ARRIVAL AND DEPATURE AT THE AIRPORT DEMANDE COMPANY. OR THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH STAFF TO DO THIS WORK
    .SOME IMMIGRATION OFFICERS TAKE THIS TASK UPON T ...

• Apuuuuu!!! 1 month ago

What Henry Quartey saying is perfectly right. I saw something like that at the airport because I have used the airport just recently. The nonsense from the immigration officers must be stopped

• the Villager 1 month ago

Nonesense, how much must they pay tojoin the GIS? So you think they should pay such hefty sums to serve the govt? Kwasiasem.

• Ck 1 month ago

Well said my brother.

• You were born a thief. 1 month ago

Typical corrupt Ghanaian. Very corrupted mind. Gid himself cannot help you

• Obestebie 1 month ago

If there are not enough staff, where do they get people to walk travelers in and out without inspections? You are missing the point. Everyone should abide by rules and laws.

• Yaw 1 month ago

Good one there...But If you will build a house in Ghana, you must think of drilling a water borehole; and if it must be done well, think of waterboons.com

• Lazy man 1 month ago

Have we ever been listed amongst the top economies?

• Onipa Nua 1 month ago

Boss. your question "Imagine that! How did we get this far?" is a good one, But it should rather be " How did we get this LOW". Cheers

• ST Ghfuo: Gh leaders are not enlightened 1 month ago

A nation without skyscrapers what do you expect? You won't see this primitive behavior in s Africa, kenya,, cote divoire in gh these people will say hey my friend this is Gh smh. Totally unprofessional. Just use the camera to ...

• T.I 1 month ago

Where were we under JM four years of Dumsor?

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 month ago

Henry is a man I truly like his nationalism,
    if this man called Henry Quartey is given a free hand in whatever ministry he would be appointed to, he would do works for Ghana as a nation.
    I wish Mahama in his next Governmen ...

• Right vs privilege 1 month ago

True, my brother.

• Nameless 1 month ago

I agree with you intoto. Mr Henry Quartey is the only good man in NPP, and the only Akufool Addo appointee doing the right thing. God bless him.

• Kwaku Ananse 1 month ago

HENRY IS IN THE WRONG PARTY
    Henry’s philosophy and actions are purely NDC and the opposite of NPP. How did he find himself in the wrong party?

• Steve Kay London 1 month ago

So Rogue Lawyer ( what a horrible name) are you still dreaming that the womanising drunkard and incompetent dead goat will come back to power?
    He will finally be retired from active politics in 2024.

• Ako 1 month ago

Amen.

• J0eY l0nD0N 1 month ago

Fool incompetent drunkard constructed the Uktra KIA terminal 3, for vagabonds like your useless cathedral pits holes constructing government, to give them out
    to whores including his own daughters .

Ofui

• The Mothe Serpent Of Corruption 1 month ago

@ Steve Kay London, In your silly dreams JDM is coming we’ve seen and we can testify his humility and vision for this country not jack Toronto and his aplanke the google liar of the century the most clueless president and h ...

• Kutunsey 1 month ago

Cheap abuses from low life cowards like you will Never worry Great Mahama from the incompetent ones currently running the country.

• Ojah 1 month ago

@Steve Kay London, you and your NP-PIG jackasses and bitches have a problem. Fortunately for you all, that problem is not Mahama but your foolish corrupt and incompetent dumb ass selves! Think about it before commenting here ...

• Yabi Yabi 1 month ago

Yes he will come back to do a better job completing Ghana’s essential infrastructures, provide moral compass and the foresight that requires school to be built before free education and laptops, the existence of hospitals a ...

• Babangida Casagrande 1 month ago

During PNDC era the same sh-t was going on, only Eves n gas were exempted at the seaports, just greet them with that NGBATI NGBATI languages they’ll let you through, but if you speak any other languages and your last names ...

• Historian 1 month ago

Shame other govts just replaced the ‘Eves n gas’ (Ewes and Ga people I presumed) with their own tribes to carry on the bad practices instead of enforcing what is right and teaching the ‘Eves n gas’ the right way to b ...

• NII 1 month ago

Henry Quartey comes from Kpakpatse We, a family of Ghanaian trail blazers. Same as Ike Quartey, Clement Quartey(first African olympic silver medalist in boxing, Rome 1960). Ruby and Mercy Quartey-Papafio, first female princip ...

• Kwame/Frank 1 month ago

POWERFUL HISTORY
    Where Did U Get That From ?
    I Have Not Seen Any Of Our Politicians Doing Their Work/Job Comparable 2 Mr Quartey
    We Need Government Officials Like Him2 Help Our Country Badly

• NII 1 month ago

Google the names. This is not anansi s3m.

• Gborlahn 1 month ago

I doubt if people like Mr Quartey can be effective within a party system.

Their own crooked people will sabotage their efforts. Anyway, I admire the way he gives ample warning before he takes action. Any crooked and sensi ...

• John Boadu did exactly that 1 month ago

John Boadu did exactly what you just said to him. When he was trying the clean up Accra of congestion, John Boadu was telling him to stop because, in his twisted mind, his action will affect NPP in votes

• HES MOREINTO PROPAGANDA THAN POLICY? 1 month ago

The issues in relation to immigration in the country, escirting people through immigration is just 0.0000005% of the concerns.

The key issues that needs to be dealt with involvibg reviewibg of immigration policy in its tot ...

• Ojah 1 month ago

How do you review or issue review of policies when those who are supposed to carry them out are busy escorting family and friends around them, instead of being at their posts? Having access to the internet doesn't make you a ...

• HES MOREINTO PROPAGANDA THAN POLICY? 1 month ago

Screaming and telling officers to stop escorting relatives through immigration makes you a laughing sto k anongst the officers. Theyve seen tve lines of him come and go, and nothibg will change. Rawlibgs even did worse shou ...

• Sam 1 month ago

What happened to his clean up campaign.
    His boss told him to stop

• Obestebie 1 month ago

Foolish talk. How did you know that?

• ELECTRIC FENCE AND CAMERAS. 1,kQ 1 month ago

We help secure your perimeter with modern ELECTRIC FENCE SYSTEMS that supports alarm system and backup battery system. We sell and install ELECTRIC FENCE & CCTV CAMERAS. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com ;L9K

• Ekd 1 month ago

Henry Quartey, a great man. I wish for the day that you will have a free hand to operate. Ghana will see wonders. Please for the sake of mother Ghana start planning to be the president in the near future. I wish I am alive to ...

• Nii Adjei 1 month ago

I heard that he is on bawumia's list of vp candidates. I wish him blessedly well.

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

He should wait. Bawumias ticket is a losing ticket.

• OSAFO KANTANKA 1 month ago

This warning is indicative of extreme weakness. The rules are there and those you have witnessed breaking the rules should have been dealt with immediately. Why should you give rule breakers warnings when they should be sa ...

• iPRONOUNCE 1 month ago

This indicative of a FAILED system. You apply the law and arrest them, the police officers, the chief justice or even Akuffo Addo will release them the same day provided they are connected. You must be joking.

• Tijani 1 month ago

You don't get it right. That's not how the system works. You give people warning before sacking them from work. At least he has been able to voice it out unlike others who will not say anything about the situation

• Obestebie 1 month ago

Somethings don't need warnings, Somethings you sack on the spot.

• Herh 1 month ago

Then he should also stop receiving and escorting delegating and escorting friends to the airport...abi they say no one is above the law......smh

• W 1 month ago

They have been receiving Chinese galamseyers and escorting them corrupt leaders selling properties

• ofi Adu 1 month ago

If you will follow up this directives yourself it will be fine. Because it is a disgrace to the country if you are at the airport. Foreigners just look at the immigration officers crossing the line with their friends followin ...

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

That was my brother s exact description when he went home with his wife and children. It got so bad they had to cause aluta for the line to be served.

• Correctly spoken. Without fear or favor. I like this man 1 month ago

Na man you be Sir

• Alhaji Said 1 month ago

Very good intention and indicating. It is not only Immigation people that are involved, only some of them and national security boys too. At times, you would see party boys and radio commentators doing same.

• Kantamanto fos seller 1 month ago

When will this foolish Ga man from Bukom keep quiet?

• ofi Adu 1 month ago

He will keep quiet when a fool like you shut off

• Gborlahn 1 month ago

Kantamanto whatever, clearly you're a nation wrecker and a thief. Probably a drug baron or a mule.

• Gborlahn 1 month ago

Thank you Henry. We need more men like you.

Is the head of the immigration service not aware of what's going on? Elsewhere, the head of GIS would have been sacked.

I have worked under several bosses and it's sad to sa ...

• Jak 1 month ago

Onye s))mii. You are the foolish one.

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

Kurasinii ba odwan. He is not from Bukom. Besides Bukom is a world class boxing town, more popular than your village aboa.

• Obestebie 1 month ago

When you a foolish idiot shut your beak!

• Nii Odoi 1 month ago

There are far too many "officials" at airport.

• Good News 1 month ago

I like your directives towards this hungry officers at the airport of Ghana. Is time all this nonsense has to stop.

• Oyibo 1 month ago

If we have 10 his type as ministers, Ghana would be a better place to live.

• Cheap talks 1 month ago

Is totally nonsense immigration officials they don’t have wife children and wife they don’t have family?

• Ajah 1 month ago

Yup no wonder. Typical Ghanaian mindset of friends and family deserve better than anyone else.

• Kweku Tsin 1 month ago

What does your dumb comment have to do with them working within the confines of their job description.

• Ajah 1 month ago

Only immigration officers?

• Bastie Asantefourhene 1 month ago

He’s the man for the job. Disciplinarian

• b33b33 aponkye dormaahene 1 month ago

you talk like aponkye b33b33 b3b3b3b3

• Bastie Asantefourhene 1 month ago

If you ever say any word containing B3, may you die suddenly.

• Prof Wahab 1 month ago

A typical GA man in power....

• matthew 1 month ago

one of the few upright people in government.

• OBSERVERS WITHOUT BOADERS 1 month ago

WAY TO GO SIR

• Joe Wise. 1 month ago

Everything is in a mess in Ghana.Mostly Akan powerfull Pastors, all over at the Ministries and the State House speaking Twi..Ghana is becoming an Okurasi State

• okofo 1 month ago

Ghana Immigration has OPENED Ghana's entry doors too WIDE for many "UNDESIREABLES". They have made entry too EASY for many FOREIGNERS with no questions and interrogations. Ghana immigration officers hardly check illegal immig ...

• W 1 month ago

Plenty of the illegal immigrants are brought in by the so-called politicians

• GHANAMAN 1 month ago

And after one month back to the same spot. So so moff moff as always. We always find loop holes or just the law will back down.

• For_Shege_Reasons 1 month ago

What about the immigration officers extorting monies from travellers

• Ako 1 month ago

Action Man. I support you.

• Kobina Boafo 1 month ago

Nonesense, if you idiots in Govt can be escorted out, why can't we the true Ghanaians be also escorted. You serve us, not the other way around.
    Ghanaian 419 leaders who can't even keep a clean cuty issuing useless directi ...

• Mohammed Nurideen Abubakar 1 month ago

Henry may be right or wrong. Investigate first before you sack. Majority may be friends but some may be family members. Remember, every officer come from a family. You don't expect an officer to see his or her father or mothe ...

• Pelicles 1 month ago

Yes, but let them go through the laid down rules and regulations.

• Ojah 1 month ago

@Mohammed. What Quartey is saying is clear! Govt paid officials using their govt positions and uniforms to bulldoze their family and friends through laid down procedures at the expense of others. How many of those officials a ...

• the Villager 1 month ago

Ojah, you call them Govt paid officials, which govt advert did they reply to to be enlisted? These are people who paid thru their noses to join the GIS. If govt wants them to do the right thing, they MUST first do the right t ...

• Hammer 1 month ago

Big for nothing

• Yaw 1 month ago

Good and I pray you can walk the talk. Please extend same to Customs and other KIA officials. It’s a nuisance and breeds corruption. Many use this as an avenue to get away with illicit activities.

• Des 1 month ago

What does the armed forces to in Ghana. Why can't they be used for something productive?

• Elephant Farmer 1 month ago

Your boss go meet the Pope. What is that? Is that also wrong when you invite him to visit and pray in your own Cathedral? I can't ignore my good friends at Airport with Xmas Tree or at Kumasi Airport. No we don't do that. It ...

• HENRY QUARTEY HAD NO LEADERSHIP TRAINING 1 month ago

DEAR HENRY QUARTEY, IS THAT HOW YOU INTRODUCE YOURSELF TO YOUR SUBORDINATES??? BY THREATHENING THEIR JOBS??? WHAT A USELESS MINISTER. WHY DIDNT YOU CALL A CONFERENCE AND TALKED TO THEM IN A RESPECTFUL WAY???

• Ojah 1 month ago

HE WOULD HAVE IF THEY WERE ACTING RESPECTABLY! RESPECT GOES TO THOSE WHO DESERVE IT, NOT THOSE WHO VIEW IT AS ENTITLEMENT. WHY DOES HE HAVE TO ADVICE THEM ABOUT THE OBVIOUS? INDIVIDUALS LIKE YOU ARE SO FULL OF YOUR SENSE OF E ...

• Nyankpala 1 month ago

A good man with good intentions. How many of his directives are still being enforced during or after his position as Greater Accra Minister? Do you not see Aboboya on the Motorway?

• Derry 1 month ago

action man

• Kwam 1 month ago

Hmmm so does escorting your friends and love

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 1 month ago

ALL THE IMMIGRATION OFFICERS AT GHANA'S PORTS OF ENTRY ARE VERY, VERY CORRUPT INDEED. THE OFFICE OF IMMGRATION SHOULD COME OUT WITH UNDERCOVER OFFICERS TO CATCH AND EXPOSE ALL THOSE OFFICERS ENGAGING IN THIS PRACTICE, SO AS ...

• YOUR WULOME IS FUCKING 12YR OLD GIRLS 1 month ago

Please focus on that andcstop being busy body!

• AKUFFO ADDO IS A SCAMMER/LOOSE THEIR JOB 1 month ago

Let them loose their job if caught. Thwere are many out there looking to work and if these officers are not going to do the right thing let them loose their jobs and come and stay home and from that they wouldf appreciate the ...

• GPS 1 month ago

What about galamsey? Chinese and Indians are doing galamsey to destroy our rivers, and forests. Water is life. Stop galamsey, corruption, and mismanagement

• Bless him not God 1 month ago

God blesses people through others. Why say God bless you when you can add some good money. 500gh wouldn't be bad. The guy should have just kept the phones. She is making enough money from big men stealing his taxes anyways!

• BBC news 1 month ago

Uniform Security and conduct is disgrace to Ghana

• Koppong 1 month ago

Apply the rules, they custom or immigration officers checking smoke fish are charging without issuing receipt

• Test 2 1 month ago

MR QUARTEY I PITY YOU
    I DO NOT KNOW WHY YOU BELONG TO THIS VORRUPT TRIBAL KILLERS PARTY
    THEY WILL SOON CALL YOU AT THE JUBILEE HOUSE TO WARN YOU TO STOP AS THEY DID TO YOU TO STOP THE CLEANING ACCRA CAMPAIGN WHST HAPPENED ...

• Yaw 1 month ago

Henry is always issuing threats and shadow boxing. No aboboya on highways, Abosey Okai spare parts to move and several others. Behaving like a small boy with this small power.

• Kermit 1 month ago

Also remove all soldiers from the airport

• Afram 1 month ago

WHY NOW....It's CULTURE.....??,

• Afram 1 month ago

WHY NOW....It's CULTURE.....??

• Dada B 1 month ago

And they must also stop harassing and begging us for money whenever we come home.. Aahba.. Lol

• Good 1 month ago

Thank you very much Hon. Henry Quartey.

• Ck 1 month ago

So your predecessor. Didnt know about this practice all during his tenure as interior minister. If you knew this practice was inappropriate you were a minister of State so you could have suggested. Come and make things look l ...

• Nii Joromi 1 month ago

This shit happens only in poor countries. The immigration officers want noko fioo to augment their salaries.

• Joy 1 month ago

The right thing must be done

• Peter, (Holland) 1 month ago

HMM!! GHANA IMMIGRATION OFFICERS, I SUFFERED A RATHER STRESSFUL EXPERIENCE AT KIA JUST LAST MONTH WHEN I WAS FORCED TO PAY 150 DOLLARS TO SOME GUYS WHO SAY THEY WORK FOR KLM CLAIMING MY SUITCASE WAS MORE THAN 23 KILOS WHIC ...

• Nana 1 month ago

How is that immigration officers? You guys are so ignorant you think that every person you see at the airport is an immigration officer. Flight attendant use their mind give you, you dey blame immigration. Immigration do dey ...

• Sak 1 month ago

The practice has become rampant. It's a serious breach of security. Some of our Security Services personnel are simply not serious, wilfully disregard the ethos of their profession. There's the urgent need to instill discipl ...

• be wise 1 month ago

I like this man...

• Boye/California 1 month ago

Also tell them to stop collecting Goro money and and another bribes as the Airport if they don't like the job they must find another one's then taking bribes at Kotoka International airport shame to our immigration officers t ...

• Afro Values 1 month ago

Good on you, Henry! Go ahead and shake off the corrupt like an autumn tree sheds its rotten leaves, sir!

• Kkk 1 month ago

Any cctv to monitor them

• Schrodinger's Equation and Solid State Physics... 1 month ago

I don't understand appointees of govt of npp at all.It also happens when their co-conspirators, i.e. NDC, are also in power. Are they alright? Do they undergo any meaningful leadership training before taking ministerial post ...

• GYIMIE SAAA 1 month ago

THEY ALSO BEG FOR DOLLARS AND ELECTRONIC DEVICES. ONE OF THEM BROKE THE HANGER OF MY DAUGHTER'S DRESS. A BAG THAT HAS ALREADY BEEN CHECKED TWICE OR THRICE COME THE US. SHE SHAMELESSLY RUN HER DIRTY HANDS IN MY BAGS AS IF I WA ...

• GYIMIE SAAA 1 month ago

AND ALSO THOSE IDIOTS WHO WANTS TO COLLECT MONEY FOR HELPING YOU PUSH YOUR BAGS. NO ONE FORCES YOU TO DO THAT JOB ANYWAY. I GAVE SOMEONE 20 GHC AND HE FROWNED HIS FACE AND TOLD ME THEY DON'T BUSINESS THERE LIKE THAT. SUCH AN ...

• Opoku Apau 1 month ago

There are more important issues to address than just escort duties. Politicians and other airport officials do same. The immigration service needs to be fair in their promotion scheme and transfer policy. Regional Commanders ...

• NANA 1 month ago

Henry, please go n chase the goro boys away from the passport office! We can't continue to wait for 8months to get our passports after applying

• Agbeli Kumordzi 1 month ago

Ghana immigration is more corrupt than Ghana passport officials,Many Nigerians that came to Ghana illegal are being assisted by Ghana immigration officials for a fee of 20 Ghana cedis per head

• .com 1 month ago

Thank you boss,you are just right!

• Fucker Fucker 1 month ago

It's always the Akans that are destroying this country with uncivilized nd criminal behavior.

• Akajatayogogo 1 month ago

Handy Quartey is like Akufo Addo look at his face wickedness.

• Obestebie 1 month ago

Unbelievable that officers are aiding and betting in criminal behavior. Are Ghanaians inherently mentally ill people?

• Citichild 1 month ago

The likes of Henry Kwatey,Kennedy Agyapong,IGP Dampare are the true leaders with sense in Ghana
    There may be a good leaders else where we have not heard of,if u are like that pls keep the goodwork up.

• Miss Eshun 1 month ago

Henry Quartey for President! He's a breath of fresh air. I wish though he would have spoken about other unprofessional behavior perpetrated by certain officials at KIA.

• Stephen 1 month ago

Well said Mr minister

• Edward 1 month ago

Nonsense this is all you can do. No policy.

• Ali 1 month ago

that is great!!! The stupidity must stop!!!!

• Kwame Deyoungster 1 month ago

He is overly pompous. He abuses power. That is why he failed as a regional minister. He could have discussed this with the Commissioner General. He has the power to do so. The interior minister has no such power to Sack an im ...

• Concern citizen 1 month ago

Man of action . I agree it has to stop , Ghanaians are totally corrupt. There's too much going on at the airport snd and the airport has turn into a cash cow .
    Mr Minister do the house cleaning.

• Real mind and no hatred 1 month ago

That thing has been going on everyday, I will be so happy if this man can control that at the airport. How can a uniform personnel be pushing somebody's bags? Is so ashamed

• Nayaki 1 month ago

Henry Q. Must become vice president for Bawumia to combine forces and discipline us.
    Indiscipline all over Gh.
    Mr.Quartey is no nonsense man. Character as jj Rawlings

• Anyo 1 month ago

Good one, this should start from Jubilee House where corruption is abysmal.
    Ghana need wise people to lead them not these ones.