You are here: HomeNews2024 03 18Article 1921907

Sankofa Series: How the Asante tribe came to be

Read Comments Comments (65)

• FRANKIE 1 month ago

Stop using the word 'tribe' to describe us. It is a euro centric pejorative term designed to make us look inferior and primitive. Rather use the word 'SOCIETY'.

• AS LONG AS THAT FRAUDULENT INDEMNITY CLAUSE STAYS IN GHANA'S CONSTITUTION GHANA'S FUCKING LEADERS WILL CONTINUE LOOTING OUR ECONOMY AND COUNTRY TILL THY KINGDOM COME. 1 month ago

HOW DOES THIS SHIT BRING FOOD TO THE TABLES OF THE VAST MAJORITY OF DEPRIVED AND DISADVANTAGED POOR GHANAIANS?

THIS IS THE SHIT PRICE WE PAY FOR OVERFEEDING GHANA'S UNSCRUPULOUS THIEVING LEADERS.

GOLD BARS WHICH SHOULD ...

• Yaya 1 month ago

Asante is never a tribe. The ignorant ones say it to try to distance themselves from the other Akan groups

• “The truth is not offence “ 1 month ago

The Ashanti’s came from Egypt..

• Lalas 1 month ago

Mtchewww. When at all is our Internet coming back??

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 month ago

Ashantis were monkeys and bush pigs who turned into human beings. You can see it their faces and behavior.

• Ananse 1 month ago

Sam wo maame tw3 kankan S3 totobi

• Ananse 1 month ago

We are just lik Ur entire tribe

• spazza 1 month ago

I don't blame you but your parents who were bored so decided to have you by accident.Unfortunately you were born prematurely

• La pleasure man 1 month ago

His parents were brother and sister..
    So he was born retarded..

• Kwadwo Kyei 1 month ago

Nantwie, that's what you and everyone in your family are. You should go back to JHS and learn how to read and write. Aboabi ba.

• EFO KOKU 1 month ago

NIGERIANS
    @SAM FANTE WARRIOR Where are the people from ILE IFE who are not mentioned anywhere in Ghana’s history except to describe them as ants (Nkran) when they were voyaging to Gold Coast from Nigeria as parasites.

• Afrifa Kwasea the Coup plotter 1 month ago

So these black apes are from Niger. There is Coup in their country

• seth 1 month ago

Hahaha, you kill me!!!!

• Babangida Casagrande 1 month ago

Dumb ass Fante warrior, is still hanging around French train station sucking oyingbo asses for some pizza and croissants

• AS LONG AS THAT FRAUDULENT INDEMNITY CLAUSE STAYS IN GHANA'S CONSTITUTION GHANA'S FUCKING LEADERS WILL CONTINUE LOOTING OUR ECONOMY AND COUNTRY TILL THY KINGDOM COME. 1 month ago

HOW DOES THIS SHIT BRING FOOD TO THE TABLES OF THE VAST MAJORITY OF DEPRIVED AND DISADVANTAGED POOR GHANAIANS.

THIS IS THE SHIT PRICE WE PAY FOR OVERFEEDING GHANA'S UNSCRUPULOUS THIEVING LEADERS.

GOLD BARS WHICH SHOULD ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 1 month ago

Otumfour The Asante Hene is my king.
    Jesus Christ is my Saviour
    GOD the Almighty is my Creator.

I have a dream to warn all the Asante chiefs not. to change the name

KUMASI INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT

our biggest enemy ...

• Fred 1 month ago

Rat shit soup is dazing your brain

• Z tripple 1 month ago

You would know since your entire tribe has been consuming it for centuries

• KINGS5 1 month ago

This story is false, fabricated and lack comprehension to already unguided delusional stories put up by these forest dwellers with the help of their pay master British. Ashantes themselves believes they're related to Mossi pe ...

• Bastie Anusfourhene 1 month ago

I am a male prostitute in accra! I suck cocks for 10ghc. If you are fante or ashanti you get 10% discount on my services!!!!

• Bastie Asantefourhene 1 month ago

Kwasia Tutu take 200ghc to assist him renovate Komfo anokye. I saw him sucking rocks in South Africa for funds

• pesto 1 month ago

You need that money to renovate your anus

• Selfmade KING 1 month ago

ANUSFOOURHENE bastie haha

ANUSFOURHENE bastie haha

ANUSFOURHENE bastie lmaoooo

Just imagined this BONO BABOON with STINKING DIAPERS on lmaooo

Ashantis get 10% lmaooo

ANUSFOURHENE BASTIE is mad at Ashanti’s because they are the cause of him WEARING BABY DIAPERS because they have services this BONO BABOON ass well well lmaooooo

ANUSFOURHENE bastie lmaooooo

We don’t want 10% ag ...

A Asante dwarf calling someone a baboon. Hahahah

• Selmdade KING 1 month ago

Dwarf is still better than a BONO BABOON lmaoo

ANUSFOURHENE bastie

Lmaoooooooo

Just imagined being a filthy, unkempt child of a Bono street whore and the son is also WEARING STINKING DIAPERS like nana doemaahene lma ...

• Losto 1 month ago

Asante is not a tribe. They are a group of Akan tribes united to form a kingdom called Asante

Ashanti is a tribe united together by various AKAN CLANS to form what’s called ASHANTI TRIBE OR ASHANTI KINGDOM lead by one leader who heads this kingdom!!

What’s a tribe?

a social division in a traditional s ...

• Jenny 1 month ago

ASANTE IS GHANA.

Woni twe asare. Asantes aren’t part of Ghana. They claim to have their own nation. We don’t need them to be a part of Ghana

ANUSFOURHENE bastie

ANUSFOURHENE Bastie

Lmaooooooo

• Boye/California 1 month ago

Great History of the Ashanti's which I am part and parcel of it Thanks very much for such a wonderful History all the Best for my King Otuofua in Kumasi

Absolute rubbish. There’s no specie of free called KUM. We have Wawa , Onyina, Odum. There’s no Kum tree. The closest is Kumchacha.
    Secondly, Oyokos didn’t found Asante. The Amansie are the original founders , they we ...

Didn’t the article stated that, obiri yeboah started the alliance but didn’t finished it?

Go back and read it again, u BONO FART lmaoooo

ANUSFOURHENE bastie lmaoooo

• Npp region full of piiiiiii 1 month ago

When Npp is in power is all about the Ashanti tribe but before you enter kumasi is the Ewes that occupy the frontline when you go deep in the region is the northers that hold the line in protecting you guys sorry A$$ and you ...

• Kubut3 1 month ago

SOME OF YOU DONT GET IT. SAY WHATEVER YOU WANT. WE CAN INCREASE OUR NUMBERS WHENEVER WE WANT. FCK AROUND WE WILL NATURALIZE ALL THE NTAFO ON OUR LAND AND TAKE OVER GHANA FOR LIFE.

• Rita 1 month ago

@ Kubut3. How many toto can you . You this fool with your kortibortor like dabo dabo Penis? Kwaseato

• So who was Obiri Yeboah 1 month ago

You list Osei Tutu as the first king but mention Obiri his uncle as the one who planted or planned the unity. Fake story

• Okonfo at Nortsie 1 month ago

So called Golden Stool is a big scam. The chair was tied with ropes and lowered slowly from a tree. Tweaaaa. The story doesn't add up. Lies

• zorro 1 month ago

Your people dont have one and never had the enginuity to make one..hahahaha .Keep beating your meat

Have u never seen someone starting something and someone finishing it?

Smfh

• Kwan - Nonsense. We from the hole 1 month ago

Yes, oh. We came directly from Asaase Yaa.

• Fiifi Duncan, Cape 1 month ago

Fetish story.Fetish is trickist.

• seth 1 month ago

It was claimed tht the Asantes became war-focused after defaeating Denkyira and gaining access to the coastal trade.
    They were war-focused so they could capture their fellow Africans for onward selling to the Europeans.
    Not ...

Ashanti’s wasn’t involved in the slavery trade!!

Ashanti’s knew the mindset of Europeans and hence decided not to associate with them which shows their PAN AFRICANCISM right from the genesis unlike the coastal people ...

Kwasia TuTu and his ancestors are slave traders

• Adjei Kojo 1 month ago

Claim?
    Is the simple truth. The British did not trade with the Asante, they protected the Fanti's for economic reasons, and cared less abt the warmongers up north.

• Stupid ghanaweb continues to use the word “tribe” 1 month ago

Ghanaweb should rather use the word Ashanti ethnic group or ethnicity, but not tribe . Did you guys at ghanaweb go to school at all . Horrible souls !

Yes u right

They should say ASANTE is an ethnic group of various Akan families or clans coming together to form a tribe with one traditional leader known as ASANTEHENE!!

Simplify as ASHANTIS are part of the AKAN ETHNI ...

Asante led by Kwasia tutu the Freemason thief

• 99996666 1 month ago

Anusfoourhene lol

Yes I m anusfourhene (Asantes ). Hahaha they’re the anus

• Punk 1 month ago

Now this BONO CHIMP has accepted it lol

Selfie is funny dude

Bastie anusfourhene hahah

• Anim 1 month ago

Is history not being twisted here? We read about the Akans (Ashantis included) migrating into Ghana from Mali/Niger areas through the northern/Brong Ahafo regions of Ghana. They first met the inhabitants of the Northern terri ...

• Yaw 1 month ago

Bestie your work hard ooo. Hahahaha. What a waste of life. So all that you do is Hating. Gyimii paa. Do you work at all?

The filthy BONO CHIMP is selling his diaper wearing anus in London lmaoooo

Ashantis get 10% discount lmaooo

No I don’t work . I sit on my ass and enjoy proceeds from galamsey like Kumasihene

• C.Y. ANDY-K 1 month ago

These Sankofa series have been giving the chance to some new myth peddlers to spread new ridiculous myths about the origins of the various Ghanaian ethnic group. This one about the Asantes is also as outrageous as the ones ab ...

• Adjei Kojo 1 month ago

And it remains that Otomfuo never comes out in public to accept that so many of the Denkiyre's were traficked to the Fanti's as a commodity for sale. But WTF - he has 72 cars in his collection!

• Martin Kreisler 1 month ago

A useful but very dilute account of historical events.

• Jidoshaki 1 month ago

Bastie get diarrhea when he hears the name Asante hahaha.... Bastie pressure will kill u oo because that name Asante will always make headline.

• GOOD CITIZEN 1 month ago

It seems every group of people migrated from somewhere to their present location. Does it mean no group were created at where they found themselves now. Please I'm just asking?

• Kaku kedeba 1 month ago

A poor write up.
    Before the late 17 century there was no Asante.
    Its predecessor was Kwaaman a small tributary state to the Denkyera.

Asante was not a separate entity from the first Akan groups. Early Akan settled to est ...