You are here: HomeNews2024 02 19Article 1917753

Here is why parliament’s plan to use local languages may not work

Read Comments Comments (62)

• FRANKIE 3 months ago

Alban Bagbin, stop the foolishness right away before it gets more ridiculous. If you want parliament to look and sound like a circus, go on. Hiding behind illiteracy and tribalism to collapse the business of parliament. Can y ...

• Who killed NPP 3 months ago

Frankie, budgets and accounts are discussed in Russian and Chinese all the time without a problem. If there is no direct translation, we make one up and we all agree this is what it means. They say dumsor is in the English di ...

• FRANKIE 3 months ago

My brother, simply type your submission in any local language, then we can continue the conversation. The languages you mentioned are advanced ones. They have evolved and have a rich etymology. Not our archaic ones that will ...

• Dzata 3 months ago

Are you mad? Do Russia and China have 80 languages? Who colonised China or Russia? Your brain doesn't work. Stupid analysis just exposes your low brain.

• Dzata 3 months ago

Yes, China has 100s of languages but they use one major language. You can suggest we adopt one Ghanaian language as an official language. Our languages are not developed enough to have names and figures for everything. How d ...

• 123 3 months ago

Let us adopt Fante as the official language then.

• Kweku Tsin 3 months ago

No let's adopt Grushi or Dagomba.

• Kofi 3 months ago

Say that again. He is crazy that's all

• Asiamah 3 months ago

why insulting, you people behave as if you are not in the mainstream Ghanaian society, hate hate hate and nothing else

• Sir-Riscky 3 months ago

You're very funny

• Koo Sei 3 months ago

@ Who killed...of course, fools like you do not use real names. Even in the United Kingdom, there are several languages amongst the native white people. Scots, Irish, English, Welsh, Manx etc all speak different languages, ye ...

All Chinese speak Chinese, and Russians speak Russian. The story is not the same in Ghana. Meanwhile some languages are promoted while others are supressed in our school system.

There is no way a country with over 80 languages can resort to a single language in a day. Besides, who want to speak those adopted language when we're good with the English. Let's think about development and stop the noise.

• DA 3 months ago

The best thing is for us to make sure pupils in elementary schools are learning to read and write their mother tongue. And this should continue into high school. Already, there is the ridiculous thing of imposing one dialect ...

• Mama Tula 3 months ago

Fully agree with this contributor. Bagbin should not take this country centuries back. This does not really look sound and we must not create none-sense of parliament. Lets stick to the present system of using english, as it ...

• Koliko 3 months ago

Do we have the financial resources to pay translators? Are the written records of parliament going to be in English or in all the local languages?

• Tee Kay 3 months ago

Ghana's problem is not because of whether Ghanaians communicate in a particular language or not. Our problem is that after Kwame Nkrumah, we have been electing or allowing POLITICAL THIEVES, POLITICAL ARMED ROBBERS and CORRUP ...

• Nana Tutugyagu 3 months ago

Such a low minded guy. In fact, black man is his own enemy and never wants to be liberated. We have to start from somewhere for the next generation to continue. Any nation that does not use it local language cannot develop, t ...

Nonsense!!!! We still speak our various local dialects at home.

• David 3 months ago

Frankie, your submission was on point but, I'm very disappointed in you for insulting the speaker of Parliament , language can be developed it's a matter of time, let us start thinking on that line and develop one language to ...

• FRANKIE 3 months ago

I'm sorry David. Sometimes one gets a bit too upset with these archaic ideas.

• Nii Teiko 3 months ago

So at what point or when can somebody be insulted? I’m don’t get it. If one plays the fool, he should be insulted as such. Massa just be the pope you are and allow people to express their feelings. Idiot!

• Dadebo 3 months ago

DON'T CONFUSE YOURSELVES BE BRAVE CHOOSE ONE LANGUAGE AND THAT IS AKAN. OVER 79% OF GHANAIANS SPEAK AND UNDERSTAND AKAN TWI. INDIA HAS HINDI, CHINA MANDARIN. THESE TWO COUNTRIES HAVE OTHER HUNDREDS OF LANGUAGES ...

• Nameless 3 months ago

This is the most stupid suggestion ever. Akan is not a language or tribe. It is an ethnicity with different languages. So, which of the Akan languages should be used? The Akan languages are not my mother tongue. Why shoul ...

• Concerned Citizen 3 months ago

Dadebo Do we all speak or understand twi....so you are telling me to go and force myself to learn twi which is not my language??? Unless what Bagbin is trying to do is to introduce all the main local languages spoken in Ghana ...

• Tee Kay 3 months ago

If you care to know, India and China did not get to where they are now simply because they speak a so-called one language.
    They got to where they are now simply because they have a LEADERSHIP that is CAPABLE, SINCERE, FAITH ...

There is no benefit for none twi speaking Ghanaians to speak twi except to subjugate them to the God forsaken pagan language. People who don't speak twi don't give a fvck about the twi laguage.

• Lie detector 3 months ago

Writer is not serious . He says the Ahanta language is only spoken by a few people so if the Mp speaks it in parliament, only a handful of people will understand. Even if it’s ten people who will understand him ; so bloody ...

• We preserve foreign materials than ours 3 months ago

Why do we Ghanaians like to be pompous with foreign things... Today in Ghana we profiling people base on their fluency in King Charles language English!. Why can't Mp who is from frafra land representing his people not speak ...

• Koo Sei 3 months ago

And, has that propelled South Africa into the OECD CLUB? has it stopped the rampant corruption that has mired the useless ANC just like NPP?
    Has it solved any of their constant blackouts? Money that could have been used in i ...

• Nam 1 3 months ago

Which language will a good practicing Medical officer use to communicate with patients. You mean only English and not any other language which a patient can use to describe his alignment?

The irony is, your stupid ass wrote all this nonsense in ENGLISH. If you really believe in your stupidity write it in your local language and see how many people will fully understand you.

• Kojo Amuesi 3 months ago

It is a laudable idea. It is not mandatory to speak the specific dialect of your village.
    Eg. Most Nzema and Ahanta people speak fante or twi anyway.
    We may start from somewhere and gradually bring in other languages. We mu ...

• Ayeduase 3 months ago

@ Dadebo-Bless your heart dear. You've said it all. Hypocrisy and hatred won't allow us to use the TWI language which is spoken everywhere in Ghana. People who have never step a foot in the middle belt speak TWI. Check out fr ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 3 months ago

Ayeduase, you are damn right when I had to do my National Service at Tamale, everybody doing business there could speak Twi. Hausa, and Dagbani. I have been to Aflao a number of times. Most of the people there speak or unders ...

• DA 3 months ago

Please, do you think people like the colonization that is happening with the Twi language? No. And unfortunately the arrogance of some Twi speaking people who behave as if when someone speaks their language its because the l ...

• NYAME KWASI 3 months ago

There’s no harm in trying. We should be serious and give it a try. Though, there are challenges ahead and with determination we can iron out those challenges. With regard to the biblical story of the Tower of Babel, they co ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 3 months ago

which language do most of the people voters spoke in this country ? is it not Twi ?
    over 99% of the MPs and the parliamentary services speak Twi
    so why can't we use the TWI and develop the Twi language in connection with ...

• Kwaku 3 months ago

USE AKWAPIM TWI AS OFFICIAL LA GUAGE IN ADDITION TO ENGLISH

• NYAME KWASI 3 months ago

The fact that majority of the people speak Twi, doesn’t mean we should forget about the rest of the minority languages. Whether majority or minority, we are one people with one destiny . As a nation, it helps a lot if we re ...

• Bastie Asantefourhene 3 months ago

The only Twi is Bono. Named after Nana Brempong Twi circa 15th century. The rest are dialects of Twi . Learn to educate your readers Ghanaweb.

• Boye/California 3 months ago

You are Damn stupid many Countries in Africa used local languages in Parliament, South Africa used local languages in Parliament 11 local languages, Egypt used local languages and many African Countries use local languages th ...

• Bastie Asantefourhene 3 months ago

South Africa doesn’t use any local language biaaa. Go and watch Hon. Malema and the EFF parliamentary showdowns

• Nana Atuah 3 months ago

this nonsense about using local language must stop, after all we have ourselves abandoned our traditions to follow the bible and so if we are losing grip over our languages, we should remember that we abandoned our traditions ...

• Akos 3 months ago

This is a good start for Ghana to take back it's glory, one thing we black people need to understand is in life something need to die in order for new things to flourish, let's be bold and kill small languages in Ghana and ke ...

• Excellent Idea 3 months ago

Alban is on the right agenda. Speak your local dialect and get it translated. With the current technology it will work perfectly. That would enable MPs to express themselves efficiently and that would enhance parliamentary di ...

• Yahweh 3 months ago

Kasa biara ho hia ma ɔman yi. Enti sɛ yɛ mmrahyɛbedwafoɔ ka a ɛbɛma adesuafoɔ nso asua amma ɔman mpuntuo nso akɔ so. English nyɛ ɔman yi mu nipa biara kasaa. Ɛyɛ nglesi bronii na ɔhyɛɛ yen Sɛ neɛ ɔbɛtumi ...

• Onipanua 3 months ago

There 6 officially recognized languages. If you are in doubt check the original GBC1 news cast.

• Koo Sei 3 months ago

Yes, we know that. but for the sake of brevity and simplicity English will not and does not harm us. The European union spent humungous amount of their budget on translation. Yet, when they meet in parliament, much as they de ...

• 24 HOURS SADA ECONOMY 3 months ago

24 HOURS DUMSOR
    ECONOMY

24 HOURS SADA ECONOMY

24 HOURS GIDA
    ECONOMY

24 HOURS SUBA
    ECONOMY

24 HOURS ISOFOTON
    ECONOMY

24 HOURS CREATE
    LOOT AND SHARE
    ECONOMY

24 HOURS AK ...

• At the United Nations- Different languages 3 months ago

At the UN 6 or more languages are used and there are interpreters. The Ghana Court allows that so why can't we do same at the Parliament House since English is not our mother language. It seems Africans like foreign things th ...

• Kofi Seaman. 3 months ago

Thats a very noble idea there. Why should we have to continue doing everything in English? Those who say ii can't be done are not serious. The countries that do not use English in their parliament are rather flourishing than ...

• Sir Cida 3 months ago

I think the writer got the whole thing wrong. Nobody is going to force anyone to speak your local language. It says that will be allowed if the person so wishes, if an interpreter is around.

How does the Tower of Babel co ...

• Kojo Ghana 3 months ago

Trust me if we can’t adopt one local language as official language then we are still under colonial rule . We can’t even abolish the use of dollar in this country and we want a Better economy?Stupid country I will always ...

• Fuseini 3 months ago

It is a very stupid idea.
    What purpose will it serve when all government business is conducted in English.
    These idiots want to take the country backwards.

• Kweku Mansa 3 months ago

Thank you Sir! This is one of the most reasoned and informative articles ever published on ghanaweb! Bravo!

• Master P 3 months ago

Use TWI
    Case closed

Which one is Fante Twi?

• Kofi Ghana 3 months ago

That should have been thought through over because if we do not stop all these nonsense he may let us down as a nation

• Kofi Ghana 3 months ago

He just woke up one day and start dresing like Mahama in hid buffoonery days when his founder was cautioned to stop wearing his mlitary uniform like another ugandan I'd I Amin Now Misiveni tagged with the LGBTQ nonosense How ...

• Abizibay 3 months ago

Whether you like it or no t Twi is the only language you can do serious business with., majority of foreigners in Ghana are doing business with the Akan language, Malians, Togolese, Nigerians are 9igerians including Lebane ...

• Quame 2 months ago

The speaker of Parliament is wise. I would love to learn Ga and Ewe but hope they agree on Twi.