You are here: HomeNews2024 02 12Article 1916529

#TrendingGH: NSS should remain compulsory – Students on Bawumia’s optional NSS plan

Read Comments Comments (44)

• S3 3y3 A, Mo Nsua Ade Kakra 3 months ago

The man said, you have options. You heard him clearly. Those who could find jobs immediately after school need no national service. Those who need job training do national service. This policy would let employers walk to the ...

• Kk 3 months ago

In addition, some students immediately after their first degree want to continue with the masters but because of this national service thing you have to wait and finished before. What sort of life is this? I support the optio ...

• Who killed Mills 3 months ago

When there are 1000s of unemployed graduates, who should be getting the few remaining jobs? they say it's paying the state back but their parents have been paying tax and they too will do same

• Dar 3 months ago

You see the way you think. You refuse to read, that is your biggest problem now. NSS does not in any way hinder your postgrad. You can actually do your nss after your postgrad. Those who brought into being the nss did not do ...

• Rim 3 months ago

The plan is to exempt their children and stooges most of whom they send out on government scholarships they do not qualify for.
    They then fast track them into leadership roles at the expense of the ordinary Ghanaian.

• Togbe Agorkorli 3 months ago

To each his own....you can only talk about you...not for everyone.

• Kan na wu. 3 months ago

Experience comes when one starts working yes. If you are into it you gather more Experience. Is the best I think

• Bob P. 3 months ago

Akuffo Addo is a curse and Bawulair Timothy is a disaster.
    JDM will surely rescue Ghana from this Shameless dishonest useless senseless clueless thieves and Lai's brigade government.

• Micky 3 months ago

Woaaaaa look! Are you listening to yourself?
    You have even deviated from the discussion and throwing unnecessary materials around. If you don't have anything good to contribute, stay in your one corner.

• Ama 3 months ago

OPTIONAL

• General Afrifa 3 months ago

Is ghanaweb talking for the students or it indeed it did the interview ? Because it makes those who are against the policy like they are not clitical thinkers or do not understand basic English language because he did not sa ...

• Samuel 3 months ago

Brofo be what

• Dr. Richard Gamasu (Atlanta. GA) 3 months ago

@ Samuel "Brofu borni"...

Samuel, why so? You are making an attempt to hurt my spleen...lmao. Your short comment is so hilarious, I can't even concentrate on what to write. Chai! This dimwit, says undergraduate students do ...

• ASEMPA 3 months ago

See someone who is asking whether University Students don't understand basic English meanwhile his English is more than horrible and disgusting. I wonder if he even understands what he wrote.

• Akajatayogogo 3 months ago

In Europe, students do National service, what is Bawumia talking about? He is vice president why don't he do it now,is useless Idea

• Aba 3 months ago

In United States,.students do not do national service. Also, I think university education is free in Europe. Ghana many students pay for their university education now including those attending private universities.

• Yaw 3 months ago

The national service should be a thing of the past, we don’t need national service anymore in this modern society what we need is work placement and apprenticeship when the students is in college or university by the time h ...

• Abaka Ruth 3 months ago

And where are the jobs???Thousands are graduating each year with many of the jobless graduates roaming about with their CV’s.So if it becomes optional then how are the schools in the villages going to get teachers.The compu ...

• Abusua 3 months ago

Bawumia only wants to attract the votes of students. He can never make national service optional. If Bawumia tells you to look down, you better look up. Bawumia is a learned liar. I have never known a Muslim who can lie like ...

• Abraziaa 3 months ago

Only bawumia Mayopic and has animals NPP followers who will think like this the most useless and foolish vice president in Ghana week thinking people akufo Addo bawumia offori Atta

• One of you. 3 months ago

National service should be retained.

Bawumia’s idea could be modified so that firms which pick students right from graduation employ them as National Service equivalents for the first year. They should be required to co ...

• King Abe Hinneh from Sunyani. 3 months ago

The interviewer should be up to the task. The respondents were talking about abolishing National Service, meanwhile the question was making NSS optional, so she should have reminded the students who were responding to the i ...

• Kofi 3 months ago

This man has started his outrageous lying campaign's again

• Kofi 3 months ago

Oh Bawumiah! What is his reasons given? NSS scheme is one of the best policies ever. If it's not broken why try to fix it.

• Kwabena Ohemeng, London 3 months ago

This man Akuffo-Addo is a total disgrace to Ghana. Is he contradicting the WAEC stand that students cheat in its exams? This is a well known fact with a multitude of examples to prove it.Mahama was stating a fact,and he neve ...

• John 3 months ago

Is it a matter of understanding what's said or just playing politics. All Dr Bawumia said is that National Service should not be a stumbling block for any first time job opportunity before service is done; that the first time ...

• One of you. 3 months ago

I agree with you. There should be different ways of serving National Service. What we really need for Ghana to move forward are systems which while robust, retain the flexibility required to keep us relevant in an ever changi ...

• Tsotsoo 3 months ago

Why should NSS be optional.? After using the taxpayers money to complete your Higher education you are left with the option of leaving Ghana for greener pastures. Have you heard some before? When the Southners were paying sch ...

• Kilogram 3 months ago

Very stupid comment. Tell me who the tax payers are and whether the parents of the person who is not doing NS have not payed taxes.

• Micky 3 months ago

Your comment is clearly not on point. At this time in our history as a democratic nation, comments of these nature are not needed my brother. We have gone far past that.

• Aba 3 months ago

Because some students pay in full for their university education. Many students pay for the elementary school education. All those who attend private schools pay for their elementary education. So, it shouldn't be mandatory. ...

• Kilogram 3 months ago

Why are we doing this to ourselves? Why are we debating on a purely non-contentious issue like making the NS optional? This does not mean that it will be abolished. NS will still be there and resourced for those who opt to d ...

• Fuseini 3 months ago

You see how easy it is for some students to fail exams? The question is about NSS being optional or mandatory and yet some are answering the question in total deviation from the question and talking about cancellation. No one ...

• Kwabena Agyei 3 months ago

Ooh ghanaweb, why are you distracting yourself like that.
    You contract people to speak to the camera for your propaganda.

Dr. Bawumia didn't say he will scrap national serve but rather it will be optional. Why are you p ...

• John Chapa 3 months ago

We are all waiting for Mahama's vision. Its taking too long for him to tell us

• Joe Public 3 months ago

He does not have one. What he has include okadas, mortuaries and hencoops .

• King 3 months ago

Look at this ashawo girl. Listen to what Bawumia said before you make comments. Maybe you don't understand the English he spoke.

• Foro k 3 months ago

You better understand the policy well before commenting on it please

• Korinto 3 months ago

Mandatory service means a lot of funds must go into paying allowances. Govt hopes optional service could mean reduced numbers n thus reduced allowance funding. Bawumia is thus hoping for reduced finanacial burden for govt.

• Boldsteven 3 months ago

Bawumia what happened to NABCO which you no longer talking about it. Everything you touch with your boss is destroyed. Akufo Addo brought you because of the economy which you took pride as chairman of the solid EMT and you c ...

• Aba 3 months ago

Interesting. The students interviewed appear not to understand the word optional. If you want experience you can go for it. It should not be mandatory. I never had wanted to do national service. For me it was a waste of time ...

• Siant Prosper 3 months ago

I think the word optional is losing its meaning here. As long as it remains optional it's great. If you think 1yr experience is what prepares you for the job market .

• Christian mensah 3 months ago

Bawumia is suffering .he is mental.even in america.the student do national service.bawumia thinks he can fool students again this time around.I tell you ,the whole world have known Bawumia now,and there is no amount of lies t ...

• Ataa Ayi 3 months ago

Those objecting are exhibiting poor reasoning ability and are a disgrace to the university they attended. Maybe just like our supreme court judges who did not understand 'over voting,' these guys do not understand OPTION. Ple ...