You are here: HomeNews2015 06 04Article 360811

'75 dead in Goil Filling Station fire'

Read Comments Comments (280)

• ALL-DIE-BE-DIE 8 years ago

so how did the flood cause the fire?

• C.Y. Andy-K 8 years ago

While all NDC owned filling stations burn Akosombo water level raises to save the artificial made DUMSOR in Ghana.

God will punish them all one by one.

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA IS ENJOYING IN EXOTIC STYLE WITH HIS SON, CRONIES AND CONCUBINE IN DUBAI WHILE GHANA IS UNDER TORMENT. ABSENT FROM MAYORS SUMMIY, WHERE IS HE NDC?

• facts 8 years ago

Why should this happen at such a time that City mayors of Africa were meeting in Accra whose mayor has just been crowned as the best Mayor in Africa, a time When the President of Ghana had travelled to Dubai, his base?

• ABAAH. 8 years ago

THIS SHOWS THAT VADERPUIJE DOESN´T DESERVES THT BEST MAJOR AWARD.IT IS A BIG BLOW TO THE ACCRA MAYOR.TABLES FLOATING LIKE SHIPS ON THE SUBMERGED STREETS.WHERE ARE THE DRAINAGES THEY ARE ALL FILLED WITH DIRT AND VANDERPUIJE C ...

• Sad man 8 years ago

Double trouble for us. God help us

• Uncle 8 years ago

June 4th is bad luck for Ghana. The day has come to be associated with death and calamity. Innocent blood that was shed is crying for justice. Ghana needs to be pacified. The gods are angry.

• fun 8 years ago

Salvation the complete armor not needed. What contro and regulate the whole body with information and stimulus. The mind which speaks for the heart by mouth, face, eye, leg, hands, stomach, penis or vagina, poops and the rest ...

• Cosmas Taaba 8 years ago

We lack maintenance culture. Dumsor may even be due to leaking electricity through faulty meters. I happened to touch a wet wall near a meter and got an electric shock. ECG should test meters and change them after some years! ...

• JOINMAR of Adabraka 8 years ago

What a very sad story, Ghana we are lacking in so many ways and we are very ready to REFUSE any GOOD MEASURES to help our problems.No law is working in the country. No maintainance,no careing of any thing that can call in fo ...

• Steff Manuels 8 years ago

Masa this no be politics..sheet happens...why do Ghanaians turn everything into politics...?

• JULO 8 years ago

cos we are stupid. That's it. Blame everything on Mahama and Nana Addo can do no wrong. That is the mentality of our people

• sam 8 years ago

Majority of us arevery very Stupid- no doubt

• Addo 8 years ago

ARE U A MORON,DID THE PRESIDENT CAUSED THE RAIN TO FALL OR SET THE GAS STATION ABLAZE? YOU PEOPLE SHOULD SOMETIMES NUST REASON WITH UR HEADS N NOT UR stomachs

• abdul jalil 8 years ago

every thing Mahama Mahama.....has mahama called to God for this crisis to befall us.....ahhh.

• Esi 8 years ago

Mahama is a curse, that is the reason the country going through this hell. He needs to step down. Disasters happen when there is too much sin from the head of the nation.

• JOHN 8 years ago

First, my condolences to all those who have lost their loved ones. Second, I pray that the Lord will receive the departed to Himself. Third, of course, Pres. Mahama did not cause the rains to fall neither did he set the filli ...

• Mama Amma 8 years ago

Did you not read that Mahama went to visit the flood areas? Too much BLAME CULTURE. Every is politicised in Ghana. Ghanaians wake up and work to build the country and stop the blaming oye dodo abaaa.

• Evang.Owusu Eric 8 years ago

Oh! God help Ghana .

• Paa Joe (UK) 8 years ago

If we had a government that had vision, these predictable yearly flooding in Accra & elsewhere in Ghana could be a thing of the past.
    How can Ghanaians put up with such carnage from motoring accidents, flooding, power-cuts, ...

• KOLA, LONDON INSIDE 8 years ago

Anytime I am in Ghana, my first thought is health and safety because the over-population in the city centres alone is enough for anyone to see the flaws in such areas as Gas Stations, market areas and on the streets where haw ...

• Williams USA 8 years ago

Thank you for your comment. Why do we build gas stations in densely populated residential areas in Accra. I don't think that is done in the USA where I live. I just mentioned this to a friend in Ghana and he said I can not co ...

• ELINAM 8 years ago

Until we all understand that the problem is self inflicted and that no political party has the magic wand, then only then that we can make the turn-around.
    We're lazy and love big post and big cars both NPP/NDC members and ...

• mr sikobee germany 8 years ago

eh hmm ghana leaders some of them may be they need blood in spiritual that is why people are die and suffring but they did not care about it,it true that black men leaders dont have mind???

• mr sikobee germany 8 years ago

eh hmm ghana leaders some of them may be they need blood in spiritual that is why people are die and suffring but they did not care about it,it true that black men leaders dont have mind???

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

My friend, say, if all the governments that came after Nkrumah did their mandatory bit to help the situation, much of the yearly unfortunates could not have seen the days of 2015. You pinning the hard knocks of the system sol ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

ITS LIKE PASSING A BATON IN A RELAY .
    IF AN ATHLETE DID NOT MAKE ANY EFFORT,YOU WILL ALL LOOSE.
    NKRUMAH DID THE BEST FOR THE ONLY 6 YEARS HE TOOK OVER THE COUNTRY,BUT SOME LEADERS STAYED MORE YEARS IN POWER THAN NKRUMAH AN ...

• A Rashid 8 years ago

When people lost their lives you politicising it. You are fool. when you people are killing each other u never care of it you link natural disaster to politics. Big idiot.

• ABAAH. 8 years ago

THE SAME THING WHEN ADAMS DIED YOU NDC SYNCOPHANTS TURNED IT INTO POLITICS.FOOL,YOU CALLED THIS NATURAL DISASTER WHAT NATURE ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?.THIS IS MAN MADE DISASTER AND NEGLIGENCE.GREEDY BASTARDS YOU AREN'T SEEN NOTH ...

• Sam 8 years ago

Abaah you are very foolish. So anything NDC does you also must follow?

• nana usa 8 years ago

Maybe it was caused by ciggarrate oo

• Gideon 8 years ago

In this time of unfortunate occurances.Ghanaians should try and give thoughtful and productive comments and stop this NDC and Mahama bashing..its a waste of time..

• BLACK MAN MENTALITY. 8 years ago

Goil is the nation's filling station not an NDC enterprise. This thing with politics concerning everything has to die. Yes the nation is failing but 75 people have lost their lives instead of sending your condolences, the fir ...

• pumpkins 8 years ago

You foolish ignorant animals. That fuel station was built in the 70s

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

THIS IS A WAKE UP CALL. HEATHEN PRACTICES, KILLINGS, LIES, STEALING, DISOBEDIENCE, INSULTS, PRIDE AND SEXUAL IMMORALITY BEING SUPERVISED BY PRES MAHAMA N NDC

• Amfo Emmanuel 8 years ago

eeii..Ghana..am even sad.
    The fire might have been caused by those who were rather running there for shelter..
    who knows some might have gone along with a lamp(dumsor) or even smoking..
    God Help us..am even sad..
    Burnt bo ...

• JJ 8 years ago

So where in Accra is this GOIL station located? Is it Goil Station at Nima, Korle Bu, Circle or Osu?

• Dr Who 8 years ago

HMMMM

• Elolo, 8 years ago

I am sorry for the victims and their entire family but God knows better than we do. Have my condolence, but pls my fellow Ghanaians, don't politicised this okay.Fetch water around yrself when u see yr friends' bear burning.

• pkob 8 years ago

Please if u don't have anything to write down, don't bring unnecessary article, It is flood or fire outbrake which is which

• Sam 8 years ago

It is both you fool!!!

• Amartey 8 years ago

For Gods sake. Which Goil filling station. You can't publish a story like this without the location. Maybe our families live nearby pls

Exactly

• Abu.Belgium 8 years ago

Amartey and Co am wondering which story u guys read.The writer said it happened at kwame Nkrumah circle and u stilllllllllllllllllll asking for the location.

• ELINAM 8 years ago

All these people asking where the heck the GOIL station is located read but could not understand. Majority of these people comment and insult by heart when in reality have no understanding comprehension of what they're comme ...

• Sam 8 years ago

You are right Elinam. My mind boggles sometimes, simple English they don't get it so they resort to insults.

• Jumah 8 years ago

Goil station behind GCB towers. If you know circle and Accra, it's on the road to Accra from Circle. Near Adarbraka police station

• Idiimann 8 years ago

good question

• PEACE 8 years ago

at the Goil Filling Station at the Nkrumah Circle in Accra

• Amanor Francis 8 years ago

Ghana, we are in trouble,

• NANAÖ MOTHER !!! 8 years ago

When somebody kills Atta Mills to be a president, we have not see anything yet.

• PEACE 8 years ago

WHEN WE ARE PUTTING UP BUILDING WHERE IT IS NOT SAPPOSSED TO BE THINKING WE CAN PAY OUR WAY OUT WHEN LANDS DEPT COMES TO CHECK AND THE CORRUPT LANDS MEN IN GHANA MAKES IT MORE DANGEROUS FOR THE RESIDENCE THEMSELVES. WE THOUGH ...

• ELiphas Humanitarian 8 years ago

......and we cant even cough
    hmmmmm Allah knows best

• KWAA 8 years ago

We shouldn't blame the rains for our incompetence,we had this power outrages long before the rains came.Everything in Ghana seems to be getting worse each passing day.We have turn our abilities to solve problems into party po ...

• me 8 years ago

possibly electrical fault

• pink 8 years ago

you all need to stop this foolishness and pray for ghana

• Robert Aidoo 8 years ago

The gov should builld a good drainage system and clear all the gutter.

• K. MANU 8 years ago

I think God is revealing the hypocrisy of the so-called "Mayor One." Is there any coincidence between the conference of mayors being held in Accra and the flooding of the city? Okoh can lie to human beings but cannot fool God ...

• Dk 8 years ago

Major one one is asleep . Useless mojor????????????????????????????????????

• Dk 8 years ago

• J.Davis 8 years ago

'MAJOR ONE' HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE FLOOD.IT IS THE RESIDENTS OF THESE FLOOD PRONE AREAS WHO CAUSED THIS FLOOD BY THROWING GARBAGE TO CHOKE THE DRAINAGE SYSTEM.

• DEE. DAWUDA SULLEY, NEW YORK 8 years ago

GOD SAVE US.

• Galbose 8 years ago

Allah is de greatest. did ex president mills say he has given all to God before he passed away?if he was murdered in de castle, then we are in big trouble. a dying man leaving things to god? .this is de beginning. All those w ...

• Gideon 8 years ago

do you need a professional mathematics teacher for yourself or for your Wards then call me on 0244487670 / 0203345342.

if you are a distance student who want assistant in mathematics can also call.

NB: any where you wan ...

• Bibini 8 years ago

While people are wailing out of this calamity, you are using the story to draw business for yourself. How selfish and insensitive you are.

May the souls of the dead rest in peace and sincere condolence to all families who ...

• successful Man 8 years ago

Make extra income online by just investing $18. Call Ben for more details on 0266434975

• last card 8 years ago

Is Ghana cursed or foolish leadership and governance?

• Asawinso ba odenkey. 8 years ago

God Have Mercy on Ghana.

• spyky 8 years ago

let drop this politic & religion stuff behind & face reality,mayor is only one person,likewise all of us,this is a share responsibility to every citizen to make sure his or her country. very sad about this news.my heart bleed ...

• Akoavegas 8 years ago

God have mercy on my nation Ghana for the incumbrances are umbearable.mmmmmm

• Creativesolutions 8 years ago

Inspite of this Vandepuer Hv been voted the best mayor in Africa? How?????? With choked gutters all over the cities and every conceivable place within Accra n Tama. I think he was voted the best death mayor in Africa rather.

• common sense 8 years ago

And who caused the choked gutters, the mayor or the citizens? stupid!

• CANTONA1zee 8 years ago

Oh God have mercy upon Ghana.we are now turning upside down gradually.

• Nii Tsokor 8 years ago

I can't believe what I am reading. I don't know how 75 people can be in one filling station.Something is not adding up.

• Ben 8 years ago

Country that allows filling stations close to residential and commercial properties but we have a council and government.Was suprised in December in Ghana to see a filling station close to my mother in laws place at La Paz ,A ...

• Kofi Amoah 8 years ago

These are the sort of things we will experience when we refused to let the laws work. Even illiterate taxi and trotro drivers refused to obey the laws approved by parliament. Bylaws cannot be enforced because of politics. Som ...

• Sammy 8 years ago

I have to support my brother to put up a gas filling station.(LPG).
    I saw the permit and the location and advised him to relocate . That place has now been surrounded by houses and stores ,with so many human activities.
    Wha ...

I dey feel u bro. Ghanaians have politicize everything to the extent of blaming government for every single event.

• Koo Nkansa 8 years ago

In a country where laws do not work,and anybody esp.the rich and powerful as well as influential can locate Fuel stations near residential plaves without recourse to common sense such episodes will continue to occur.I mean ar ...

• Amoakohene 8 years ago

Oh! God have mercy on the nation.

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Guess this happens in Houston, Texas too.

• Gideon 8 years ago

Some People just talk without thinking..How is a government to blame for a natural disaster..Do Ghanaians even know what going on around the world.in Napal and other places.What we need is prayer and hope this does not escala ...

• ELINAM 8 years ago

We've been praying and applying no sense and when mis applying sense brings us consequences, we turn around and say we should pray harder? ARE U STUPID?
    They say doing the same thing over and over and expecting different res ...

• KPOJEI 8 years ago

SINCE NDC STARTED RULING GHANA .NOTHING BETTER COMES OUT FOR GHANAIANS ALWAYS FIRE,STARVATIONS,DUMSO,ECT... WE CAN ALL WITNESS .hmm

• EFFO KORKU 8 years ago

TRIBAL POLITICS AND SO ON. GOD SAVES GHANA

• ABDUL MAJEED 8 years ago

Esha Allah!!

• GENERAL 8 years ago

What a horoble news editorial team is this?
    Where did it happen In accra? Place it happens?

• Student journalists 8 years ago

Read de story its der

• Ewudzi Adams from Tarkwa 8 years ago

we are in a rainy season and Accra is one of place in Ghana which normally flood happened so there is nothing government can do about it

• My Thought 8 years ago

Even choked gutters are blamed on the Mayor and Prez. Has the Mayor or Prez thrown gabbage into gutters?? And what would the Prez do if he was in Ghana?? You reap what you sow. You dont need to keep littering around and expec ...

Big ups for the sensible comment! I wish I could like it million times.

HUMANS LEAVES IN GHANA AS WELL AS LONDON OR USA OR SOUTH AFRICA. THEY GOT LOVELY ENVIRONMENTS BECAUSE OF LAW ENFORCEMENTS ON THIER ENVIRONMENTAL NEATNESS. A BAD LEADER WITH A BAD PLANS ALWAYS SUFFERS MANAGING AND KEEPING HIS ...

• gee 8 years ago

yes you can't blame government solely for the disaster. but may I ask where are the dustbins?? walk around Accra and you can't count up to 10 dustbin around. we're do you expect people to drop their gabbage?? this is wat peo ...

• Sam 8 years ago

That is the simple truth. We must keep our environment clean for our own safety.

• Boiz abr€ 8 years ago

how did d flood started.

• Adinkra a proud Akan 8 years ago

We're praying for the rains to fill Akosombo dam and the rains comes with hell of fire.As3m Nkoa.

• Richard Terper 8 years ago

Since ndc came to power every day disaster,sitting President died without cause,always fire,dumsor,hardships sufferings disasters here and there,you are cursed by God

• foreign mp 8 years ago

God so good.All African Mayors are here and have realized the excellent performances of Oko Vanderpoye.

• Mr Solomon 8 years ago

I want this to anounce about Dumsor Crisis, so that we can also watch n listern to what's going on in the country, Because what they are saying we can't see anything n their also announcing so that people will watch Their Tel ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 8 years ago

The content of this huge 75 dead in Goil Filling Station fire report does not march the contents.

Why is Ghana really cursed that we can not get anything right?

For instance, how did the fire killed whole 75 people at a ...

• Dumsor era 8 years ago

This is not journalism. How can you begin a news and leave it hanging. Plz do ur research well n come again

• Yaa Brown 8 years ago

Condolence to the bereaved families

• Kamal 8 years ago

Is there ONLY one GOIL filling Station in Ghana? How could you write a report without mentioning the location of the disaster. Who was your tutor if you had been a journalism school?

• Kamal 8 years ago

Author: Kamal
    Date: 2015-06-04 07:23:29
    Comment to: Accra flood: Fire ravages Shell filling station at

Is there ONLY one GOIL filling Station in Ghana? How could you write a report without mentioning the location of th ...

• agbormo 8 years ago

Kamal, who was your teacher? The article boldly mentioned GOIL at Kwame Nkhruma Circle and you are here asking again the location. Perhaps you should check your eyes.

• sandra 8 years ago

God save mother Ghana please

• NANA AkUFO ADDO 8 years ago

Invisible forces nation wreckers at work again.

Long live Mahama. Long live Ghana.

• Abena 8 years ago

U guys should stop e insult what has ndc nd e mayor got to do with this issue keep e city clean dont put rubbish in e gutters when u say some will tell u do u sleep there but all e same it sad

• gee 8 years ago

where are the dustbins?? government(mayor) should provide dustbins first, then after that enforce the law simple. Putting a single day as a national sanitation day is useless.

• Ghana Ba 8 years ago

Guys...close to 75 lives are lost and u talk about politics? Wld u still maintain ur stands if ur families wer part of the 75? The fire didn't start at d station but from a shop....lets all come together and stop d blame gam ...

• VICE,JDM ARE FIGHTING 8 years ago

BAD LUCK MAHAMA,CANT DO THE JOB OOOO TON,CAN WE GET IT ???? GHANIANS WAKE UP,AD3N GHANA SINCE MAHAMA CAME TO POWER GHANA HAVE NO PEACE WHY????

• peter 8 years ago

Sad but are u reporting of flood or fire.Health and safety measures must be put in place.May their souls rest in peace.

I can't believe certain Ghanaians still blame government for every tragedy. will the school prefect be able to work perfectly if those who voted him/her into power are not doing their part? it is time to wise up and find solu ...

• joe d 8 years ago

this is just nonsense.what has this to do with mahama.Even rich countries like america and europe has flood.u people should give us a break

• JDM KILLED MILLS 4 FREE 8 years ago

WHAT CAN MAHAMA SAY TO GHANIANS?? ZERO NOTHING,JUST TO COME AS IF TWAAAAA LIES LIES LIES,KILLED MILLED MILLS FOR POWER HAHAHAHAHA USELESS MAHAMA IS IN HOT WATER,PEPER,INSANE KWASEA,ABOAFUNU LIKE MAHAMA EVIL,CRIMINAL,JUJU MAFI ...

• Y B 8 years ago

CLEANSHIELD, Amazing health product for everyone, All Natural Alkaline supplement from US specially and scientifically designed to clean inner Ocean clear stomach toxins, as well as unwonted substances in the body like virus ...

• kingsley 8 years ago

rainy time don't go and stay at fuel feeling stations... prevention is better than cure ..

• grusin boy 8 years ago

try and finish school.

• Amensco 8 years ago

Quality toner and Ink refill at Amensco Techno Serv. at Abeka-New Fadama.
    We also repair HP and Canon Printers and Photocopy machines.
    Call: 0244523451

• Joe 8 years ago

This is the price we have to pay for our indiscipline. How can people build haphazardly without recourse to laid down rules and regulations? Until we change our despicable attitude more disasters are likely to befall us. May ...

• BAN STATIONS AS DRINKING SPOTS 8 years ago

I HOPE THE GOVERNMENT WILL TAKE A DECISION AND BAN ALL FILLING STATIONS WHICH HAVE BEEN TURN INTO DRINKING SPOTS...IT IS JUST RISKY

• Mark boateng 8 years ago

Am sad n hurt even though am nt in ghana at de moment,may de almighty God v mercy on our beloved motherland.may dier souls rest in peace

• papa kofitd 8 years ago

Nana Addo has already said NDC is a curse to Ghana .Anything NDC touch TURNS TO DUST.

• Whocares 8 years ago

Stupid journalist, shitty post....what caused the inferno, and where did it happen

• Abena Tiwaa 8 years ago

Oh God hv mercy on dis poor souls

Wow my wife is called Abena Tiwaa please contact me I need a second wife .I hope you are real

• kingsley 8 years ago

rainy time pls don't go stay at fuel filling stations....this is very horrible. prevention is better than cure..save your own life Ghana.

Guys this is a wrong photo..the is no tree around that area. And the number of people who were injured or dead has not been announced..please stop posting wrong stuff.

• old soldier 8 years ago

oh no

• Odwoo Snr alias Boy Listing, TECHIMAN 8 years ago

oh is soo sad to be trap with this untimely death. this is also a wake up call to the good people of techiman to sit up. in techiman from the main old roundabout down to goil & total filling station both opposite VRA Sub stat ...

• Prosper Adjei 8 years ago

Pls, see hw u will do to soleve dis pls.I hard some one is sead it is NDC filling station,by it not true is to no hot happen ther will not yapping again pls, pot an stop to it pls!!!.Tanks, mey GOD be ur helper pls. In the na ...

Amen! I think I'll need a translator for this.

• Gomoa Dahom 8 years ago

Ooh! My God.

• Isha Mohammed 8 years ago

Oh jehovah have mercy on Ghana because we ar suffering papapapa, my sister went to town n up till nw she iz nt back. Oh God save my sister! Hmmmmm

• Onslopogas 8 years ago

Mahama and NDC curses. Ghana has never been like this in all my life time...Lol !!

• Onslopogas 8 years ago

Fools die for lack of wisdom and the fools are those who voted for the present clueless gov't!!

• Ben 8 years ago

May their souls rest in peace

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

Please let us not politicize this tragedy. It can happen under any government. As much as I despise the harm Mahama/NDC have done to our country, they should not be blamed for this. May the souls of the departed rest in peace ...

• Propozy 8 years ago

My condolences to the victims families. I passed the filling station several times yesterday. May their soul rest in peace

• RICKY 8 years ago

When are you fools going to put your political bickering aside and think about how you are going to solve the big problems facing the country. FOOLS, in case you do not know or aware the your so called big towns need proper s ...

• sammy 8 years ago

why Ghana,when we will learn from our mistakes this flooding issue had been with us for more than twenty years but it seems our leaders are doing nothing about it.

• Ernesto 8 years ago

Ohh...God v mercy on us
    May their soul rest in peace

• Fear GOD 8 years ago

my brothers and sisters no should should blame any politician or any leader pls ,GOD knows why all this happens so let always maorship HIM and ask for forgiveness. lesbianism and gay must stop ,

• pink 8 years ago

this has nothing to do with lesbians and gays ghana isnt the only county that does this and if it was people in america would be dead they are the once supporting gay and lesbian marriage

• OFUTUFOUR 8 years ago

OOOOH MY GOD HUMANBEINGS R NOTHING OOO.SEE HOW PROPERTY N LIVES R LOST?LUCKY DUBE SAID"WE SHLD PRAY TO GOD WEN WE R RESUMING TO OUR BED FOR DE NXT DAY"

• Crazy 8 years ago

Some one need to be released from his post like the man with the bush bear calling himself Mayor who dont know what to do but to control traffics lights in the city,Is a shame this is happening and continue to happening with ...

• ebo 8 years ago

And yet the city's mayor is voted best in Africa. Another waste of tax payers money. The money wasted in satisfying okos ego could have done one good sewage. NDC propaganda nonsense. Mayor oko take your colleagues on city tou ...

• Sammy 8 years ago

Oh God pls help Ghana. What is going on in our dear nation. To those who have lost their life my their soul rest in piease.

• Meepae 8 years ago

But what do we expect? We have a government of "dead goats" who are not interested in solving any problems, be it cluttered gutters, blocked drains or buildings erected in the path of natural waterways to obstruct them and ca ...

• Isaac owusu 8 years ago

Oh my God......Lord help us oo......something tells me that it won't take sometime God il come......all this shows????? May ur soul rest in perfect peace

• Kay 8 years ago

when the mayor was pulling down houses and structures in water ways, was he not insulted?
    same people will insult him again because of the floods..........lets learn and allow the leaders do what is right for all of us

• EBENEZER 8 years ago

ghana is indeed a very sad place to live.
    authorities know what is best for the but unfortunately mans desire for wealth has blind folded them to do so.
    go all over the country and you would be marveled where filling statio ...

• Nchor Sam Adm 8 years ago

May God rest them in peace, hmm does this shows the end time? Then, anywhere you are now repent for you could be a victim. But lets stop making politics with this, remember .

• earthquake 8 years ago

lets even thank God is not an earthquake. by the way the end time is near. may their souls rest in peace. committing all kind of sins without having a second thoughtswhat would happened to them hereafter. people steal, murder ...

• kapitain 8 years ago

God have mercy on us

• Kanto 8 years ago

Rest in peace countrymen.
    hmmmmm..... ....
    they say our mayor is BEST in africa.
    Guys even got the nerve to mount a billboard about it.

• richard gyimah anane 8 years ago

we have to be very curefull ghanians

• Sandra owusuaa 8 years ago

Oh may de gud Lord have mercy upon us .May their soul rest in in de bossom of de almighty

• Abraham 8 years ago

Another june 4 wit another diseaster....ghana der z sometin be done abt dis....today shd be holiday....

• karin laryea germany 8 years ago

Very very sad......

• fiifi yenz 8 years ago

oh God have mercy... look how your poor children are suffering mmmmm ....

• Eweman 8 years ago

You calle Accra a city. Travel and see and when you come back, Accra is just a slum. Yet Mahama and his corrupt NDC are enjoying the little that has been left with stupid Mayor Conference

• Jo 8 years ago

This is really a sad news to begin the day with. Accra really has some serious problems anytime it rains. But i still don't get it, how did the flood cause a fire? And why couldn't the rain quech the fire on time, was the fir ...

• Nana 1 8 years ago

anyone who will say this is not politics is not serious... since we couldn't handle our own issues that's why we elected u to take over our affairs and we pay you for that ....and if u sit your stupid maaafuckin asss down and ...

• Osam Justice 8 years ago

Hmm.. Aaaww Ghana,sorry families and friends (me ma mu yaako)

• Cj 8 years ago

The month of June has always been a month of disaster for Ghana

• Nana 1 8 years ago

and who is that fuck face constructing that over pass? maaafucker should have make a good drainage system over there....no Mather as Ghanaians we all on this page might know one or two people who has been part of this occur i ...

• Kojo Thompson 8 years ago

Ghana, use solar energy. Buy solar lanterns and fans. Better for the environment and you will not be ablaze! And stop disturbing God. It is our own fault. We simply want too much at a time but do nothing for it

• karl Awuni 8 years ago

oh God what kind world are we living in these days our brothers are dieing like flies.deep inside me we don't have leaders.may god have mercy on this innocent souls

• Kyei 8 years ago

Oh Ghana! Why my God? Ghana is recently suffering from catastrophic incidents. Have we committed sins against God? I am downhearted to read this news. May God help us in this difficult time. Those that have lost their relati ...

• monami 8 years ago

3 bedroom house for sale @bortianor. Gh ¢300000. 0503848000 for more information

• paa 8 years ago

anyone who insulted a leader here may that person perish to hell.this is raining even western countries it happened more than here in Ghana.these stupid Npp gomorons are disturbing us.why did you killed Adam Mahama? this is r ...

• truth 8 years ago

it will happen and happen again. the EPA is a toothless dog watching the ndc boys build petrol and gas stations in residential areas. why are politicians taking the citizens of Ghana for granted and taking the country backwar ...

• Katamani Raphael 8 years ago

Hmmm God help us and rescue our nation Ghana.Amen.

• rasta, Johannesburg 8 years ago

people lts b serious for once. what has this got to do with politics?

• Appiah 8 years ago

Money is he only understandable word for a Ghanaians to understand.
    We don't care about our environmental health and personal care issues.
    Ghanaians will always wait for the event to happen before they Re-think .
    Recently ...

• nat 8 years ago

Is Andy K a human? .May their souls rest in peace. Lord save Mother Ghana

• paa 8 years ago

nana Ado is dying for sickedness. help fools Npp.Adam Mahama will haunt the party down stupid war party killing Yaa naa and want the three northern region to vote for you never and ever.our vote are for Ndc forever.Rawlings b ...

GHANAINS THIS FIRE, THE FLOODING AND THE DUMSO ARE WAKE UP CALLS FROM GOD!!! GOD IS NOT HAPPY WITH GHANAIANS YOU NEED TO WAKE UP AND CHANGE YOUR WICKED WAYS - THE MASSIVE CORRUPTION BY OUR LEASDERS, THE INNATE CORRUPTION BY O ...

• Rexford 8 years ago

dis a clear indication dat de world is coming to an end . we shd ask our self dat if "i was part of dis incident where will i spend eternity heaven or hell.

• yussif fuseini 8 years ago

The project at circle is nothing but pre fabricated metal bridge design to get vehicles fly over each other,no thinking went though it,if it was a major project,definitely the drains situation there would've improve to preven ...

• talkative 8 years ago

Ghanaians response to issues that has imposed danger or death and say nasty comments abt for only one week leaving it undone..R.I.P brethren.

• Rexford 8 years ago

mercy God!!!!!

• nsoh benjamin 8 years ago

oh heavenly father come to the aid of ghanaian .my condolences to the deceased families

• Olysosis 8 years ago

is not 75 is 135.......nincompoops leaders we have in our country ......they wait for something bad to happen before they wear the so called protective clothes and talk nonsense ....,.....Hmmm am so sad...mother Ghana.

• Mensah Andrews 8 years ago

God have mercy on all Ghanaians

• Talk Some 8 years ago

May their souls rest in peace. This is Ghana for you indiscipline galore.
    *Build gas stations in residential areas...
    *Litter the city = low tourism appeal
    *dump trash in drains = Flood
    *build houses in water ways = floo ...

• Kweku trouble 8 years ago

Whenever the Mayor tries to break down houses sitting on water ways we all know what happens. Same people here talking rubbish are the ones who start raining all sorts of abuse on him. Our cheap and lazy journalists will star ...

May their souls rest in peace

• Sena 8 years ago

aww masa Kwaku.u ve made my dae . Ghanaians are indeed hypocrites. Our city are being overtaken by slums and yet if the mayor tries to undertake a demolition exercise, people insult him. Ghana cannot develop like this. if u w ...

• NANA C 8 years ago

Please, people should comment well is people lives who has gone May their soul rest in peace, they should also remember those people living around circle most of them are NPP supporters so make good comment.

• Maud Adika 8 years ago

Ghana hv to rise with prayer dis month,we also hv to be extra careful when it is raining.dis also goes to those who ar bleming de president. Mahama didn set fire to consume us, so plz we shuld mined our speech.sry for de dead ...

• Kofi Mensah 8 years ago

We in a country where the law doesnt work. People are littering here and there and we look on unconcerned. year in year out FLOODS so cant we think small as Ghanaians..?? We better start cleaning our homes and punishing ppl f ...

• Owusu afriyie 8 years ago

Mahama is a bad luck president

• MOSES Y.SIMON 8 years ago

MY FELLOW GHANAIANS THIS IS NOT SOMETHING THAT YOU SHOULD POLITICISE LET US THINK DEEP IN THIS MATTER AND GIVE EVERYTHING TO THE CREATOR

• Sulemana 8 years ago

Oh NPP, people lost their lives and your using it as platform. No wonder your an Npp

• KWAME AHINFUL,ESSEX-UK. 8 years ago

LAND DEPT.SHOULD BE SUED FOR ALLOWING PROPERTIES TO BE BUILT ON WATER WAYS AND AMA,THE CORRUPT CHIEFS WHO SOLD THESE LAND SHOULD FOLLOW SUIT.TOO MUCH CORRUPT PRACTICES IN GHANA IS THE CAUSE FOR ALL THESE.BY THE WAY,WERE THE G ...

• KOFI 8 years ago

SINGLE BEDROOM APARTMENT WITH SATELLITE/CABLE TV LINK,CUTE ITALIAN PORCELAIN FLOOR/WALL TILES,POP CEILING FOR COOLER INTERIOR AND OTHER MODERN AMENITIES IN TANTRA HILLS FOE RENT.

PLEASE CALL : 020 297 1629

• Nana 1 8 years ago

raster this has everything to do with politics.... okay its go back to the olddays when we were being ruled by chief and Queens... how many history books talks about such flooding.... now we move into a new era and we are bei ...

Are serious or you want to talk because others are talking? What was the population when we're were ruled by kings and queens? How many houses did we have in the whole of Ghana? We did not even have cars and petrol stations. ...

• Kamal 8 years ago

Now I know where the tragedy occured. My heart goes to the bereaved families and to the whole Nation.

You have spoken like a human being. May their souls rest in peace.

• conquer 8 years ago

Oh God have mercy.

• Lami 8 years ago

Ghana is full of politics NDC this NDC that, NPP this NPP that so when ar we going to look for the solutions to our problems. there way we hv been serving this ppl if we serve God lk that we would hv been bless by now

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

Stupidity at his best

• gee 8 years ago

the capital city must be removed from Accra . but I bet you, which ever government could be bold to do this will suffer the consequences cos it will be used as a political tool by their opponents

If the capital is moved to Newyork and there is unchecked migration, filth, indiscipline, building anyhow, the results will be the same. The solution is doing the right things. We don't run away from our problems, we face the ...

• Vanchasse 8 years ago

My people we should not take this as politics but rather pray for the country.May God have mercy on Ghana.

• abdul jalil 8 years ago

Oooh what a disaster.... this fire and water problem is a hectic here in ghana....sorry for the lost souls...

• Gilbert 8 years ago

This is bad news for mother Ghana but all the same its a sign of the second coming of Christ

• Sulemana 8 years ago

Mr. Truth I'm praying that next fire out break you and family should involved. Amen!!!

• suspect 8 years ago

ghana need to be to z
    sell
    i luv u ghana boys n gal r surfering cus of money oooo omaa ghana

• Kofi Sekyi Duah 8 years ago

God have MERCY on their souls.

• MOSES Y.SIMON 8 years ago

circle by GBC bank

• ESK HAYIBOR 8 years ago

it is so stupid for those talking about political issues here does it means NDC ordered the rain should rain? I don't understand human creature at all... something natural you are blaming party shame to you God should have ...

• Sammy yao adadivor 8 years ago

Is Rawlings celebrating his unnecessary #June4th uprising? That caused the nation into fears,wailings, recapping? NDC government is a curse to our county damn so called ongoing majors conference.

Massa shut up if you have nothing sensible to say. Do you know what it means for people to be burnt to death. Just try imagining it and you will bow your head in shame for your crap. Are they Rawlings? Who cursed them? Don't ...

• SAMMY 8 years ago

Ex-President kuffour did well with this drainage thing in Accra.

• Sophia OP 8 years ago

ooooh, hmnnmmm so so SAD!!! my heart, my heart, GOD please help Oman Ghana bcos we are doomed.

• Mr Propaganda Government 8 years ago

John Mahama must sit and solve the problem and stop propaganda about Mr Adams Mahama's death

• Debater 8 years ago

May their departed souls rest in perfect peace,meanwhile the dead goat must wake up to solve the dumso problem in other to save life's.

• BAVEN RICHMOND 8 years ago

May thies souls rest in perfect peace

• Stephen Boadu 8 years ago

Oh Holy Fathe please save them

• khalin 8 years ago

oh Lord have mercy on ma nation Ghana.RIP to all lost souls and ma condolence to thier respective families.Today is a sad day

• Elizabeth 8 years ago

Awww look at how people's are dyeing Lord please forgive us and come to our rescue in good and bad times kk.Long live Ghana in peace and love.

• John Dukkus 8 years ago

RIP . May The Lord Keep You

• ISAAC 8 years ago

I am so so sad with the kind of comments made here in the midst of a national disaster. instead of the whole nation grieving with the families of the lost ones just imagine the political twist it has taken. this nation is rea ...

• BAVEN RICHMOND 8 years ago

in fact, some people are not serious.how can you bring in political matters hear?

• Osie Agyemang Prempeh 8 years ago

All Ghanaians must put politics aside & go down our needs. Our politicians known the cause of all this. Our leaders put GOD aside & go for juju. This is not one political party it is all the politicians. Because of selfishnes ...

• ASEMPAYE 8 years ago

Who allowed a petrol station to be placed in the midddle of residential and Commercial areas? This stupidity is all over the place and unfortunately, we havn't seen the last of such meanless tragedy. Ghanaian "leaders" never ...

• hamidu majeed 8 years ago

what a tragedy moment is only Allah who can save us.

• tb 8 years ago

until we change our attitude, until we stop politicising everything in dis country we will go backwards. shame unto u al who r politicising dis sad issue

• Naomi darko, kasoa 8 years ago

I feel so heavy n sadden, but our creator knows best, may all de lost soul rest in peace.

• Chicago Guy 8 years ago

God will continue be suffer because of NDC

• Akuka Abraham 8 years ago

Lets correct our mistakes from here. And stop talking about polities please.

• Abdul-Kareem 8 years ago

What happened to Accra is a national disaster. It should therefore not be blamed on any politician. What we need do is collective responsibilities in order to prevent such things from happening to our dear Ghana.

• AKOS 8 years ago

ARE THESE VICTIMS GOING TO GET COMPENSATION FROM THE GOVERNMENT? VICTIMS FAMILIES AND CARS AND PROPERTIES DAMAGED IN THE FLOOD? OR THE GOVERNMENT WILL SIT BACK AND WATCH THEM SUFFER?

• Concern 8 years ago

I do not understand why some are defending the mayor and the authorities. It is true that it is the responsibility of us all, but the mayor and those responsible for building inspection have to be blamed.

Why were they em ...

• joana Afful 8 years ago

Now not market but filling station eiiii GH hmmmm God should have mercy

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Eiiiiiii, someone has brought a curse on Ghana ooo. Who has stolen that Ghana is suffering like that? And they still stealing oooooo

• stm 8 years ago

This fire is coursed by a potential incident which was not detected. The fire service and petroleum authority must educate each one on hazard related to petroleum products. For d rain since we have built on water ways we need ...

• NANA KWAKU 8 years ago

THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN ANNOUCEMENT BY NADMO THROUGH THE WHOLE COUNTRY SO THAT EVERY ONE WILL BE CARE WHEN RAINING AFTER WEATHER FORECASTERS SPOKE ABOUT THE RAIN.IT ALWAYS HAPPEN BEFORE THEY COME FOR RESCUE.WE HAVE BAD LEADERS ...

• NANA KWAKU 8 years ago

THEY TAKE BRIBES AND FEEL FOR THE NATION TO SUFFER WHILE THEY DO NOT GO ACCORDING TO THE LAW.NO INSPECTION OF FUEL STATION IN GHANA..GHANA LEADERS LET IT HAPPEN BEFORE THEY TAKE STEPS.LET US SEE IF THE PETROL STATION IS GOING ...

• Arnold 8 years ago

U see this is natural disaster.I wonder how people bring politics in this. May God keep their souls in peace.. Even in USA.Canada.you see petrol station close to community. The problem is anybody can just build petrol station ...

• Osman 8 years ago

I am so sad to this tragic disaster

• agnes 8 years ago

hmmm

• pink 8 years ago

if the president would stop shunting off the lights they would have had warning to get ready i blame this all on the government

THOSE IN ACCRA DO GOOGLE BBC WEATHER ACCRA AND DO CHECK IT FROM THERE EARLY MORNING BEFORE YOU SET OFF TO TOWN. ESHA ALLAH

• Mamuma Nkwantabisa 8 years ago

Somebody shd go and tell Asiedu Neketia to go and view the catastrophe (instead of brushing it aside and comparing it to floods in Houston, Tx). God, plz ve mercy on Ghana

• Elorm 8 years ago

Oooo what a shock

• Alfred 8 years ago

This the end results of bad leadership.
    Building gas stations anyhow and anywhere. Dont follow any safety measures for the building of gas station. My deep condolence to the all families who have lost their loved ones

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

Just this year he will be in hell

• Boateng Eric 8 years ago

what is happening in mother Ghana ooo Lord help us

• Agama Happy 8 years ago

ACCRA MAYOR SHOULD THROW HIS RECENT AWARD AS BEST MAYOR TO THE DOGS.

• Bureima Bannya 8 years ago

This people that you see my brothers and sisters they have already been chosen from the creater him self. This people you see here, they have finished their work in this earth yours too is coming soon but don't pray to Almigh ...

• NANA C 8 years ago

WHO OWNS THE GOIL FILLING STATION

• Yaw Mensah 8 years ago

I wish all the relatives my condolences to
    may the almighty protect them amen

• jackie 8 years ago

My heart goes out to all the people who lost their life

• bg 8 years ago

we should not blame anybody because we build anywhere,Town & country planing have close thier eyes in the country.there is no decipline in the conuntry,is time to copy the europeans drainage systerm,thanks to ex president ku ...

• Tandong Calistus 8 years ago

God help our people!

• Sophia 8 years ago

Where are the true God fearing people of Ghana.Let us repent and seek God's mercy

• Dumsor Dumsor 8 years ago

The killings of June 4 by the NDC government is still hunting Ghana.

• Kabir Hadejia 8 years ago

Allah yajikan musulmi.

• Sam Sackey 8 years ago

fifty seven years of independence our politicians have failed us only God is protecting us bad and irresponsible idiots

• john 8 years ago

My condolences goes to all the family and friends of this people and the nation for this lost.may the lord consul you all that have lost some one and may their soul rest in peace may God the almighty keep them safe aunt-ill w ...

• david onestick 8 years ago

we know sey all die bi die but this one bi too much, by the way sorry four all our sisters and brothers that lost their life,may God put their souls in Perfect place. Amen

• emmanuel kwame lolonyo ZOGLI 8 years ago

i am very sory for what happen to our lovely country GHANA where we have also our relatives.But what can we say if GOD decides so!May he protects himself GHANA and weeps the hearts of those especialy who have lost their relat ...

• Afua Bibini 8 years ago

My heartfelt CONDOLENCES TO ALL FAMILIES INVOLVED. An accident waiting to happen. This is really sad. Another dark cloud hovered over Ghana 36yrs later(June 4, 1979). Just a thought. Didn't mean to be political here. God hel ...

• Acheampong cosmos 8 years ago

God help our dear mother from all these crisis and grant us peace.

• Angel 8 years ago

In Ghana here, we will never learn from these disasters!! There are still many fuel stations sited within residential areas: are these not bombs? Only time will tell! If the residents do not tear them down, our politicians or ...

• onukpaduna 8 years ago

U foolish villag imigrant that fuel station was there before the fourth republic. It was put up in the 70s

• Hilda Kwarteng 8 years ago

oh sooo sad,awurade hu ghana mobo,

• Joinmah of UTC; Accra 8 years ago

Please don`t disturb God now, Lack of knowledge my ...... God said in Jesus name. No ANGEL will come from Heaven to talk. God can use that poor girl and boy to do the talking but he or she is not coming from any wealthy Fami ...

• AMA 8 years ago

lets change our way of doing things THE END TIME IN NEAR GOD HELP US OUR MOTHER GHANA . PEOPLE REPENT

• fred 8 years ago

is Ghana move' n 4wrd or backward hmm !!my motherland Ghana

• HAJJ SHAIBU 8 years ago

this is not the time of blaming each other instead of feeling for our lost once

• Etun 8 years ago

first my condolence to all who have lost loved ones. they are heros of our nation that is why the national flag is flying at half mast.
    2. the explosion could be a lighting strike at the gas the gas station due to the heavy ...

• Bryt Nana Ba 8 years ago

hmmmmm is time for us to bb united as 1

• yk samuel yendi n/region Ghana 8 years ago

we r all Ghanaians let us hv de feelings n pains of others, let stop politics n c de way forward,
    .Also chief's in Accra .n it's environment / surroundings should b talk to it's very seriously dey sale lands byhight(roughy) ...