You are here: HomeNews2013 08 01Article 281095

Cyber crime: Ghana 2nd in Africa, 7th in the world

Read Comments Comments (61)

• Kokroko 10 years ago

If the government cannot create jobs for the citizenry, what happens? Crime abounds and sooner than later, people will start selling their mothers for money to survive. Cyber crime has always been there but has increased ten ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

WRONG RESEARCH, NOT TRUE. STUPID ARTICLE.

• don`t care !!! 10 years ago

Hmmmm!you sound as if you`re one them...

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

Yeah, am sure you have caught him. send him to the police.....hahahahha!!!

One question? How will the police combat this crime whiles they are computer illiterate, continually they writes and keep reports like 55years ago, ...

• Mapella 10 years ago

Almost all directors over there are ewes

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Haha let me guess,are we 2nd to the famously fraudulent Nigerians (419)in africa?

• GBESE MAN 10 years ago

YES ! Ghana and Nigeria are always friend in crime but in government.

While America and British are also family in crime and they are rated number 1 and 2 in the world.. wow what a good combination.. hahahahaha

• Williams 10 years ago

Please Ghanaweb encourage your writes to cite their work. You don't make such statement without citation. Though this information could be true it will be better to cite the source.

• We Go Sell 10 years ago

Very sad, anyway Buy/sell across all African cities at www.wegosell.com

• Shamu 10 years ago

All this is cause by NPP. They introduce drug to Ghanaians, Cyber crime, corruption, sex crime you name them. I blame Ghanaians for having voting for them to come to power to introduce all criminal act to them. At least we ha ...

• Kwame. 10 years ago

Do you have facts to back your stupid allegations?.Another pathetic Ndc shrine-worshipper.Kwasea kankan.

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

I was looking for your stupidity being blamed on NPP on that blame list

• Ruks 10 years ago

I receive a lot interest from women from Ghana I definitely suspect are scammers. My recent is asking me to visit her. I was so excited until she told me putting up in a hotel would be unnecessary. She told me there were very ...

• THE MASK 10 years ago

Don't bother. Most likely is a guy who is pretending to be a woman. They don't use their real names regardless. They use cell phones and no one can trace where they are. Not enough police in Ghana to worry over this.

• Worfa Yao 10 years ago

I came back from Nigeria some few days ago. While in Nigeria, the feeling of most of the young men consider Ghana to be there fertile ground. They visit Ghana and come back to Nigeria very reach. Infact they are now property ...

• Sebastian.Baltimore MD. Proudly Niger 10 years ago

Don't hide under a shade to point accusing finger, simply face your problem. End of story!!!

• PAPA ARKOH, USA 10 years ago

THEY ARE ALL GHANAIANS..STOP THIS BULLSHIT AND FINGER POINTING ALL THE TIME AND GET BACK TO YOUR LEADER TO PROVIDE JOBS FOR THE YOUTH.GHANAIANS ARE LAZY AND ALWAYS LOOK FOR THE EASY WAY OUT EVEN HERE IN THE STATES.THE YOUTH A ...

• DOUBLE STANDARDS 10 years ago

this article is a complete work of fiction...joy 0nline, why???!!! anti-NDC bigots will cut off their noses to spite their faces any day of the week....

• Me at 10 years ago

What is the fat ugly bragging igp doing about this since he's among the world best according to him.... Hahahahahahahahaha. Ghana police is destroying Ghana and we will bury Ghana soon amen

• Seth Danso 10 years ago

when you see a picture of a pretty lady posted on your facebook wall requesting you to reply to her message via your e-mail(eg yahoo address)your inbox will be hacked and you know the consequences!

• Me at 10 years ago

What is the fat ugly bragging igp doing about this since he's among the world best according to him.... Hahahahahahahahaha. Ghana police is destroying Ghana and we will bury Ghana soon amen

• Yaw 10 years ago

It is about time the Government of Ghana protected the good name of Ghana. Many Ghanians are aware of the fact that most of such crimes are being committed my our friends, the Nigerians. FOR HOW LONG IS GHANA GOING TO ALLOW T ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

GHANA HAS TO ENACT ALIENS COMPLIANCE ORDER TO OUST:
    CHINESE,INDIANS,NIGERIANS,LEBANESE,SYRIANS ETC,BEFORE WE FAIL AS A COUNTRY.
    THE EARLIER WE DID IT THE BETTER.
    NOW,EVEN AS WE LIVE IN CANADA,IF A COMPANY FINDS OUT THAT I ...

• Sam 10 years ago

YOU ARE FOOL MENSAH. WHY CAN YOU ASK WHO IS NUMBER 1 IN THE WORLD??? HENCE GHANA IS NUMBER 7 IN THE WORLD.

(AMERICA IS NUMBER 1) AND (BRITISH IS NUMBER 2}.

MOST OF GHANAIAN THINK NIGERIA IS NUMBER 1 IN THE WORLD BECAUS ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

CHINA,INDIA,NIGERIA:
    ALL FACE POPULATION EXPLOSION IN THEIR RESPECTIVE COUNTRIES,AND THEREFORE,GHANA CANNOT HARBOUR YOU GUYS.
    GHANA'S LAND IS TOO SMALL TO CONTAIN YOU GUYS WHO COULD NOT CONTROL YOUR POPULATION.
    YOU CANNOT, ...

• Me at 10 years ago

• Yaw 10 years ago

It is about time the Government of Ghana protected the good name of Ghana. Many Ghanians are aware of the fact that most of such crimes are being committed my our friends, the Nigerians. FOR HOW LONG IS GHANA GOING TO ALLOW T ...

• Me at 10 years ago

• Yaw 10 years ago

• Dan 10 years ago

Dear Yaw,

I know Nigeria, I know Ghana. Ghana has more criminals per 1000 people. Nigeria are more people, well and they are much smarter than Ghanaians. Stop blaming others, Ghanaians are criminals!

• Sebastian.Baltimore MD. Proudly Niger 10 years ago

God bless you for that comment. Blame yourselves for your woes, don't blame Nigerians for your evil deeds

• Me at 10 years ago

• OPPONG 10 years ago

I BLAME THESE UNFORTUNATE STORY ON NPP KUFFOUR LED LEADERSHIP LEGACY.

• KUKRUDU 10 years ago

We live in a country where having a computer is a luxury - buying one is beyond the reach of over 99% of the b population - so how come we have so much cyber crime? The other issue is the use of unregistered mobile phones. Th ...

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

Read my comment below for answers.

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

Blame Kuffor for proliferating this country with cheap laptops for NPP supporters that are now being used to commit these crimes.
    Remember when Kwamina Bartels was caught red handed lying through his teethes about how much h ...

• Dr. Ebo Quagraine 10 years ago

When you have allowed so many nigerians without any form of background checks, thats what you get, they manage to use our passport and always claim that,one of their parents come from Ghana. Sooner or later Ghana will be a li ...

• judith 10 years ago

We are living with this fraudsters in our homes and communities at large. We know them but are afraid to report them because we are told to be careful some of these same police officers will betray us because they are friends ...

• Collect our money from Wayome firs 10 years ago

Well the Ghana Police should form a Unit with Economic Crime ORGANISATION E.O.C.O and tackle the Flag Staff house first the President office after they tackle that area then they should try and arrest ...

• Tizzi Wizzi 10 years ago

U see how this foolish whites gays they spoil wana name like we kill ppl self, who be thiefs pass them....wana leaders self no be correct, corruption they run 4 there ma vains like blood..oooh wen wana eye self go open. All ...

• PRINCE B 10 years ago

fuck u all minister and every body who hate the cyber that is our work

• www.bookerzmedia.com 10 years ago

This is the number one networking site for you to meet different kinds of people around the world. chat free with all users, watch free funny videos. www.bookerzmedia.com, join today and feel the fun and power of social netwo ...

• COLUMBIA 10 years ago

CREATE JOBS FOR THE YOUTH AND ALL THIS SAKAWA WILL STOP.

• Yaw ghana 10 years ago

The Editor does not understand Cyber crime Period.
    What Ghanaians are doing is internet fraud.

• PAPA ARKOH, USA 10 years ago

GHANAIANS RANK AMONGST THE MOST HYPOCRITE PEOPLE AND NATIONS IN THE WORLD BCOS THEY CLAIM TO BE GOD FEARING BUT ENGAGE IN CORRUPTION DAILY.AGAIN, GHANAIANS ARE LAZY AND ALWAYS LOOK FOR THE EASY WAY OUT BCOS THAT IS HOW THE LE ...

• ONE TOUCH 10 years ago

Please stop fooling yourself against cyber crime and fight against corruption.The fact is when there is no corruption there is no crime live the youth to earn their living the way they won´t it if the leaders of the country ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?google or go TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com