You are here: HomeNews2013 02 13Article 264893

We'll deal with foreigners in 'galamsey' - Prez Mahama

Read Comments Comments (74)

• GHANAian 11 years ago

MR. PRESIDENT THIS SUPPOSED TO HAVE BEEN DONE EVEN BEFORE YOU TOOK CONTROL OF AFFAIRS OF THE NATION.
    THE ILLEGAL MINING HAS BEEN GOING ON EVEN BEFORE PRESIDENT MILLS AND KUFFOUR. SO I AM HAPPY THAT YOU HAVE NOW WAKEN UP. GHA ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Mahama and his NDC crooks Asiedu-Nketia has hands in those 35 Boxes
    containing Gold Bars which was seized
    at Turkey by Officials.

These galamsey are being supported by
    NDC because they would like to rob
    the people of t ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Torgbigah 11 years ago

I wrote to ministry of foreigners and castle about how to amend and update immigration laws,and how to re-register all foreigners in ghana in order to monitor their activities especially the chinese. Give amnesty internationa ...

• JM 11 years ago

Mahama get serious and walk your talk and stop the noise. This problem was not started yesterday under your nose but you have turned a blind eyes and deaf ears on the Chinese galamsay operations polluting our source of drinki ...

• Li su yoi 11 years ago

we stay Ghana make money, you Ghana people is owe us, and we need the money is owe, we get it here in Ghana. you ghanas are lazy always is sleep at work and playing football everyday, then is blame us for making money here in ...

• OZA 11 years ago

LI su yoi or whatever that name is, please if you cannot write simple English, don't come and display your stupidity on this forum. Ghanaians don't need any chinese advice from you. If you don't leave we will make you disappe ...

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

He said that "small scale mining is the exclusive preserve of the people, and as such the government will not allow the industry to be flooded by foreigners".

PRES. MAHAMA, DIDNT U KNOW ALL THIS NEO KNOWLEDGE BEFORE U MADE ...

• MENSAH 11 years ago

Ghanaians are the only ones that have to control our natural resources and not any uncaring foreigner.THAT IS WHAT WE SHOULD DO.CAN ANY GHANAIAN MINE IN CHINA OR INDIA?We don't have to be fooling for these crooks,and being un ...

• DAN 11 years ago

he will do nothing to stop people from china because of loans given by China for his campaign

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London. 11 years ago

President Mahama, you and your Late Mills have paved way for this idiots to destroy our lands. God is looking at you.

President Mahama why is it that you are so interested in money? Do you think that if you die you can ta ...

• The Critical Mind 11 years ago

Maybe he does not think he will die some day. That is the wish of a fool

• yd 11 years ago

Listen to the fool.you think we are stupid like you mr.president,who called all these useless chinese to our country to come and mine Gold.are you not the one protecting them for your self interest?thief.

• Anomaboba 11 years ago

Like it or not, he is your president at least not untill supreme court rule otherwise! You call your president a fool! You are a fool because you are sitiitng down whiles allowing Chinese to mine your gold. What are you waiti ...

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London. 11 years ago

Thank devil that he has given you a thief president, homosexual, liar and greedy bastard take him to yourself.

• yd 11 years ago

Stop that cheap talk and take action if you can.we are tired of all these cheap talks.Propaganda people in ndc party.

• OMANBA 11 years ago

Only a fool will not accept that Mahama is the president of Ghana.As for your 'dwarf'[Akuffo-Addo]he will never rule Ghana.

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

You are too wise for those who hold your opinions!

What is the basis of your surety, pride and arrogance on your part?

• Oba Nyansa ni baako Pe in Ghana 11 years ago

Fools like you can accept Mahama as your president but a sensible man like me believe he is a false president. Okay? OBA KWASEA SE WA TE?

• yd 11 years ago

I don't think you are a Ghanaian that is why you support this so called president of ghana and moreover I don't think any illegal mining is going on in your town or village that why you don't understand.wait till it happens t ...

• yd 11 years ago

If you want peace,then send all these illegal foreigners who are practicing illegal mining in our country back to where they came from and also arrest all the chiefs who are involved.

• MENSAH 11 years ago

That would be the solution :ALIEANS COMPLIANCE ORDER AND PUNISHMENT OF THE CHIEVES,IN CRIME.

• Anomaboba 11 years ago

Nana Akuffo Addo's brother conglatulated Mahama! This is so bad for Nana. Even though the case is still at the court, nana should recognise Mahama and for that matter his supporters untill he ruled otherwise.

• kwabena 11 years ago

na you gave them greenlight stop lying

• AyiOgladzo 11 years ago

"President Mahama warned that inaction might compromise the nation’s rainforests, stressing that forested parts of the country where illegal mining activities occur risked becoming savannah zones in some years to come". Ina ...

• Abodraku Peace 11 years ago

WHEN,WHEN,WHEN.Action now or we will take the law into our own hands

• Bumbebo Lon 11 years ago

ACT NOW, O PREZ! DELAYS ARE DENIALS! MEET THE SECURITY PEOPLE AND ACT NOW. THERE COULD BE GHANAIANS INVOLVED YOU WOULD EVEN SELL THEIR GRANDMOTHER'S GRAVE TO GET PETTY MONEY INTO THEIR DIRTY POCKETS. THEY DON'T CARE! REMEMBER ...

• GHANANI 11 years ago

Not only the foreigners but also the corrupt chiefs who have illegally sold plots of land to them.

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 11 years ago

Oh ghana what happened to our land of riches?where are our ancestors who fought to protect the of birth from the greedy crusaders? The yaa asantewaa's,okomfo anokye's,Aygeman Prempeh's,Osei tutu's Ntim jakari's Kwame Nkrumah' ...

• NAADU 11 years ago

GAY MAHAMA BETTER DEAL WITH GHANA GOLD HE STOLE TO TURKEY,AND WOYOMESAGA,THAT WILL HELP GHANIANS,WE ARE VERY VERY POOR,THE LAND IS RICH AND THE PEOPLE ARE POOR WHY WHY WHY MAHAMA,GOD IS WATCHING YOU PAAAAAA,

• OSEI WIAFE 11 years ago

FOR THE SAKE OF THE ENVIRONMENT, STOP GALAMSEY. MINING SHOULD ONLY BE DONE ON A LARGE SCALE BY THE GOVT. OTHERWISE, WE CANNOT GUARANTEE THE SAFETY OF OUR ENVIRONMENT EVEN WITH GHANAIANS.

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 11 years ago

How long does it take a Commander-In Chief to give command to his security operatives to flush out these criminal Chinese and other foreign illegal immigrants who have outrageously taken our villages and villagers hostage by ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 11 years ago

RESOURCE THE BORDER PATROL OF THE GHANA IMMIGRATION SERVICE WHICH IS DYING DOWN AND THEY WILL EXPOSE THE ILLEGAL MINERS

• DONDOLI 11 years ago

Who is a foreigner and allowed them into the country and were are they from.
    Foreigners are not suppose to work until the government give a gi ahead.
    Arrest them and send them back to where they came from.
    It shouldnt be ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Show some action!

• KWAME90 11 years ago

Mahama is not serious while you people have being importing Chinese to mine for them and you are saying this

• K K 11 years ago

As a president how can this happen at your watch. Who issue them visas what did they tell the consular they are coming here for.Or did they come here through containers?Mr president do not take us as fools.Do not destroy and ...

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 11 years ago

Is ghana engulfed with corruption in our lifes and institution that we have allowed illegal foreigners to engage in galamsey with the collaboration with few greedy and headless corrupt official,businessmen and chiefs to pollu ...

• peace 11 years ago

the president and it people like mosqueto are involve in this aat God will punish them ,all our cocoa land and valuable natural resources are being destry by the china poeple

• JUST DO IT,STOP THE CHINESE NOW !!! 11 years ago

MAHAMA IS A WORSE, NO SPINE. SAVE BOUR LANDS FROM THE CHINESE

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

So now that through insults you being exposed you want a truce , what a joke , who is insulting who really ? you insult our intelligence with your stupidity everyday . You call yourself decent after the turkey/iran gold and h ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

Let us ELECT our Regional ministers and District Chief Executives..... and NOT APPOINT them!
    What kind of De-centralisation is that ?? How can a President sit in Accra and APPOINT ALL THESE EXECUTIVES?? The People of the are ...

The president of Ghana always has too much power and that is bad for the country. Mahama especially likes to abuse and misuse the nation's resources for bribes and brainwashing the people as if the resources belong to him. a ...

• MAHAMA IS A WORSE,NO SPINE & CORRUPT 11 years ago

SAVE GHANA FROM THE CHINESE INVATION

• richard m. 11 years ago

don't blow noise on our ears, your the course of all these problems.how can a chinnes man come and hold gun in our Land without your concern.you even have your shear in this business.likewise Asiedu Nkatiah.

• American 11 years ago

Wildcat mining is the consequence of unrestrained chieftaincy.

• NIMA OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

Deal with the criminal illegal miners and stop telling us I will, which is never done. Be the President with the balls or get yourself out. What nonsense is this that we sit here in our own country and disrespectful foreign v ...

• Pk 11 years ago

Only in Ghana tou hear such thing I think before you minning you should get linsence from the govement and the cheif of that town noone should hold more than two land for minning and whatever you get must report to govement ...

The Supreme Court can save the country by doing the right thing. Mahama has so far failed to protect the people of Ghana from these foregn invasions. All he has to do is to issue a moratorium, pending permanent decision so wh ...

• Maria 11 years ago

While Ghana man sits under a tree playing cards or sleep, the ambitious Chinese work.

• PATAPAA 11 years ago

AT LAST ALL THE REMOURS ABOUT THE OKYEHENE HAS FINALLY SURFACED. WHAT A GREEDY BASTARD? I HAVE NO IOTA OF RESPECT FOR THE OKYEHENE WHO DESPITE THE FACT THAT NANA ADDO IS FROM THE SAME PART OF THE COUNTRY WITH HIM, TURNS AROUN ...

• Fredsaid 11 years ago

We have parliament that make laws and the police and security services that enforce the law.

Mahama's NDC government should just pass the law against foreigners illegally engaging in small scale mining and get the securi ...

• Paa Kofi Sam 11 years ago

Mr. President, thank you for at last making a statement on the illegal mining by foreigners; it is a small step in the right direction. But a statement alone is not enough. You have been given the power to ensure dignity and ...

• k b 11 years ago

dei ope adei ako China ei yemo no abro koraa o. over to ghanaians.

• PLAIN TRUTH 11 years ago

WHEN WILL U DEAL WITH THEM?

• KWAME AMPONSAH 11 years ago

Walk the talk mr Prez.

• KWAME AMPONSAH 11 years ago

If the foreigners in 'galamsey' were not given the rights, how come that they are operating in the country? What are our security agencies doing? Do they act only on Ghanaians? Are they only to provide security to the Preside ...

• KOJO BUHARI 11 years ago

I ALWAYS KNEW PREZ MAHAMA WILL ACT ONEDAY. YOU WAIT AND SEE

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

Stop this hypocrisy BUHARI, the Chinese have been doing this galamsey for about three years now. Where was MAhama?

• bex 11 years ago

This Mahama guy is clueless. If it is illegal, it must be illegal for all. He has rather made it even easy for the foreigners he said he was prohibiting. Now they can sit home, use eager fronts and get the same result--lots o ...

• kwadwo totobii 11 years ago

The restriction should be extended to retail trading too. All Non-African nationals should be banned from retail trading.
    Hopefully Mr. President your words will be turned into deeds. Onyame bless Ghana.

• kwadwo totobii 11 years ago

WHY IS THE VALUE OF THE CEDI PEGGED SO HIGH AGAINST FOREIGN CURRENCIES? THE VALUE SHOULD BE REDUCED TO ENCOURAGE LOCAL EXPORTS AND RAISE THE PRICES OF IMPORTED GOODS: EVEN USA, JAPAN; CHINA INDIA AND EUROPE ARE PRACTISIHG THA ...

• IKE 11 years ago

Galamsey is becoming very deadly than HIV, MORE ESPECIALLY, in the eastern region.Government should open his ears on the galamsey issues at Kwabeng inthe eastern region.where the villagers do not want galamsey operations in ...

• Richard Amedome 11 years ago

Thank you so much Osagyefo Amoatia Ofori Paniin for stepping in for the Ghanaian citizens who have been crying for help with this issue for a very long time.We hope his Excelency President Mahama will be very strict to make t ...

• Li su yoi 11 years ago

foolish ghanas want us to go, we is give money to manage your economy, if you no careful we will take our money and you ghanas will have nothing in your bank of ghanas.

we stay Ghana make money, you Ghana people is owe us, ...

• joe 11 years ago

Chinese are like termites...
    Call the exterminator!

• Li su yoi 11 years ago

have you forgotten who is feed and fuck ghanas, its us chinese. we will feed you with money and fuck you country for where thing it has. We RE IN CONTRAL

• sbrooks 11 years ago

you had better stop insulting Ghanaians or I will Bring my African- American ass over there personally to kick you out of my ancestor's homeland.

• ERICUS-ERICUS 11 years ago

I find this too hypocritical on the part of the president & government. The president is sounding as if he learning about Chinese engaged in galamsey in Ghana for the first time. Who are the Ghanians fronting for them? Most o ...

• YAW 11 years ago

ah ah ah!!! Do our leaders take us serious. When did the president hear this? I am sure he not aware of the fulani issues. What keeps them for a long time before saying a word on serious issues like this? I cannot understand.

• KAFUI. USA 11 years ago

GOOD JOB MR PRESIDENT,GOD BLESS U FOR THE NEWS. AM VERY,VERY HAPPY.THIS POOR PEOPLE ARE NOW SAVE.

• GRACE DIVINE JESSON(AMMA BOATENMA) 11 years ago

DEAR PRESIDENT MAHAMA, THANK YOU FOR LISTENING TO YOUR PEOPLE. PLEASE WORK CAREFULLY TO SAVE OUR GOLD AND LAND FOR GHANAIANS. GOD BLESS YOU.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 11 years ago

DONT LISTEN TO HIM. HE JUST SAID THAT TO GET THE CHIEFS OUT OF HIS SIGHT. LOOK ALL OVER GH. THE NATION IS POPULATED WITH MADE IN CHINA GOODS. WHO DO U THINK IS IMPORTING ALL THESE GOODS? THE GH GOVT....THE SAME MAHAMA WENT TO ...