You are here: HomeNews2016 03 25Article 426020

Too many churches in Ghana?

Read Comments Comments (93)

• nana 8 years ago

So who is the cause

• NKRUMAH, U S A 8 years ago

ALL CHURCHES IN GHANA SHOULD BE MADE TO PAY TAXES TO THE GOVERNMENT FOR SOCIAL PROGRAMS OR BE SHUT DOWN. ALL THE CHARLATAN PASTORS CAUGHT STEALING CHURCH MONEY SHOULD FACE SEVERE JAIL TERMS. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD PUNISH AND C ...

• Reuben 8 years ago

You're not addressing the problem

• edi 8 years ago

DO NOT MESS WITH OBINIM O

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

EVACUATE AND DEMOLISH ALL THESE STRUCTURES!

The filth, lies, blasphemy, adultery, stealing is far more rampant in these institutions than outside. God doesn't even speak or understand Twi, but these people almost want to ...

• x5 8 years ago

Satanic Rawlings what is your beef.Spread the gospel to mankind that's the message

• OBIBINI 8 years ago

What message are they spreading?Just using the Bible to enrich themselves.Fake bishops,fake priests,fake pastors leave Ghanaians alone.Jesus will tell most of you'I DO NOT KNOW YOU'.

• daladam 8 years ago

Ghana have more fake pastor then the all world put together Rawlings is right here o

• A.W HARDCORE 8 years ago

This is not matter of attacking personality, it become problem in the country Ghana, those small Churches are not preaching the gospel, just to make money at the end of day, some of so-called pastors,see them in big car ,big ...

• HolyGhost 8 years ago

The bottom line is the Christian religion has become business where they use the name HOLY to dupe people

• kwasi 8 years ago

HE CAN TURN TO A REPTILE AND BITE YOU OBINIM HAVE GODS POWERS O

• AKRANTIE-BINI-EATER 8 years ago

Stop talking SHIT. You RAT SHIT Eater, your head is FUCKED UP with RAT SHIT.

• Menem se wo ye aboa saaaaaa 8 years ago

Wo ye kwasiaa papaaaaaaaaaa

• Dan 8 years ago

Religion is a great mystery to many people but the fact is that there is no god. Evolution has uprooted the foundation of religion. The creation story of Garden of Eden is a big fat lie. It is an ancient persian fairy tale. T ...

• Tony-usa 8 years ago

Ghana is the only country in the world where church services are conducted Monday-monday, 24 hours.People don't go to farm anymore. They rather would go to church with the hope that god will provide food.Ignorance at its peak ...

• Reuben 8 years ago

Matthew 9:36 But when he saw the multitudes, he was moved with compassion on them, because they fainted, and were scattered abroad, as SHEEP HAVING NO SHEPHERD. The church has lost it all unless there is a revival we're d ...

• Yaw 8 years ago

Very true and the next question is how come these churches and their teachings are not reflecting positively on their followers?
    It's just dogmatic and face saving at it's best.
    When are black people (Ghanaians)going to rea ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

I don't care about how people worship but many of them have become nuisance, especially when they have their all nights. They drum and shout on top of their voices that people find it difficult to preach. They quote the bible ...

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

It partly shows the LEVEL of Discipline in Ghana. Ipropose the ff...
    ALL Churches are to provide their OWN BUILDINGS for worship
    2) Classrooms or such Facilities belong to the State and MUST be USED as such. They are NOT to ...

• Dan 8 years ago

Imagine a peaceful world without religion. It is possible if we try. All wars will end and we'll respect one another as equals. Religion is stupid and only fools go to church to give away their hard earned $. Religion stifles ...

• DEEP THOUGHT 8 years ago

Until that Africans get away foreign religions and burn down all churches and mosque,Africa will ever remain confuse,corrupt and under developmment.Imagine how it would be if we spend all the wasteul hours on sunday and frida ...

• Ky 8 years ago

U av judge ur self.bcoz all wat u said is a statement it's never a comment

• po po po 8 years ago

Church is big business & you can launch it without regulation. Since there are no jobs, we will continue to see more "churches"

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

JJ FORENCE ABOUT TO OPEN HIS OWN CHURCH. IF U DONT PAY COLLECTION, U WILL BE SHOT BY FIRING SQUAD....GBUSHIAA GBUSHIAA...

• Reuben 8 years ago

What is right for US and other countries as you said might not be good for us. Think about it. And the churches in Ghana are not God wards but material wards. We really have a serious problem here

• Napoleon USA, 8 years ago

Talk about corruption and leave the churches alone.Even in America, there are many churches over here. Africans,Asians,Koreans,Chinese etc etc are forming their own churches here in US.SO,you guys should fix Ghana economy and ...

• Reuben 8 years ago

Many churches in Ghana
    What is right for US and other countries as you said might not be good for us. Think about it. And the churches in Ghana are not God wards but material wards. We really have a serious problem here

• Qqqd 8 years ago

Look at this rat shit eater....
    The fact that same thing is happening in American doesn't mean, It's not worth talking about.........
    After all Americans are also humans as we are......
    Grow up!

• Jordan 8 years ago

We are talking about a specific subjet!Nuisance of people worshiping in a crowded hood,think about children going to school the next morning and worshiping in a civilised and peaceful manners.That's all,i have experienced it ...

• Ato 7 years ago

CAN WE FIX THE ECONOMY ?..WITH THESE LAZY SHEEPS?????THANK U.

• Brain 8 years ago

When you have too many idiots to go to these churches and give all they have, there will always be too many churches.

More than half are just ripping people off.

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

The churches must be open more and more and its gives adivice to the youth and the parents adult for the peace the country and even though if some are practiseing in the school buldings ,its means maybe it is the start of th ...

• Master Mbuuta 8 years ago

Just a word or two to support the former President comment. It is high time we as a Country ask ourselves if at all the Churches especially the numerous new creations are contributing anything to the growth of this Nation. Ap ...

• VOTE WISELY 8 years ago

GHANA HAS EVERYTHING YET WE ARE POOR . DID WE SCHOOL JUST TO READ AND WRITE ENGLISH TO SURVIVE ? WHERE'S THE ENGINEERS , SCIENTIST , INNOVATIONS ,MATH ? GHANA CAN NEVER MOVE FORWAD IF THE COUNTRY DON'T MANUFACTURE AND PRODUCE ...

• Boutros 8 years ago

most sensible comment I read so far

• DEEP THOUGHT Risky Ziggy 8 years ago

and tha that is why all the colonised nation are not develping.We have to know that ones language is the tool that corresponds to the spirits of nature or God.Why are we praying in foreign tongue that our guadian angels don't ...

• NII 8 years ago

TOO MANY WANBABEE CHURCHES FOR WRONG REASONS. THEY MEET EVERYDAY OF THE WEEK. DO THEY KNOW ABOUT WORK? GHANIANS ARE BEEN MISLED BY THE SO CALLED CHURCHES. THEY MUST PAY TAXES TO THE CORRUPT STATE. GHANA IS DOOMED BY TOO MANY ...

• Akos 8 years ago

They preach 'love thy neighbor' and shout on top of their lungs disturbing their neighbor. Is the Almighty deaf that you feel the need to shout?

• Kwame USA 8 years ago

They make so much money and contribute very little.

• NANA OSEI (NEW YORK) 8 years ago

DOES JJ KNOW HOW MUCH MOSQUES IN GHANA? OR HE DOESNT HAVE COUNT.
    HOW MANY PEOPLE DID JJ KILLED IN 1979-1981. HOW BIG IS HIS GOLD BUSINESS IN NEW YORK? OH, HE THINK NOBODY KNOWS. HOW MANY SINNERS AND EVIL MEN ARE IN GHANA. ? ...

• apetupre - usa 8 years ago

Nana Osei you are an ASSHOLE!!!! Check your facts and stop talking jazz Kwasia like you

• NO NONSENSE 8 years ago

Why do you have to show here that your brains are full of RAT-SHIT? You SHIT-HEAD. We all know you are a RAT-SHIT Eater. Get the FUCK out of here, you RAT.

• babs 8 years ago

Yet another fuckinng Christian who always drag Islam in their diabolic acts.it is your decision to see Islam as your enemies that always make u behave foolishly.foooooooooooz.

• purity 8 years ago

my dear don't go there, these are some of the words you will mention when Muslims hear they begin to creticise christians sometimes. have u ever come across difference types of mosqe? but there are many,many diferent types of ...

• SIMPLY GEORGE 8 years ago

Are you really looking for salvation ? Do you wanna go to heaven?
    Why not hell ? Are you a young man or woman ? A reputable charismatic church based in "HELL" is looking for attractive topless sales girls and a secretary ...

• Reuben 8 years ago

You make a lot of sense that there are too many bad organization as well. Yh its true that's why the church must stand out and show the way. Positive life styles and high morality. Hard work and determination. But what do we ...

• kojo, china 8 years ago

second colonisation using local agents. they don't care if people are sleeping or not so long as it's about Jesus or mohahammed.

brainwashing institutions..

• Michael K. Tettevi. 8 years ago

We are very lucky Ghana is dominated by christians and for that reason too many churches else Al-qaeda, Al-shaabab, ISIS, Boko Haram and all other evil Islamic societies will take over us. We need more churches to overcome su ...

• Michael K. Tettevi. 8 years ago

We are safer with christians than muslims. The world is safer with christians than muslims. We need more churches in the world. I wish christianity could conquer all other religions. Look at the evil activities and claims of ...

• Reuben 8 years ago

You're right but the point here is that the church is also beginning to loose its way. If care is not taking, it will just become one of the worlds organization without God in mind. This is not how it should be.

• babs 8 years ago

Practice exactly what is in the bible first and then come back.dont hide behind evil democracy and think u r angels

• Kewku 8 years ago

Can you explain how this MINDLESS way of life people are made to BELIEVE as Christianity because of money can remove evil from the world?

Al-Shaabab, Boko Haram, Daesh, etc were all founded in the same principle Ghanaian ...

• Marcol 8 years ago

any attempt by anybody to bring Christianity down and promote islam will die by fire, in Jesus' name.

• marck 8 years ago

i always like you you still the man i know

• Ayim 8 years ago

Because the revolution failed. People have become more corrupt after the revolution and the 4th republic is divisive and tribal. What do you expect...everything is failing and getting worse

• atta 8 years ago

Yes our kind of revolution was divisive and was against tribes and people not establishing insitutions as well as griw the economy. Govt people bought factories. That is the fruit and people need help from God. Every small th ...

• zongo zongo 8 years ago

you are right.mr president

• GHANANI 8 years ago

They are all money-making churches.Unemployment has created the proliferation of the churches.With all these churches Ghana is still spiritually dead.The very people who fill the churches are the very ones whose activities ar ...

• Foreigner 8 years ago

I am against a politician deciding which church should exist and which should be shut down. If people go to it, let it be.

However, all night prayer services that are in house churches where there is loud music and/or yel ...

• Revulva 8 years ago

To me, it's better to have more churches (good or bad) than mosques. Islam is evil. Muslims cannot think on their own. Quran and Sunnah things for them.
    We can find a way to sort out charlatan pastors but we should still en ...

• PAA KUM 8 years ago

" I wonder self" why is it because it's shortest means to make money? Why 're we lazy? Honestly I just don't understand, people are afraid to be branded ANTI CHIRST so there is silence on this issue, the CHURCHES ARE TOOOO M ...

• Koklotsu 8 years ago

Your sins are too many. Remember the elders say: "One needs coarse steel wool to clean rough steel rod".

• AMA TX 8 years ago

We have many churches in America here but they don't waist time at all bcos of work but Ghana some goes to church 24/7 with working that the problem we have to check not the many churches they are building

• Joseph 8 years ago

Mr Rawlings please keep quite why can you ,said there many muslims in Ghana . Because you beiieve in juju . May Almighty God forgive your sins.Ghana does not belong to you and your family better try to repent fron your sin ...

• Vigilant Man 8 years ago

Closed some churches down will be complicated, but they should to be taxed. In order to build the nation.

• OKOROMANSA 8 years ago

WHEN IT COMES TO RAWLINGS, WE KNOW HE IS NOT CHRISTIAN. IN FACT HE HAS SPOKEN AGAINST CHRISTIANITY ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. CHURCHES HAVE MULTIPLIED IN GHANA OVER THE PASST FEW YEARS, TRUE, BUT WHAT ON EARTH IS RAWLINGS' PROBLEM ...

• AKRANTIE-BINI-EATER 8 years ago

You have eaten too much RAT SHIT!!! Stop talking SHIT, you RAT.

• pee 8 years ago

And is that a problem? Have you complain of the too many drinking bars being set up?

• Abraham o kporti 8 years ago

it is true there are too many churches in Ghana. the profit making once had exceeded the faithful once. for the church of Pentecost as indicated doesn't disturbed and in terms of preaching, they don't preach of wealth like th ...

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 8 years ago

THEY ARE NOT CHURCHES. THEY ARE TOOLS USED TO ROB INNOCENT AND IGNORANT GHANAIANS, ESPECIALLY, WOMEN. AND FOR FORNICATION AND ADULTERY. THE GOV'T HAS TO STAND UP AND SHUT MOST OF THESE SO-CALLED CHURCHES DOWN. FROM WHAT I SEE ...

• seth 8 years ago

THANKS KASAPREKO.MATT.16:18.JESUS BUILD ONLY ONE UNIVERSAL CHURCH.ACTS 20:28,EPH 4:4-5.ALL THE 99.99% CHURCHES ARE APOSTATE CHURCHES.THEY PLAY ON THE ON THE MIND OF THE IGNORANT TO ENRICH THEMSELVES.FORCE MEMBERS TO PAY TITHE ...

• Great 8 years ago

We have too many fake churches with fake pastors. 95% of the churches are commercial churches, they are there for business. I don't blame them because the so call Christians are sooo lazy that, they don't read their BIBLE and ...

• smoke 8 years ago

God bless Ghana and for
    Give us

No çoment

• ben 8 years ago

That's y u kiLl OSOFO Amoako

• TM 8 years ago

It's because there are tooo many corrupt politicians. Everybody wants to be in politics including family members.

• Solomon 8 years ago

In 2014 there were more than 10,000 churches in Ghana.

• believer 8 years ago

More than 10,000 churches is better than 10,000 mosques who will one day turn the country into an Islamic state

• KOFI TOTOBI KWAKYE 8 years ago

Why complain now? It was rumoured that jj was going to stop all those using God's name to gain riches, he was also going to sweep aside the 'king/queen' nonsense. Ghana would have developed by now if you were 'man' enough, bu ...

• weysman 8 years ago

This is sad. Have ever asked why too many drinking spots are speadig across the country and cities.

• EZEKIEL 8 years ago

What about Solutions ? We know there are TOO many. Where do we go from there ?? The SAME with every problem!!
    We have IDENTIFIED the Problem....NOW SOLUTIONS ...my people!!!!!!!!!!

• Richardson amarh the son of the livin 8 years ago

Ignorance,atarch ur self to de chariot n stop
    complaining,is de Lord Jesus who said i will built my Church n de gates of hell shall not prevail against de Church, de Church is coming against de gates of hell, n No one cn sto ...

• simson 8 years ago

Vote for me and I will fix this problem once and for all

• poland 8 years ago

i agree with the biblical prophecy 'go ye therefore into the world and preach the Gospel. It's quiet clear that a lot of pastors in Ghana these days are not called by God.i don't want to mention names.tune in to our radio sta ...

• Nana Nketiah 8 years ago

Have we counted the number of drinking bars and mosques?
    Examining the content of the article, it is clear the writer is pushing for a rage against the church.
    The only faith movement that receives attacks and critical scru ...

• pkirks 8 years ago

I guess that so called freedom of worship is not helping Ghana and Africa as a whole. It has made young guys and ladies , who can go and cultivate , very lazy. They don't work anymore. They don't go the farms anymore and lots ...

• CITIZEN ONE 8 years ago

People have no real recreational activities in Ghana. Children walk the streets and sell trinkets or wash car windows. Adults sit at outdoor drinking spots, eating banku n tilapia ala club beer. What do you expect.

We shou ...

• pkirks 8 years ago

I guess that so called freedom of worship is not helping Ghana and Africa as a whole. It has made young guys and ladies , who can go and cultivate , very lazy. They don't work anymore. They don't go the farms anymore and lots ...

• NSAWAM FREEDOM PARTY 8 years ago

GIVE BACK OUR LAND

• JIM 8 years ago

MOST OF THIS CHURCHES MUST CLOSE DOWN, MORE CHURCHES MORE REGGAE . THEY ARE ALL FAULTS WORSHIPERS .BUT THEY CHEAT FUCK EVERY WHERE. ALL MUST QUITE

• JIM 8 years ago

ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND. YOU DON'T HAVE ANY BELIEVE !!! HOW WERE YOU BORN , A DROP OF SPERM YOU ARE LOST

• concern 8 years ago

The political governments are the contributing factors, if not how can a person like obinim insult a whole former President on TV and free.

• Ato 7 years ago

THE CHURCH HAS FAILED US

• Peace. i. kumasi 7 years ago

Ooo please count the beer bar and count the churchs which is the Best in all. Pray for wisdom and stop talking about thé churchs all this Peace in Ghana if had not be the lord on our side It will be easy for Ghana pray go ...