General News of Tuesday, 19 August 2003

Source: GNA

All set for GJA elections

Accra, Aug. 19, GNA - All is set for members of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) to elect their national executives on Thursday, July 21.

A statement issued by Mr Mawusi Afele, GJA Election Officer, said 683 Journalists, who have paid their dues qualify to vote. There are 322 voters at the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation (GBC), 112 voters at the Ghana News Agency (GNA), 83 at Graphic Communications Group Limited, 38 at News Times Corporation and 21 at TV3. It said there are seven voters at the Standard, six voters at Crusading Guide, three each at Public Agenda, the Daily Dispatch and Ministry of Information, two each at Ghanaian Chronicle and the Independent, and 74 other voters.

The statement said all regional election officers are to collect their ballot papers and voters' lists from the offices of Graphic Communications Group on Wednesday, August 20.

Officials of the Electoral Commission will assist the GJA election officers to conduct the vote, which will be between 0900 and 1700 hours. There will be six polling stations in Accra. All Journalists at GNA, GBC, Graphic Communications Group, New Times Corporation and TV3 will vote at their offices. All other voters will cast their ballots at the Ghana International Press Centre.

Two senior journalists - Mr Yaw Boadu Ayeboafoh, Editor of Daily Graphic and Mr Yaw Owusu-Addo, Director of Radio - are vying for the post of President.

Mr Ken Nunoo (New Times) and Mr Affail Monney (GBC) are contesting the position of Deputy General Secretary, Mrs Tina Aforo-Yeboah (New Times) and Ms Yaa Acquah (GNA) are seeking the post of Treasurer while Mr James MaCauley (New Times), Mr Matthew Mac-Kwame (GIJ) and Gideon Sackitey (GNA) are seeking election to two executive member positions. 19 Aug. 03