You are here: HomeNews2013 08 25Article 283595

Danquah deserves no credit for name ‘Ghana’ – Kobby Acheampong

Read Comments Comments (120)

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

DANQUAH OBVIOUSLY IS A GREAT PERSONALITY AND WILL REMAIN ON THE ARCHIVES AS SUCH. MAY PEACE PREVAIL IN THE LAND ...

Fake leaders claim thrones without building kingdoms as pepeni has done by murdering mills . today there is another divide and that is the north south whereby these Muslims think its their god given right to plunder and oppre ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

You need a check-up... mental check-up

• www.ghanatv.weebly.com 10 years ago

Watch TV3, GTV live, Adom, Joy and Many more. Go to www.ghanatv.weebly.com

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Without the doyen of Ghana politics,J.B.Danquah, there can be no Kwame Nkrumah.

It was the all-inclusive-minded J.B.Danquah led UGCC which 'imported' Kwame Nkrumah into the country,paid 'freight charges, import duties and ...

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

I can't believe this guy was a lecturer at Cape Coast University, so I hear. Did Prof. Oquaye say Danquah CREATED the word Ghana or mooted the idea of invoking our known ancient name Ghana for the christening of our new indep ...

• Nana Akyea Mensah, The Odikro. 10 years ago

OFFICE OF THE ODIKRO
    a companion of the black star!

What is in a name? As Shakespeare once rightly wrote, "That which is called rose shall still smell sweet by any other name"!

I am prepared to even give the credit to ...

• Moses 10 years ago

If Danquah was a CIA agent, so was Nkrumah a KGB agent. What is the results of Ghana buying the Soviet propaganda? What is Ghana facing now compared to Malaysia which gained it's independence at the same time but followed the ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Francis C. Quainoo 10 years ago

Nana Akyea Mensah, I strongly suspect you may have your brains in between your legs.

How could our J B Danquah, the Doyen of African Politics, be a CIA Agent when the then Gold Coast was under the ambit of the Western Coun ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

Francis Quainoo cannot argue facts. His way of protesting a point is with personal insults and intimidation. If Mr. Mensah has his brains in-between his legs and able to contribute what he did, then I wonder where your own b ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

It seems the NPP dreads the "Blessed Spirit" of our founder Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, more than a Roman Catholic dreads the devil.

They are even sick unto death but their case is not hopeless. Because there is an immedi ...

anent another "one of the NPP tributaries of lies." as to who our true founder Nkrumah is.

• Ghana-Man 10 years ago

You wish you had one man like Prof. Oquaye in your whole family. Ghana was called GOLD COAST, a name given to us by our colonial masters. When we were getting ready for our independence, our great men of the day decided to fi ...

• Kafui Ama 10 years ago

Author: Kafui Ama

Please be patient and read this to the end.

By Craig Murray, former Deputy British High Commissioner to Ghana

In 2004, Craig Murray was famously removed as British Ambassador in Uzbekistan af ...

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Man, I am confused. If you took your time to read my post, you will have realized you and I are on the same page. My comment was not to deride Prof. Mike Oquaye, who is one of my heroes, but rather deride KOBBY Acheampong who ...

• Opoku Kwarteng 10 years ago

Yes Oyokoba, I fully understand you being confused by the man Ghana-Man
    . You actually took the words out of my mouth. THANKS. Could not believe my eyes reading what he (Ghana-man) wrote and posted up here either. I wonder a ...

• Ghana-Man 10 years ago

I rushed to comment on your comment without first reading to understand your comment properly. SORRY!!!!!!!!

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

No problem, my brother. No hard feelings.

• Opoku Kwarteng 10 years ago

Hello Bro. Ghana-man,

I do hope you`ll be able to read my posting that counters yours up here.

You actually did a disservice to Oyokoba. Please go back and read Oyokoba`s posting again and thoroughly and then try to apo ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Are you sure that Kwame Nkrumah was a schoolboy in the US, when the name of Ghana was agreed upon to be the name of the future independent nation? Let me give you a little free education.

Kwame Nkrumah had by that time in ...

Why did you have to insult Oyokoba? If he does not have a head, what do you think he has? How often have you read what he submits to this forum? He is one of the most insightful, brilliant debaters on this forum, even I do n ...

• Fo Kofi 10 years ago

YOU SEE THE SEQUENCE OF EVENTS? WE WANT TO MOVE FROM COLONIAL NAMES BUT NDC WILL NOT LISTEN MYOPIC , VISION-LESS, CLUELESS. HENCE OUR TRIBULATIONS TODAY!!!!

• I&I 10 years ago

I can bet my last penny, this posting did not come from Oyokoba, but that ayigbe thief Kola.

• TA 10 years ago

do the ndc think npp is our rival? sorry to say no. it is them the ndc who are our rival. they destroyed every thing we planned and did for this nation. check on the leather factory, gold refinery,and many more. the sit and w ...

• Dumega Prosper Jnr. 10 years ago

NONSENSE!! The Local CIS agents can never ever be founders of Ghana. The Osagyefo, Dr. Kwame Nkrumah never dies!
    Even long after he was dead and gone, they voted posthumously for him as the man of the C20th or Millennium!! T ...

obviously its you who needs that mental evaluation

• ohenenana 10 years ago

Kobby Acheampong, you are a looser!

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe (JAK) 10 years ago

Slaves in some parts of the world form the currency of the country; in others they are the , beasts of burden and the machinery; often their lot is mercilessly hard. But in no part of the world does slavery appear to be more ...

• YF 10 years ago

Aboa Ayigbeni kwasia, do you know our history? Shut the fuck up.You are not the right
    Person to tell as about Ashanti history what business have you to talk about Ashanti history? Talk about your leader Agbeli who was so cr ...

• william 10 years ago

Indeed Danquah was great too, but he certainly was no much to the colossus of Ghanaian and African history,Dr. Kwame Nkrumah. 'Brain and brawn'? Ocquaye knows when it comes to brain, Nkrumah, and indeed his intellectual entou ...

• william 10 years ago

SORRY TITLE SHOULD READ'NO MATCH'

• ABEEKU 10 years ago

ATSU,HO " WOYE KWASIA PII"

• Kodji Agbeve 10 years ago

When this guy called Kobby Akyeampong makes statements of any sort, it makes me feel as if I must throw up. I knew this guy well, when he was in Ohio. He never completed his college studies, took to delivery, then was picked ...

• Soomui 10 years ago

Agbeve, you are typical UP/NPP material. This your 'if you miss the ball don't miss the man' mentality that you and Oquaye and the rest of the NPP scum are spewing out, can only end up exposing the dishonesty and treachery of ...

• mimimimi 10 years ago

Soomui !! You are a real soomui, people use to sleep on you so you are a damn wit.If you are really a man go get back your birth right kwasiato.

• agaagya 10 years ago

this useless thing call Koby is getting out of hands.Ghana is left for dogs, why and who is this dummy guy to open the stinking mouth to spew nonsense. Watch out koby.

• Oman Ba Pa 10 years ago

Shut up Kobby Acheampong. What do you know about Ghana?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Kobby, DO YOU KNOW WHO I AM? Yes, that statement and subsequent arrest and torture of the police you caused to be arrested for challenging your authority in speeding and wrongful overtaking will come to haunt you. You can yel ...

• Osoro Gya 10 years ago

And what do you know about Nkrumah's Ghana, Oman ba pa ? You're all lawyers who don't speak English in your party, and you shut up, ok ?

• Oman Ba Pa 10 years ago

I was born in the Gold Coast, and, By the grace of God I lived through ALL the years of Nkrumah's ascent to power, through his reign, after his reign, and I'm still alive!
    Don't shut up; you have every right to talk, and to ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Kobby, your assertion is historically contorted and distorted. Even die hard CPP people know and believe that it was JB who mooted the idea that Gold Coast after independence should be called Ghana. The bottom line here that ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 10 years ago

Leave Nkrumah issues to the CPP . Though Nkrumahs' issues is our national issue it will be more appropriate for the ungrateful bozos in the NDC remember what their murderous founder, JJ Rawlings , has done for them and give ...

• ohenenana 10 years ago

Kobby Acheampong, get off the air waves, the internet, and the mass media, in general. Your narrow and shalow views, and your penchant for insulting people is not needed. No one needs to hear from you. Stay where you are, and ...

• ohenenana 10 years ago

I meant to say, Kobby

• RIGHTMAN 10 years ago

Kobby Acheampong, you were even not yet born when the Paa Grants and the other members of the big six began the movement for the independence of the then gold coast so how dare you challenge Prof. Ocquaye ?

Or is this part ...

• Oti Akenteng 10 years ago

You need to learn more.Dr J.B.Danquah is the genesis of the name Ghana in 1947 after the formation of the UGCC.

• ohenenana 10 years ago

What paper have you written on any subject to do with Ghana. Kobby Aceampong? Show the world your work, or keep mute!

• Osoro Gya 10 years ago

Who doesn't know these people in Nkrumah's Ghana by now ? They always try to harvest where others have sowed and planted. Next, they're going to claim to have chosen Accra to be our national capital, and that they chose the ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

That is Nkrumah you are describing! People started the whole thing, invited him to join, and he did selfishly bite them in the foot. You see, Ghana should have been a great nation, but we as a people have always chosen to fol ...

• CAPII 10 years ago

THE UGCC FOUNDERED GHANA; ALL THE FOUNDING FATHERS WANTED INDEPENDENT "GHANA." NKRUMAH,THEN GENERAL SECRETARY WANTED INDEPENDENCE "NOW." WE TALK UNITY AFTER THE SC VERDICT, LOOK WHERE WE DISAGREE AS A COUNTRY !! "FOUNDING NAM ...

• Nana Bawuah 10 years ago

"The name Ghana is the not an original creation of Dr. Danquah. The name Ghana was the title that was given to the leaders of Ouagadougou – the old Gana Empire – Gana was their title, so it’s not an original creation. H ...

the British would have never given independence...

Asante could have cared less, since its confiscated lands had been already released in the early 30s

• Truth 10 years ago

What a fool. If Danquah was the so-called architect of Ghana, why the fool did not name the country after his damn name instead of Ghana. Ashantis/Akyems were those idiots the British kicked their asses. Period.

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe (JAK) 10 years ago

Ashantis are known backward people, they believe in Human sacrifice an indulgence in 16 century like British football derby.

The City of Death known as Kum asi human sacrifice in a satanic ritual is no myth

There was th ...

I won`t waste my time on someone, who does not even know the meaning of "Kumase". Let alone the meaning and origin of Asante.

Stop your deliberate denigration of Ashantis and Akyems. It does not help our discourse for Ghana's better way forward.

You know as well as I do that every single Tribe or Race on Earth was once primitive, backward, unciv ...

• tundele 10 years ago

amen! there is hope for us al last!

The ancient people were able to know and do things, we cannot even understand and do with our modern day technology. The Dogons of Mali had been able to know so many details about our solar system and certain stars 1000 of ye ...

• oregun , usa 10 years ago

nkrumah was not A failure, he was the best president ARICANS EVER HAD, YU ARE AN IDIOT TO MAKE SUCH A STAMENT, EVERY WHERE YU EVER GO, DR NKRUMAH IS KNOWN, WHAT ARE YU TALKING ABOUT.

Nkrumah is nowhere known outside Africa.

I thought your moniker was forged, but quite revealing indeed. You guys are contemptuously deceitful.

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

Stop writing NONSENSE-And please go back and do the English correction in this piece of trash.

Truth hurts, but stop crying!

• Say Akiba 10 years ago

Nana Bawuah, don't waste your time on that trokosi guy truth nothing will please him even if you present your head on a silver platter.He is doing that just to please the fantis but he doesn't know Dr.Nkrumah is an Nzima and ...

• Say Akiba 10 years ago

Hei!! trokosiman shut up for us to discuse about our founders, yedi yen fie asem so don't bring yourself.Talk about your party founder and how Asiedu Nketiah has hijacked the party from him like Nkrumah did to UGCC.

• Soomui 10 years ago

Nana Bawuah, you mean you took your time to write all this excuse me to say (tafratse), nonsense without thinking?

I really cant be bothered to go into all the ridiculously illiterate details of your contribution but I wil ...

"You say Danquah did some kind of research ostensibly to discover the name Ghana?"

No, I didnt say, he discovered the kingdom of Ghana. It is rather he who traced the people living in that area and their culture, which wer ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

OCQUAYE IS A SUBJECTIVE HISTORIAN WRITING WHAT SUITS HIM AND HIS PARTY. HE IS TRYING TO CHANGE HISTORY WHICH IS IMPOSSIBLE. NKRUMAH SAVED GHANA FROM THE BRITISH.

• Joe 10 years ago

This Kobby merely is looking for attention after he was booted from office for his uncouth behavior at the Internal Affairs ministry under Mills. The fact that one initiated something does not mean he is the one who implemen ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

70-year-old Mike went for his annual physical. All of his tests came back with normal results. Dr Arthur Kennedy said, "Mike, everything looks great physically. How are you doing mentally and emotionally? Are you at peace wit ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

OCQUAYE AND I WERE NOT THERE SO WE SHOULD NOT BELIEVE MIKE OCQUAYE BECAUSE HE IS LYING AS ALWAYS.

• GA man 10 years ago

Koby u re fool so keep quiet n suffer. U will never be given any position in politics till u die.

• otwum 10 years ago

the fag is back

• me 10 years ago

We give you all to God to judge for us.THE LIES YOU TELL CAN FOLLOW YOU TO YOUR GRAVE.

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

Let them weep!Danquah couldn`t even win his constituency`s seat!They will never succeed in rewriting the political history of Ghana.I was in the secondary school, when "Matemeho" started with its terrorist activities after ou ...

• THE DARK SIDE OF NKRUMAH 10 years ago

If Kobby Acheampong had not argued this way I wouldn't have known how stupid he is. What is this argument about name creation? All that Prof said was: It was J.B. Dankwa who envisioned the need for the present descendants who ...

• JIM CROW 10 years ago

LOOK GHANAWEB, PLEASE DON'T BRING THIS MAN'S ARTICLES TO THIS FORUM. IT IS A SERIOUS FORUM TO ENTERTAIN CLOWNS AND SHALLOW THINKING PEOPLE LIKE THIS MAN.

• A Cool Guy 10 years ago

This do you know whom am i is now talking rado rado huh..This guy was caight over speeding near "Kasoa" He then asked the police on duty, "DO YOU KNOW WHOM I AM? If i were there i would have said yes, you are "cocoa krakye ok ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

What a laugh!Danquah & CO.,who are supposed to have laid the foundation stone for our independence,sent a delegation to London, with Busia as the head, to plead with the British not to grant us independence!Why did the Britis ...

• CAPE COAST BOY 10 years ago

THIS FOOL AGAIN ?

When people are talking I don't expect idiots like Kobby Acheampong to come in.

• Ahiale 10 years ago

Hey Idiotic Kobby Acheampong have you completed your medication following your schizophrenic attacks? You better watch out because you are not in the right frame of mind to contribute sensibly. MAD MAN

• Kwasi Nsiah 10 years ago

People like Kobby Acheampong should learn to respect scholarship. It is the first time anyone with even the smallest education is disputing the fact that JB Danquah baptised the independent Gold Coast Ghana. We may hate or lo ...

• tonn 10 years ago

why are so many foolish people calling themselves doctors in ghana?naming or not naming ghana does not accelerate the development of the nation.stop the corruption mentality in government establishment and think of moving gha ...

• Moses 10 years ago

what the fuck does this asshole know about the history of Ghana?

• Ambassador,USA 10 years ago

Don't condemp historians and think about what you can do for Ama Ghana.

• TA 10 years ago

Let ghana be ok ! Nkrummah and co are all dead and gone forever. after all, we are all ghanaians and nobody buys food for us to eat. u work hard to earn a living not these dead and gone people who will give you food. Now from ...

• Love fufu 10 years ago

This debate is a waste of time. Is this all you can use your brain for, effendi? Talking about things that don't enhance the well being of our hungry populace is a waste of time and has no economic benefit. Get a real job and ...

• KPENYIGBA KWESI 10 years ago

It is time and energy wasting debate.It must be acknowledged that neither Dr Danquah nor Dr Nkrumah founded the State of Ghana. Both illustrious gentlemen had suggested to baptize (or name) the Gold Coast Colony, Ashanti and ...

• Justman 10 years ago

DO U THINK DANQUAH IS CAPABLE OF GETTING INDEPENDENCE FOR THE COUNTRY NOW CALLED GHANA?DANQUAH & CO ARE SYCOPHANTS, DAY DREAMING WHO DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING.THEY ARE JUST PLAYING IN THE HANDS OF THE WHITE PEOPLE.DEEP ...

• Peter 10 years ago

So Kobby Acheampong too can lecture some people about who deserves credit for the name Ghana?

• KOJO 10 years ago

KOBBY ACHAMPONG WHAT KIND OF HATRED IS THIS. WHO DOES NOT KNOW THAT A GHANA EMPIRE EXISTED. DANQUAH TRACED OUR ANCESTORY TO THE GHANA EMPIRE THAT IS WHY HE CAMPAIGNED FOR THE INDEPENDENT GOLD COAST TO BE NAMED GHANA. NO AMOUN ...

• ERIC IN LONDON 10 years ago

Listern to what that madman is saying/

• KK USA 10 years ago

THIS FOOLISH BOY WHAT DO HE KNOW ABOUT GHANA HE IS LUCKER NDC IS IN POWER HE CAN SAY ANYTHING

• Sunkwa 10 years ago

Why waste energy on such buffoon---he lacks knowledge of the country's history--is it any wonder the country is in such a sorry state?

• Dzigbodi 10 years ago

What is this gay man talking about. Whether it is original or not, he came out with the name Ghana. People like Kobe can go to hell if the do not like it.

• Agya yaw 10 years ago

That idiot Kobby Acheampong shut that stinking mouth of urs when people are talking u must stay away what do u know about respect nothing just to fool about u better find something profitable to do and stop ur silly things

• The Archivist 10 years ago

Nkrumah created the country not a name! And the historical fact remains that the Danquah-Busia tradition opposed independence - and opposed it violently even before independence. They opposed national unity, and they opposed ...

• BIG PEE 10 years ago

Iam very sad that you don't know history as dr.jb.danquah and the rest has done a lot for the country more than what so called Nkrumah did as he rather used the money our colonial masters left for the country for his selfish ...

• Chris Hani, ANC martyr 10 years ago

One of the secondary schools in Cape Coast was supposedly named Ghana before the country adopted the name.....The historian should stand up to be counted...yes.."Ghana historians"..anyone?

• CURSED NAME 10 years ago

CHECK THE HISTORY OF THE GHANA EMPIRE.

BURKINA FASO WILL OVERTAKE GHANA WHEN THEIR OIL STARTS FLOWING

• ERIC 10 years ago

WHO DANQUAH BUSUA IN GHANA. HE DESERVE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING IN THIS COUNTRY.

• Adobah (not a historian) 10 years ago

Dr. Aquay, we hear you perfectly right! But if these mentioned prominent names and deeds became vain it's because they ended up sabotaging the very good works they were part of initially. Had the "UP" opposition succeed, Ghan ...

• GHANAFOMOBI DZI GHANABA 10 years ago

THE WORD OR THE NAME GHANA MEANS.......
    G=GOD
    H=HAS
    A=A
    N=NATION
    A=AHEAD
    "THAT IS GOD HAS A NATION AHEAD!"
    MY FELLOW GHANAIANS THERE IS HOPE FOR MOTHER GHANA,LET ALL HELP TO ACHIEVE WHAT GOD HAS PREPARED FOR US AS A P ...

• Armah Steven 10 years ago

ghanaweb is the stupidest newspaper for promoting the dumbass kobby acheampong

• Kwaku Addo 10 years ago

Hello Mr Gay shut the fuck up. You are old enough to know the actual history of our country unless of course you didn't have any formal education in Ghana. Judging from your age if you really studied in Ghana this basic histo ...

• YOU HAVE NOTHING 2D++ 10 years ago

I have watched these stupid group of people called politicians in Ghana and it is clear that non of them has anything sensible to say.l they are doing is sitting and waiting for the income generated by farmer for their pay. L ...

• Jo 10 years ago

kobby has made education so cheap,check the spellings of what you claim existed and what JB did,shame.

The UGCC was not an exclusive creation of Danquah, or his brain-child. So, why does the all-knowing Prof. not include Mensah Sarbah, Paa Grant and others who pushed for such organization in the sharing of the glory? Singlin ...

• honesty 10 years ago

Who is this rubbish prof.

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

Kobby Acheampong, you need to go back to school to learn more about literature. you are very poor in analyzing articles. Acheampong, (Twi: waboon paa!)

• Nana-Bee 10 years ago

This idiot refuses to underrstand our national history. You may not like Dr. JB Danquah, but should make your stupid brain dead. History is a fact that has to be told. If you don't like the fact, you can go to hell.

• BRO DAN -TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, -TO GOD ALONE BE THE GLORY, HONOUR AND PRAISE. FOR O' GHANA, AFRICA AND THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, -'G'OD 'H'AD 'A' 'N'ATION 'A' ...

• Nii Bi 10 years ago

People must not forget that Dr. Kwame Nkrumah Sole Handedly formed Ghana National College in Cape Coast on July I6th 1948, way before Ghana, then Gold Coast, gained independence in 1957. Where was Danquah when Dr. Nkrumah for ...

• Paul 10 years ago

Ghanaians let's try and learn. Politics is not helping us in any way.
    This is not the first time I have heard that J. B. Danquah proposed the name Ghana to replace the G. Coast. I have heard it from an old man before. He is ...

• Seidu 10 years ago

I see, O.K.
    Thanks.

• alfred 10 years ago

danquah asked for the renaming Ghana whilst nkrumah was across the atlantic...

• kwofi 10 years ago

OSAGYEFO DR KWAME NKRUMAH NO DOUBT'D BIGGER AMBITIONS N DID SO WELL 4 GHANA(THOUGH,HE SHD'VE DONE MORE CONSIDERIN' DA RESOURCES THEN-SHD'VE ACTUALLY DONE BETTER 2 PUT GHANA ON BETTER PEDESTAL THAN WHERE WE'RE NOW),HE DIDN'T F ...