You are here: HomeCountryRepublicRepublic

District Assemblies


Below is a list of all the districts in Ghana arranged by alphabetical order. Click on the web address on the left to visit the corresponding website of the district assembly. For further information on each district, click on its name to be taken to its profile.

Districts in Ghana are second-level administrative subdivisions of Ghana, below the level of region.

The local government system consists of a Regional Co-ordinating Council, a four-tier Metropolitan and a three-tier Municipal/District Assemblies Structure. The District Assemblies are either Metropolitan (population over 250,000), Municipal (population over 95,000) or District (population 75,000 and over).


A Metropolitan/Municipal/District Assembly is:

    • Created as the pivot of administrative and developmental decision-making in the district and the basic unit of government administration.
    • Assigned with deliberative, legislative as well as executive functions.
    • Established as a monolithic structure to which is assigned the responsibility of the totality of government to bring about integration of political, administrative and development support needed to achieve a more equitable allocation of power, wealth, and geographically dispersed development in Ghana.
    • Constituted as the Planning Authority for the District.



These are the Urban/Town/Zonal/Area Councils and the Unit Committees. In the performance of its function the District Assembly works through the Executive Committee. This includes the Social Services Sub-Committee, Works Sub-Committee, Finance Administration and Development Planning Sub-Committee among others.

The Executive Committee is presided over by the District Chief Executive and consists of not more than one-third of the total members of the Assembly excluding the Presiding member.

For more information visit:

Akuapim South (New) Eastern Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese Central Accra Metropolitan Greater Accra
- Ada West (New) Greater Accra
- Adaklu (New) Volta Adansi North Ashanti Adansi South Ashanti Adentan municipal Greater Accra
- Afadjato (New) Volta Afigya-Kwabre Ashanti
- Afram Plains South (New) Eastern Agona East Central Agona West Municipal Central Agotime Ziope Volta Ahafo Ano North Ashanti Ahafo Ano South Ashanti Ahanta West Western Ajumako/Enyan/Essiam Central
- Akatsi North (New) Volta Akatsi South Volta Akuapim North Eastern Akyemansa Eastern Amansie Central Ashanti Amansie West Ashanti Aowin Western Asante Akim Central Municipal Ashanti
- Asante Akim North (New) Ashanti Asante Akim South Ashanti Ashaiman Municipal Greater Accra Asikuma/Odoben/Brakwa Central
- Asokore Mampong Municipal (New) Ashanti Assin North Municipal Central Assin South Central Asunafo North Municipal Brong Ahafo Asunafo South Brong Ahafo Asuogyaman Eastern Asutifi Brong Ahafo
- Asutifi South (New) Brong Ahafo Atebubu-Amantin Municipal Brong Ahafo Atiwa Eastern Atwima Kwanwoma Ashanti Atwima Mponua Ashanti Atwima Nwabiagya Ashanti Awutu-Senya Central
- Awutu-Senya-East (New) Central
- Ayensuano (New) Eastern
- Banda (New) Brong Ahafo Bawku Municipal Upper East Bawku West Upper East
- Bekwai Municipal Ashanti Berekum Municipal Brong Ahafo Bia Western
- Bia East (New) Western Biakoye Volta Bibiani/Anhwiaso/Bekwai Western
- Binduri (New) Upper East Birim Central Municipal Eastern Birim North Eastern Birim South Eastern
- Bodi (New) Western Bole Northern Bolgatanga Municipal Upper East Bongo Upper East Bosome Freho Ashanti Bosomtwe Ashanti Builsa Upper East
- Builsa South (New) Upper East Bunkpurugu-Yunyoo Northern Cape Coast Metropolitan Central Central Gonja Northern Central Tongu Volta Chereponi Northern
- Daffiama Bussie Issa (New) Upper West Dangme East Greater Accra Dangme West Greater Accra
- Denkyembour (New) Eastern Dormaa East Brong Ahafo Dormaa Municipal Brong Ahafo
- Dormaa West (New) Brong Ahafo East Akim Municipal Eastern East Gonja Northern East Mamprusi Northern Effutu Municipal Central Ejisu-Juaben Municipal Ashanti Ejura/Sekyedumase Ashanti
- Ekumfi (New) Central Ellembele Western Fanteakwa Eastern
- Ga Central (New) Greater Accra Ga East Municipal Greater Accra