You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2014 08 29Article 323417

Bribery and corruption at the Ghana high commission

Read Comments Comments (93)

• Before & After 9 years ago

Are you dealing with the right folks at the High Commission? Are you also aware that there are "gorro boys" at the GHC in Highgate? These are the ones who are most likely to do that and also obtain Ghanaian passports for non- ...

• BRITISH CITIZEN 9 years ago

huh?

• USACANADAUK 9 years ago

Why would the High Commission allow gorro boys there in the first place. Ghanains are curuppt and their curruption knows no boundaries. I am not suprised. No one will make this up if it is not happening.

• schuikil 9 years ago

The same things are going on in Washington DC. They will tell you the passport machine is broken until you pay $100 then all of sudden the machine starts working and in five minute they will hand you your passport. without th ...

• Ray 9 years ago

We'll said

• Mo Ali 9 years ago

Why does it take four weeks to renew an expired Ghanaian Passport in London? Why are Ghanaians only allowed 2 days within the week to submit and collect passports? Why are Ghanaians treated with so much disdain as if every ap ...

• BRO JOE 9 years ago

KEEP YOUR MOBILE PHONE RECORDER ON AND RECORD ANY COMMNUICATION THAT TRANSPIRE BETWEEN YOU TWO.IF POSSIBLE TAKE A PICTURE OF THE PERSON(S).

• BIbi, London 9 years ago

Why do you make such a suggestion? And what makes you think that Ghanaians do not know the difference between staff of GHC and your version of 'gorro' boys? Ghana is overly tired of useless diplomats like you and its high tim ...

• SOJOURNER -BRUISED 9 years ago

FALSE TEACHINGS:

I have watching a man on television who claims God has blessed him so match that everything he touches becomes explosive, so much so that he is blessed with finanacial blessings to the millions or billions ...

• EWI 9 years ago

the ndc has send their thieve abroad too.it time to inform the police to stop that useless people who do not think about their country. big shame to those doing that.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Please, please, I am not an NDC but this is not only an NDC issue. During kuffour's time I went there for passport renewal and went through similar frustration. I felt so embarrassed when a colleague of mine paid 20£ bribe f ...

• opoku 9 years ago

Te corruption has eaten into the fabric of the ghanaian society, are the diplomats not aware of the so called goroboys? who does the diplomats represent? Unfortunately, the situation is not only in england its everywhere Euro ...

• JONA 9 years ago

THIS IS PROBLEM SINCE INSERTION OF THIS WORLD WITH BLACKS. SHOW ME A BLACK DEVELOPED COUNTRY IN THE WORLD AND I WILL GO AND CHECK IT OUT NON BECAUSE OF CORRUPTION, MASTER SLAVE MENTALITY, GREED, PRIDE, LACK OF SIMPLE KNOWLEDG ...

• Laar 9 years ago

What is wrong is wrong. but you do not need heavy and insulting words to put one in order, let us also learn how to appeal to people's conscience instead of emotion when correcting

• JK 9 years ago

If these consulate embassy or high commission staff engaging in these malpractices had any conscience, we would not be having this discussion.

• Kwasi 9 years ago

I renounced my Ghanaian citizenship because of my experience from Ghana Embassy in DC and the Consulate office in NYC. I just didn't wont to deal with any Ghanaian Embassy, Consulate or HC. I think prerequisite for working in ...

• Africanus 9 years ago

Almost a year ago I had a similar bitter experience dealing with the lady at the front desk of the Ghana Consulate in Toronto, Canada, over an application to renew my Ghana passport. I was so offended by her condescending att ...

• frank 9 years ago

IF WE EMPLOY GHANAIANS FOR THE PROPOSE NATIONAL AIRLINES THEY WILL POTRAY THE SAME FOOLISH UNCULTURED BEHAVIOUR THINKING THAT THE FOOLISH BASTARDS WHO "PUSH" HER THERE FOR THAT POSITION IS UNTOUCHABLE.

THAT IS ONE REASON W ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

The ugly pot belled men who push these equally ugly ladies with stinky behavior at post are to blame. NO BRAIN N NO CHARACTER.

• SSM 9 years ago

I think blacks in general are finding it difficult to govern themselves. Lets invite our colonial masters back? I believe if our colonial masters had stayed longer, we would have develop than what we see today. Sometimes is v ...

• Straight Talk 9 years ago

Ghanaians don't see anything good in themselves. You strike me as one of those Ghanaians living in the U.S. and Canada who show up at Funeral Services 3 - 4 four late in the night, but don't see anything wrong.

• Be fair 9 years ago

Oh please...don't exaggerate because I went to the same office a few years ago and had the exact opposite of what you are bitching about because, to be fair, they went well beyond the call of duty. I got to the office door ab ...

• Civil Servants 9 years ago

You are mixing apples and oranges. It is the same office but it is not necessarily the same staff. They change the staff every now and then. I knew the lady who was there a few years ago. She was very professional. Theref ...

• Somagbadzigo 9 years ago

Ghana High Commission Highgate? No way! This article is completely biased. The GHC has gone beyond the call of duty to serve me, my family and thousands others professionally and diligently for the past 5 years with no issues ...

• Benny 9 years ago

He is talking about 4, 3, 2 years ago probably there has been a revolution there. Don't ague and stop defending those culprits. I don't know probably they are not satisfied with their pay. The same ting with Nkrumah Circle it ...

• mohammed 9 years ago

I have renewed my Ghanaian passport in Canada just and it was the best experience I felt about Ghana. Every thing was done professionally. The lady was very polite and professional. Everything was done properly just like any ...

• Abrantie 9 years ago

The only way we can stop these nuisance is to video taped our dealings with them and post it on facebook or any other social media. Get them on video and send
    it to all the media houses in Ghana.

• KK 9 years ago

Who doesn't know they are criminals?

• Maame 9 years ago

I renewed my passport while studying in Canada using the mail in services. Their service was very professional. It is a shame what this staff is doing in the UK. Thank God I didn't have to deal with them.

• Fisko 9 years ago

report to the police and all the TV stations, they will love this story and those involved will no doubt be on TV soon showing all of us their detestable acts, they will lose their jobs and may be go to prison too.

• Bob 9 years ago

You said things have gotten better and then you claim the briberry is going on, so it got better from what?

• Africanus 9 years ago

Can you please read the article again. He said things has gotten better on the visa application processing front. Suggesting that it used to be bad. However, the current developments he is trying to make public is criminal br ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 9 years ago

DON'T SWEAT. HE ONLY READ THE FIRST PARAGRAPH

• ADUMOA SAM 9 years ago

DID YOU READ THE ARTICLE ALL? THE ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. THANK YOU BUT I DONT DO POLITICS

• kwado asamoah jr uk 9 years ago

useless talk i have been to the high commission there is nothing of a sort if someone axk you to pay 20 pounds and you pay axk yourself who is encouraging bribery just appeciate the inprovement they ha ...

• JUSTICE 9 years ago

Sam you are doing a good job continue. I must also add that bringing these already dangerously corrupt officials from Ghana not only tarnishes the of Ghana but also very expensive. Local labour from other nationals is the way ...

It's a big lie. Am hear in London. I sent my docus there and it was process as per the date given me without taking anything. Please try and say the truth small and stop politicising issues like this.

• shakara 9 years ago

KOFI, THANKS FOR SETTING IT STRAIT. I KNOW THIS GUY IS JUST WRITING WILD ALLEGATIONS. I VISITED HIGH COMMICION WHEN IT WAS ON CHEAPSIDE AND EVERYTHNIG WAS CLEAN AND PROFESSIONALLY DONE.

• nana osei 9 years ago

IF THE SAME IDIOTS AT THE HIGH COMMISION WENT TO THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES TO OBTAIN DRIVERS LICENSE, THEY WILL EXPECT THE "WHITE MAN" TO TREAT THEM WELL.

• joe,london 9 years ago

I submitted my passport renewal application just this week and nobody asked me for money.I was happy the way i was treated and the refurbishment too is of a very high quality.

• Jeremiah K 9 years ago

Dear Adumoa,
    I share your frustration here in Canada. The quality of services in Ghanaian Consulates worldwide is a shame, at the very least. The idea of dual citizenship may have sounded quite exotic to many of our brothers ...

• Joe Tetteh 9 years ago

It is very true and I agree with the suggestion of employing other nationals to work at the high commission. Our Ghanaian not only take bribe but their human relation is very bad. They do not have respect for their follow Cou ...

• Snadra Bonsu 9 years ago

Interesting, GHC Highgate has improved greatly.

• Acheampong 9 years ago

Sam, good articles. How about the applicaitons for dual citizenship. I thought the supreme court rule that Ghanaians who have become citizens of another country are automatically dual citizens and do not need to apply for a d ...

• mohammed 9 years ago

The supreme Court ruling was when and on whose case? This is common sense but a country where rules are misuse and benefit some class of people, all applicants should team up and we sue the Ghana government for refund.

• JB Osei-Brown 9 years ago

This statement " I thought the supreme court rule that Ghanaians who have become citizens of another country are automatically dual citizens and do not need to apply for a dual citizenship card? " IS NOT TRUE.

Do not foge ...

• jt. 9 years ago

I always think about some stupid laws that have remained in the system for no use to us, why do I need a visa to go back home to my birth place? Why can't we be proud of our country and where are born? Who made that stupid l ...

• Africanus 9 years ago

@jt.... you do not need a visa to enter Ghana if you are Ghana passport holder. Apply for dual citizenship, then you can travel on a Ghanaian passport to Ghana without a visa. That is what I have done, I have both Ghana and C ...

• Sam 9 years ago

The supreme court rule that no need for dual citizenship application, why are the high commission still collecting applications?

• OP/LONDON 9 years ago

These days one can do everything on line without the need to go to the high commission.

• AMA 9 years ago

If you are sure, write to the Minister for Foreign affairs. That may be the only way to stop crap.

• Military Man 9 years ago

AMA,

Ghana is the headquarters of bribery & corruption.
    So how do you think the Minister can change something in Britain that has its roots right here at home and has been accepted as the norm?

• Sakawa Churches Breed Sakawa People 9 years ago

Ok, you can replace the Ghana High Commission (London) with any of the following and you will be correct:

1. Sakawa Church "prophet" at Inaction Ministries or Darkhouse Chapel

2. Police Station at Tamale

3. High Scho ...

• GHANABA 9 years ago

This forum is not the right place for such discussions. oRGANISE A CONCERNED CITIZENS FORUM TO MEET WITH THE HC to discuss the subject matter

• Sakawa Churches Breed Sakawa People 9 years ago

Good suggestion, but the forum with the GHC will end and the animals will go back to their animal behavior.

This forum sure is not the right place to solve the problem, but it a better approach than your suggestion given n ...

• odikro 9 years ago

Ghana ambassadors in foreign countries especially in europe are not easily seen, much more fixing appoinment with them to discuss issues NO WAY. Try elsewhere and u shall give me reason. They are living in different planets, ...

• Latif 9 years ago

You must have wanted to bypass the proper procedures.Applications are online now, so what was your problem paying bribe and complaining, you must have had something to hide or wanted to be given special treatment??? Like othe ...

• Edem 9 years ago

Yes this person seems to be up to something. In 2009 when he wrote the first article the HC put upa rrejoinder and asked him to respond to some issues. I did not read any responses from him; ;meaning he couldn't substantiate ...

• ADUMOA SAM 9 years ago

Edem shame on you, it is obvious you benefit from the bribery at the embassy. just read what everyone is saying and you will realise you are the only odd one out

• Kotoua Selira 9 years ago

I went to the Ghana high commission in London and I had excellent service. The staff was nice and really friendly. Some even gave me their personal cards to call them if I ever need any help in London. I don't know why people ...

• Ama 9 years ago

It's worse in DC,they collected $200.00from me and then denied a dual citizenship for me and my son.the receptionist is another story.this is not NDC problem the same attitude was there during NPP too

• June 9 years ago

Thank you Ama. Ghanaians are always blaming NDC/NPP for every singkle misfortune they may have encounter.

• Ninii, UK. 9 years ago

My recent experience for Visa with their online/mail service was excellent!

• aba 9 years ago

I was there last year and was treated with urgency when time was runnig out for my children home coming from school. No body asked me for money.

• Larry Howard 9 years ago

Talk about online service ? Please stop talking trash. This is not fit for purpose. It is an over exaggerated piece of nonsense put in place by some greedy bastards who don't have a clue about IT. The end product being hand w ...

• MICHAEL 9 years ago

TO BE QUITE HONEST, THE ENTIRE EMBASSY LOOKS LIKE A HEN COOP. I WENT FOR A SIMPLE ENQUIRY AND THEY BEGUN SPEAKING GA AMONG THEMSELVES IN MY PRESENCE. ASKED ME TO GO TO VICTORIA AS THEY CAN'T HELP AT HIGH GATE. AT VICTORIA THE ...

• Abdul Isaak in Bawku. 9 years ago

Very shameful and disgraceful I must confess. Something must be done to cure this rot.

• Sarpong 9 years ago

Even people who have never entered Kotoka airport in their entire existence are here complaining about treatment at high commission in highgate

• Paa K 9 years ago

You see ooo, when people complain,we shut them down. No wonder Ghana is this way

• Kwame Angel 9 years ago

The corruption starts from the presidency in Ghana - in the courtyard of the Mahamas. Try doing anything in the Flaggstaff House and you'll see the number of senseless hurdles you'll face.

• Great 9 years ago

Corruption everywhere from the top to the bottom. It's very sad to see a country that you belong to going that way. Everybody wants to be rich in just a day.

• Naasei 9 years ago

Corruption is in everywhere, but the magnitude it reigning the mentality of black people and some white people are not call for, so it will be polite to deal with the persons found culprit adamantly. shame never end in black ...

• nii 9 years ago

when are going to drain bribery and corruption from our system

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

This story might be very correct but I do believe that this is not the behaviour of DIPLOMATIC staff. In every embassy or High Commission, there are local staff and they indulge in such practices. I know this from my personal ...

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

By reading this, I can say that the Ghana Missions in Brussels(BELGIUM) and Lome(TOGO) are free of this dirty busines.

• Ben Tiago - Italy 9 years ago

The ITALIAN EMBASSY in Ghana also do this shameful things!!

• Agnes 9 years ago

They are not smart, in their appearance.
    They speak TWI like everyone in Ghana speaks that language
    They behave like they are in the market and not an office.
    They should speak ENGLISH and NOT TWI

• JONA 9 years ago

CORRUPTION, MASTER SLAVE MENTALITY, GREED WILL NOT HELP BLACK PEOPLE TO DEVELOP BECAUSE OF LACK OF SIMPLE KNOWLEDGE OF UNDERSTANDING LEGACY. A COUNTRY WITHOUT AIRLINE, 1950 AIRPORT, AWFUL CITIES FULL OF POOR DRAINS FULL OF MO ...

• shakara 9 years ago

CAN THIS BE PROVED? THIS SHAMEFUL THING MUST BE STOPPED IF ITS TRUE. MAY BE ITS ONE OF THOSE WILD ALLEGATIONS. I VISITED
    THE COMMISION WHE ITS ON CHEAPSIDE ROAD
    LONDON, SEVERAL YEARS AGO AND THERE WAS NOTHING LIKE THAT, SO ...

• Osman Fofanah 9 years ago

This is a shame not only to Ghana but the rest of black Africa. We in the diaspora USA in particular,they use the word Africa a lot most Americans don`t know the difference of Ghana and Sierra Leone,so i get very sade and bit ...

• onetiibe 9 years ago

Ghana has its problems, but mate it still remains far superior to Sierra Leone even now. So please give yourself a rest and be proud Ghana exist

• Adviser 9 years ago

I agree with you entirely.
    I went to Ghana with my children about 5 years ago and we were detained at Accra Airport on our return because they were using two passports. We were told they needed dual citizenship certificate ...

• xhlemiso 9 years ago

3 years ago I went for a visa at the Ghana embassy in DC. I actually left my wallet at the counter of the post at the entrance. To my pleasant surprise after searching everywhere frantically, the gentleman at the post handed ...

• Sikahene 9 years ago

sometimes I wonder that for once we cannot get a leader who will say wrong is wrong. Istrongly believe that one day all thses officials will pay for their corrupt deeds.

• NAO' (VR) 9 years ago

I must recommend the Ghana Embassy in Rome, honestly the entire staff are God fearing people and they are even not interested in any body's money, rather they are very effective and careful about they duties. This should tell ...

• Ekow London 9 years ago

A problem we can solve ourselves without any external publicity. Refuse to give to give, make a scene and report it. It is your right. Demand it.

• Kojo 9 years ago

Hidden cameras will catch them thieves. If you really want something done about those corrupt personnel, I suggest go with candid camera and record their activities on video. Let the whole world see them for what they are.

• Abena, Bristol 9 years ago

I don't live in London but i have sent for my visa through the post so many times and never had any issues. I have also visited the consulate in the past and never have to pay any extra monies. people who dont want to go thro ...

• Straight Talk 9 years ago

The idea of applying/renewing "in persson" is stupid in the first place, and that is what breeds the "alleged" corrruption. Can you imagine British and American citizens physically walking to their embassies to apply for pass ...

• Ray 9 years ago

We'll said bro

• BEN AMEDIKU 9 years ago

BRAVO TO THIS COURAGIOUS MAN.I HAD THE SAME EXPERIENCE AT THE GHANA HIGH COMMISSION IN NEW YORK. MAY THIS ARTICLE TOUCH THE HEART AND MIND OF ALL GHANAIANS TO FLEX THIER MUSCLE AGAINST THOSE WHO TURN OUR EMBASSIES INTO DENS O ...

• Aba 9 years ago

I hope all of you guys, who are writing these things have been to the ghana high commission in london yourself. You said somebody told you, why is it that we Ghanaians always wants to fabricates stories and don't wants to do ...

• tenta121 9 years ago

Why are individuals agreeing to bribe the staff , instead of making official complaints to the embassy and forwarding a copy to the Ministry in Ghana.Corruption will never stop , if we don't stand up against corruption.