You are here: HomeNews2018 08 23Article 679006

General News of Thursday, 23 August 2018


List of 94 NDC MPs who declared their support for Mahama

Former  President John Dramani Mahama Former President John Dramani Mahama

Some 94 members of parliament on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) had declared their support for the former president of the Republic of Ghana in his quest to contest the 2020 presidential election.

The declaration was made about two weeks ago but the list of the supposed MP’s was not released until today, August 23, 2018.

So far, about seven (7) members of the National Democratic Congress expressed their interest in contesting the flagbearership position. The former president John Dramani Mahama also declared his intent today and the said members of parliament were happy about his decision.

The 94 MPs have welcomed the decision and promised to support John Mahama’s campaign with their expertise, knowledge and personal resources.

“As Members of Parliament, we would like to express our profound gratitude to His Excellency, John Dramani Mahama for hearkening to the cries of our Constituents which we presented to him when we met him four (4) months ago” a statement from the MP’s said.

The statement went on to state – “Our Constituents had one simple message – President Mahama should avail himself to the people of Ghana to salvage the sinking ship under Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo. Today He has heeded the clarion call of the people and we are grateful.”

Below is the full list of the 94 NDC MPs

Join our Newsletter