You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082017 02 17Article 510915

I won’t move Ghana’s economy the Guggisberg way - Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (69)

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

The economy of Ghana as of 1966 was not the same as the colonial economy of the Gold Coast that Kwame Nkrumah inherited.
    Progressive development of the Ghana economy started to stall after the backward overthrow of the Kw ...

• MAD COBRA 7 years ago

Very good idea Mr President this will create jobs and bring more investors into the country for a sustainable economic growth and development.

• CHAMPION ATTA 7 years ago

MAD COBRA, HE WON'T AND CANNOT GO FAR, WHY? AND WHY AGAIN? NOT BECAUSE HE IS NANA ADDO OR NPP, NOR THAT I WISH HIS DOWN FALL, TO DO WHAT HE IS SAYING WILL NEED A LONG TERM PLAN TO FOLLOW LONG AFTER 72 YEAR OLD NANA ADDO ENDS ...

• insight to the bone 7 years ago

Nkrumah to weaken and neutralize the corrective positive democratic forces of the Fanti speaking people made sure he divided the natural union into the Western and Central regions.His attempt to establish an autocratic dictat ...

• True Talk 7 years ago

A very good beginning will be to stop the export of cocoa beans. I ton of Cocoa butter is at least six times the price of one ton of cocoa beans. This is not rocket science. Mr President lets go for a complete ban!

• True Talk 7 years ago

When companies like Cadbury are allowed to set up cocoa butter companies in Ghana and export these to themselves in Europe, it defeats the purpose of maximizing our revenues.We must produce the Cocoa butter and sell to them.

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

NANA AKUFFU ADDO'S LEGACY 8YRS: U HAVE TO THINK AHEAD!
    It was not for nothing that Ghana was the first black African country to break free from colonial rule. We are determined to show that we can emulate the successes of ...

• ???(DARKERTHANBLUE) 7 years ago

EASY TO SAY;HOW MANY TRILLIONS IT WILL COST THE GOVERNMENT AND WHERE IS MONEY?

• Atopa 7 years ago

I like what I heard and I am very hopeful that we have at last got a leader who is serious about working for the nation and interested in making excuses.

• Kwadaso 7 years ago

My dear@true talk you couldn't have made it clearer.Processing the beans doesn't only increase shelf life and value to the product but it also create jobs in many fields.Thank you for lending your voice to this very sensible ...

• nana addo akuffo 7 years ago

You staunch pessimistic attitude clearly buttresses your sense of foresightedness. When a new government takes over from people oriented government. Sound policies enacted by the latter does not go down the drain. Ghanaians h ...

EVRYTHING IS POSSIBLE IF YU HAE PPL WITH THE SAME EMINDSET AND MENTALITY ON BOARD. IF NAN ADDO AND NPP CAN BEGIN TO GROOM THE NEXT ST OF NPP LEADERS AND INCULCATE THEIR DOCTRINE IN THEM. I THINK ANY PLANS SET FORTH BY NANA A ...

• FiFi 7 years ago

I totally agreed with all that you said. I may be wrong, but this is I look at Nana all he want is for his name to be on the list of Presidents that have rule Ghana. I don't think is got a vision for Ghana. Same oh same oh ag ...

• ADDO 7 years ago

NANA SLEEPING PREZ. SHOULD WAKE UP. WHERE IS THE REDUCTION IN TAX AND UTILITY BILLS NOW.????/

• $martphones$upportBiz 7 years ago

For expertise, YOU CAN'T finish reading this resource from page A-Z and not become an established standard tech-support guru in Electronics! Service based tech support business remains the easiest, most lucrative venture for ...

• ELINAM 7 years ago

In order to be competitive in things produced by us with our resources, we need to have in place a reliable and cheap energy. The electric boat in Tema that is drinking oil as fast as we feed it has Ghanaian shareholders hold ...

• FiFi 7 years ago

It took China Thirty years plus to be the industrial power that they are today. Ghanaians don't have the patience to wait for even four years.

• kojo @ 7 years ago

Yes I agreed with you but let us learn from the past and move on. Nkrumah never dies YES

• pilolo 7 years ago

this fool is till talking

• Prince Abibirim 7 years ago

Nana with all due respect,come on with the one district one factory and we can do wonders but shut down the talk talk. We no see anything yet,why have you not bought kantanka cars for govt use to demonstrate what you mean?

• Me 7 years ago

The first time I have heard an African leader think and speak like he's gone to school and has been educated

Talking does not equate action. Where have you been? Check out NPP's 2000 Manifesto, "Agenda for Positive Change." After 8 years there was no visible positive change.
    FORWARD EVER!

• BUILD MORE PRISONS 7 years ago

INTERESTING
    DONT FORGET TRUMP IS THE LEADER OF THE FREE WORLD HUGH

• Ablekuma 7 years ago

At last someone has exposed the Guggisberg Era as the period of the beginning of Ghana's current development problems.Ghanaians are used to praising Guggisberg only bercause he was instrumental in establishing Achimota School ...

Revisiting pre-independence political scenarios will not help Ghana in anyway.
    FORWARD EVER!

• ELINAM 7 years ago

Do not use the word "colonial master" but colonial criminals.The colonial governors where posted to oversee the loot. Unless you're blind, dumb and stupid to believe the whole enterprise was a christmas. Africa is a crime sce ...

• ELINAM 7 years ago

The colonial governors were posted to oversee the loot........

• Religious 7 years ago

I have always loved the game of draught! You know what your opponent is out to do and he also knows what your aim is. "The black man is capable of blah blah blah ....." Please let's stop the blame game and prove it period. T ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

You people are forcing me to write today.

Guggisberg only continued what all the other colonial gov't were assigned to do, export to make Britain better, but he was very instrumental in changing Ghanaian perceptions about ...

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 years ago

That's in your own fantasy world of spin, by summing your argument that the UP/NPP have done more harm to Ghana more than any leader has in time suggests that you've quickly backtracked on your earlier statement that we are o ...

• Kofi. 7 years ago

Honest what the President said is a fact why do we have to export our raw materials to Europe and Britain at a cheaper price and the process it and sell it back to us at a price higher than that of our raw materials?This is w ...

• Lopez. 7 years ago

This the kind of leaders we need in Africa. At least we have a leader who is proud to be African and would lead his country to prosperity and not to steal our money and deposit it in foreign banks, whilst our country continue ...

• Kofi Illinois USA 7 years ago

Thank God you said good speech. We have learn about this kind of things in SSSS economics. Taking action is what we need. Until l I see Nana actually building factories or strengthen the private sector to add value to row mat ...

• oppong michael acanchawah 7 years ago

i support you bro, you are totally on the way that is good leader although but he has to comprehensively reduce social vices in Ghana by establishely jobs for the youth to do.

• Mr Eagle 7 years ago

Nana is a big liar, Ghana economy plunged into chaos right from the day of 1966 coup.That was the downfall of Ghana.
    Secondly, the 2nd constitution brought everything in to its knees through his family. Stop blaming Gugisbur ...

• Kwadwo Gyamfi 7 years ago

1 District 1 Factory + Regular Sources of Energy + New Agricultural Products, Value Added + Transformed Education System + Digital Economy = Recipe For New Ghana

• Obroni 7 years ago

Dear President, Sir Gordon Guggisberg has done more for Ghana than you and some other Presidents of Ghana have ever done. He lay the foundation of the school you attended, rail road and even some projects who became the pride ...

• Kofi. 7 years ago

You are a liar how much of our resources he helped Britain loot from our country.Who was setting the gold and cocoa prices for Ghana?

• oppong michael acanchawah 7 years ago

My friend we no guggisberg has done a lot for Ghana but Nana addo dankwah will do more than what guggisberg did , and be pround of your leader please and are you national Democratic Congress member I really no you may be ,th ...

GUGGISBERG ONLY INVESTED IN PROJECTS THAT WILL AID THE EASY TRANSPORT N FACILITATION OF GOODS N PPL TO HIS COUNTRY. LOOK AT BRITAIN N COMPARE IT TO GH N TELL ME THE DIFFERENCE, KWASIA...THE GUY WAS RAPING GH N U SAY HE WAS MA ...

• Obroni 7 years ago

Achimota school medical university and korle-bu doesn't look much like means of transport for the UK.
    The man was stopped several times for this and many more good he wanted to do for Ghana.

• Obroni 7 years ago

I could easily state that Guggisberg has done more than President Akufo-Addo, not because he is not a good president nor because his idea's are not good, but time will tell, he is just a President of 5 weeks.
    I love and resp ...

• Uncle Uncle 7 years ago

Big talk with little action. Then the stomach direction lecturers will appear on the seen later to solicit the sympathy of the populace with the usual 'the economy is weak' syndrome.

• gracy 7 years ago

So some Ghanaians still think the were doing us good when they were totally controlling our economy. they never planned well for us. anything they did was to help them have upper hand on us. We've now got a leader who is sen ...

• gracy 7 years ago

the white *

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

Good one there,Mr.President!

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    *1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• koby 7 years ago

we are in Ghana...

• Obroni 7 years ago

Ask the chiefs who awarded him by paying for his gravestone. Compare Guggisberg to the time he lived in he was a great man in the history of Ghana

• Kofi. 7 years ago

Only to you

• My Opinion 7 years ago

At least here's a man with some vision, direction, commitment and wisdom, who's trying to lead his African people to the mountain top. At 72, and hopefully with 8yr term and God willing he'll be able to build the foundatio ...

• Sala 7 years ago

My friend, if I were him, I won't make any further promises, after all election time is over.

Instead, I would implement everything I have in mind for the people see.

• Chris Kay 7 years ago

This is the same old story, but narrated by a different Head of State. Let us see what this Excellency would achieve during his tenure – so the life goes on and on for the poor folks of good old Ghana. As long as tribalism ...

• paul Kwao 7 years ago

If the economy has sustained growth over the last two decades, why is NPP saying the NDC government of Mahama left a tattered economy?

If all our leaders could be proud as Africans & hv the kind of mentality of Nana & be proud as Africans, Africa wld hv moved far. Some kind of hope & patriotism always shroud speech. God helps ur administration!

• Eric Moore 7 years ago

God bless u Mr. President. We believe you can deliver. Remain focused as ever

• No nonsense 7 years ago

Another speech.

• Alhaj Daoud Ben-Hadad 7 years ago

Mr.president your vision for Ghana and Africa will be attainable only if you Will choose honest religious men and women from both Islam and Christianity who are well vested with the principles of religion. I personally believ ...

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 7 years ago

You always make me proud as a Ghanaian because you talk with no fear or favour to these Bretton Woods institutions and their respective countries.We,on the south side of the world have been treated with disrespect for so long ...

• Sala 7 years ago

Bretuoba,

If you are expecting any drastic changes in Ghana, you may have to see them in your next incarnation because NOTHING will change.

Do you think NPP is going to use KIAs instead of V8?

Free imports kill local industries.

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Read again and read wider....
    What? I am a bit confused!
    This is what Guggisberg's Model was about... (Source-- Wikkipedia)
    """"The aim of Guggisberg's policy was the development of the country by and for the natives rathe ...

• Kkd 7 years ago

President Akufo is being economical with the truth. The ever first industrialization of the ghanaian economy in a remarkable way was done by Osagyefo. No one can take that from him. The first attempt to add value to our raw m ...

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

What? I am a bit confused!
    This is what Guggisberg's Model was about... (Source-- Wikkipedia)
    """"The aim of Guggisberg's policy was the development of the country by and for the natives rather than for the benefit of Europ ...

• kojo @ 7 years ago

Let us all play our part to move this beautiful Ghana forward.

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Action, they say, is louder than words. And seeing is believing.

• BOTARSKY 7 years ago

Like seriously, "with a
    clear bias towards supporting our
    small and medium scale enterprises"? Is it his Excellency who said this or the author of this article?

• Yao 7 years ago

Ask yourself what did all those who followed after Kwame Nkrumah did? We always blame people out of malice and hatred. Granted Nkrumah was not overthrown, his time might have past and gone. What we can do to develop Ghana was ...

• princess adofo 7 years ago

this dwarf should stop talking and work we r waiting for your numerous promises