You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082015 03 11Article 349904

Akufo-Addo to Politicians: Refrain from religious rights debate

Read Comments Comments (132)

• Dean 9 years ago

Ghana is going down under him

• Edmund 9 years ago

If your lazi Father is Mahama you will not say he is useless blame your useless Father

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Mahmoud...
    The president has been saying that he tried to introduce electronic payment and acquisition systems into the public sector {to reduce human contact with cash} in his effort to fighting corruption, but lam ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: CLOSE OBSERVER---------
    WHAT DON'T YOU UNDERSTAND ABOUT ''THEIR OWN PEOPLE''? IS KEN THE FIRST PERSON TO USE THIS PHRASE? DIDN'T YOU HEAR YAMIN SAY TO THE PEOPLE OF GHANA THAT THEY ARE SENDING NDC SUPPORTERS TO BRAZI ...

• TAMALE 9 years ago

NANA, PLEDGE NOT TO URINATE ON MOSQUE AGAIN, AND THAT WOULD LEAD TO RECONCILIATION BETWEEN THE FAITHS

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

It seems Nana has really lost it this time and is living in an illusion , i guess its because he too has fallen for the stupidity of surrounding himself with pepeni wannabe criminal idiots . We did not ask for this war but we ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

WE HAVE LIVED TOGETHER PEACEFULLY UNTIL THE USELESS NDC PARTY WAS FORMED. A PARTY OF POOR LOOKING FOR RICHES OVERNIGHT.

''We have been vice presidents for far too long, it is time you make ONE OF YOUR OWN President.'' - Jo ...

• www.owafk-africa.com 9 years ago

14,000 free scholarships for africans

About 2000 PHD and Master scholarships

Over 1000 free short course scholarships

• kabokabo 9 years ago

Well said Nana. I hope they will listem.

• Another Thief of Bagdad 9 years ago

We were told a story in school about a lion that played tricks on its fellow animals in the BUSH. He announced that he was sick but any animal that sympathised and visited it ended up in the 'sick' lion's stomach. Akufo Addo ...

• Maaka maaka 9 years ago

Nana what has taken you that long to openly comment. But what about Osarfo Maafo and Ken Agyepong tribalistic comments. Please come out on these two else you'll look like an hypocrite to me

• DB 9 years ago

A wise man takes his time and thinks through issues before responding to them. The fool rushes to respond and in the process makes the situation worse. Think about it.

Finally, not every issue should be responded to. Have ...

• JOEATUA, ODUMASE 9 years ago

ARE YOU AN ILLITERATE? TELL THE WORLD WHEN FIFI SAID THAT.REPEAT THAT AND I WILL MEET YOU IN COURT.IF YOU ARE A MAN. AKUFFO ADDO SHOULD BE COMMENTING ON ASARFO MAAFO. HE IS A COWARD. WILL NEVER LEAD THIS GREAT NATION.

• sakum 9 years ago

why only osafo maafo and ken? what about what the youth in Ga did to kufour? what about what mahama said in the north that He comes from the north so they should vote for him

• seidu 9 years ago

Do hear a wise Man speaking? This. how a father should talk, but Mahama is rubbish. I am solder than Mahama and thé way He responed ti matter is stupid

• Face 9 years ago

Seidu, a father who sits and says nothing about what is going on will end up destroying his family. Prez Mahama is the father of the nation whereas Nana Addo is an ordinary citizen. Be wise!!!

• Sam 9 years ago

Refrain from the religious debate but encourage tribal bigotry. Coward and ethnocentric man.

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

Good one there to dat toothless, certificateless, short evil war monger called akuffo bin addo. He can never be president! Tweaaaa

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

As you see, all well meaning ghanaians are exposing the Hipocricy of Mahama. He is rocking a non existing problem to his stupid advantage. Why would you follow such a nation wrecker?

• Aikins 9 years ago

I will prefer to be fatherless than to have armed robber useless mahama as father."dinpa ye sen ahonya"

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Nana Binaddo must shut up and go away! !! Who want to listen to this dead Horse? Stop lying to the good people of GHANA, since when did you Nana Akanfuo Binaddo believed in Ghana? How can anyone believes in his country and ha ...

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS!!!!!! 9 years ago

FOOLISH DOG !!! SHUT UP!!!! STOP EATING MAHAMA'S FAECES!!! KWASIA MAN!!!!

• Close Observer 9 years ago

IT IS CLEAR THAT THIEVES LIKE BBC NEW!!!!! AND WAYOME ARE THRIVING UNDER THE CLUELESS MAHAMA. CONDITIONS ARE VERY FAVOURABLE FOR THEM.

VOTE MAHAMA AND HIS USELESS NDC PARTY OUT IN 2016. 26 Years of USELESS RULE is enough. ...

• Mmere aso 9 years ago

Go and farm on your dry land and produce cocoa to finance Ghana,a cursed bbc person

• Michael Blaak 9 years ago

Foolish fool. What did you say about Osafo Maafo;s ethnocentric statements?

• Israel Jude 9 years ago

Blaak, that's a wise and statesman who doesn't talk rash like your idiot tribalistic JDM prez. Mind you that when Nana speaks on issues like this he has muslims, christians and NPP listening to him. When JDM speaks he he hurt ...

• Emmanuel Yalley aka Ability 9 years ago

Christians and Muslims must co-exist and must not allow selfish politicians who are inept and incompetent to divide their ranks all because of votes.

• Douglas. Bristol-UK 9 years ago

the narcotics peoples party(npp) together with the monkeys called Akans are useless animals

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

Muslims are minority in Ghana but majority in prisons across Ghana. Why is it the case? These are the issues a religion like Islam must find solutions to but not to use short cuts to the top.

• Rash 9 years ago

Usman,try and reason well before making your comments.What is the basis of your assertion that Muslims are a majority in prisons?Maybe u are using the names.But having a Muslim name doesn't make u a Muslim.Why are u called Us ...

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

Stop disowning your fellow Muslims in Prison. I know you will soon disown Kayayes who are working under the most dehumanizing conditions too .

• Concerned Northerner 9 years ago

I will soon decode you! Keep hiding and causing religious havoc!

• Danlad Lado 9 years ago

I can bet my life You are not call USMAN. So hear this, that is why we never give You ppl our votes. Å dont like us, U pretend to and we know that. Think! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

Instead of you straining your spleen on USMAN, Usman, Osman, Uthman, Othoman, Osumanu, Sumani,etc, you should rather concentrate on the message and change your ways. Learn well from the Christians.

• Very soon 9 years ago

If Akans are useless what about Ewes. They are murderers,selfish,greedy national sa boteurs. They killed Atta Mills not for Mahama but to use this absence to steal- The FIAFETORS.

• joe 9 years ago

You have no sense.

• kwame owusu 9 years ago

Shame , desgrace to ur party . Pls is only non akan who votes to ndc ?

• Hardcore 9 years ago

tell your fascists NPP and the presby moderator who is growing fat from poor church members sweat to stop tagging Mahama with this religious intolerance nonsense. a loosing man always crying foul.

• Kwaku 9 years ago

SEE AMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

Who stopped Muslims from building their own schools. If they are true Muslims they should sacrifice to build good schools with their Mecca money so that government will fund them. The fact is that Muslims erroneously see the ...

• babs 9 years ago

ooooh, what an ignorant soul that you are, we are talking about government schools and not private schools. If the tax payers money is been use to fund a school it does not matter if it was built by a Christian or a Muslim i ...

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

Nothing will entice me to accept a lucrative job in any Islamic country because I can't stand the maltreatment of women as is prevalent in Islamic Countries. So if you are a true Muslim you must learn to sacrifice Please if y ...

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

NONSENSE.

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

The religious scholar. Now u can get a PhD n finally get the ultimate degree RIP

• LAST DON 9 years ago

Why not commenting on the Tribal Bigotry statements by Osafo Marfo?

Opanyin Bon annhye woase ye koraa !!!

Monkey like that !!!

• pastor 9 years ago

your life is under curse let me tell you.

• Nzema K 9 years ago

Akkuffo Addo want to be smart here ehh,
    See his murderous eyes in goggles.

Pres Mahama's caution to head of Govt assisted schools did not come from his own mouth. It is the constitution that says so. Period.

• kwame one 9 years ago

Nana paaaa is this the way forward apuuuuto pls came again

• Ayivor 9 years ago

Hate pig

• Gudluck 9 years ago

why shld politicians disinclined themselves in solving religious issues after they wer the very people who made those laws..Nonsence from Akufu Addo.

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

“And the holy prophet said: Allah created Adam. Then He stroke his right shoulder and took out a white race as if they were seeds, and He stroke his left shoulder and took out a black race as if they were coals. Then He sa ...

• Atudro 9 years ago

hahahaha.Islam is really something oo.

• Wahab 9 years ago

You are using a different Koran. My Holy Koran do not says that. You are lies like your friends Christians and their Bible. Their women doesn't cover their heads because they foolish. No heavens for them. They can't gets some ...

• loco 9 years ago

Watch your stinking ass mouth bushman.why would you hide behind a Muslim name to even speak of what you don't know.how much have you been payed to do that.you coward,filthy pig.go join boko haram because they hate Muslims lik ...

Please Gudluck, come clear on this, article/section what in the constitution? You have constitutional knowledge and not helping JDM-ABA NDC handle EC SC cases and to salvage MMDCEs vacuum by Friday! You heard about the consti ...

• CLUELESS NANA ADDO.. 9 years ago

Nana and Npp have done their best to sow divisiveness in Ghana. All die be die, yen akanfuo, Osafo Marfo tapes etc. Now you lecture us about religion? You want an ungovernable Ghana

• ZAC 9 years ago

Mahama Will even bring problems of Moslems against Christians and bring death instead of peace to Ghana just to stay in power but God/Allah will never allowed it.

• DoubtingT 9 years ago

Anything concerning our constitution can be dealt with by the president as he swore to defend the contitution. Bele!!!

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

Muslim scholars always deceive people that the reason why Muslims don’t eat pork is that hey want to show some sort reverence to pigs. This is because the animal saved the prophet of Islam and his troops from dying from t ...

• Rash 9 years ago

Usman,I don't think u research well before making your comments.If not that Christianity has been thrown to the dogs,how can a mere peter say that he was told in a dream that christians can eat anything that the old testament ...

• Mary 9 years ago

• Citizen 9 years ago

you lie so much. The Qur'an forbid pigs long before the prophet died.

“Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah.” Al-Qur'an ...

• Yunus 9 years ago

Muslims don't eat pork cos it's as dirty n stinky as you.

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

..Mahama(a Gonja) is following the prescriptions of OIC.You remember a Muslim MP from Gonjaland declared that adulterous women should be stoned to death. Again Boko Haram in Akyem terrorized Muslim women for buying food from ...

• Rimz 9 years ago

If you dnt know you read this...
    Leviticus 20:10 - And the man that committeth adultery
    with [another] man's wife, [even he] that committeth
    adultery with his neighbour's wife, the adulterer and the
    adulteress shall surel ...

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

The MP wants Ghanaian women and not Jewish women to be stoned to death. The elaborate bible verses you are struggling to quote is meant for Jewish women but not applied to Ghanaian women. Please get real and stop shifting the ...

• Rash 9 years ago

Usman,u see the hypocrisy of the Christians.Is the Jewish bible different from today's bible?That the laws apply to only the Jews.Read your bible well and stop being ignorant.Thank God the Qur'an is revealed for the whole of ...

• Rimz 9 years ago

The whole Jesus dat u call de second God is meant particularly for de Jews and not for de whole world, for Jesus said he was sent to de Jews. This render the whole Bible application useless outside Jewish jurisdiction in gene ...

Murderous JDM is worse off than Nana. JDM shouldn't have murdered Mills. He should have been kind and wise as David to Saul, but he is not. Now Mills blood avenges him!

Nana Akanfuo Binaddo think he is smarter than everybody in Ghana. Why he was silent for long on this issue , and now that he came out to spew garbage? He waited to gathered idea of how other people are contributing on the m ...

• Jay London 9 years ago

Don't make it sound that Ewes and Gas are one. Ewes only entered Ghana after independence.

• Charles 9 years ago

Is he trying to turn a new leaf? This is the guy who when he was in government did not accept that fact that,Northerners who are mostly muslims deserve a share of the national cake.This is the guy wgho kicked against every de ...

• Atudro 9 years ago

Get away you fucking idiot. Giving a dog a bad name to whip it, huh? Fool.

• GOOD CITIZEN 9 years ago

WHAT ABOUT RAWLINGS,WHO FROM HIS OWN MOUTH DECLARED THAT HE IS NO MORE GOING TO USE DRUGS AGAIN?.HYPOCRITES AND LIARS STOP THE NONSENSE.HAVE YOU SEEN AKUFO ADDO SMOKING HEMP BEFORE?.EVEN A DRUG USER LIKE RAWLINGS WAS ABLE TO ...

• David Asante 9 years ago

I think u don't know what u're talking abt! It's an insult to Dr.Bawumia nd others ok.

• Naem 9 years ago

Difference between a wise man and one surrounded by stupid presidential staffers. if u have the likes of sam George as ur staffer then this is what will happen

• ATOOOO 9 years ago

Refrain from religious debate but engage in tribal bigotry right? When it suits him he comes and spews rubbish

• kota 9 years ago

Nana is silent on tribal tape because of ken Agyepong's attack

• olu 9 years ago

Nana president was speaking as the father of the nation and not the political party leader. If your wayward daughters are forced to veil themselves and enter the mosque to pray 5 times a day in a Muslem school funded by state ...

• muhammed 9 years ago

where was nana when osafo maafo and ayl otoo were insulting moslems

• Abu Samson USA 9 years ago

The president and politicians don`t interpret the Law of the Land. The judicially system must take over any interpretation if Christians and Muslims fail to compromised. The politicians (parliament) can amend the constitution ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Every Ghanaian is only a Ghanaian in name and identity and should never be referred to as a Moslem or Christian in the country as these are only personal faiths and always secondary to our Ghanaian identity!
    Therefore, one s ...

• attu zongo 9 years ago

This is wise speech and same speech was delivered by Rev Martey, yes mahama lacks this wise thoughts and therefore ordered that heads of institutipn shd suffer for it. You see Atiguba made govt lacks wise thinkings, mahama an ...

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

Not only should the Politicians refrain from Religious Rights debate, but also from ethnic and tribal superiority debate. Both are equally insidious, primitive, pre-genocidal excuses that any Politician indulging in must be d ...

• Slick 9 years ago

Very soon, no religion will be allowed to practice. They will all be classified as the cause of problems in various countries. Different faiths.... trust me.

• Lankle 9 years ago

Well said Nana, these are signs of maturity.

• Koku 9 years ago

Heeiii!!!! Opportunist he'll even be happy to do business with Boko Hram to be President in Ghana and Nigeria.Talk about ideas to sort out the dumsor you're publicising so much. Is it because it's part of anti government sabo ...

• iddrisu alhassan 9 years ago

It's clear Nana Addo better than Mahama

• Peacemaker 9 years ago

He succeded in making the country ungovernable by setting fire everywhere. I pray to god to fire into his own house to feel the pain too.

• kwesi Yeboah koforidua 9 years ago

Have u forgotten yen akan comment? Don't be a lion in sheep cloth. Who doesn't no u Nanaddo? Is because u want to be president by all means now u re preaching religious tolerance. Go away u fool. Nonsense .......

• ???? 9 years ago

4 de first tym dis man talk sense,he's advising stomach policians like DEAN yet........

This shows clearly that, Nana Akanfuo Binaddo won't even touch the Constitution of Ghana should in Case , GOD for bid he be comes the leader of this great country. Can someone tell Nana Binaddo that President Mahama just int ...

• Mars1 9 years ago

GOOD ADVICE, and I do hope the others are listening.

• Mensah Samuel 9 years ago

Mahama is killing 'Ghanaian we r tired of him

• Abongo 9 years ago

And you still alive idiot

• Mensah Samuel 9 years ago

Mahama and his people r destroying Ghana

• Tony 9 years ago

Look at his evil head!since when Npp and nana Addo start visiting Moslem leaders?Go away you evil dwarf!you think we don't know that you are pretending before the elders of Moslems leaders?president mahama made his comments a ...

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

God bless Nana Addo for his wise counsel......we pray that he continues to be blessed with the wisdom of Solomon

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Kwasia animal

• Abongo 9 years ago

Akufo-Addo, do you have anything good left in you? Oh it is a pity you struggling to become President and mind you you going to have heart attack come 2016

• VOICE OF REASON 9 years ago

And we know your presidency will usher in abundant joy,unequalled prosperity and unparalled development......a far cry from the wailing and gnashing of teeth that dumb Mahama has visited on us

• Kakaminamor 9 years ago

This is pure politics. A good father is the one who admonish his children when there is a misunderstanding and not wait until there is a crises before speaking up. Where was this learned idiot when his tribes man was spewing ...

• NANA C 9 years ago

AKUFO ADDO USELESS AKI AND POPO WITH THAT OVERSIZE TONGUE IN HIS MOUTH, HE SHOULD GO AND SEEK ROYAL POSITION IN KYEBI AND AKWAPIM AKROPONG KINGDOM AND NOT GHANA PRESIDENT SEAT. PRESIDENT NANA AKUFO ADDO DOESN'T SOUND GOOD

• HONESTY 9 years ago

Let's be honest, Muslims have always been treated with second class respect in Ghana. Now they seem to have found a voice and are fighting back.
    However, there's something in me that does not trust the muslim to do the righ ...

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

WHY ARE YOU BEING BIASED, MAKA A MAKA? HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN WHAT MAHAMA SAID SOMEWHERE IN THE NORTH, AND WHAT ATTAH-MILLS ALSO SAID BEFORE HE PASSED AWAY? WHAT IS YOUR COMMENT ON THOSE TRIBAL BIGOTRY?

• OBENG 9 years ago

Nana, you are a wise leader and I am proud to be a Ghanaian because of your wise counsel. I hope the politicians will take your advise seriously and stop meddling in religious issues. Ghanaians thank u for u are a man of peac ...

• rock 9 years ago

your mother is a usless one

• Edward Ussher Dorman 9 years ago

We thank you for your kind words Sheikh, This shows that you are a true man of ok. we shouldn't allow the reedy politicians to destroy the beautiful relations between us. God bless you Sheikh,

• Dr Richard Kojo 9 years ago

Lets stop insulting

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

Muslims should always sow good seeds to bear good fruit. If they invest in Mecca they will only reap titles like Alhaji and Hajia and they would not have enough money to build good quality schools for their children and the e ...

• Rash 9 years ago

Usman,I recommend that you grab a copy of the translated Quran and read to appreciate the beauty of Islam.Islam is an organised and structured religion.God said in the Qur'an that He had perfected His religion and He will mak ...

• Citizen 9 years ago

Very soon a DNA test will be conducted on the tomb of Jesus at kashmir. To the people of Kashmir there is nothing like resurrection and ascension to heaven. They have already shown overwhelming evidence that Jesus escaped dea ...

• PROPHET GYE BE DI 9 years ago

Nana Addo must be out of his freaking mind. What does he think we elect politicians and leaders to do? To say that politicians, who are required by their leadership role to make public policy should stay out of an important d ...

• PROPHET GYE BE DI 9 years ago

Again, aren't the educational institutions involved in these issues under the control of the Ministry of Education? Shouldn't there by specific statutory provisions enacted to regulate religious issues in schools? Why would ...

• F B 9 years ago

Nana well done , most of this so called politician talking about Riligiou freedom don't no nothing about Religion. Hypocrite trying to Sow division among Ghanaians and to shift the agenda from Dumsor.

• KAY CEE 9 years ago

Look who is talking a pig in human flesh. I thought ur ashawo mother has advised u. A nincompup like u, NANA atete koraa no oye sen wo papa se wo nim wo papa mpo dia

• yaw 9 years ago

Nana, you are a very wiseman

• same grbage 9 years ago

will never be president

• OMAN BAPA 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEF,MAFIA,TRIBER IDIOTS MAN,JUST TO CREAT A WAR IN GHANA PERIOD

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

KWASEA MAHAMA CREAT WAR FOR GHANIANS FOR HIM TO MOVE TO DUBAI AND ENJOYED THERE WITH HIS USELESS FAMILY FOOOLISH MAN

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

TYPICAL AKUFFO ADDO ADVICE. HE FEARS LOSING VOTE BY COMMENTING ONE WAY OR THE OTHER. POLITICIANS MAKE EDUCATIONAL POLICY FOR THE WHOLE COUNTRY. FOR FAR TOO LONG THE SCALE HAS BEEN TILTED IN FAVOUR OF CHRISTIANS BY BEING INVIT ...

• BRO DAN -TRC 9 years ago

HUMANITY- THEN SOMEONE MUST TELL -'AKUFO ADDO' THAT 'AKOFU ADDO' -CANNOT'- AID HIS EQUALLY CRIMINAL COUNTERPART-'HILARY CLINTON'- TO TRY TO -'MURDER'- ME ON THE JOB AS THEY TRIED TO DO ON-'JUNE 20TH 2014'- WITH THE -'NETWORK ...

• kwame owusu 9 years ago

Pls never never insult . We will reap whatever we sow.

• Oheneba 9 years ago

if students put on veil, it not going to affect teching and learning in anyway. same of the workers put on veil it wont reduce productivity.
    Mary the mother of Jesus putted on veil, roman sisters at everywhere put on veil s ...

• Citizen 9 years ago

It is pure hypocrisy and infringement of constitutional right. The bible support wearing of veils.

1 Corinthians 11:6
    "for if the woman be not covered , let her also be shorn : but if it be a shame for a woman to be shorn ...

• joe 9 years ago

Says the tribal bigot like you.get the fuck off akoffo addo