You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082014 09 17Article 326295

I will resign if I fail to address sanitation - Minister

Read Comments Comments (38)

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho) 9 years ago

We are waiting to see so stop bragging because nothing good is seen in Mahama led government

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Let me remind all the NPP members the argument Nana Akufo-Addo made at the party’s Congress in Sunyani in 1998 in his opposition to giving candidate John Agyekum Kufuor the second chance after losing to Rawlings in 1996. He ...

• Obodae 9 years ago

You this guy you haven't yet said even one wise thing. And so what? We go forward and not backward. Do you understand backward never. Do you understand NEVER!!!!!

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

A GOOD STAND from the begining! Go ahead! You have my support. Ghanaians are too INDISCIPLINED,throwing waste about anywhere ,Urinating anywhere and shitting at the Beaches!! I HOPE the Chiefs will BACK THIS ENDEAVOUR !!

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

You cannot require all Ghanaians to take part in cleaning on such saturdays so long as as the districts assemblies to tax the people. What are the MPs common fund for.
    Also, some people go to church on Saturdays. Are you goi ...

• Biko 9 years ago

This is stupidity

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

good luck

• Tibaa 9 years ago

If that is the case, then we need a template to assess the Minister's position. That is, he needs to set the objectives of his sanitation exercise, then he needs to state expected outcomes, then, outline criteria for the dete ...

• Ekua 9 years ago

Stop disrecting poor Ghanaians and pay labourers to clean the streets, ndc dictators at work

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

INSTEAD OF THESE MEANINGLESS HEADLINE GRABBING STATEMENTS, CONCENTRATE ON EDUCATING THE PUBLIC ON HOW TO DISPOSE OF RUBBISH; PROVIDE STREET BINS AND PERHAPS, INITIATE FINES FOR THOSE WHO DROP LITTER, ETC.

SOON THIS WILL AL ...

• Kodwo 9 years ago

Like the President's promise to constantly assess his Ministers, this promise will soon be forgotten.

• Concerned 9 years ago

They don't understand how to relate the solutions to the problem. They come up with wakye seller's strategies and do not coordinate their efforts. They need the involvement of the police, health ministry, finance, education ...

• avinalaugh 9 years ago

Have respect for the waakye seller, some are more intelligent than some of these politicians. I agree with you don't get me wrong, I just don't like bigotry because u r privileged enough to have some level of education theref ...

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

THEY PROMISED 100 OF CLEARING ALL RUBBISH AND IT IS SIX YEARS NOW. THESE JOKERS ARE JUST MOUTH, MOUTH, LOT OF TALK, NO ACHIEVEMENTS!!!!!!!!!!! IN A YEAR WE SHALL SEE THE SAME SITUATION PERSISTS. HAS HE NOT BEEN A MEMBER OF ND ...

• Maame Abena 9 years ago

What does this NDC goons take us for?
    You collect taxes but you want us to also clean the garbage?
    Stop corruption and you will have money to pay waste management.

• Joshua 9 years ago

Talk is cheap indeed. From your village you go to bole.

• Alex Boatang 9 years ago

Do not influence the chiefs and pastors .no free labour. they are hungry

• de 9 years ago

Mr. Minister take care not to eat your words later on. We have heard such statements times without number.

• Ndebugre 9 years ago

Well said. Your type are the sort of Ministers Ghana needs.

By setting yourself a target, there is every likelihood that it can be achieved.

Thank you.

What target are you referring to? Is is measurable? How do we know whether it is achieved or not? I think it is a praise too soon.

• Kojo Ghana 9 years ago

At least you try your best. that is all I ask for.

• S B S 9 years ago

I WISHED EVERY MINISTER COULD BE BOLD TO THROW SUCH A CHALLENGE.

• BRAINS 9 years ago

BY WHAT MEASURING ROD? WHO IS TO ASSESS? STARTING FROM FROM WHERE AND WHEN TO WHERE AND WHEN?

I'M TAKING YOU TO MY HOUSE TO SHOW YOU MY MOTHER AND MY MOTHER IS NOT A WOMAN, SLAP ME TWICE ON THE FACE.

• YAW USA 9 years ago

NONSENSE TALK

• Hajj U.B 9 years ago

I think the local government minister is looking for protection of his position, he knows. JDM is aman you can predict when it comes to reshuaful.

• Kofi Ahenkan 9 years ago

Let us ban the use of plastic bags and go back to the old days we used paper bags which is degradable

• ANTI 9 years ago

START TO PUBLISH THE NAMES OF CLEAN DISTRICTS AND THE NAMES OFFICIALS WHO MADE IT POSSIBLE, ALONG WITH THE NAMES OF DIRTY DISTRICTS AND NAMES OF THEIR OFFICIALS. AGGRESIVELY ENFORCE THROUGH FINES ON PEOPLE WHO VIOLATE SANITAR ...

• liv 9 years ago

I thought about that too. Good

This will not stand up in court. If there is a shortage of hands to clean the country, employ the many unemployed people. You cannot force any one to partake in your so-called sanitation day. The days of the bogus revolution ...

• Blagodzi 9 years ago

Paaa Paaa.

• jim 9 years ago

This is nonsense. You will come back in a year's time to claim success like Mahama.

• KOGYAM 9 years ago

ABOGYESE OKO(AMA) SAID THE SAME THING YET HE IS STILL STUCK TO HIS POSITION AFTER 6YEARS OF FAILING TO INSIST THAT EVRY HOUSE IN ACCRA HAS A TOILET AND THAT THERE WILL BE NO MORE PAN LATRINE AFTER 1 YEARS IN OFFICE. WHAT DO W ...

• liv 9 years ago

Transport prisoners to the city every week to clean up, and for them not to run away let the Army guard them. Not until we get rid of squatters or wall them in, Accra will never be clean

• jaga 9 years ago

God bless Shalamar....

• Akwasi 9 years ago

So they can't even employ common people to take care of sanitation of the country. I guess the white man need to come and do it for them. African leaders are useless.

• Osibisa 9 years ago

I call all other ministers to the challenge.
    Keep up the good work, Julius.

• KOFI 9 years ago

IT IS BETTER AS A COUNTRY TO ENGAGE THE MTTU OF GHANA POLICE SERVICE FOR THIS EXERCISE. OVER THE YEARS THEY WAKE UP EARLY IN THE MORNING TO STAND ON THE ROAD SIDE ALL OVER THE COUNTRY AND EXTORT MONIES FROM DRIVERS AND THE E ...

• asonaba kofi 9 years ago

if that happens i think it would be a headline news because that will be the first time a ghanaian minister would have resigned on a matter of principle!