You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082014 08 08Article 320269

Akufo-Addo's position on IMF bailout

Read Comments Comments (47)

• IMORO 9 years ago

the wisemas has spoken let the popo head corrupt NDC Government come and say what?

• Kojo T 9 years ago

. Protect and create jobs, because we need to tackle the widespread unemployment, affecting primarily the youth that is bedevilling this nation.

2. Reduce the high cost of living that is affecting everybody.

3. Reduce t ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Whatever Nana said makes no sense because he is just an "ordinary Ghanaian" but what about the one in the driver's seat? He is clueless hence, the IMF bail out. Corruption and mismanagement had wreck havoc on our fragile eco ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

IMF WILL DICTATE HOW WE RUN THE ECONOMY. THERE COULD BE MASSIVE REDUNDANCIES AND FREEZE ON EMPLOYMENT. GHANAIANS MIGHT SUFFER AS A RESULT OF STRUCTURAL ADJUSTMENT. MAHAMA AND HIS INCOMPETENT NDC WILL FACE MASSIVE REVOLT AND W ...

• They Say They Say 9 years ago

Every country at one point or the other goes for some kind of bailout. Money business is always an unstable business so let's not make a big deal out of this. Some countries don't even qualify for IMF bailout. I just hate hyp ...

• Omanhene 9 years ago

KOJO T IS A FOOOOOL

• PEE 9 years ago

IMF BAIL OUT PUT GHANA INTO SLAVERY. GHANA IS GOING TO BE A SLAVE TO IMF. THIS IS NDC BETTER GHANA AGENDA..... OH MOTHER GHANA. Huuuuummmmmm.

• Sam Ad 9 years ago

nana should shut up and go and produce the evidence that he went to law school and stop pretending everything is cool.

• Jona Akiti 9 years ago

Ghana did not need HIPICC at all.... The country was peaceful, safe, stable and the whole world was ready to help. HIPIC was design to enrich the few in NPP and it did just that! so NPP criminals give us a break! Now you need ...

• ns3mfoo 9 years ago

Ur mad so called Ewe judge, that stupid fool dragged Nana to court and failed lost totally. think twice, nana is the only solution to ur clueless Mahama government

You are not making any sense at all. I hope you understand what slavery is.

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

The borrower is a slave to the lender.

IMF WILL DICTATE THE PACE OF OUR DEVELOPMENT AND HOW THE TOTAL COUNTRY IS RUN.
    It is the last resort we can bank on,anyway,but the impact on our growth is very staggering.
    Some sugg ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Nana was sacked from Oxford for wee smoking and poor performance (I'm sure you will like to know that Nana was only two years behind Mugabe). Then his father got him a place in Legon but he came out with a third class degree ...

• KAFU KAFU 9 years ago

CAN ANY GHANAIAN TELL ME HOW MUCH OIL
    THEY DRILL FROM TAKORADI EVERY DAY??????????? IF YOU CAN, CALL ME FOR A GIFT 0243 576772

• Omanhene 9 years ago

KOJO YOU ARE IDIOT.

• moyo 9 years ago

Nana Addo is far from diagnosing the economy because he hasn't told us what went wrong with the status quo and support his argument with figures. NPP hates facts and figures and they Shakespearean english is the answer.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Because of the excessive wee intake Nana always sees delusions. The wee turns their head and he sees imaginary things, e.g. like believing that if the courts annulled 4.6m votes from his opponent's strongholds then he would b ...

• paa 9 years ago

the only foolish man

• Mimi 9 years ago

Akuffo Addo must hide his dentured teeth & shut his mouth. Was he not part of Kuffour's government when the IMF cancelled a total of $4.5B owed by Ghana as debt?.Why didn't they reject the offer?.What kind of hypocrisy is tha ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Obviously you are another NDC worm... You guys are in power now and can't even identify your left hands from your right hands because you are too damn busy stealing and looking for ways to cover your tracks... Until NDC does ...

• Sam Ad 9 years ago

There can never be any party in the history of Ghana that can steal like NPP! sold Ghana to hipic and squander the money! lands gone! oil money gone!

• kwabena kwabena 9 years ago

Am sad pple are blinded by politics..wats hypocrisy is in wat Akuffu Addo presented? The cancelled debt at the time was created by same NDC thieves

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

Under which political party and whose government did the country got to owe that $4.5B which did not make any impact in the society? The $4.5B debt was cancelled by what IMF demanded the Kuffour Regime to do hence Mr. Kuffour ...

• Mimi 9 years ago

You people are just stupid & backward. Go back to 2002 & see what IMF said about the the government. Apart from this debt cancellation, an annual amount of $250m was given to this same govt for 8 good years to create jobs & a ...

• Paa Mu Ka 9 years ago

Kwasia, we can all list Kufuor's social and economic programmes here. Please tell us what Mahama did with $4.5bn in 6 months between August and December 2012, and about $17bn since the Mills/Mahama administration.

• Jona 9 years ago

Aboa bi ba like you! Match those kufuor's social shit with the money they received and see if it makes sense! Why calling people kwasia? Uncouth criminal who wants a questionable character like nana to be a president of a cou ...

• Jona 9 years ago

ABOA1 who built those nasty roads your god father left? the dusty spintex road?

• Kojo 9 years ago

.how did Kuffour wean Ghana off IMF?

What nonsense?

• Pelicles 9 years ago

I think you are well educated enough to know the difference between HIPC and an IMF bail out. Kufuor did not go for a bail out. Under Kufuor, our debts were cancelled because Ghana was grouped among the "Highly Indebted Poo ...

• Sam Ad 9 years ago

If you are educated enough you would understand that the whole world was flourishing and in a good shape between 200-2008. The world collapsed from 2009 till date. Even Spain was bailed out! We were lucky to be under the NDC ...

IMF bailout is just a loan that comes with carefully planned management guidelines to revive the economy. What's wrong with that? Isn't that what we need in Ghana? Isn't ghana spending almost all its revenue on paying salari ...

• The Trucker 9 years ago

Since when has crippling IMF debt done any country any good?

Yes they have been "assisting " (robbing ) us for decades.
    IMF World Bank and now even NASA!. The Jokers!

(1)TOP TEN REASONS TO OPPOSE THE IMF

from Globa ...

• Asea Ho 9 years ago

Those of us who experienced the 1981-85 economic crises, where we queued for uncooked kenkey, petrol, traveled in cargo and articulator trucks, walked from Legon to Mamprobi because of long queue at bus terminals, will apprec ...

• miRamara 9 years ago

So what is your point sir

• fredsaid 9 years ago

Some writers here cannot distinguish between HIPIC and IMF Bailout. They argue here with distorted facts because of their confusion in understanding that they are two different issues; one is getting us into debt and asking I ...

• Obournana 9 years ago

Who is Akuffo Addo? An ordinary citizen. He was a NPP presidential candidate and lost miserably. That is all. He behave as if Ghana belongs to him and his NPP. Kuffour took Ghana to HIPC but Mahama and Mills made Ghana to bec ...

• Adams 9 years ago

For Ghana to be ruled by a character like Akuffo Addo,a drug addict with so many questions hanging around his personality, Ghana must rather go to war.

• Sam 9 years ago

A CRIMINAL WAS A FREE PASS! ONLY IN GHANA

• Otoo 9 years ago

Nana stop all this thrash and show us your Law Certificate. Also tell us the name of the Law school you attended. This FAKE and QUACK lawyer should just shut up. Nana is not only a crook but a criminal.

• Kofi PAUL 9 years ago

AKUFO ADDO HAS NO SOLUTIONS TO OUR PROBLEMS APART FROM EMPTY CRITICISMS OF GOVERNMENT. CAN'T HE TELL US WHAT HE HAS DONE BEFORE AND WHAT HE CAN STILL DO FOR GHANA? WE DON'T NEED A COMPLAINING PRESIDENT; WE NEED A CARING PRESI ...

• Asea Ho 9 years ago

I taught he would add prosecute all banks/officials who aid people in money (foreign exchange) laundering, and people who are found guilty of such.

Is Akuffo Addo silent on this because one of his financiers is involved?

• KAFU KAFU 9 years ago

HOW MUCH OIL DO WE GET FROM TAKORADI EVERYDAY AND WHERE IS THE MONEY???????????????????????

• Bernard 9 years ago

(1) WHEN AKUFO ADDO LOST 2012, ELECTION WHAT HE DO?

He refused to accept defeat. Instead, he assembled his thugish supporters at Obra Spot who attacked, beaten, destroyed properties, put fear into the citizenry and held ...

• K. K Padio 9 years ago

Nana, you are intelligent. Your idea on the modernisation of agriculture and industrialsation indicate that you can govern this country very well

• Cocoakraachi 9 years ago

This man continue day-dreaming! Who really deceived Nana that he can be a president? Forget it. He is done. If he says he loves democracy, why cant he at least let it prevail in NPP? Talking about weaning Ghana off IMF is lau ...

• Jato .P 9 years ago

Very good suggestions indeed. I hope the government is listening

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA THE LIAR