You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082014 03 27Article 304469

Akufo-Addo may be Ghana’s 1st wheelchair prez candidate

Read Comments Comments (116)

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Should we read every nonsense?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

American President who helped the Allies win the World War 11, Roosevelt was a cripple in a wheel chair. He was the only USA prez to have been in power for 4 consecutive times. Vuvu, some of these people have to read and shar ...

• soul 10 years ago

I never liked the npp, because of their corruption and their cronies,but this is nonsense of this Rashid Haruna. May I ask if he is a Ghanaian?- At least not from his name and definetly not form this beheviour

• Ritewing 10 years ago

During the heat of the 2012 election campaign, a young man aged 32 then, falsely accused Nana Addo of urinating by a mosque. The news was extensively used as a propaganda instrument to create a wedge between Nana Addo and the ...

• NANAO!! MOTHER 10 years ago

Rashid Haruna just wait and see who will sit in wheelchair.Let me tell you something. Nana Addo will not wish and never wish evil to his opponent so be careful or else it will happen to you rather.Rashid you have call for wh ...

• Obournana 10 years ago

Do ypu trust politicians? Then, you are a fool because politicians do politics with fools who they can use and dump after their victory. What did you get from Kuffour when his son had a 5-star hotel but never campaigned? Ask ...

• OBIA DIE MIENU MIENU 10 years ago

VIOLENCE-LOVING OLU MAN WILL WIN IN 2024, AFTER TRYING AGAIN UNSUCCESSFULLY IN 2016 AND 2020, AND AFTER THE DEVELOPMENT OF GHANA TO INTERNATIONAL AND KWAME NKRUMAH STANDARDS. IN 2024, GHANAIANS WILL GIVE NANA SHORTINGO THE CH ...

• ZOEY & ZARA 10 years ago

Nana Addo will never , ever let any blood be on his hands before being president like your founder killed Akwasi Afrifa, Kwasi Akuffo, I.K Acheampong, Air vice Mash.Yaw Boakye, col.Kotei, Com.Joy Amedume and Maj.Felli to beco ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

There is no problem about age if his brains still functioning alright. We have tried a young president like mamaha and he is behaving like an animal. So, if Nana Addo is 100 years and he can perform better what has the age g ...

• Obournana 10 years ago

Have you forgotten the unidentified person person claiming to be vice-presidential cadidate Amissah Arthur's gay partner? What are you talking about. This is what Owusu Afriyie said it is not a lie. A referee supporting a can ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS CORRUPT NDC MUST TELL US WHAT EXACTLY THEY HAVE DONE WITH THE MASSIVE $20 BILLION THEY HAVE BORROWED IN JUST THE LAST 5 YEARS, IF HE IS SAYING,HE HAS NOT BORROWED FOR DRINK AND MERRY MAKING, WHICH MEANS CREATE, ...

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Haruna is making fun of the handicapped. It's no wonder you are able to steal from us coz we're all handicapped when it comes to fighting corruption. I wouldn't want to wish you any bad luck but at the same time, will not fi ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

Rashid will be lucky to be in a wheelchair when Nana becomes President! Young, aimless people calling themselves NDC communicators casting aspersions on older honourable people will pay the price they wish for the elderly. Ma ...

• OLA BABS CAMPOS 10 years ago

RASHID HARUNA AR A NIGERIAN OR GHANANIAN COS U SPEAK A TIPICAL NIGERIA VOICE.LETS KNOW D BASES OF UR FLATTERING WORDS.

• Doug 10 years ago

If he cannot walk but can do the job who cares for been in wheel chair. Ghanaians have problems and we want them solved. Look at Arm Robbers in the country how can investors come? Mo nhwe biribi yiye ooo. In the USA a farmer ...

• soul 10 years ago

INVESTORS never fear Arm robbers!-THEY PUT SECURITY THERE!

INVESTORS FEAR LACK OF WATER; LACK OF ELECTRICITY,because that is the work of
    every good gov.

• Apraku 10 years ago

One of the best brains in finance , the German finance minister is sitting in a wheel chair. Rashid Haruna the wheel chair is waiting for you, what an idiot !!!

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

No, I don't think so. It's sad that Rashid Haruna could make such an ill-fated comment.

• KING 10 years ago

WE NEED BRAINS TO GOVERN NOT AGE. EVEN A FOETUS CAN SPOIL AND 1 YEAR OLD OR ANY AGE CAN DIE.IT MAY HAPPEN THAT MAHAMA MAY NOT LIVE TO SEE 2016.

• Sir Linco 10 years ago

NDC pple shd think abt gh 1st not abt Akuffo Addo.

• KOFI 10 years ago

THIS MAN IS TRULY KOOKOASE LAWYER.

• NAABA FROM SWEDEN 10 years ago

THIS PEPE AND EWE SPOILLING THIS COUNTRY USING FAKE IDIOT ARTICLE TO CONDEM NANA

• NAABA FROM SWEDEN 10 years ago

THIS USELESS ARTICLE YOU WRITE

• BB 10 years ago

Why don't you mind your own damn fucking business,moron.What has the useless young one done for us,hardship!

• Baako jnr. 10 years ago

Was Nana Addo working whilst in the UK?
    How did he fend himself?
    Does believe in Ghanaian doctors?
    How much money did he spend on his entire trip?
    Would that expenditure make any different in Ghana?
    What does he tak ...

• good 10 years ago

this is GOD´s WORD
    "..... he wants to harvest where he had not sown?

Like Saul in the Bible; sin clutches at your door because of your intent; for obedience is better than sacrifice"

• ZOEY & ZARA 10 years ago

Is the money he used for ghana or for your stupid party? John Mahama kofi Dubai ap3 tw3 has nothing good in his small head apart from fucking women and having kids.Nkwasifuo wai nom nti ghanafuo 3br3, nkwasiafuo s3i nti ghan ...

• Kwamina 10 years ago

Very foolish statement and an insult to all disabled people.

Is there anything wrong in being physically handicapped to govern.

Haven't Mahama himself got a blind-person in his Cabinet. So what is wrong if someone is di ...

• Sakawa Boy 10 years ago

Afd that would be a history, you fool

• Son Of Man 10 years ago

Pray that you live to see 2016 yourself.

• Kwaku Ananse 10 years ago

Whether Nana Addo is in Wheel Chair or not, we still love him. Ghana needs brainy President and Ministers and not criminals and senseless President and Ministers.

• still rastafari 10 years ago

are Haruna's parents in wheelchair @ 72

• Owura 10 years ago

Senseless argument. Wisdom is mostly known among the old not the young pple with corruption!

• alankwei 10 years ago

this is getting so sad. how old is Mr.K.B.Asante? is he on wheel chairs?

• NANDOS 10 years ago

why are NDC SO PRE OCCUPIED WITH AKUFO ADDO .THEY SHOULD BE SHOULDERING ON HOW TO SOLVE THE ECONOMY. The man had not even be elected as the leader for 2016.

• SENEGAL 10 years ago

attah mill was ghana,s first sick president and by God,s grace he died

• Reality 10 years ago

K.B Asante just turned 90 and he is not in a wheel chair. Why do you expect Nana Akufo-Addo to be in a wheelchair by age 72. This is coming out of fear and willful thinking.

• Ananse 10 years ago

Common english this minister dont understand it. He need english teacher to interprate it to him. And they call him a miniter (TWEAAAA)

• Kofi Dubai 10 years ago

You Rashid Haruna should be carrying toilets to feed your stolen wife and numerous children.The internet has given you light to see and talk rubbish. Do you know what's in store for you and your Mahama. What has this stupid a ...

• koo 10 years ago

This is a mere nonsense talk.Do you think john mahama is a youngster?JDM is entering his pension age.So it`s wrong or crime for wheelchair ridden person to contest for president in Ghana.Stop these unholy propaganda attacks ...

• AKIRIKA 10 years ago

NDC IS DAMNED SCARED.

EVEN IF NANA IS 100 YEARS WE WILL VOTE FOR HIM BUT NOT THIS INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT NDC REGIME. IDIOT.

• Issa Wa 10 years ago

Stop disgracing Northerns Rashid

• Issa Wa 10 years ago

This guy is a disgrace to all Northerns Rashid go back to school this time pay your own FEES NO FREE EDUCATION FOR NORTHERNS

• Issa Wa 10 years ago

This guy is a disgrace to all Northerns Rashid go back to school this time pay your own FEES NO FREE EDUCATION FOR NORTHERNS

• Yaw Addom 10 years ago

When similar comments were made about our beloved late President Mills, Haruna Rashid and some of us were not happy at all. So what is different from what the same Haruna Rashid is saying about Nana Addo? Please, let us be de ...

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

K.B. ASANTE IS 90 YEARS NOW. BY HIS STARTURE, HE CAN EQUALLY BE THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA AND RULE THE COUNTRY WITH MINISTERS.

THE WRITER OF THIS ARTICLE SHOULD READ MORE AND FURTHER BECAUSE HE IS A BIG FOOL. ROOSEVELT OF TH ...

• xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 10 years ago

migbd cdrt

• Nana/London. 10 years ago

Oh Ghana! This should not be a problem if the constitution allows that. The aged is more experienced in life. I wish I met my grandfather! Stop all these nonsense and allow Nana a piece of mind. All of you are jealous and afr ...

• nsem pii 10 years ago

Yet we say Ghana is a christian nation. PATHETIC.

• Che 10 years ago

You just displaying your ignorance. If Gh were to be elsewhere, you dared not make such a stupid statement. Even if he were to be wheelchaired and handicapped since childhood, does that incapacitate him and or make him less e ...

• sayiti 10 years ago

Politicians should grow up and talk sensible.what a stupid thing to say.

• kwame Michael Anani kwasi 10 years ago

even if he is in the chair we would be free than NDC blindfolding ghanaians

• KWAA 10 years ago

Why Ghanaweb print all this nonsense is a mystry, Africans are pathetic,why should a wheelchair be a problem,if the brains are sound?
    These are the type of people who look down on others because of their status.
    Can this Ha ...

• Issa Wa 10 years ago

Think Rashid you are a F O O L 2014 FOOL

• Sea-Lighter 10 years ago

YES WE WANT HIM EVEN AT AGE 1000YEARS

• Nii 10 years ago

Is your "god" Akufo Addo sure he can take the pressures of campaigning in 2016 at 72 against a much younger sitting president? The travelling, etc? Goodluck ppl! U need a lot of it!

• Adu 10 years ago

My 96 year mum is well and kicking, 70 is small to 96.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Not only will he be in a wheelchair but he will be an aging drug addict ( crack head) in a wheelchair. With mental instability

• Auntie rose 10 years ago

Wheelchair bound and mentally unstable. That's what crack cocaine does to your brain

• Abba 10 years ago

CORRUPT EC, CORRUPT SUPREME COURT. NOW THERE WILL BE NO MORE ATUGUBA'S SUPREME COURT AGAIN. THEREFORE GHANA IS IN DANGER TO FACE RWANDA TYPE OF WAR IN 2016 ELECTIONS IF.......

• AKIRIKA 10 years ago

EVEN IF 1000,000 YEARS WE STILL WANT HIM.

WISE OLD AGE IS BETTER THAN YOUNG FOOOOLL. IDIOT

• Odikr@ 10 years ago

Rashid,is suggesting the "favourite" might not be so favourite afterall.
    Rashid,argues that stiff competition may emerge;from the likes of Messers ;R Anane;I Osei,A Kyeremanteng,and possibly K Apraku.

• me 10 years ago

If Nana is prez and does not sit in wheelchair then that thought will go to you Haruna and 4 generations after you in your family.

• Fad 10 years ago

Akufo-Addo may be Ghana’s 1st wheelchair prez candidate

• DAN 10 years ago

put dying president up for re-election..thats the ndc(ghost party)

• Boy Wonder 10 years ago

What is your problem? The consitution does not debar people who move in wheel chairs from contesting elections in Ghana. The onus lies on NPP delegates who they want to contest the next presidential elections.Mills lost four ...

• AGE IS JUST A NUMBER 10 years ago

RASHID WILL USE WHEELCHAIR BEFORE NANA ADDO . WHEELCHAIR WAS MADE FOR ANY AGE SO THAT EVIL IDEAS WILL NOT HELP NDC 2016 . NDC SHOULD WORRY ABOUT THE FRIGIL ECONOMY AND STOP BITCHING AROUND .

• kwakuvie 10 years ago

why are you worried about akuffo addo becoming a president?

• SGT PEPPER 10 years ago

THAT'S BETTER THAN THAT OF MILLS WHO STUPIDLY WAS JOGGING ON HIS WAY TO THE CEMETARY

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

There once was a lady who was tired of living alone in Kathmandu. So she put an ad in the paper which outlined her requirements. She wanted a man who 1) would treat her nicely, 2) wouldn't run away from her, and 3) would be g ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

Instead of working, just look at what these fools go around from one radio station to the other saying. Sometimes you feel ashamed that outsiders will read the nonsense they say and identify you with them, the useless ministe ...

• Zogli 10 years ago

Nana will surely unseat Mahama come 2016,either He is in a wheelchair or not.Pray to grow as healthy as Nana at his 70s.
    You shall surely have a test by using a wheelchair before you witness Nana,s victory.

• seini 10 years ago

It is funny some people think there is an age barrier in politics. As Blatter, who is 77yrs old and about to contest another term as FIFA preseident put it, "age is just calander years, ones true age is his heart, his mind an ...

• AHMED YACOB 10 years ago

This is an insult to people with disabilities. What is wrong in being in a wheel chair? Arent they human beings too? These NDC goons, they never think. K.B. Asante who is 90 years old talks more sense and would be a better pr ...

• Kofi Boye 10 years ago

Ghana needs matured President not rascals like Mahama and Asiedu Nketia to rule....ie kwasia bi nti...wheel chair at 72...judgement debt and all that....

• EFUA 10 years ago

72years doesn't mean that one has to be in a wheel chair some people are 90 here in Ghana and walking without wheelchair .You are as old as you feel Age is a number.The fact that you are 72doesnt mean that you have to act old ...

• Yaa 10 years ago

Rashid Haruna you wish Nana is your father. You stupid fool

• raw 10 years ago

That should not be a problem so long as the brains works correctly

Rashid Haruna your father will be the first person to be in a wheel chair. Nana can take care of all your families

• CPP. 10 years ago

NDC IS SCARED OF NANA ADDO COMING BACK SO YOU THE NPP MUST HAVE HEART,THE OLDMAN WILL DO BETTER THAN THAT YOUNGMAN IN POWER.

• okofo 10 years ago

We better have a president who's in a wheel chair, but has COMMONSENSE and WISDOM, than an IDIOT who has no clue of his job and running the country down.

• Adom 10 years ago

Mr Rashid Haruna pray to Allah to forgive you. The kora and the Bible teach us to pray even for our Enemies. May God/Allah forgive You.

• Whatever 10 years ago

Nowhere in the story did Rashid ever e imagined that than Akufo Addo can even be elected. The media must be truthful

• DAN 10 years ago

IS THAT WHAT THE VICE PRESIDENT TOLD YOU WHEN YOU LICKED HIS ANUS LAST NIGHT?

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

"A Communicator of the governing party, Rashid Haruna says the twice-defeated presidential candidate of the main opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, may end up being Ghana’s first ever wheelch ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

NDC is scared of Nana Addo brutal. They know that their dream will not come true.

• Ericus-Ericus 10 years ago

Do you intend to attain the age of Akuffo Addo?. God may rather put you into a wheel chair while you are still young. You know Akufo Addo is a likely winner over Mahama come 2016 and so you are shivering.

• Obiba 10 years ago

Better for Ghanaians than the ndc prez Mahama in power.We will work with his ideas to devolope our country, weather you like it or not.

• Bugov 10 years ago

May God forbid such wicked thought. Franklin Roosevelt, one of America's finest presidents was in wheelchair but performed his duties with excellence.

• Ama 10 years ago

We like him even if he is the first president on a stretcher!!!..there is always the first for everything.afterall Roosevelt the 32nd American president was in a wheelchair..and who is this Rashid idiot?.. Oh I know, he is so ...

• saka powers 10 years ago

hi am spiritual from Benin am back in Ghana again for just three week for money ritual?
    travelling problem if u need motia for your work pastor who need powers for church any one who need his or here business to go on contac ...

• DAN 10 years ago

AND PRESIDENT OF THE BIGGEST ECONOMY IN WORLD! ndc is nothing but theives and killer since birth of party and JJ

• Capt Forson 10 years ago

insults to te physically challenged. Shame......

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

Do not insult because of someone s enjoyment. Look I do not subscribe to that populist idea of sending Nana. Is he NPP the only leader in NPP? You dont need a doctor to tell you that there is a correlation between brain power ...

• Philologus Asyncritus 10 years ago

NDC is afraid of Akufo-Addo, hence since he announced that he would contest for the NPP presidential race various people in NDC have been feeling uneasy; they have been making 'concontuability' statements. Akufo-Addo is comin ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

There once was a lady who was tired of living alone in Kathmandu. So she put an ad in the paper which outlined her requirements. She wanted a man who 1) would treat her nicely, 2) wouldn't run away from her, and 3) would be g ...

• JOOJO 10 years ago

Rashid Haruna must be very stupid to say that, after all age has nothing to do with position. Are you thinking well.

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 10 years ago

CRIMINAL MAHAMA WILL BE FIRST,MAHAMA IS INSANE NOW,WHY NDC WORRY,SHAKING ABOUT NANA??? IF YOU KNOW HOW TO WRITE BETTER TELL MAHAMA TO FIX GHANA ECONOMI

• kofiyesu 10 years ago

Isn't it stupis & foolish on ur part as s minister to come out and talk about someb9dy like that? He is the peoples choice so go ahead & use ur vudu powers ti cripple him. No matter what u do, the people have chosen him way i ...

• Philip New Jersey. 10 years ago

Think before you talk.Age 72 is not an old age to expect one to be in a wheel chair except you happen to be sick or get stroke.Haven't we seen people over 80,90 etc.walking in Ghana.Please stop the nonsense politics and Gover ...

• TEE 10 years ago

THESE NORTHERNERS HAVE NO RESPECT. NKWASEAFUO BI NTI ALL THESE PEOPLE CAN TODAY MERGING THEMSELVES TO US AND OPEN THEIR STINKING MOUTH PERIOD

• MAJOR GENERAL 10 years ago

YOU ARE A BIG FOOL,CAN YOU TELL ME IF NOT DEATH ATTAH MILLS WILL ALSO BE 72 YEARS. SO WHAT A HELL ARE YOU THE NDC GUYS TALKING ABOUT AGE, KB

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS LOOTING AND LOOTING SO HE IS DOING ANYTHING TO STAY ON POWER AND STEAL MORE

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

It pains me that, this out lived free education policy instituted by late Nkrumah for the Northerners still exist for irresponsible people like Rashid Haruna to have access to and come out to spew his ignorance.

Ghanaians ...

• IRON HORSE 10 years ago

HAIL WHO IS TALKING, IT IS BETTER TO SIT IN A WHEEL CHAIR THAN TO DIE IN THE CASTLE,SENT TO THE MATERNITY WARD AT 37 AND BURIED IN A STRANGE LAND INSTEAD OF YOUR HOME TOWN.NANA HAS COME TO STAY LOVE IT OR GET LOST.TRIBAL COCO ...

• Mankind23 10 years ago

Talk to ur Muslim father in that same way dumm,respect. Idiot fool.

• Lambilla 10 years ago

As you wish evil for your fellow human beign so the Good Lord will turn this evil to visit you in your bed for as a man thinks so he is!

• KK 10 years ago

If 65 years is retirement age in Ghana, we do we have politicians going beyond 65 years in office and being paid as public officers?

• kwame ghana 10 years ago

see this follish useless son of a goat, cattle, langalanga labourer's son talking about Nana, his mother , father and thief John Mahama will be carried in wheel chairs to campaign in 2016 and not Nana, thunder, brimstone and ...

• Fadi Ka Fuuta 10 years ago

Useless journalist ,useless radio station ,useless interviewee all amount to chaff from dieing Notorious Disgraceful Corruptioners .(NDC )

• Odikro 10 years ago

I will prefer an old but intelligent and smart president who can rescue our dear nation than a young foolish president who will only loot our resources to chase women and give birth like "dabodabo" We need brains to govern no ...

• odikr@ 10 years ago

Rashid,has offered alternatives to the favourite......deal with his assertions....K Apraku,I Osei,A Kyeremanteng ,and R Anane....what odds will you offer Rashid?

• Joeman 10 years ago

Nana should re-think an make a better decition.

• nimako stephen 10 years ago

the non performing ndc party is afraid of vissionery nana akufo addo.kwasia bi nti ghanaians are having economic crisis and ghanaians are suffering due to kwasia bi nti

• OLA BABS 10 years ago

LET HIM REST COS OF HIS CONDITION ND AGE.

• OLA BABS CAMPOS 10 years ago

HE MIGHT HAVE SOME REASONABLE THINGS TO OFFER GHANA LIKE MARTHIN LUTHAR KING JUNIOR.