You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082014 01 21Article 298445

Akufo-Addo has failed twice, give Alan the chance - Aide

Read Comments Comments (113)

• Kwame Adofo 10 years ago

For Allan also to fail twice? You see the logic? That is why it is better for Nana to go the third time and WIN, just like Atta Mills did. Thank you.

• Ghana-Man. 10 years ago

Considering Nana's age it would be advisable for him to step down and pave the way for Allan and call all his supporters to unite behind Allan to enable him (Allan) win the general election one touch.

• Poet 10 years ago

How can a coward man who could not stand the challenges of a single political party and resigned stand the challenges of a whole country with animals like Asiedu Nketia?

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

FREE ADVICE - MAKE KYEREMANTENG THE CANDIDATE WITH NANA ADDO AS THE VP CANDIDATE. IF AN ASHANTI MAN IS THE SUPERIOR TO THE AKYEM MAN, THE ASHANTIS WOULD COME OUT MASSIVELY TO VOTE FOR THE TICKET. I.E. MASSIVELY - THEIR USUAL ...

• okofo 10 years ago

You're talking like somebody who has NOTHING on his neck up: Where does this so called superiority come in here? This issue here is neither a tribe nor a superiority issue, where one ethnic stock MUST be assured of superiorit ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

SIT THERE. KYEREMANTENG/ AKUFO-ADDO TICKET IS WHAT WOULD DO THE TRICK.

DONT YOU KNOW ASHANTIS DIDNT VOTE BECAUSE ITS NOT THEIR MAN ON TOP OF THE TICKET.

THANK ME LATER!!

• Okaija 10 years ago

Okofo, don't mind that idiot. Can't you see that these clueless, visionless and directionless confused NDC people always try to create confusion between Akyems and Ashantis? Do you know why? The NDC envies Akyems and Ashantis ...

• ... ... ... 10 years ago

It's only a pretext to give them the chance to label npp an ashanti party for their shallow-minded idiotic fools to have a reason to vote against npp.

• danger 10 years ago

nana addo/allan .let every single person vote for allan,he can never be president.let the evil and greedy kuffour back him with all the drug moni,still he wont win.allan forget it.you will be a big failure

• dr edusei. chicago 10 years ago

if you can not write sense, don't write anything at all

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

If not Nana Addo, why not Bawumia who is the most marketable after Addo? The Cassava project fiasco hangs on the neck of Alan. Did Alan campaigned for Akuffo? Do you thyink Akuffo Addo who is very influential will also campai ...

• OBIA DIE MIENU MIENU 10 years ago

THE PROBLEM WITH BAWUMIA IS THAT HE WONT BE ABLE TO BOND WITH AND TO RAISE CAMPAIGN FUNDS FROM THE POWERFUL ASANTE-AKYEM BUSINESSMEN WHO WOULD BE LOOKING FOR MULTIPLE PAYBACK. HE ALSO DOESNT SPEAK TWI-ENGLISH AND WOULD BE LOS ...

What age? Mandela was president of South Africa at an old age too. Health I will consider to be a negative factor,but age, remove age out of it please. Nana Addo is the most competent person for president right now. Alan is j ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Alan Kyerematen is a dynamic politician and strong NPP politician but not marketable to whack this corrupt NDC Leader Mr President Nkomfem Mahama.

What all the indigenous NPP politicians and the supporters should understa ...

• Johnny 10 years ago

nana or no nana npp will loose as looters. nana the name self disqualified him since Ghana will not allowed selfish looter to rule his nation Ghana now.

• concern citizen 10 years ago

Johnny, really?, I guess you are abroad some where running your mouth, because if not you will see the pain Ghanians are going through right now economically and financially to think that they will vote NDC into power again. ...

• koforidua flower(fr) 10 years ago

Thank you! a very sensible episode but the ending.Anyway,some people are far from home and therefore, far from Burning Heat surrounding the people at home hence,embracing wrong people for such recovery duties.

why are you giving comment about nana. are afraid of alan

• Davis 10 years ago

Brother Jay, you are making a mistake.Atta Mills won the 3rd time because his contender who has beaten him twice was off the scene, but in the case of Nana, Mahama who beat him at the polls and in the Supreme court is still s ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Has or is MAHAMA and his NDC ruling adequately,successfully,fruitfully and rewardingly?
    NO SIR.
    Ghanaians are complaining big time on the hardship encountering.
    My question is:

WHO WOULD LIKE TO BUY A MARINE TICKET,ONLY ...

some logic. really.

• frank 10 years ago

No Alan no vote!!No Alan no vote!!No Alan no vote!!No Alan no vote!!No Alan no vote!!No Alan no vote!!No Alan no vote!!No Alan no vote!!No Alan no vote!!

• paa 10 years ago

dont think that at all

• Eric 10 years ago

But probably we may go for Alan. Ghanaians are fed up with the Mahama thieves.

• ANDANI 10 years ago

ALAN SHOULD WAIT FOR BAWUMIA TO STEP DOWN AFTER NANA ADDO FOR HIM TO BECOME THE FLAGBEARER OF NPP

• Davis 10 years ago

Do you think these NPP guys are even considering Bawumia? He is not an Akan; forget it.

• GHANA IS FOR DONKOMI- MAHAMA 10 years ago

NDC IS MORE TRIBAL THAN NPP - TAKE MAHAMA ADMINISTRATION FOR EXAMPLE . EWE AND NORTHERNERS ONLY . GA IS OUT OF THE PICTURE .

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Because MAHAMA is the president and a NORTHERNER,I think,that could harm my brother BAWUMIA'S chance,to be the FLAGBEARER for NPP now.
    He would have the chance in due season,anyway,even if NANA ADDO does not stand,but ALAN.

alan will stand and win hands down

• mubarak Tamale-Nakpanzoo 10 years ago

Delegates should make sure they don't sell their votes to retain Nana AKUFO-ADDO who has been very arrogant in his activities.He should rest in peace

• Pepeni1pepeni 2 mosi1 and privat jet 10 years ago

Tweaaaaaaaaa it's Alan nanas co equal?? Alan should wait its bawumia before Alan if he can still wait

alan won't wait for nobody. he will run and win. nana is not even going to run. ndc is scared of alan and so they are making reason.

• abu okyeman 10 years ago

NONSENSE ,NONSENSE.NPP.VOTED NANA OVER ALLAN WHY,.NANA IS MORE COMPETENT THAN ALAN ,NPP IS STILL BEHIND

ADDO WITH IDEAS

NANA ADDDO IS MORE COMPETENT THAN ALAN IN THE POLITICAL WO ...

• Sam Otu 10 years ago

What credentials does Alan take to the contest? He has failed twice so he should not contest. Otherwise allow the delegates to decide.

• KING 10 years ago

ITS AFARI GYAN AND ATUGUBA WHO WON THE ELECTION FOR MAHAMA. IF ALAN WANTS TO BE PRESIDENT ON NPP TICKET HE WOULD NOT HAVE RESIGNED FROM THE PARTY. HE CONTRIBUTED IN NANA'S FIRST DEFEAT.EVEN HE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE PRESIDENT OVE ...

• Johnny 10 years ago

Not time for npp to rule Ghana since the npp wounds to Ghana not yet heal.

What wounds? You are still a dummy as usual, come and live in Ghana for a year, I dare you and you will run away back to you dummy jobs abroad. That's if only you could come back to do so. Anyway, don't forget we need money t ...

• KWAME BULLET (TORONTO) 10 years ago

IF NPP IS NOT BIAS BUT REALLY DEMOCRATIC PARTY AS IN THE PAST ALAN IS NOT THE MAN BUT CR BAWUMIA

WE REALLY NEED SOMEONE IN THE PARTY TO ACT AS THE FOUNDER AND CURB NEPOTISM, TRIBALISM THAT IS ARISING FROM THE BUSIA DANQUAH PARTY... HELP....

If the Ashanti's in the NPP like they should not go and vote and they shall see who will suffer. As they are suffering now from their stupidity from their previous stupid vote because of tribalism.The tribalism attitude will ...

• abu okyeman 10 years ago

WE SHOULD WE THE NPP WAS DIVIDED THATS WHY ,CAUSE OF ALANS SUPPORTERS .NANA ADDO IS ALWAYS THE LEADER ,EVEN BETTER THAN K4 HUNDRED TIMES .NANAS ARTICULATIONS ELO. IN ENGLISH IS A CHALLENGE TO K4 AND ALLAN BY FAR .NANA ADDO ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

NANA ADDO WHO CANT EVEN SPEAK GOOD ENGLISH?? WITH THAT HIS FAKE BRITISH ARISTOCRAT ACCENT?????????

Thank you for bringing that up about the so called Alan supporters.They should continue allowing tribalism to blind the thoughts. What a bunch of villagers. If that's how we voted during kuffour's time, do you think he could ...

IF NPP IS NOT BIAS BUT REALLY DEMOCRATIC PARTY AS IN THE PAST ALAN IS NOT THE MAN BUT RATHER DR BAWUMIA WHO HAS BEEN TWO TIMES VICE

PEOPLE OF THE GREAT PARTY WAKE UP WAKE UP , IF NOT THE PARTY WOULD BE SOLD FOR LASK OF POLITICAL WISDOM

• ashantiboy 10 years ago

Your ashanti tribalism is the cause of your downfall, but you can't live without it

• GHANA IS FOR DONKOMI- MAHAMA 10 years ago

NDC HAVE BEEN A TRIBAL PARTY SINCE COWARD JJ AND NOW TAKE MAHAMA ADMINISTRATION AS AN EXAMPLE . EWE AND NORTHERNERS ONLY . ONLY FEW GA IN CURRENT ADMINISTRATION.

• Mensah Osei 10 years ago

If the NPP like, he can make the two stand together. It is not a matter of personally per- se, even thought Nana is notorious drug adict and Allan is an incompetent person. The main reasons why Ghanaians will never vote for ...

• rapol 10 years ago

All die be die.Either Nana or Alan NPP Will loose come next election

• ALLOTEY PAPOE 10 years ago

I SOMETIMES WONDER WHY SOME PEOPLE THINK IT IS BETWEEN NANA AND ALAN ONLY. THE NPP HAS A SOLID REPERTOIRE OF QUALITY LEADERS WHO ARE FULLY MATURED AND PREPARED TO LEAD THE PARTY IN THE ABSENCE OF BOTH NANA AND ALAN. NOBODY S ...

Thank you!

• Anokye Twum-Antwi 10 years ago

One of the fundamental problems with the NPP is the 'conservative' mindset - often slow to adapt and change. Ghana needs a very vibrant, active and serious opposition. Both Nana Addo and Alan 'Cash' are advanced in age. Their ...

• KOGYAM58 10 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU 200%.!!!

• Sakawa Boy 10 years ago

Nahh APUUTOOO

Who said the party has only Nana Addo and Allan? When nominations open, let anyone who thinks he's capable contest, period!

• OSEI TAWIA JUSTICE (USA). 10 years ago

WHO ALAN? THE FAILURE OF CASSAVA PROJECT? TWIAAAAAAAA APUUUUUUTOOOOOO.
    AND WHO, NANA ADDO, THE TWICE DEFEATED CANDIDATE AND WEE SMOKER? YOU GUYS ARE NOT SERIOUS.LET'S GET SOMEBODY DIFFERENT TO LEAD THE PARTY TO VICTORY IN 20 ...

• Sumanguru 10 years ago

Osei, I thought you're wiser than this. Grow up and make positive contribution devoid of insults.

• Joe 10 years ago

What is this guy talking about? Atta Mills contested three times before he was successful, why not Akuffo Addo?

• nii 10 years ago

do you need a malaysia visa.call 0245886343 now.

• James banner 10 years ago

Kyeremanteng is not a serious politician.
    He is simply an opportunist and thinks the world owns him a favour. Could you listen to his stupid excuses for his failure to win the WTO post?. What a lazy good for nothing characte ...

• ENYONAM 10 years ago

NO NANA NO VOTE

• Wahab 10 years ago

I think Dr. Frimpong Boateng is the man, he will be appealing to the common man NOT Nana. A neutural person will be better.

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

Who is this Cunt who thinks Alan Cash want to be president. Nana Addo didnt lose the elections it was NPP who lost.
    If Alan Cash want NPP to win come 2016 he and his dickheads should make sure we have more people in paliame ...

• Nana addo 10 years ago

yet they are blind to notice that,everybody in npp is oga,so many oga's in npp so no one listens to the other.

• Anokye Twum-Antwi 10 years ago

I believe that one of the common mistakes is the misconception that the NPP's problem is Nana Addo. The NPP's major problem is its inability to realise that Nana Addo is unable to appeal to voters outside the NPP. He is stabi ...

• Bediako NJ 10 years ago

Hypocrites and political novices,the like of this Longdon the Alan aide- who don't know nothing walking on the corridors of power in Ghana.Ghana is poor today bcos of the likes of this Longdon man who is calling the shots in ...

• Bediako NJ 10 years ago

FOR THE CHANGE THAT WE NEED IN GHANA, LET NANA GO
    THE WORDS OF OUR ELDERS ARE THE WORDS OF WISDOM THE YOUNG MAN LISTENS TO IT AND BECOME WISER

• Pelicles 10 years ago

The delegates should vote for Bawumia to lead with Allan or whoever as a vice to erase the perception that NPP is for Akans only. Bawumia can do a wonderful job as president better than Kofi Dubai who is shaking and urinatin ...

• Issa 10 years ago

I agree with Longdon and I think is time they give Alan the chance to lead the party and win back power for us.

• Baba ISSA 10 years ago

Mr Longdon, please tell NPPians and for that matter Ghanaians what your Alan Kyerematen did with the Kuffuor Special Initiative on CASSAVA, OIL PALM, and all the other initiatives when he was arrogantly in charge of PSIs. We ...

• Agyaaku 10 years ago

I beg to differ. But the man Alan is not a true NPP. What is the guarantee that he will remain in NPP if he is selected and losses the Presidential election? I can bet this man will leave the NPP. He has done it before. Plea ...

• DR. ALONTEY JONES 10 years ago

Dr. Frimpong Boateng-Alan Kyerematen ticket will be a winner. The question is which of the two candidates would allow the other to be the
    NPP flagbearer?

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

Dr. Frimpong Boateng is a better candidate by far. Can you imagine a President who is also a heart doctor? We should thank God for that.

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Dr. Frimpong Boateng will promote education, especially science & maths. Besides, I see him as a can do person.

• adwoa kwaku 10 years ago

Nothing tangible so far has been done by the younger Mahama. Age is just number. Nana should be supported. Allan should wait.

• Darling Georgee-Columbus-OH 10 years ago

I hate with venom those who keep writing NPP is Akan Party so they will never vote for a non-Akan candidate. Should i say NDC is an EWE party and i will be right? NDC gets almost 100% in volta region in every election conduc ...

• JOHN AMEGAH 10 years ago

LET ME MAKE YOU ANGRIER, SIMPLETON!!
    ====================================
    TRIBALISM:

ATTA MILLS IS NOTE EWE BUT VOLTA REGION VOTED MASSIVELY FOR HIM!!!

MAHAMA IS NOT EWE BUT VOLTA REGION VOTED MASSIVELY FOR HIM!!!

• Baffour Agyemang 10 years ago

Mr Georgee did'nt you ever hear something like YEN AKANFO anywhere in Ghana?

• Kumasehene 10 years ago

Akufo Addo is Arrogant and disrespectful. He will never never be President of Ghana.

• WOYOME 10 years ago

BY A BUNCH OF HOOLIGANS WHO HAVE TAKEN GHANA CAPTIVE

• NANA EGYIR 10 years ago

To Mr.Philip Longdon: Ask your candidates to speak about their vision for Ghana and not just being favorites because of your association with Kyeremanteng or Nana Addo. Ghanaians are not cheap to be taking advantage merely be ...

• Logic 10 years ago

If it is logical that after two attempts a candidate must give way to others, then Alan too has had two opportunities at the flagbearership position, and thus must stand aside an give way to someone else to have a go.
    The ...

• Joe Jackson 10 years ago

President Mahama himself will even vote for Alan!

• Joe Jackson 10 years ago

Alan can win easily! if only the so called NPP PC Appiah Ofori will stop poisoning Ghanaians mind....

• EFO 10 years ago

NPP NEEEDS TRUE PARTY FAITHFULS LIKE NANA, DR. FREMPONG , KEN AGYEPONG AND OTHERS BUT NOT ALLAN. WHY DID ALLAN K RESIGN SOMETIME FROM THE PARTY? COLLEAGUES, ALLAN ONCE INTHE HISTORY OF THE PARTY DID RESIGN AS A MEMBER. HE IS ...

• Kojo Opoku-LONDON 10 years ago

I think Alan K this time. I res[pect Nana Addo. He is a very nice man and politician. Nana please, think about NPP first. Get on board for 2016 Victory for the NPP

Alan because he is ashanti?, hell to the fuck know. Let the people vote and tell kuffour to stop the under ground sabotage of Nana Addo. And you shall see how votes will flow from all corners. Tell kuffour to come on board fi ...

• Bravo USA 10 years ago

Interesting! One person's woeful two times failure is different from another person abysmal failure. What's the difference between the to two? They are both failures for God's sake. Two un-achievers from a party that will nev ...

Bravo, stay in your abroad and bring the money for us to enjoy after you spend your whole life working odds jobs. I dare you to come to Ghana and stay for a year, you will run away from Ghana because you have no idea what peo ...

Till this dumb asses stop their tribal struggles in the party, we shall allow the bukum boys to always take the lead here. NDC, will relay on this tribal struggle to win the next election and therefore l tell you, allow this ...

• MR. BEAN 10 years ago

Akufo Addo, hear him "You dey go k3k3, you dey go k3k3, you dey go k3k3", was he heralding his own departure or what?...lol. Ghana politics is so funny, anyway, carry on. Bottom line, if Akfo Addo wins, he would be voted for, ...

• ALAN K. 10 years ago

Yes, Mills failed twice before succeeding on his third try. Why do you think Akufo Addo does not deserve from the NPP the opportunity Mills had from the NDC to try a third time, Aide? Have you tried to understand why the NDC ...

• ALAN K. 10 years ago

Yes, Mills failed twice before succeeding on his third try. Why do you think Akufo Addo does not deserve from the NPP the opportunity Mills got from the NDC to try a third time, Aide? Have you tried to understand why the NDC ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

If you would recall,the late ATTA MILLS also loss on two occasions,but came back to win,in the third.
    History proves that the famous FORD AUTOMOBILE COMPANY's INVENTOR,:
    MR.HENRY FORD,was compelled to experience FIVE CONSEC ...

• FOREIGN MP(fr) 10 years ago

Alan Kyerematen is clearly aware he can hardly gain the tourch except perhaps Nana Addo and Dr Bawumia decide to step down.How many times had Alan lost for this race? The capabilities of Allan in winning delegates confidence ...

• KUTRIKU 10 years ago

THE CAUSE OF THE DEFEAT IS NOT NANA. IT IS RATHER THE DOINGS OF ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER AND THE FAULT OF THE NPP BELIEVE YOU ME, ALAN WILL NOT BE THE NPP'S PANACEA TO WINNING THE ELECTION

• NANA EGYIR 10 years ago

Alan and Nana means corruption, greed, and nepotism and "Mmbaa"-women. Alan is weak and easily manipulated and be seduced by his lust and therefore will ultimately shame the seat of presidency and the economy. Behind his weak ...

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

THATS WRIGHT, ALLAN SHOULD BE GIVEN A CHANCE AFTER TWO UNSUCCESSFUL ATTEMPTS BY
    NANA. NANA IS JUST WASTING TIME . HE WILL NEVER BE PRESIDENT.

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

WHETHER ALLAN, THE SO CALLED SIR JOHN, AKUFFO-ADDO, V.C. R.C CRABBE, OSEI, MPIANI, BAFFOUR AKOTO, OWUSU ANKOMAH, JOE GHARTEY,NPP WILL ONLY COME TO GAMBLE WITH THE SOUVERIGNTY OF THE NATION, CORRUPT THE NATION UND STEAL THE RE ...

• wheel 10 years ago

They are now telling Ghanaians that is was not cheating that made NDC win but rather the type of their leadership!! And yet they wasted our time in court!!!!born liars!!!!

• Stanley OGOE. 10 years ago

If Alan cash wants the flag bearership. He should meet Nana Addo at congress so that Nana Addo can beat him for the third time. Simple.

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

Trying AKUFO-ADDO A THIRD TIME is better than trying UNTESTED ALAN!!!!

• kokonsa 10 years ago

Allan cannot win cos of his past so those who bent on making the flagbearer must think again,this is a hart fact.

• Erica 10 years ago

Oh " Logic" come and assess this article and the aide. Alan failed twice to get the support of delegates. Why is he still contesting? From what we all saw and heard at the supreme court case NPP was robbed. Nana did not fail ...

• JUNGLE 10 years ago

NPP SHOULD BE WISE. THEY ARE SWALLOWING THE ENEMY'S BAIT HOOK AND LINE. ALL YOUR TOO MUCH KNOWLEDGE IS TURNING ALL OF YOU MAD. COME OUT OF YOUR CLOAK. YOU ARE DISAPPOINTING. THIS IS YOUR LAST OPPORTUNITY TO.....

• OTOMPO 10 years ago

KUFFOUR AND ADU- BOHEN LOST TWICE, PROF. MILLS ALSO LOST TWICE. WHY IS IT A NEWS IF NANA ADDO HAS LOST TWICE? IF YOU DARE CHANGE NANA ADDO, NPP WILL STILL REMAIN IN OPPORSITION AND THE PARTY WILL BE TORN APART. MARK MY WORD:

• TEE 10 years ago

WELL NPP LEADERS CAN'T HEAR. NO NANA ADDO NO VOTE. DO YOU UNDERSTAND NPP PARTY LEADERS PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PERIOD

• TEE 10 years ago

WHY NPP LEADERS ARE DIFFICULT TO HEAR WHETHER NANA ADDO HAS BEING TWICE DEFEATED OR NOT THAT DOES NOT MATTER. APART FROM NANA AT THIS TIME ONLY HE CAN WIN 2016 ELECTION. MARKED MY WORDS. I REPEAT APART FROM NANA ADDO NO OTHER ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

You're right! Alan Kyeremateng also failed twice in his bid to win the NPP flag-bearer slot, so why won't also allow a better man to stand for election?

Meanwhile, Nana Akufo-Addo's camp isn't accusing anyone aspiring con ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

Atta Mills failed twice as well

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

In sports we play the preliminaries then knockout stages then finals
    In politics we play the flagbearship before presidential
    Everybody should be given equal chance

• JOE ANSAH 10 years ago

NANA ADDO HAS ALREADY LOST THREE TIMES INCLUDING THE SUPREME COURT ISSUE.

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Mr Longhon, by your logic, if Nana tried twice and failed, and Alan too tried twice to be where Nana is and also failed badly, to be fair, Mr. aide de camp, both should gracefully exit and give way to a third party. The probl ...