You are here: HomeSportsAthletics2015 04 22Article 355497

Margaret Simpson quits Ghana; hints of plans to compete for Mauritius

Read Comments Comments (32)

• Kwame 9 years ago

Abaaa! So how many times will Margaret Simpson quit Ghana sports? She has said it over and over again and unfortunately the media keeps going back to the same issue. When Ignisious Gaisah quit Ghana, he went ahead to compete ...

• Twindzitwiba Okyerefo Obuekwan I 9 years ago

They called it work and the politicians for their selfishness call it patriotism and create big bonuses and share with them whilst the real patriots are not seen and rewarded cos they teach, farm and toil in our motherland fo ...

• showlights 9 years ago

good for her. Like she is getting support from Ghana.. I didn't even understand why she was doing it for Ghana..

• DZIGAMAN 9 years ago

When she dies, God forbid, can she be buried in Mauritius since Ghana is not a cemetery.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

If.your daughter marries a man who.stops.providing chop money. What do you expect the woman to.do? Stay? This just.shows how ungrateful you and ghana has been to this lovely woman. You think the other young athletes aren't pa ...

• Another Thief of Bagdad 9 years ago

In Ghana sport is the Black Stars so if you are not part of it then you will rot

• Ben 9 years ago

with creatures such as Francis Dodoo being head of athletics, what good treatment does one expect for athletes. Until non-achiever and womanizer Dodoo (who sent his girl-friend to the London 2012 Olympic games) is removed, no ...

After all she has sacrificed and done for.Ghana.this is how you no gooders treat your champions? Shame on you all. Pay Ms. Simpson her money, now! We shall see if ghana is able to produce an athlete as good as Maggie. Instead ...

• compare 9 years ago

Sports in Ghana cannot make any head way if Kwesi Nyantakyi still around. Move on Margaret

• Proud Ashanti 9 years ago

Kwasi Nyantakyi is only responsible for football. Why are you blaming him for this?

• Kenkey Warriors!! 9 years ago

Margaret Simpson can even go back to England if she so desires.

• ghananyi 9 years ago

Why is everything in Ghana just cannot hold and seems to be falling apart?These top athletes have been competing for Ghana for sometime what is happening? The same thing is happening in boxing too.Oh Ghana we will destroy our ...

• Fabz 9 years ago

What has that go to do with the issue, she has served ghana and has been mistreated and yet you're chatting crap because of her name. If her name was Agyewa Frimpong would you be talking the same nonsense...idiot!

• JOE 9 years ago

l support her. Everything about sports in Ghana is football and Black Stars.

• Sam 9 years ago

We can only wish Margaret good luck in her newly chosen Country. We also wish her goodluck in her career.

We are proud to have produced outstanding athlete like her even under our poverty condition.

It is unfortunate m ...

There is a difference. And if gaa can pay her the monies owed to her. She won't have to make such statements.

• Don Papa 9 years ago

Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must: I think you meant if the government pay her bonuses?? I'm sure you know Kwesi Nyantaky does not pay bonuses but rather the Ministry of Youth and Sports.

• AGBEVE ,,, 9 years ago

Mmmmmmm

• Obrefoo 9 years ago

Competing for Ghana can be really frustrating to athletes indeed.Nothing ever works, all is loot and share and the poor athletes are left to suffer, not paid their bonuses when due. This has been happening always over and ove ...

• Kuku Gyan 9 years ago

Hmmmm. What is the performance of Ignatius Gaissah? Another doom monster has bewitched a Ghanaian. Blood is always thicker than water. We wish u good luck though.

• Michael 9 years ago

This is funny to me. Every few months i see a story this woman is quitting Ghana for some other country. If she wants to go, she should go. Yes many athletes over the decades have at one time or another not been paid money ow ...

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

GHANA SUCKS

• Son of man 9 years ago

Congratulations! I DONT BLAME YOU AT ALL. DONT SWEAT FOR CORRUPT OFFICIALS. MAY YOUR CAREER LEAD YOU TO MORE GOLD MEDALS FOR YOUR CHOSEN COUNTRY. I WOULD HAVE DONE THE SAME THING. NO MONKEY DEY WORK BAMBOO DEY CHOP!!

• Kockola 9 years ago

I am not surprised that the some people are using to benefit out her hard work. This is very common practice in Ghana most times.

• Nana Yaw, Boston USA 9 years ago

S3 asa! Even runners you cannot pay them! All you NDC knows is stealing and running to IMF and stealing some more.

• ADAMU 9 years ago

What kind of bad luck government is this? Everything is falling apart, including sports. Chinua Achebe was right that when THE ARROW OF GOD strikes, and THINGS FALL APART, THE MAN OF THE PEOPLE is NO LONGER AT EASE! Now Maham ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 9 years ago

I cry for my children and country. Corruption and criminally material greediness had sank the country which was once the envious place in Africa so low that her own children flee from her.

This is yet another indication th ...

• NII 9 years ago

YOU WILL SEE YET ANOTHER CORRUPTION STREAM.

• ginger 9 years ago

go girl go i support u.ghana will waste ur talent.if another country can help u see ur dream come then dnt waste time ok.dnt listing to anybody ur situation is like people travelling to abroad to seek greener pastures.lol

• BBC NEWS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Go girl!

• The patriot 9 years ago

Bye byeeeeeeeeee.Mumu

• SULE 9 years ago

IF YOU STAY AND COMPETE FOR GHANA, YOU WILL DIE IN POVERTY. YOU NEED TO LOOK OUT FOR YOURSELF. YOU ONLY HAVE SO MANY MORE YEARS TO COMPETE. THE BODY CAN ONLY LAST SO LONG. ASK FOOTBALLERS. THEIR PLAYING LIFE IS LIMITED. MAKE ...