You are here: HomeSportsAthletics2014 01 13Article 297668

Ghanaian athletes in US for studies

Read Comments Comments (66)

• Nii 10 years ago

Hope they return home

• Assempa 10 years ago

If you had that opportunity Nii, would you come back home? I know I wouldn't.

• Leeeee 10 years ago

I like that....

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

If u like to eat fufu but have no fufu making pestel.etc. How difficult will it be for you? The gaa, gfa, boxing, basketball etc should HARASS the sports minister to invest in facilities all over the nation. Otherwise, we wil ...

• akorakyei 10 years ago

WE ARE ON 'TRACK'

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Invest in a Ghanaian institution, give them facilities and all and we can harvest the long term gain!

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

Why did you go to the USA and what are you doing there? Why are you NPP bombers always fighting to destroy?

• Krakye Denteh 10 years ago

Akadu is right that we can, and should build our own. It would be better to invest in a generation of sports coaches and administrators at home than to send athletes abroad. How many athletes can we educate abroad to make a d ...

No one brought me to the USA: I won a scholarship. Even then I have come back to Ghana often. Teach on-line courses for a number of Ghanaian schools. Please, put politics aside and think again

• Bushman 10 years ago

Akadu,set a good example and send your ass back home-Dunkwa- on- Offin need teachers at classrooms and not damn one-line shit you talking about.

• Datus 10 years ago

They could have find them bigger colleges for better competitions instead of these small community colleges. Anyway, it's a good start.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

pls, send these kids to div 1 schools so they can compete with the best ncaa athletes. if they r not too bright, then get them tutors to help them pass the sat test scores. it is doable. also encourage fmr gh athletes to com ...

• Mordo 10 years ago

All you do is sit behind your computer and tell people what to do. Man you are so stupid. GAA put a lot of thought into this. Athletes who immediately qualify for Div 1 are going to D1 schools. Others are going to the best sc ...

• k.baah 10 years ago

thanks for expounding on the program. I believe in fair and balanced analysis. the problem we are trying to solve is that our local athletes do not have proper training facilities and the programs to help them develop, is tha ...

massa, why the insults? i chop ur woman? ghweb is here for all of us to share our input.so wat do u mean by.."All you do is sit behind your computer and tell people what to do".? are u high? gaa didnt put a lot of thoughjt i ...

• Martin 10 years ago

I am baffled that the Ghana Athletics Association is sending these athletes to junior colleges. This is not to say that the competition is not tough at the junior college(Juco) level. What happens after they complete their ed ...

• DAVID OSEI 10 years ago

NOT A BAD IDEA AT ALL

Women
    The Lady Cougars only had two entries in the championship led by sophomore Kandace Thomas. Thomas blew away the field in the 100m prelims in 11.12 seconds, .22 faster than her nearest competi ...

• k.baah 10 years ago

you found the need to post this because what? they are Ghanaian athletes or to tell us how much u follow American collegiate sports. so annoying and shallow.

no substance. just loud noises...lol
    ebei!

this is exactly my point...these juco athletes may not even meet the minimum times for the olympics. in the end, did we go or did we come? the student athletes with bad grades n less impressive times will find themselves frus ...

• Mordor 10 years ago

Surely, you don't think the athletes will not succeed. Their current performances are good enough to earn them scholarships in Div 1 schools. So unless you are predicting their performances will fall despite being placed in p ...

• Mordor 10 years ago

Surely, you don't think the athletes will not succeed. Their current performances are good enough to earn them scholarships in Div 1 schools. So unless you are predicting their performances will fall despite being placed in p ...

• Mordor 10 years ago

HOW MANY COMMUNITY COLLEGE ATHLETES DO YOU SEE AT THE OLYMPICS, WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS AND HOW MANY OF THEM HAVE SUCCEEDED IN WINNING A MEDAL? EVEN DIV 1 COLLEGE ATHLETES DONT MAKE IT TO THE PODIUM and when they do, its very rar ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

You guys are all missing the point. This is great start but the question is are these athletes on good scholarships or they're just been sent out to hustle? These athletes are being sent at a time when it's very cold and it w ...

• Mordor 10 years ago

At least get online an seek answers to some of your own questions. GAA does not have to feed you information at every junction. Several Junior college athletes became olympians and olympic medalists e.g., Veronica Campbell, J ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

You are a stupid fool. Why do you try to compare Ghanaian athletes to Jamaicans? Jamaicans had good foundations and are recruited massively. Ghana can never match them so shutup. The fact that they these athletes are attendin ...

• Former Athlete 10 years ago

Think about how dumb you sound
    You say going to barton will not guarantee they will be world champions but your DUMB ASS can't also see that it also means there is no guarantee then fail. WHOSE SIDE ARE YOU ON? Do you want t ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

So if this kid was in an accident why rush to send him to the US to fail. Go and speak to the kid and he will tell you what he went through and what he's going through. Talking about a fool, you are the fool and fuck you too. ...

• Former Athlete 10 years ago

Ignorance precedes your every word. What did Reks Brobbey do? Go and talk to him. Ask him who really deserves credit for getting the athletes into school. He will tell you. Every single one of these athletes were already on t ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

You are so angry at yourself and getting so worked up? I don't need to provide any evidence to you fool. When things are not going well for these athletes which from day one it revolves around Ghana sports itself. Your take i ...

• Former athlete 10 years ago

I wish I was angry but you but you are too stupid to waste anymore energy on. I have seen Reks Brobbey's posts on Facebook on different pages including the one for athletes. Why does he give gaa credit for the scholarship iss ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

I hear the athletes that came to the US are struggling already hahahaaa

jamaican campbell brown WENT TO THE UNIV OF ARKANSAS A DIV 1 SCHOOL. BECKFORD, ANOTHER JAMAICAN EVE WENT TO HIGH SCHOOL IN THE US BEFORE GOING TO BLINN. WAT IS THE COMMON DENOMINATOR HERE, MORDOR. THESE JAMAICAN STUDENTS WENT ...

• Mordor 10 years ago

You are just a talking head.

Your own argument answers your stupid question. Success takes time. These athletes have not even spent 2 weeks in the US and you are judging success of the program? What is wrong with you? It ...

• Pancho 10 years ago

The running part they can succeed but they have to make the academics and that's the problem majority of them are already facing. They have to be able to make it in the classroom as well. When you send athletes who can't even ...

• Mordor 10 years ago

You are just a talking head.

Your own argument answers your stupid question. Success takes time. These athletes have not even spent 2 weeks in the US and you are judging success of the program? What is wrong with you? It ...

IDIOT, DO THEMATH. if rio olympics is less than 2 yrs away and you send these athletes to a community college for 2 yrs. wat do u expect to achieve? who will represent gh at the olympics? do u mean to tell me that dodoo is pl ...

• Momozi 10 years ago

After 50 yrs plus we are happy to train our athletes in colleges in the U.S
    Where is our sports colleges?

• AMINA 10 years ago

What do we use to establish those facilities? Money! With determination, courage, selflessness , peseverance and patriotism you will get there.But if you have people who sit down to create, loot and share how are you going to ...

• KWASI APONKYE 10 years ago

BLACK MAN NO GET SENSE KURAAA.
    AHH BUT U KURAA WHY DID YOUR MODA GIVE U A STUPID NAME LIKE DAT..MOMOZI

• Proudly Pepeni, USA !! 10 years ago

You know all of them will be come American citizens, most marry Americans. Ghana loses!!

• Mystic 10 years ago

Great idea!! Please keep tracking their progress in both academic and sporting fields!!

• k.baah 10 years ago

I agree with some of the commentators that Ghana will loose in the end. its a rather short sighted, short term approach. it doesn't even begin to solve the problem. most of these athletes will not remain faithful/loyal to Gha ...

• Mordor 10 years ago

Monday morning coach. Asem; you too?

And where will the money come from for all your grand ideas? And while we wait for the money to magically appear do you suggest we let them stay in Ghana doing what they normally do wh ...

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

All we are telling the gaa to do is this. Learn a thing from the Jamaica system. Don't just send gh athletes overseas to div 3 schools expecting miracles. But do ur research, prepare the kids and put them in the right conditi ...

• Ayitey 10 years ago

Here is where we need the Sports Minister. Where is he in this story which involves several sporting activities? He should reduce his superfluous attention on football and make time to develop the other sports which are sinki ...

• GYAKABRAM 10 years ago

Thank God. At last Padingo is doing something apart from politics. He has for once shown some positive result for Ghana Athletics. I hope that some of the talents that Rex Brobbey has been discovering are being included in th ...

Why don't we invest in a Ghanaian institution, provide top-flight facilities, etc. Why do we think that everything overseas is what we should have?

i dont understand why prof dodooo can emulate wat the jamaicans are doing? a small island nation producing the best track athletes with less money. cant u learn smthing from them? i would rather send these gh athletes to jama ...

• abeka quaye 10 years ago

We can never find long distance tunners in ghana. It does not exist here. Focus on sprinters..where in the world have u seen a west african long distance runner???lets be real

• Antwon 10 years ago

My question is how was the selection done ?
    What was the criteria for the selection ?
    Or some bib men somewhere divided to send there girl friends to us I'm the name of college sports ,
    Are this athlete the best we have to ...

• Antwon 10 years ago

The list is total girls can someone explain to me why ?
    The answer most of this girls has not qualifier to be on this trip but because our Big men has been doing dodgy deals with this girls .
    Trust me this girls are not the ...

• Konoreyawa 10 years ago

Progress progress.

• BETTER TRAINING, EXPOSURE & EDUCAT KE 10 years ago

EXCELLENT INITIATIVE AND JAMAICANS DO THE SAME. MORE OF THESE STUDENTS IN USA WILL CHANGE AND HELP A LOT.

• Koo Nkansa 10 years ago

This is what we needed all along.Send them out to school and to train with the best,monitor their performance regularly,help them out when they need it and surely when the nation needs them, they will respond.That may also re ...

• Rosalind 10 years ago

It is a shame that there has been many negative comments. As no funding has been given in recent years for Athletes, there was no other alternative than to send these promising young people abroad. if countries like UK can ...

• KANE 10 years ago

OTILO!!!

THESE ATHLETES WILL DISAPPEAR INTO THIN AIR AFTER THEIR COURSES.

MARK MY WORDS!!

ONLY A FOOL WILL RETURN TO THAT HOPELESS COUNTRY CALLED GHANA.

I HOPE THEY'RE NOT KWASIAFUOR LIKE GHANA'S LEADERS.

THEY ...

• mark 10 years ago

I found out that this is real helpful to our nation pls I beg people out there have to stop thinking about negative less issues think positive it might happen to any one of you family member as well

Send them to the University of Oregon. The listed universities and Group C colleges in terms of sports. Maybe the one in Texas might be promising. The rest, forget it. No name colleges.

DONT SEND THESE GIRLS TO SOME CASSAVA DIV 3 SCHOOLS WHERE THEIR ONLY OPTION OUT OF GH.IS TO FIND JOBS ON COLLEGE CAMPUSES TO STAY IN THE US. SEND THEM TO WARM AREAS, COLLEGES WITH PROVEN TRACK RECORDS OF PUSHING OUT WINNERS.

• Adu Nana Richmond 10 years ago

May Allah bless the phooooooooobians thus Agogo and Dadzie

• OPOKU YAW AKUOKO 10 years ago

amen

• OPOKU YAW AKUOKO 10 years ago

may God help Ghana.God bless Ghana

WITH THIS FIT BODY. SOME NIGGA WILL PREG THESE GH FEMALE ATHLETES IN NO TIME. IN THIS COLD WEATHER..HMMM. IF YOU WANT US PAPER, THEN BORN OOOO. THERE GOES THE OLYMPIC DREAM....MUHAAHAHAHAHAA!