You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2017 01 16Article 501502

Revoke Catherine Afeku’s nomination over fraud - Group demands

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Adwoa 7 years ago

If she has that record then she does not qualify...

• Paa 7 years ago

This more likely a civil case that cannot prevent one from standing for or holding public office. If I do business with you, you can take me to court to settle some disagreement over a business transation. If the court rules ...

• Philip 7 years ago

Stop the nonsense!! Stop the deceit! It has clearly been stated that this was a case of fraud and you water it down to 'disagreement'! What's wrong with you people????,

• ver 7 years ago

Yes fraudsters like her must not be given appointments

• Rev Edwin 7 years ago

No if this is true then her appointment was an error, that must be changed ASAP.
    This is the New Ghana.

• OBRONI IN TOWN 7 years ago

REV EDWIN, PRAY HARD AND FAST SO AS NOT TO FOOL YOURSELF, MOST OF THE OLD KUFFOUR GUARDS ARE ALL OLD WAR HORSES WITH A CORRUPTION TAG HANGING OVER THEIR NECK! YOU THINK NPP DON'T KNOW WHAT THE GROUP ARE SAYINGS, WATCH THEY WO ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

There is a difference between an allegation and a conviction.The group claims she is been convicted by a court of law for fraud.She can't even stand as a law maker! Some allegations are mere allegations and remain so with no ...

• Oburoniba Fitafita 7 years ago

We fought hard to bring change from the past corrupt government officials. We shall not tolerate even the appearance of corruption in this new administration. If it is true that she was found guilty then why didnt Nana check ...

• Kkd 7 years ago

Hahaha she will help in the cocaine trade

• Godwin Chicago 7 years ago

Fraud is a criminal case.

• jim 7 years ago

It is unfortunate that this information if known to the President was not acted upon. No this lady and the husband should never be considered or nominated for such appointments. Please save this country.

• Koo Nimo 7 years ago

Go to Parliament Appointnment Committee and argue your case there. If indeed you are blame and able to stand by your allegation.

• A STORY READ 7 years ago

https://www.newsghana.com.gh/fraud-npps-catherine-afeku-pay-217464-00-us-couple/

• Naa Nana 7 years ago

Go away do you know how much he contributed to the campaign.
    Is not about qualification, is about paying back our debts if you do not know.

• Concerned 7 years ago

some of us may be naive but we were all hoping this is going to be a government of the meek, innocent and naive. the new order.
    lets see

• Paa 7 years ago

Do you really believe Naa Nana's Comment? You've been tricked by an NDC agent provocateur seeking to cause disaffection for the NPP government.

It is also important to note that fraud is a crime. If the Afekus were convic ...

• Honest 7 years ago

Naa, sorry but Foolish justification

• BBZ 7 years ago

NA IF THIS IS THE MINDSET THAT YOU HAVE, SORRY TO SAY YOU ARE STUPID AND OF THE SAME FRAUDULENT CHARACTER AND KNOW NOTHING ABOUT GOVERNANCE. SO ARE YOU GOING TO COMPENSATE DRUG DEALERS WHO CONTRIBUTED TO NANA'S CAMPAIGN? WE A ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

She contributed to the campaign from fraudulent cash so she gets to become a lawmaker? I don't think so!

• Paa 7 years ago

You're an NDC footsoldier pretending to be speaking for the NPP. It's an old trick in the Book of Propaganda

• Obroni 7 years ago

Her order is to make income for Ghana but I don't think by duping foreigners.

• Bolewura 7 years ago

Note readers there is difference between debt and fraud

• Honest 7 years ago

Hey dismissal straight

• cuuh!. 7 years ago

Mr Prez, this is what the people are saying & it might be true. Drop her.

• OBSERVER 7 years ago

Drop her already. We can't have anybody in high places in Ghana government with this kind of record.

• Claudia 7 years ago

This woman is tainted material. NPP does not need this baggage. She lacks credibility to be an ambassador for Ghana's tourism industry. Besides, what she did is outright illegal. She colludes with the legal parents of som ...

• Malam Kwasi Bonsu 7 years ago

Especially where you have a criminal record most Embassies would refuse you a visa.

Secondly she should remember what the US Embassy did to Anita De Sossa, womens organiser of the NDC.

She was denied a Visa as a result ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

If, now if it is alleged she is been convicted in a law court, she has no reason even to be in parliament, let alone a minister.I hope the NPP is listening.

• KSI 7 years ago

I dont understand this group, this woman is a Member of Parliament. If indeed she is fraudster, why would you sit down for her to be elected as MP? Again, if the group think they have evidence that she was convicted and decla ...

• OBSERVER 7 years ago

It is very true that she and her husband were convicted in an Accra court. Here is the link.
    https://www.newsghana.com.gh/fraud-npps-catherine-afeku-pay-217464-00-us-couple/

• VICTOR BAIDOO, SOUTH AFRICA 7 years ago

IF THIS ALLEGATION IS TRUE THEN MADAM AFEKU SHOULD NOT BE MADE MINISTER, AND SHOULD NOT SERVE ANY POSITION IN THE NEW GOVERNMENT. IT WILL BE VERY DISAPPOINTING IF PRESIDENT NANA ADDO FAILS TO LISTEN

• Dan Buduh 7 years ago

Mr President, if this woman has been condemned by the courts in Ghana for fraud and was asked to pay this huge sum of dollars, PLEASE drop her immediately. If you drop her from the nominations, you will prove your sound integ ...

• Patoo 7 years ago

Akuffo Addo should look into the matter. If it is true, he should revoke that appointment. Mr. President, we trust you that you can deliver. That is the reason why we have given you our mandate. Please don't disgrace us. Ple ...

• mashud 7 years ago

Anti - corruption campaigner never know this. They are all the same. When will the saviour come to Ghana our motherland

• Francis 7 years ago

So call TAG if you think you are good Ghanaians go and arrest all the NDC cabinet they are big thieves, stealing national money to buy houses both inside and outside Ghana especially Kofi Adams and co.Honourable Catherine Afe ...

• kobbybans 7 years ago

We 4 no dem first oooh b4 dey cm to office, gud wrk dere by de group.

• inercycl 7 years ago

The president should investigate this allegation carefully and if she is been convicted of anything, her nomination should be withdrawn immediately.Nana's advisors should look closely at this issue.

• Paa kwesi takyi 7 years ago

Nkwaseafuo nkurasefuo whobre u to decide for NANAwedere fraudster or not she will be de minister so go and burn de sea do u know de number of fraudulence things that ur so called fathers and mothers has engulf their selves in ...

• Kingsley Agyei 7 years ago

the so call president himself is a cocaine marketing expect. like NANA Addo like Catherine Afeku.

• Nii 7 years ago

Woye jimii paa

• fred USA 7 years ago

Just look at your own spelling, expert not (expect) people like you have the nerve to insult Nana because some internet cafe guy allowed you to have access to the internet, shame on you now. I think people like you will benef ...

• Nii 7 years ago

Her nomination must surly be revoked with immediate effect. We don't want people with criminal records holding very sensitive positions in our public circles.

• the devils advocate 7 years ago

"Nana"the anticorruption warrior must have known of this fraudster issue when he nominated this character.Is it her expertise as a fraudster that earned her the nomination? May be the NPP desperately needs her skills in this ...

• Avitorba 7 years ago

This issue needs to be investigated by the President and Parliament and if culpability could be established, then the President may reconsider her nomination.

• koffi parker 7 years ago

leave her alone every fraudster is creative

• Toro 7 years ago

If she had that record then she should not have been allowed to be voted into parliament

• Old Soldier 7 years ago

So are we going to allow our Drill ship case to die just like that? Well man has his way of handling things but God will be the final decider. One day one day the real judgment will be told.

• Mensah Abrompah 7 years ago

Your excellency, Nana Ado Danquah Akufu Ado, kindly pay heed to this advice by getting the evidence which could easily be called from the court which adjudicated this case in questing. the woman could be dangerous to the stat ...

• K-Manu 7 years ago

I will suggest that the group channel their concerns to the parliamentary vetting committee to look into that. The President might not have the facts to either retain her nomination or withdraw it. The facts will come out dur ...

• Anane 7 years ago

Gee! What an indictment. If this is true, believe me the Americans will damage her efforts in the international level and the tourism business in Ghana will die. I hope thorough investigations will be done for an appropriate ...

• KWAME MOSI 7 years ago

IF CLAIMS ARE TRUE NANA MUST WITHDRAW
    HER NOMINATION

Some of the nominees for Ministerial appointments have one problem or another, thieves ,fraudsters etc. They should be well screened in a non partisan manner.

• mahama 7 years ago

Oh Nzemale, for how long are we going to stop this pull him down attitude? while Eves are applauding their nomination, we are dragging ours down. Shame unto you faceless group.You have use this since 2008 for your campaign bu ...