You are here: HomeNewsHealth2014 07 05Article 315601

Dog meat now a delicacy

Read Comments Comments (102)

• Intel Inside, Idiots Outside 9 years ago

Rubbish

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

When hostilities prevail people are compared to do strange things. With economy of the country in tank and men struggling to feed their families or children, why not turn on the most known best friend of men from the animal k ...

• Mends. The Lone Ranger. 9 years ago

Webmaster, can you please remove this disgusting and revolting picture of slain dogs. Thank God, Asante region is not part of heinous crime against mans' best friend. It's all due to poverty in these regions mentioned that h ...

• max france. 9 years ago

the AKYEM ppls chop dog meat ever since God created this earth. so dont think it is the northern region alone.

• NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 9 years ago

These Ghana people can eat anything. Haba! Dogs are now delicacy in Ghana. What a Nation. No wonder JJ Rawlings class them dogs. Who born dogs?

• Justice 9 years ago

My friend, stop trooping on this site looking for negative stories. There was a report recently, can't remember if it was the bbc or the guardian but, there's a market in nigeria that sells smoked snakes and dog meat. Don't c ...

• Lynnell 9 years ago

It's not only snakes and dogs anago people eat. They eat human body parts and horse's poo.

It it true that Ghanaians also eat rat poops? That is disgusting!

• GHFUO, what is your Legacy/Purpose?! 9 years ago

THE STRAY DOGS IN ACCRA ARE IN BIG TROUBLE. POOR DOGS! THESE STRAY DOGS ARE SO WILD. THE MOVE IN PACKS!..WILD DOGS. PPL ARE KILLING N USING THEIR MEAT FOR KHEBAB

Who told you the Naija eat human being? If it true, how l wish they use your kokonte head for the weekend pepper soup. By the way, what happen to Ghanaians Albinos during the 2008 election in Ghana? I heard that you eat them ...

• CONTEMNOR 9 years ago

Nigerians are notorious cannibals.

Two freshly severed human heads wrapped in cellophane were reportedly discovered at a hotel restaurant which served human flesh, according to a Nigerian newspaper.

Police officers ap ...

Look at this cocoase Ghanaian bastard pot calling Nigeria kettle black. Aren't you ashamed of your notorious your stone aged Ghanaian cultures of barbarism which is an open secret anyway.
    Who doesn't know that Ghanaians are ...

Shameless CONTEMNOR, can you explain to the whole world why a Nation who termed herself as the so-called 'gateway to Africa' brought shame to the continent with a gangantuant money laundry openly to the amazement of the whole ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

I DONT THINK YOU ARE A NIGERIAN! AND EVEN IF YOU ARE SINCE WHEN DID YOU RETURN THERE? SHUT UP AND EAT GHANAIAN DOGS BECAUSE SINCE YOU NIGERIANS CAME TO GHANA THE DEMAND FOR DOG MEAT HAS INCREASED! NIGERIA IS A BIZAAR COUNTRY ...

Bizaar country? What kind of statement is that? Is that twi-glish? Hahahaha
    Dog meat has turn some Ghanaians in barking mad dogs. Who born dog! Hahahaha

Nigeria economy is the BIGGEST in Africa, and one of the ten in the world, and still growing. And you have the audacity to call the great Nigeria, a bizarre country? Oooop l mean twi-glish 'bizaar!' Hanahana

• rOB 9 years ago

Dog meat consumption has been known to cause Rabies outbreaks sometimes.
    There seems to be conflicting statements about dog meat. If a dog in the market costs more than a goat, how then can its meat cost 2 cedis a pound...fa ...

• Guv 9 years ago

Matter be this?

• OLDMAN GYASI 9 years ago

---------AND WHAT ABOUT A CAT----------

And rats poops? Ghana people can eat anything.

• Awurade kasa 9 years ago

DOG MEET IS ONE OF THE HIGHEST CONSUMED MEATS IN NIGERIA.
    THEY CALL IT "404" NAMED AFTER THE CREST IN FRONT OF THE 404 PEUGEOT CAR.

What do you call it in Ghana? After all it now a DELICACY in Ghana. Who born dog?

• WHOEVER 9 years ago

WHO BORN GHANA DOGS?.FUNNY!.LOOK AT THIS PAA PITII THE MUGU YARO,I THINK NEMESIS RADAR BORNED THESE DOGS IN UK AND TRANSPORT THEM TO GHANA.SURE THEY ARE THE CHILDREN OF DI AMARA NEMESIS AND DI EBA NEMESIS RADAR.

Who born dogs! JJ breeds them for the consumption of Ghanaians, hence the words Who born dog? Is that cleared?

Enjoy your dog meat. I don't envy you at all.

• Original MUGU YARO 9 years ago

WALLAHI THANK U BABA, DONT MIND THOSE CRIMINALS!!!!

• Agyeman 9 years ago

IT IS SAID, "ONE MAN'S MEAT IS ANOTHER MAN'S POISON"!

• Mr Dallas 9 years ago

hardship in the country has made young guys to embark on poor dogs for meat ; trouble don come

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Every gain we made as a nation from 1957 thru 1980 has gone down the toilets and I do not believe this talk of the "new middle class" as Ghana has never grown the middle class. The so-called middle class is not a new phenomen ...

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 9 years ago

Very much indication that power has gone far to the dogs. You can't excape dogman "Better Ghana Agender",dogman economy,dogman tax,dogman pads,dogman rampant dog delicacy etc. The Pepeni delicate dog eating activity is now a ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

This is where poverty has landed people who have decided to VOTE FOOLISHLY. WHO EATS DOG?

• Asou 9 years ago

You will not believe this until they steal and eat your well bred and kept dog. They have strange ways of stealing them too.

• NAME101 9 years ago

those eating dog meat should be careful .dogs are carriers of the RABIES VIRUS .Ministry of Health this is the time to inform the public about the dangers eating dog meat

• Mozato 9 years ago

Pretty soon, the Atingas and the Trokosis will take over Accra and kumasi as there natural homebase. They breed like pigs. No wonder cat and dog meet chomping is gaining such notoriety in the south.

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

You are a bloody Akyem dog-eating bastard. Ewes don't eat dogs like your dirty custom. Besides, they don't have sex with their mothers like you swines do which often result in you dogs writing your mothers' names as your surn ...

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

But the Ewes have sex with their sisters and daughters. What is the difference or preference? We are all primitive and need to grow up!

• ELINAN 9 years ago

We all haven't done growing!!

• BBC 9 years ago

How dare you publish such horrific pictures of dead dogs. You've no brains at all in your empty coconut head. Are you guys human beings or animals.

• Kwame Ansah Opare 9 years ago

I find it amusing that people like you pretend to know everything.... show me one international conventions that bars the use of dog as food. the fact that you do not like it does not mean others should also follow. About fou ...

• kwadwo. 9 years ago

If eating dogs is acceptable to you, then you are a bastard and a peace of shit.

• Philip 9 years ago

We don't have to eat dog it is mans best friend.

• HE'S NOT AFFRAID 9 years ago

DOG MEAT NOW A DELICACY

• TK Boy 9 years ago

How dare you publish such a picture in the month of fasting. You are so insensitive to us and when we complain, you accuse us of being violent moslems.

• JOHN 9 years ago

Many MOSLEMS are moving from the north to the south and that is why dog meat is becoming a delicacy in the south.

• abz 9 years ago

its not true is because of poverty poor ghana economy cant buy real meat so they can only eat unwanted meat shame

• GEORGE 9 years ago

FOR SALE

BMW X5 3.0L, US SPECIFICATION
    ALFA ROMEO 159 2.3L ITALIAN SPECS.
    ALL IN MINT CONDITION.

CALL 026 150 4701

• b-awonye 9 years ago

Well rabies like one has pointed out already below. The effect? death cost? Human lives and billions of cedis. What does it mean? No pay nor salary for health worker as all will ne ploughed into bring more rabies related illn ...

• adanko 9 years ago

With the rate of decline in the economy, i am not surprised that people have turned to eating dog meat. Any animal that roams free will eventually be dinner for someone. Watch out frogs and lizards!!

• Mans, London 9 years ago

And fellow human beings too. JJ saved people from eating grass roots to death. Even then, we had the sanity to protect our dogs. These Asantes frowned on certain acts in public but ate grass roots in solitary silence. Some mi ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A little boy and his father are walking down the street, and they see two dogs having sex.
    The little boy asks his father, Daddy, what are they doing?
    The father says, “Making a puppy.So they walk on and go h ...

• Bush Doctor 9 years ago

Hi Prince willy, There is a possibilties of a spike in Gonorrhoea cases if this trend of eating dog meat continues. Because most Ghanaian will eat/drink anything to get big balls.

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

MANY OF THE DOGS HAVE RABIES AND YOU WILL SEE HUMANS BACKING LIKE DOGS AT THE PSYCHIATRIC WARDS

• Emmanuel nettey Davidson -chicagoj 9 years ago

Are this dogs rabies free.??????

• awabu 9 years ago

Dog meat has been a delicacy in the Central Region for a very long time. Make no mistake about that.

• saint 9 years ago

enti Oman Ghana paaa ni ohia enti nipa rewe wowow bodam nam

• ROSE 9 years ago

BLACK AFRICANS ARE KNOWN ACROSS THE WORLD AS VERY CRUEL, INSENSITIVE AND PRIMITIVE HUMANS, AND THIS GHASTLY PICTURE DEMONSTRATES THAT VALID PERCEPTION OF BLACK AFRICANS.

LOOK HOW BLACKS TREAT THEIR VERY FOUR-LEGGED "FRIEND ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 9 years ago

Dear sister Rose, please read what I have posted previously, and ask yourself if there is any difference between Africans and any other group of people on this planet.

The negative propaganda being spewed by Africa's enemi ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Thank you to be a VANGUARD.

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

I would like to measure and imagine the level of your adrenalin when you signed off the comments. At the end of the day, the superiority you preach has not enabled your race to overcome death which awaits all the races. That ...

• OneGhana 9 years ago

While I will not even look for a second where dog meat is being served, I tend to disagree with your comments. Are you aware that they dog meat in Korea and the Phillipines? Are they Africans or black. Sometimes your ignoranc ...

• achipelago 9 years ago

The demography of Ghana is changing now and most of the northern people in search for greener pastures have moved southwards bringing their eating of dog meat south. But why should people eat dog at all in the first place. In ...

• delia 9 years ago

Stupid achip, do you know that northerners are muslims and don't even eat pork let alone dogs?

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

What about the Dagatis? Ask Bagbin and co. They are from the north.

• hh 9 years ago

Poku work on your geography. Dagartis are from the upper region mostly christian. Northerners are mainly muslim and pigs are a taboo to eat.

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

I guess you don't know your geography yourself. Northerners are people from northern Ghana which comprises of the north region, upper east, and upper west.

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Let truth be spoken.

• kafilu 9 years ago

great wording

I know of a man who grew up in Indonesia, ate dog meat and today he is the president of the most powerful country on earth, President Barak Obama, USA.

I read an article in the New York Times, many years ago, where they ...

You should be ashamed of yourself, I hope that you understand the word "SHAME".

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Very ugly oldman

Akufo Addo is very stupid

• Ashanti monkey eaters 9 years ago

Ashantis eat monkeys , ants , Worms, snails and do human scricfies. Timid , wicked and uncivilsed People of mother Ghamna

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

The Ashantis have certainly seized your mind. You can never a discussion without talking about them. Are they that powerful?

• Ashanti monkey eaters 9 years ago

Just puting the records right on who eats what in Ghana, so do not be hurt because of the truth even though it hurts you. So be bold and take it in good faith as you are called BE BOLD yourself because all I said is true.

Their pussy smell a lot

• XXX 9 years ago

Until Mahama became President, eating dog meat was not popular. Why now? May be NDC foot soldiers have now been introduced to the delicacy.

• Kojo Abonsam 9 years ago

The know it's their Royal Meat ever since.

• BRAHA 9 years ago

No more eating rats ?

• yaw Joe 9 years ago

Talk on your own affairs(prosperity)

• mohammed 9 years ago

masa why do other tribes scared of the ashantis hahaha we know we are powerful so kwasiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa diot mind your tribe and aboaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa funu from foolish tribe

• Lolulou 9 years ago

In Ghana they have always eaten dog meat - please done talk about a dog being a man's best friend in Ghana! Its a joke how they treat animals!

• WHOEVER 9 years ago

THIS IS STUPID NEWS!.DON'T YOU KNOW THAT THESE NORTHNERS ARE EVERYWHERE IN GHANA?.MOST OF THESE PEOPLE ARE NORTHNERS WHO HAVE COME TO THE SOUTH WITH THEIR BARBARIC BEHAVIOURS.THESE PEOPLE CAN'T LIVE TOGETHER WITH THE AKAN PEO ...

• magarrita 9 years ago

Why wont people eat dog meat? Mahama administration is bad enough for people to eat the meat because they cant afford to buy goat or sheep meat. There is going to be a situation where people will begin to eat human flesh unde ...

• JB Osei-Brown 9 years ago

• tweaaaaa 9 years ago

Ghanaians are disgusting vile, depraved filth. which progressive country eats dogs. carnivores can never be a sustainable source of meat. foolish people. that's why the black nigger will always be the dustbin of humanity.

• SHAKARA 9 years ago

REMEMBER NOT ALL GHANAIANS EAT DOG .
    MPEPEFO AND NOW THOSE ALONG THE COAST ARE ALSO JOINING THEM. NO ASHANTI WILL EAT DOG, GOD FORBID

KWASIA. WAT DO NAIJA PPL EAT? HUMANS..GO TO CHINA N INDIA N SEE WAT THEY EAT. DO U EAT DICK?

A white man came to your website not only to insult your culture and country, but also trampled upon your race. Instead of you motherfucker Ghfuo boy to put him and his race where they belongs, you foolishly chosed the easy t ...

• Vv 9 years ago

Nemesis, I can't believe you're such a hypocrite. Aren't you the one who started insulting Ghanaians first upon hearing this story?

• tweaaaaa 9 years ago

fucking savages, which progressive country on this earth eats dogs. backward piece of dog eating shithead. and you savages are not even ashamed to put this on your news. filthy fools

• GoatEater 9 years ago

Here in my village, this is great news indeed. The more dogs people eat, less the pressure on goats - the meat of choice in the village.

• SHAKARA 9 years ago

GOD FORBID ASHANTIS WONT EAT DOG.
    ONLY GAS AND THOSE ALONG THE COAST FIND
    DOG MEAT GOOD.

EVERYTHING HAS A SEASON. TODAY ITS DOGS. TOMORROW IT ANTELOPE. NEXT YEAR ITS PIG. THE FOLLOWING YR ITS ELEPHANT. NAIJA PPL EAT HUMAN FLESH...SO AS THE ECONOMY GETS WORSE. THE LESS PREDICTABLE THE MEAT OF CHOICE WILL BE

• Nii from Mamprobi 9 years ago

Abomination: eating dogs, cats, pigs, bats or shellfish.

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Woaaa tie! Ao ad3n; oo me man Ghana? John Mahama is a curse for Ghana. People have to eat dog meat to stay alive.

• Kofi B 9 years ago

With mounting economic hardship, local folks will soon be targeting lizards for sustenance! Yet this government, with misplaced priorities, shipped taxpayers' $3M in the middle of the night to a bunch of mercenary footballers ...

• ensorerobby texas , u.s.a 9 years ago

And no one is even talking about RABIES and whether these dogs are infested or not. Continue enjoying your dog meat with drinks you are just gradually accumulating RABIES and the end results very bad for these youths who thin ...

• kafilu 9 years ago

my religion will permit me to eat dog meat

• big 9 years ago

people should not let the secret out or else the price will shoot up

• Mars 9 years ago

It Verry sad, oh Africa, himmm

• Kobina 9 years ago

I've eaten Cat, Kusi, Tortoise, Monkey and Monitor when I was growing up in Ghana.
    Muslims, Jews, Hindus will eat Pigs,Cattle and Dogs when faced with starvation.
    Chinese ate anything that grows, now cattle they consume mor ...

• b-awonye 9 years ago

If this is true then, preachers you need to preach and pray fervently. You may even be more aware of the implications of similar things in the Holy bible where the enemy of God uses such things to attack the spirits minds and ...

• Randy Lee 9 years ago

I knew it haf to be backwards people that do this! Why in the world would a person believe that eating dog meat would keep them safe from witches and wizards? Grow up people. You do not live in Harry Potter Land. There is no ...