You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2016 03 06Article 421245

64-year-old Ghanaian woman jailed for smuggling heroin to NY

Read Comments Comments (133)

• Black American Man 8 years ago

Which tribe is she so the arguments can begin?

Waiting inward people?

PS: What is the name of her son?

• Mohammed Awuni 8 years ago

These days the last name hardly tells where one come from

You see my name, u probably think I am from the North.... but I am a Ga from Nima

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-OFOSUAA.....

The problem of school children sitting on bare floor in classrooms especially in the northern part of the country is far from over.
    After the Kperisi Basic School exposé which generated a lot of cont ...

• juliet Addo 8 years ago

Old soldier you are stupid,go and check the money left in npp account and see who needs money to campaign.

• Saint Ghfuo: FREE YOUR PSYCHE 8 years ago

KUMAWOOD WILL JUMP ALL OVER THIS...MUAHAHAAAAAAAA...SERIOUS!

• P Djamgbe. 8 years ago

Awuni you absolutely right. Some times people react to my comments thinking I am ewe, but I ain't.

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-OFOSUAA.....

JJ Rawlings knows too well that he has unleashed a group of monsters and nation wreckers on Ghanaians bcos this current ndc is never what he dreamt of at all at all…..this ndc fears to use the very w ...

• yaa dua 8 years ago

A Ga from nima?

• P Djamgbe. 8 years ago

Yes a Ga from Nima, what is so strange about that?

• Apuskele 8 years ago

I cannot think of any Ga who comes from Nima.

• kweku trouble 8 years ago

Nima is Ga land. The origional naame is Niiman, just like Amasaman. It's no coincidence that Aziz Futa's father who is the chief of Nima is called Nii Futa. So it's possible.

• Exposure 8 years ago

No Ga comes from Nima is true, although Nima belongs to a one of the seven divisions of the Gas. My mind tells me the man intends to say that he stays in Nima.

• TK 8 years ago

You are a big lair,no any Ga will bear the name Mohammed Awuni and has no northern blood in him.You can be called mohammed maybe you like the name or you have bocome muslim.But Awuni is another story,am also a Nimania.

• THE VOICE 8 years ago

CARE TAKERS IN ASHANTI REG.GAVE BIRTH AND NAMED THEIR KIDS AFTER THEIR FARM OWNERS AND THEIR WIVES.I KNOW A DAGARTI MAN WHO WAS NAMED AFTER THE LATE BANTAMA HENE
    WHO WAS MURDERED BY JJ AS NANA OWUSU AMANKWAATIA.NOW NO CAN I ...

• Ali 8 years ago

Which Asante animal has no pepe blood in them. There in no more pure Asante animal in Ghana anymore. There is no need to elucidate anymore. Go ask your mothers to confess to you who your real dad is. A bunch of bastards.

• Musah 8 years ago

you filthy toilet worm baboon

• Bukari Fulani 8 years ago

impregnated. They have exchanged sex for meat many times-my father is a butcher. Will their children insult my people as pepe?

In Agogo so many women bear my children!

• Ga from Nima 8 years ago

Nima is not a Ga community

• Ga from Nima 8 years ago

Nima is not a Ga community, is more of a Zongo community

• MUMUNI 8 years ago

No any Ga from Nima a dirty sub of Accra.

• Yaw Adu-Gyamfi 8 years ago

Sensible Awuni. I am an Ewe but my dad named me after his friend from BA who saved him from drowning just before l was born . They were friends till the death of my dad. Mr Adu-Gyamfi still calls me. Can we end this tribal ha ...

• Odikro 8 years ago

Did you notice she could not speak English and had to speak through an interpreter? Does that suggest to you where she comes from. US authorities do not even have interpreters for some of the tribes. Amanor, Amanor.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

Well its obvious she is one of these ayigbe women hiding behind the name used buy some Gas by identity. Her retarded stupid excuses proves that point

• Blacksoul 8 years ago

Where from all this tribal stuff my friend

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

say that to your fucked up NDC govt who know only how to appoint pepeni/ayigbe criminals and spread since the time of their jj anti Akan hate

• selorm 8 years ago

your mother pussy.you should know Amanor is Ga/Adangme name.why always Ewe

• Yaa 8 years ago

She's Ghanaian end of!

• Bernice, USA 8 years ago

Yes, the USA immigration have interpreters for most languages please

• The Stallion 8 years ago

My friend, this is not tribalism or politics.

Besides, names do not determine one's tribal or political affiliation.

Understand?.

• BEYEDEN 8 years ago

COULD YOU BELIEVED A BUKINABEE IS CALLED AGYEMAN PREMPEH?.IF IT WERE TO BE IN OLDEN DAYS HE WOULD HAVE LOST HIS PLANK HEAD.

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You moron piece of shit.

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Without doubt, this a typical Ashanti name. You will never come across Amano from any other tribe. Even the bleaching confirms she is Ashanti.

• Kay 8 years ago

@ APONKYE I am Asante and very proud though I proud to be a Ghanain first. You know what I should be angry with your tribal bigotry comments against Asantes on this platform on any issue. I m not but rather laughing. You know ...

• Chief 8 years ago

Aponkye is a goat and a goat is aponkye. Kwasea, aponkye b3333.

• Concerned 8 years ago

Aponkye, you are confusing me.mahama's wife isn't ashantie but she's as bleached as a monkey's backside

• Dobgey 8 years ago

She wae sent by Useless Asiedu nketia and useless president JOHN deadgoat Mahama

• Musah 8 years ago

you smell like your name, ofui

• Big Mama 8 years ago

No wonder you're aponkye, Amanor is a guan name and some krobos and ga-adamgbe people have that name, so learn, wonder if you can even read...

• P Djamgbe. 8 years ago

That's very funny; I can't stop laughing.

• FOYOOSIS 8 years ago

Why do you have to come out with this funny question at all? If i should ask you one question, do you know the actual tribe of the lady who was carrying two names, Nayele Ametefe aka Ruby Adu Gyamfi? You probably might have f ...

• THE VOICE 8 years ago

Are trying to take on Ashanti names
    the Ashantis are now sacrificial lamb
    they're now the niggers in Ghana sell out
    DONKOMI.

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

I feel sorry for your comment. What has this doing with tribe? Where she comes from in Ghana is not a problem but we must admit it that she is from Ghana.

• Egya Atta 8 years ago

Look, at what NDC has done, they have killed ali businesses in Ghana. Heavy taxes at home, at the market, and worst of it all at the ports that many Ghanaians doing good businesses have lost their capital/jobs and have now t ...

• The Stallion 8 years ago

When you are leaving Ghana and someone brings you a parcel; he/she gets offended if you try to open it to see what is inside.
    Our country will remain like that.

• My name. 8 years ago

If I ice can't see what's in what ever package, it's not coming with me. But in the case of this lady, she was clearly lying and tried to scam the system.

• iGreat! 8 years ago

My friends, I don’t take anything except cash. I am sorry. One good gesture and you roasted. The evil of our time is dreadful.

• Aba 8 years ago

How many Ghanaians bring in items into the country without knowing the content? Don't blame her, she was set up. She is innocent but quilty due to her stupidity. Something we can all associate with. This is a lesson to all Gh ...

• FOYOOSIS 8 years ago

You kidding me dude! Giving me a sealed package to take along without seeing the content "fidi gadokyi"? You lie bad massa!

Not even if you are my family member. Never do that mistake even if they turn to call you an anima ...

• DI ASEM PA 8 years ago

What's the meaning of 'FIDI GADOKYI'?

• Suman 8 years ago

Same as "feeli-feeli", meaning "seeing is believing and nothing secret/hidden".

• FOYOOSIS 8 years ago

Seeing is believing, live, in Hausa! If i'm not mistaken, someone should correct me, though, if i got it wrong.

It's a "Hausa street word" used in most corners of Ghana just as "walai talai," hahaha, "Mugu Yaro" you've lea ...

• Sumaila Atolai. 8 years ago

It means "the track is in front of the horse" literally meaning let's see what you can do.it should say GAA FIILI GAA DOOKI.Its HAUSA language .

• FOYOOSIS 8 years ago

Thanks for the lesson and correction!

I think fish and other food items should be out of the question. The person who gave he the things to carry is probably sitting in his or her air conditioning home having no care about her pain and suffering

• Serve you Right 8 years ago

What a shame! Now you will be deported to Ghana and lose some weight. At your age don't you know you have to live a law abiding life and die in America gracefully?

• Koololo 8 years ago

At her age with money she would be the typical sugar-mummy for 25yr old University students in Accra or Kumasi. These are the ones the University students like.

Now all she would have is an ugly lesbian as a girlfriend in ...

• P Djamgbe. 8 years ago

Die in America gracefully? Serve You Right, I guess you've never lived in a foreign land before? What do you take these western countries for, heaven?

• Sam 8 years ago

she knew what she was doing. She should be banned travelling abroad.

• Suman 8 years ago

Remember your fellow Ghanaians are absolute USERS, and being
    semi-literate, why would she implicate her son if NOT true?

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

At this age she should have known better, what are you chasing after. Greed at the age of 64, stupid.

• ROSA PARKS 8 years ago

Ghanaians must vote out ndc and bring in credible people who will nurture this country to earn respect. Did you read the judge said she lied under oath and that shows disrespect to the law?I don't blame her because ndc have m ...

• akad 8 years ago

please please please this is no ndc npp matter. she is a Ghanaian full stop.

• Jay 8 years ago

You are a fool and i wonder if you eat grass. Is it ndc who ask her to transport the substance to the us? This is purely someones self seeking adventure and labelled this a political situation? Are you sick?

• Charles Ampah 8 years ago

The other day I bought dried cat fish from a Makola market in New York.

First of all the way the dried catfish was staring at me I knew something was very wrong. The dried fish was almost laughing at me. I just couldn't ge ...

• ghanian at heart Rose 8 years ago

You are funny as shit!! You made me laugh so hard, you would make a very good comedien. Keep it up ?

• nana yaa 8 years ago

Jesus Christ! Man u soo funny, can't stop laughing.

• steph 8 years ago

Hahahaha! I honestly sympathize with you. Next time, check the fish to make sure it isn't smiling before you buy it.

• Papa Chris (Croydon, South London) 8 years ago

Hahahaha. Infected me with your laughter

• VINCEY,NJ 8 years ago

You have floored princewilly with this one.Pls keep enjoying your dried catfish laced with heroin. The powerball will be yours soon.

• TL 8 years ago

Amanor, dear mother, inject this warm concoction into our children's veins and cry for the Fulani invaders. Sell your junk on the streets to Moslim girls and foreignors.

• 2020 8 years ago

ARREST FRAINCIS YAMOAH ND FATHER THATS OLD YAMOAH WIFE THIS BEEN GOING ON IN A LONG TIME

• Koffi 8 years ago

So Ghanaians Can such crimes least of it an aged mother, I thougth such crimes are for Nigerians, oh where have our morals gone

• P Djamgbe. 8 years ago

Kofi, in case you didn't know, crimes have everything to do with passion and passion has absolutely nothing to do with age, gender or nationality.

• koliko 8 years ago

an old ashiati bitch

• kwei 8 years ago

No short cut

• Lartey 8 years ago

Plse Amanor is a Krobo name. So stop this tribalism n talk about the issue

• Aggrey 8 years ago

Short cuts in life are always wrong

• Aggrey 8 years ago

"Shorts cuts" in life are always wrong

• AA 8 years ago

All songs you enjoy are in Ashanti. the most listened to radio stations in Accra speak two, the most watched tv stations speak two. Ashanti is Ghana. swallow that bitter pill and go kiss your mum's ass

• Adele P 8 years ago

Amen

• P Djamgbe. 8 years ago

Yes a Ga from Nima. What is so strange about that, Yaa Dua?

• Patriot 8 years ago

As usual wearing an expensive,rich kente and having rosy cheeks-all the results of years of smuggling narcotics.The government should seize all her assets when she is deported back to Ghana.Her sentence was too lenient.A disg ...

• Unjust 8 years ago

Those who have authority to seize her assets if she ever arrives in Ghana are in it so how can they seize it?

• all die be die 8 years ago

Ghanaian could do anything for money...64yrs old woman..cant laf

• sule 8 years ago

Ashanti's are dwarfs and it is only Gas who will allowed them to use their language in their land but for us in Tamale you there speak twi on radio

• Yaya 8 years ago

Boy stop lying no ashanti man will set a radio station in temale boii. We dont even go to temale because there is nothing there to do you dont have anything there that is why when tamale people come to kumasi they dont want t ...

• Kofi Totobi Kwakye 8 years ago

This is a land where the law works, unlike Ghana where one can spend his way to power or from the grips of the law. She is just a stupid old woman, many Ghanaians are. You love to go to the states, why don't you learn from th ...

• Adele P 8 years ago

Thanks so much and I have learned a lot from the Americans. Ghanaians are the most stupid people on earth. Just read all the comments and you can easily pick them out. No one has to tell you

• osei owusu 8 years ago

Long time ago and now the connection is not save anymore.we started marrying our family members for money (fake marriage)we used to swallow the stuff and bring it safely to make money.we are indeed the forerunners in everythi ...

• If I don't say it whom will??? 8 years ago

Soon, the US, Canada and Europe will impose 3 days detainment of such folks before allowing them back into the population after arriving.

Illegal fast money eventually brings jail time. Right grandma?

• osei owusu 8 years ago

Maybe a little bit dropped into the fish that got you all drugged up

• Frank 8 years ago

An Oldlady of that age in that trade? Good name they say is always better than riches. She has disgraced Amanor family

• BLACK-NINJA-ASIA... 8 years ago

I HOPE THIS TIME NO AKANS OR NIGERIANS WILL INSULT BY USLESS. PEOPLE'S IN GHANA EWE'S AND NOTHENERS NTAFUO NKWASIAFUO AMANMUO,GOD WILL PUNISH U ALL FOOL'S...

• Sammy 8 years ago

Ghanaians are even far worse than nigerians...go research the worlds greatest fraudsters and you will see at the top names like blay miezer a ghanaian who defrauded individuals and even govts so thinking that you are a kind o ...

• your mama 8 years ago

nigerians introduced the fraud shit to ghana!

• Nana 8 years ago

Aponkye and Koliko are ANIMALS.Their grandfathers were SLAVES and LABOURERS of Ashantis. Ashantis have opened their eyes and they are insulting them. ANIMALS. SHIT.

• ollenu 8 years ago

slaves to ashantis when? how can primitive people like ashantis open anybody's eyes? you people who chop off people's heads because a chief is dead. What Can u teach other people? is it the petty stealing and pickpocketing? ...

• Yaw Yeboah 8 years ago

To answer your question. Some Northerners were slaves to the Ashanti Kingdom in the 18th Century. Salaga Market was the most notorious slave market established in the Northern Region.

• President Ali Baba and the 40 thieves 8 years ago

Salaga is a town in Ghana's Northern Region and the capital of its East Gonja District. Salaga is the fifty-ninth most populous in Ghana, in terms of population, with a population of 25,472 people.In the eighteenth and ninete ...

• Jamiu 8 years ago

Amanor is Krobo name.

• nana yaa 8 years ago

Oh maame, cocaine in my chief meat (koobi)?

• Padi 8 years ago

Some people are disgracing the image of Ghana

• otoo 8 years ago

jail her 10 yrs

• A. Kubi 8 years ago

At the end of the day, she's Ghanaian. That's what matters. Let's do away with tribalism and save the country. Let's condemn what this woman did and not her tribe.

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

I find this very, very shameful. How possible that this lady could put herself in this situation.

• New Sheriff in Town 8 years ago

The BECE dropouts are struggling to find the origins of the name Amanor?
    It's either Gadangbe or Akuapim! She could have Asante or Ewe blood in her too. These days all people from ALL Ghanaian ethnic groupings speak (at leas ...

• Ali 8 years ago

NDC promoting the cocaine business in Ghana. The VVIP section has become so busy these days. ASIEDU NKETIAH should come out and deny that he and his boss are not the beneficiaries of this trade.

• ============= 8 years ago

FOOLISH WOMAN AND A DISGRACE TOO. THESE ARE THE PEOPLE WHO SHOW OFF THEIR ILL GOTTEN WEALTH WHEN THEY COME TO GHANA. STUPID WOMAN.

• ============= 8 years ago

I CAN BET MY LAST DIME SHE HAS BEEN DOING THIS FOR A WHILE NOW.

• Big Mama 8 years ago

The authorities did not mention the tribe or region she comes from but rather said a Ghanaian woman, so what's all this nonsense tribalism.

• Palmwine Tapper 8 years ago

What a shame for grandmother to be this greedy and acting this way. At Least She will loose ALL the FAT by the time she gets out. I bet she has been doing this smuggling WEED SHIT for years and this time she wasn't that lucky ...

• KWABENA KASAPREKO 8 years ago

THIS WOMAN IS A DISGRACE TO GHANA. THE USA GOVT. SHOULD DEPORT HER, AS A 'PERSONA NON GRATA.' SHE IS ONE OF THOSE GHANAIANS, WHO WHEN THEY VISIT GHANA, GO TO SHOW OFF AS IF EVERYTHING IS ROSY IN THE USA, NOT SHOWING THAT THEY ...

• John Bull 8 years ago

Deport her back to Ghana now .

• Jackson 8 years ago

These are the people who make those who have lived in America for over 20years and without houses or properties in Ghana to show for,receive a bad name,though they are trying hard to live a rightful life to make end's meet.Th ...

Masa, MOMO! MOMO! You're singing to the Choir. Every GH man or woman that I know comes to Obronikrom, or USA for short holidays or vacation or leave and returns home to GH with ALL these luxury cars and containers full of lux ...

• QST 8 years ago

INFACT THE MAGISTRATE IS A VERY GOOD MAN

• AGYA BA (SPAIN) 8 years ago

The magistrate is a man of God he would have given her 10 years

• zongo zongo 8 years ago

fast money.

• Nii Addo 8 years ago

Good news. At least she would be deported in time to vote for NPP's Nana Addo to come to power. Nana goes to visit and console anyone in trouble to show how caring he is in exchange for votes. In this instance madam Amanor ha ...

• Salifu m 8 years ago

Kill her

Narh! We're Civilized than that! She's very Lucky she wasn't caught in a Muslim country.

• John 8 years ago

From where in Ghana?

• Afua 8 years ago

You all make us look bad, and they go home and they put us down. Us who are working hard for a living.

Why should it bother us that she has the name Amanor? Outside Ghana, nobody cares which part of Ghana you come from. Once you have a Ghanaian passport, that's it!! You are a Ghanaian. Now, we are all going to be searched ...

• Efutu 8 years ago

Yes, we all stink like the Koobi she was carrying. When Delta lands at JFK, no one needs to tell you which Carousel to pick your stuff from. The scent/aroma tells it all.

• C.Stephen Sackey. 8 years ago

Folks, don't get hard on this poor woman.She didn't know what got to her. All she wanted is a three bedroom house and that one trip would have done it.
    My only problem with such nitwits- they don't think big- a la El Chapo. ...

• Abonsam Fireman 8 years ago

She is an ashanti woman and using her husband's name!

• Agyemang 8 years ago

eeeeiiiii Ghana,so now ol mama is doing it too

• 2016 8 years ago

You guys should stop this name thing.i came to usa and realized white people also use the name debra.so ask yourself are they Ghanaians? ?

• Awudu Rahini 8 years ago

She is where she belongs except the time is not long enough. 20+ years will serve her best

• Jake 8 years ago

A christain going to church every Sunday yet happy to smulggle drug into the USA. Jail; her until she is nearer her grave.

• Jeff 8 years ago

I lived in US ,bro..the have interpreters for most languages;all you have to do is asked and they will provide it for you ....no games and you get got not like Ghana ...

• Awudu 8 years ago

Stop chasing big money and become good christian or moslem.Chasing dollar will alway lead to long time prison and waste your life.Already she is too old .