That's how tax payers money are stupidly utilized. Sometimes you wonder what's actually wrong with our leaders, and how many people do you need after to work in the mission? Am glad you have brought it up for the people of ghana to read.
Man-in-Trotro 10 years ago
They are all in (the real) Oxford Street doing their Christmas shopping with the money they have stolen from the state.
Ampabeng 10 years ago
Thank God for this piece and congrats to the Concerned Ghanaian for bringing up this point. I have been campaigning for the abolition of this "One-Man-Presidency" but to be replaced with a "Presidential-Council." See? as the winner takes all, the ruling party gets no check from any quarters. But I don't believe that a sitting President is the only sensible person in the country. Absolute power goes to his hand and his party members and their cronies take the whole populace for a ride. They behave as if their country people are puppies. How silly it sounds to have all these officers without work done, yet they request to be addressed "HONORABLE." TRULY IN THE COUNTRY OF THE BLIND, ONE-EYED MAN IS ALWAYS THE KING. Our present political system is not the least understood by the politicians and must be changed with immediate effect.
Agbodaze (USA) 10 years ago
Perfect message to Mr Prez. They should be sack. They are taking moneys they don't deserved. Hope critical action is taken.
simpleton 10 years ago
What some of you dont seem to understand is that these officials are sent to those offices only and only because they are considered to be privileged - that is, they are connected to or they know someone big in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
At this point in time, nobody - as far as we are concerned, is sent on foreign postings because of their intellectual ability to handle crucial issues on behalf of the govt of Ghana.
Kobby 10 years ago
All Ghanaians are corrupt end off! It's ingrained in their bones! Sorry but that's the truth. No one follows the right processes anymore. Our govt is reflection of us!
sanjay - Abu Dhabi 10 years ago
every body is chasing money in gh and europe, but see our leaders don't care for us only politics & money is their problem, come to dubai or go qatar or saudi you will know that citizens are owners of a country not leaders, but Africa that is not, leaders are owners of everything including our tax money which was introduce to develop our countries, i will stop here and who ever is reading this must know that no day in Africa our leaders can help us or solve our problems so if you get chance to work in Europe or America just leave Africa for the leaders to corrupt their countries,Africa will remain poor and poorer until dye kingdom come!!
ABU 10 years ago
Thanks for taking this disturbing matter up, indeed one can legitimately questions the importance of the presence of this large entourage of Ghanaian officials stuffed in thé commission at the expense of the impatient services users
sammy 10 years ago
This shows the incompetence of Mhamah Government. I blame the High Commissioner they are all incompetent. I have written series of letters to the High commissioner without feedback. Not even acknowledgement. they are all there doing nothing. All they know is to attend functions, bring their families to the Uk. They don't learn and they don't care.
God will purnish all of them.
Seth Bonsu 10 years ago
This madness is not only in UK.We in the USA are experiencing the same thing.Make a phone call the whole year round and it wouldn't be answered.I sometimes wonder if they don't have a reception.
We really need to change our ... read full comment
This madness is not only in UK.We in the USA are experiencing the same thing.Make a phone call the whole year round and it wouldn't be answered.I sometimes wonder if they don't have a reception.
We really need to change our attitude.
ASEM NIE 10 years ago
This sickness has also entered Ghana Embassy in Berlin,turning visitors away.
To get visa to Ghana,you have to pay 120Euros cash instead of 50 Euro.If you post the passport and evidence of bank payment,You will not be attended to.
Why this ?
Konkonsa 10 years ago
Ghana embassy is one of the worse in UK, if not the worse.
KF 10 years ago
Ministry of Foreign affairs must as a matter of urgency recall and redeploy most of the staff immediately to stop wasting the taxpayers money. Please Mr. President ensure that the redeployment is done and done well.
REPACKER 10 years ago
THEY ARE SAME EVERY WHERE.SOMETIMES YOU ASK YOURSELF ARE THIS PEOPLE THINK AT ALL HAMMMMM. GOD WILL JUDGE.
The Illiterate 10 years ago
This kind of attitude does not only prevail in the UK. It is worst in the Netherlands. The arrogance display and lack of diplomatic manners towards visa applicants needs much to be desired.
Kwabena Aboagye 10 years ago
Why is it that many of my compatriots i,e, Ghanaians do not want to think. Very gullible indeed. How do we know whether this information provided is genuine and not concocted to achieve a desired objective?. I have read all the comments above and almost all have started lambasting the Government of Ghana whilst none has attempted to establish the authenticity of this information. This information cannot be true. What is the size of the embassy building(s) to be able to accommodate all these personnel. I have visited the High Commission at No. 104 Highgate before and I know the size of the building. No wonder my people are being cheated by disgruntled politicians who want power only to steal from the people to be given to their families like John Agyekum Kufour did.
Johannes B Awotwe 10 years ago
Whether you want to believe it not, the information provided is 100% correct. You ought to have cross-checked before making your own comment.
I'm not in the UK, I can confidently tell you that the story is not different a ... read full comment
Whether you want to believe it not, the information provided is 100% correct. You ought to have cross-checked before making your own comment.
I'm not in the UK, I can confidently tell you that the story is not different atBerlin, Germany and won't be different at Washington, USA.
Just recently, I spent three consecutive days calling the embassy at regular intervals during their working hours and believe me not a single call went through - I did not rceive "BUSY" signal either. I sent Email to the embassy and till the second I have not received any reply.
Now to the newly introduced Online-Visa application, there is a module for "Live-Chat" (Live-Chatting on visa application ? ).
Well, I initiated a chat and asked a question. Tell me whether I'm going to receive the reply today after, almost 6-weeks later.
You knew the building at 104 Highgate, but did you know the peopl inside? That is the question you have to ask yourself.
Kwabena Aboagye 10 years ago
JOHANNES, I know the High Commissioner H.E. Victor Smith will definitely respond to this reportage and set the matters therein right.
Zoko Bia Chicago 10 years ago
H E Smith is the Ambassador to the USA and not UK, where is he getting facts from.
EAGLE EYE 10 years ago
THERE ARE TWO SMITHS.ONE IN UK AND THE OTHER ONE USA, ALL FROM THE SAME MOTHER.THE USA GUY WAS IN A MILITARY, A GENERAL,AND THE OTHER ONE FORMER AID TO JJ RAWLING.
zoko bia Chicago 10 years ago
thanks for the education on this issue
Nana 9 years ago
Please don't read politics into this very important problem that need to be taken care of by the Government of the day. Good job.
Patriot 10 years ago
Kwabena, if you have nothing to say, just shut up!
I went to Highgate yesterday and asked the lady who was at the initial enquiries booth when the so called technical difficulties started. She told me it started only last week! But if I was scheduled to collect my new passport on the 16th of December, how could a problem that started only last week affect the delivery of my passport?
That list of diplomats the writer gave is credible. In fact there are about twice as many 'diplomats' in Highgate and Belgrave Square. It is a family club!
why 10 years ago
it is genuine cus am still waiting for my renewed passport to bring my family home for xmas..my ticket is for the 19th..up till now i still havent receive my passport..phonecalls dont get answered either..so you know i posted my passport 8 weeks ago.i reallly dont give a tuss whether npp or ndc..just want a good service.
Big Mama 10 years ago
Stupid fool, they are on pay roll and don't come to the office to do their job. Instead of you to address the issue you're talking jazz.
Mongozey 10 years ago
I have experiened what he is saying myself. It is like a picture of what hapenned to me in usa. If nothing like that has hapenned to you, just keep quiet and hide your stupidity boy.
The devils advocate 10 years ago
Seems to me cadres of the NDC are reaping their rewards Ghanaian style BIG TIME in London Town while supporting MR SMITH in his effort at empire building.Kalabule is dead but we now have corruption galore.CHOP CHOP! Daniema!
KOO 10 years ago
This is just job for the boys.So many masquerading as diplomats without offices or specific functions but drawing salaries from the coffers of Ghana.Oh God,where did we go wrong?.
Could it be that the issue of express passports has been suspended also in the UK?
Well, I recently read from the embassy in Berlin's home page that they have momentarily suspended the issue of express passports with effec ... read full comment
Could it be that the issue of express passports has been suspended also in the UK?
Well, I recently read from the embassy in Berlin's home page that they have momentarily suspended the issue of express passports with effect from 18th November and that any amount paid for express passports from that time will NOT be refunded.
Crazy ain't it?
Owusu 10 years ago
Yes express services of passports been suspenede in UK too since November. Was told on phone that the system was over booking appointments. Mine was cancelled. Now I need Travel document to visit family in Ghana. To be frank all UK staff are cocky and unprofessional especially the ladies
Ghanaman THE REAL 10 years ago
Oh poor Ghana, where are we heading now? This Smith Guy is the most incompetent High Commissioner we've had in London in recent past! What can one expect when these personnel are employed only as a political reward for their political loyalties?? Do they need demonstrations against them before they sit up and do the job they're being paid to do??? Shame on all of them indeed.......
germany 10 years ago
hmmmmm,anas will get them,one day.
EZEKIEL 10 years ago
London is NOT the ONLY one.This SMALL NATION of Ghana has Embassies in too many countries and we WONDER WHY therte's NO MONEY for Development at home !! ALL THESE HAVE TO BE PAID.....we say about 70% of the GDP is used in servicing debts, Judgement debts,paying Public servants.....WHAT IS LEFT FOR DEVELOPMENT ?????
We have a diplomatic Post at the Vatican and another for Italy in Rome!!!
ALL the developing nations make the SAME MISTAKE.......can't afford it but BEHAVE like millionaires and end up in HUGE DEBTS!!
saint Kwame 10 years ago
This is because they believe they have the natural resources to rely on as collateral for centuries to come.
Rose 10 years ago
i wonder why Ghanaian s out there think in a very obsolete manner. why don't you speak to address issues but turn to personalise such issues. have you taken the pain to ask questions and you are denied of feedback? i believe there are human beings in the office you can walk or call to ask questions not to resort to platform such as this. Ghanaians please be brave address your issues to the appropriate office and stop personalising matters. they are put in there for your welfare, why would they relent their effort to work if they have what it takes to work.
i think it is time Ghanaians speak thier mind to the appropriate quarters and stop roping innocent persons to unrelated matters.
Ghanaians be bold
In Europe ( I know you are aware), people do not have so much time that they can just walk to offices and address issues with any person. Moreover some people live 400-600 kilometers from where the embassies are located.
... read full comment
In Europe ( I know you are aware), people do not have so much time that they can just walk to offices and address issues with any person. Moreover some people live 400-600 kilometers from where the embassies are located.
And how do you get an appointment? Walk there? Heck No! I canno walk 500 KM. Neither would I take train 500KM just for an appointment.
Your best choice will be to call or email them. That is where the problem lies: you can dedicate a whole day to calling them and nobody will pick the call. Two days wont cause them to pick either - simply put just forget it.
Apparently they have 'dummy' lines which they give to the public and 'hot-lines' which they give to people they know.
abrobe 10 years ago
Rose is thinking like a typical Ghanaian who has not had the opportunity to travel to the advance world to see how things are done differently.You think someone will leave his/her job to come and sit at the consulate office the whole day doing nothing.Rose others are noving forward ooóoo so dont support those guys who are sending this country backwards.The whites are always looking down on us because of our wayward and primitive way of thinking.Thos problem is not only in happening in one country but several of them.Oh Kwame Nkrumah's Ghana when.
Abeiku SW2 London 10 years ago
She's got a family member there looks like it
Akwasi 10 years ago
Kwabena, don't be naïve. the article is correct. I personally know some friends and families who have cancelled their vacation due to inability to renew their passports. Some of them couldn't even get a refund for their ticket. What a shame as a country. According to sources the Foreign Affairs doesn't even have passport booklets.
INCOMPETENT-PRESIDENT 10 years ago
AT THE TOP
AT THE TOP
AT THE TOP 10 years ago
WITH INCOMPETENT STOOGIES
EVERYTHING FALL- APART 10 years ago
LAZY-PRESIDENT AT THE TOP
...N 10 years ago
It is Ghanaian mentality, the people in Denmark are the same. And they have all the scandinavian countries so you cant talk of going there from finland or Iceland to apply for a visa. Pls gvt, do something
...N 10 years ago
Correction: heading is Same in scandinavi
EKB, Barking, LIDL 10 years ago
The most useless institution probably in the world. They are just waste of space. They never pick phone calls. They have deliberately shut down the system so they can take bribe and do it for vulnerable Ghanaian citizens. God is watching all of them. Death is there and remember judgement day. Useless diplomats.
Kofi, Canada. 10 years ago
Hello everyone what is going on in London is really shameful, and unaccepted if those diplomat over there can't seem to know what to do, they should give way to people that need jobs, and can actually help people shame on all of them and shame on the president for looking on.
Omanhene (U$A) 10 years ago
Again, "The Black Man is exposing the supposed STUPIDITY of the African." When will this end??
WHY DO YOU NEED ALL THESE PEOPLE IN JUST ONE EMBASSY aka HIGH COMMISSION, while phone calls are not answered and basic services ... read full comment
Again, "The Black Man is exposing the supposed STUPIDITY of the African." When will this end??
WHY DO YOU NEED ALL THESE PEOPLE IN JUST ONE EMBASSY aka HIGH COMMISSION, while phone calls are not answered and basic services take forever to get done at these Embassies?
What the heck are they all doing? Are they not WASTING the little money the country has? And next morning our STUPID leaders will be flying to the Western world, fully clad in some ugly African robes, calabash in hand, kneepads in place and busy BEGGING the Whiteman for Alms or "pocket change" for their country’s development??
Sometimes our stupidity and folly STINKS so much that the White man doesn't want to see our leaders in their capitals. Back home we’ve the colonial legacy of FREE bungalows for the do-nothing MPs, Ministers, corrupt judges and several knucklehead civil servants, while ignoring the very hardworking Ghanaians: the doctors, nurses, teachers, farmers, fishermen, etc., etc. Look at our schools, roads, hospitals, unemployment, etc., and that’s how our government SPENDS our scarce resources?? Not far-fetched: The Negro is, indeed, DUMB!!
Let Ghana's so-called chief protocol minister go around Accra and count the EMPLOYEES at the Embassies of the USA, Canada, Japan, Germany, France, the UK, China, Nigeria, South Africa, South Korea, Taiwan, etc., and compare those figures to that of POOR Ghana. We’ve FOOLISHNESS at the highest level, indeed!!
============================================================================
Selewa 10 years ago
A BUNCH OF BLOOD SUCKERS AT GHANA HIGH COMMISSION. MAKE IT LEAN FOR THEY ARE ALL ARROGANT DO NOTHINGS SITTING IN LONDON.
EWI 10 years ago
when you vote for arrogant people that what you get from them. See what is happening in Ghana now Ghanaians think before you vote.
Saint 10 years ago
ghana ebasada to malaysia very bad and ruud u will be de n dey will even shut deir door on u,hmm
Garikouppa 10 years ago
The Commission is there for themselves. Nothing like helping citizen in the UK. Nigeria fought for the deportation of its citizen. Now look at what is happening now to us, the U.K. Government does not want our spouse to joint us in the UK by setting up some dangerous regulations meaning we have to come back home to live with our spouse. After taking all our resources from us, look at the way we've been paid back and our country rep is not saying anything to help some of us who wants our spouse to join us. The passport site has been down for ages with an excuse notice till now. What are they doing? Look at the number of staff ther
aflao 10 years ago
Massa they are still taking the resources and so it means that we are not different from our ancestors.Afterall what have achieved after independence?Dumsor looting of state resources.Now everyone wants to go into politics because the avenue has been created for all idiots to enroll in.
GT 10 years ago
What a useless backward country. Your people are using beaches for bathrooms, hospitals are death traps and you waste so much money on a useless embassy. God curse all the political leaders
Loway 10 years ago
They're all useless
Victor 10 years ago
This is really sick. Talking about red tape bureaucracy!! We need to question Hannah Tetteh that clumsy!!
Potag member 10 years ago
Only Godknowws why? Anas is watching closely dont worry?
We we processed for visa at the Ghana High commission issue was watch closely but at the right time Anas would tell his story asem be reeba keke!!!!!!
Wofa Kwame 10 years ago
Why would any serious person purchase a ticket to go on vacation without a valid passport? Half the diplomats you listed likely have part-time jobs. Some even do morning cleaning. So don't count on Ghanaian diplomats in London. Being a citizen of Ghana is sometimes a curse. Apply for UK citizenship if you're eligible and forget about the forsaken and wretched country called Ghana.
Kwame
Ewe nation 10 years ago
You people living abroad should organise yourselves in a mafia way and embarrass their personal lives in a mafia way. You know what I mean..When one or two staffs are mafiad,they will advise themselves. Avuuu. ..
Bishop 10 years ago
These same madness is happening in Berlin, Germany.
Its even worst over here. The embassy of the Republic of Ghana has to shamely say to a Ghana citizen who needs urgently a new passport that, the officer in charge is on holiday for two weeks. Its realy a shame.
DON NEXT 10 years ago
The same thing is been experienced in south Africa here.nobody seems to be ready to even look at yr face.its heartbreaking to b treated poorly by yr own people paid to help u in a foreign land.
Kwame Begro 10 years ago
Are you sure some of these stories about the High Commission is not being made up?l had my passport and that of my daughters renewed couple of weeks ago. And the service was very smooth. Of course the online filling of application was a bit frustrating but any call l put through was answered. They also have a new help service by email and very efficient. I am not sure if you are spreading dead news of the 2005 or 2015.
The fact is , if you happen to know soemone there (or perhaps you are a staff!) you are likely to be served within shortest possible time.
Count yourself Lucky mate
Musa Ahmed 10 years ago
stop talking crap here
we know you
stop talking crap here
we know you
Mongozey 10 years ago
How many keleweyleys did you buy for them?
Mpata 10 years ago
Mahama please sack all the non needed diplomats in all the countries and save Ghana some money or you would not get our vote.
Patrick Adoboe 10 years ago
We have the same problem here in Germany,
Yiddana 10 years ago
Dear Aggrieved Ghanaian. Until Ghanaian diplomats, civil & public servants know and understand they are paid to provide a cautious service this will never change. The citizens of Ghana are customers and must be treated with respect like in the private sector. Unfortunately the public sector does not understand the concept of "Customer Service".
Kwesi 10 years ago
Government stealing at its best. Is Mr President Mahama aware of all these fraudsters sucking Ghanas resources blind. Thieves, theives, theives on NDC payrolls everywhere. Oh Ghana
Dan 10 years ago
I sent my passport to be renewed over a month now. I have email and called several times no one has replied to my email and on one is picking up the phone. What a shame!
They never answer your calls and when they choose to after how many days of trying you get some very rude response or they hang up the phone on you because they can't be bothered to answer your questions .... very unprofessional .... out of order
me 10 years ago
If you want to renew ghana passport you need to pay 100 pounds bribe and if you need a visa is 50 pounds so please ask first.
knock and it shall be open
If you want to renew ghana passport you need to pay 100 pounds bribe and if you need a visa is 50 pounds so please ask first.
HARRISON AMUZU 10 years ago
very stupid people waisting Ghana money on them,do you think you were posted there to sit down and eat ? fools
by Harrison USA
very stupid people waisting Ghana money on them,do you think you were posted there to sit down and eat ? fools
by Harrison USA
Lord Zida 10 years ago
It is an absolute disgrace to even walk into that building. It is dilapidated, the staff are uncaring and unhelpful. I was shocked to see such attitudes in a london establishment.
the crusader. 10 years ago
IS GHANA UNITED STATES OR NIGERIA ? OH! MEHAME AYE TOOO MUCH
THS IS PURE JOB FOR THE BOYS
the ndc thing.AND WHEN WE COMPLAIN.......
zamfara 9 years ago
In Dec I mailed my US passport and visa fee to the Ghana Embassy in DC. I received it back within 2 weeks. Three years before that I accidentally left my wallet in the kiosk at the entrance of the same Embassy and the guy on duty there kindly returned it intact to me. I don't know about other places but the Ghana Embassy functions appropriately. I am very proud of my fellow Ghanaians at the DC Embassy.
Obrefo 10 years ago
It's called job for the lazy incompetent corrupt criminal thieves parading as politicians. These lazy criminal idiots can't make a living in the private world. They've become a burden on taxpayers. They're nothing but scavengers, leeches and parasites at the expense of the poor taxpayer. They feel entitled and would do anything to stay in power. The sad thing is most of them have been a burden on the state throughout their entire life would continue to depend on our poor government till they die. What are they good for if they can't make any contribution to their nation after being burdening the state up to university level. We need to retire these scavengers at 50 without end of service alla wanes and tell them to go to hell. They should stop burdening this poor government, resign, set up their businesses, hire the poor, pay taxes and make more money. Enough leeching is enough.
Kobi 10 years ago
no wonder Ghanaians are going in for citizenship elsewhere around the globe
Mankind 10 years ago
Why so many? they are all cronies!! Bebaako-Mensah's father is the Ambassador to The Vatican. Many others have relatives in the government. The Ghana H.C in London has never changed. Their incompetence has been the same since the 1970's. No one! absolutely no one in the HC is there for the welfare of any Ghanaian. They are there for themselves and their friends!! It will be a lot cheaper for the people of Ghana if the H.C is out-sourced to (say)the Canadian H.C. to take care of the citizens of Ghana business!!It is sad to say that the negro(Blackman)CANNOT govern or manage anything!! The can only steal from their citizens!!Look at Mahama, Goodluck Jonathan, Zumah, Eyadema, Kabila etc. Sorry for Africa!!
Jude London 10 years ago
This people only come here and do business and sleep
jojo 10 years ago
GHANA EMBASSIES all over the world is a disgrace, I had first hand experience with the embassies at Washington DC and New York where they use all kind of tactics to steal your money. I don't blame them because the people that put them in charge are just as corrupt and didn't make sure they had the right qualifications for the job. the most basic thing of answering phone calls can't even be done and when you take time of work to go over there you are giving the run around without any specific answers to what needs to be done.
Proud Ghanaian 10 years ago
We have the same Problems in Germany Berlin they should all be sacked. Mr President they are not doing their work sack them and replace them. Spoiling your Name
AMA 10 years ago
Ghana years ago said they tooold their colonian masters they want independence, they've got it now.
Hence they still queue at the UK embassy for UK VISA.
The foreign service also want to live in the UK
ITS A JOKE.
... read full comment
Ghana years ago said they tooold their colonian masters they want independence, they've got it now.
ITS A JOKE.
Ghana Embassy know how to collect moneyfrom Ghanaians staying in UK.
They don't help in ANY WAY. IT WILL BE NICE FOR THE EMBASSY TO SEND ALL GHANAIANS WHO THEY HAVE TAKEN VISA MONEY FROM CHRISTMAS CARD.
HON. ABE 9 years ago
You have all this problems but you do voice it. Rather prefer to demonstrate when. Mahama is on a visit. That is typical of us. Misplaced priorities.
HON. ABE 9 years ago
Is Ms Hangar listening
MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago
Jobs for the boys. Bloated High Commission. Very soon the country will run out of money there shall we see where these good-for-nothing people will get their salaries from.
Kingsley 9 years ago
So in January I walk into Ghana high commission office at highgate London to get my passport renewed.
Was looking to get it done in 3 days as it said you could choose 3days, 24hours and a day. I was told, that would not b ... read full comment
So in January I walk into Ghana high commission office at highgate London to get my passport renewed.
Was looking to get it done in 3 days as it said you could choose 3days, 24hours and a day. I was told, that would not be possible even though it is been advertised online and at the offices. So I enquired the reason was just told only in emergency circumstances.
As I had a job interview in 2nd week February I went back with printed out copy of the job interview details and that they treat my application as urgent, pleaded and pleaded but was told job interview was not good enough reason. If only I had a reason like funeral in Ghana and had paid airfare ticket then they could at least issue it for me. Knowing that in the UK without your right of abode documents is the first thing to be look at at a job interview I pleaded but was given the option of a photocopy of my passport which is not accepted in the first place and two bearer a different name. Thanks to them I was sent away on the day as I had no proof.
Fast forward the date I was given for collection (23 March). I get an email a week before date that due to technical issues it cannot be issued and I would be notified at another date for collection. Bare in mind the email had everyone on the list email address on display. No care taken to hide email addresses.
I get an email in April stating the passport was ready for collection. I show up and yep you thought right no show. I was told that they have placed a stamp in the passport extending the expiry date by a year and that at a later date a biometric passport would be issued.
I stated to the lady mine wasn't just renewal but also change of name so it still wouldn't be valid as all my other documents bear my new name. She reached for my documents all over again goes through it and ask for a deed poll. I said there's a statutory declaration in there, she says no that it is not valid. This declaration has been dated, stamped and signed by my solicitors yet it is deemed invalid. I explain the difference between deed poll and statutory declaration yet she says no.
She says when you change your name you need to ring the deed poll people and they would put your name on the electoral roll. Bizarre!! I argue my point then she makes a phone call. Hangs up and say the only way around it would be to stamp my passport declaring and certifying my new name. After another round of discussion I agree.
She disappears upstairs and then 25 minutes later of waiting another lady comes along and ask I follow her up. She ushers me into this office and there was the lady with my passport and a dude (Alex Adu) sitting in there. As I enter the first thing this dude says with a loud arrogant voice sit down carefully, I said excuse me thinking there was something wrong with the seat but he keeps repeating himself. Sit down carefully, sit down carefully.
Ok I sit down and he starts where's your deed poll. I said I have statutory declaration, then he continue you need a deed poll and do you know you have to ring the deed poll people? I said you are telling I don't know. He looks at me then repeats himself on and on. I explain the difference to him but this naive arrogant dude just won't listen. I explain once again but he get angry slams his hand on the table and shout to the lady who all this while had her head down. 'This passport would not be issued'.
I said to him if this is the reason why you asked to see me I rather go and wait downstairs and speak to the lady as you and I are not making sense. He proceed to say I wanted to cross my legs when I sat down. I can only assume that he was watching mr downstairs on his mutual CCTV screen and saw my leg crossed so his shouting sit down carefully.
This dude is on something. Talk about power trip. He thinks he's in Ghana where people with a little bit of position make noise. The only reason I did not call the police was because they cannot arrest him on Ghanaian property if not I would have had him arrested for abuse.
Well he went on and on with his shouting so I left him with his sad big man self and the lady and went downstairs. Lady comes down 10 minutes later only to repeat same thing, I showed her my bank details, UK driving license, ID cards etc which was accepted by all these institutions yet she says I need a deed poll which can be written on a toilet tissue and still be accepted. As to if and when I would get my passport back I don't know. I left as there was no point arguing with them. Still wondering who this deed poll people are.
Given the fact that he/they have no idea what a deed poll or statutory declaration is I am stating it below in case he is reading this and might learn the difference and decide which one is carries weight.
Deed poll:
To be valid a Deed Poll document must be signed and dated by you, and witnessed and signed by two people who should not be related to you. You must sign both your old name and your new name in the spaces provided, even if your signature has not changed. The signing of the downloaded document by yourself in the presence of your two witnesses, who also sign the document to confirm their presence, is all that is required to make the Deed Poll document and therefore your name change valid. Once this has been completed you have officially changed your name.
Statutory declaration:
To be valid a Statutory Declaration document must be sworn and signed by you in front of a either a Solicitor, Judge, Officer of the Court or Commissioner of Oaths, who will also sign and date the document to validate it. In this case you must take your downloaded document to for example your local solicitor who will take your sworn oath and authorise the document with their official stamp. Once this has been completed you have officially changed your name.
Sussie 9 years ago
It's a shame that workers in the UK Ghanaian embassy do not respect their fellow Ghanaians. Can you believe that no prior notice was given as when that extension of one year renewal should stop. They decided over night which brought about confusion and disrespect among the public and the officers. I am pleading with the Diplomats please respect us so that we can all work together. Thank you
That's how tax payers money are stupidly utilized. Sometimes you wonder what's actually wrong with our leaders, and how many people do you need after to work in the mission? Am glad you have brought it up for the people of gh ...
Thank God for this piece and congrats to the Concerned Ghanaian for bringing up this point. I have been campaigning for the abolition of this "One-Man-Presidency" but to be replaced with a "Presidential-Council." See? as the ...
What some of you dont seem to understand is that these officials are sent to those offices only and only because they are considered to be privileged - that is, they are connected to or they know someone big in the Ministry o ...
every body is chasing money in gh and europe, but see our leaders don't care for us only politics & money is their problem, come to dubai or go qatar or saudi you will know that citizens are owners of a country not leaders, b ...
Thanks for taking this disturbing matter up, indeed one can legitimately questions the importance of the presence of this large entourage of Ghanaian officials stuffed in thé commission at the expe ...
This shows the incompetence of Mhamah Government. I blame the High Commissioner they are all incompetent. I have written series of letters to the High commissioner without feedback. Not even acknowledgement. they are all ther ...
We really need to change our ...
To get visa to Ghana,you have to pay 120Euros cash instead of 50 Euro.If you post the passport and evidence of bank payment,You will not be attend ...
Why is it that many of my compatriots i,e, Ghanaians do not want to think. Very gullible indeed. How do we know whether this information provided is genuine and not concocted to achieve a desired objective?. I have read all t ...
I'm not in the UK, I can confidently tell you that the story is not different a ...
I went to Highgate yesterday and asked the lady who was at the initial enquiries booth when the so called technical difficulties started. She told me it started only last we ...
it is genuine cus am still waiting for my renewed passport to bring my family home for xmas..my ticket is for the 19th..up till now i still havent receive my passport..phonecalls dont get answered either..so you know i posted ...
Well, I recently read from the embassy in Berlin's home page that they have momentarily suspended the issue of express passports with effec ...
Yes express services of passports been suspenede in UK too since November. Was told on phone that the system was over booking appointments. Mine was cancelled. Now I need Travel document to visit family in Ghana. To be frank ...
Oh poor Ghana, where are we heading now? This Smith Guy is the most incompetent High Commissioner we've had in London in recent past! What can one expect when these personnel are employed only as a political reward for their ...
London is NOT the ONLY one.This SMALL NATION of Ghana has Embassies in too many countries and we WONDER WHY therte's NO MONEY for Development at home !! ALL THESE HAVE TO BE PAID.....we say about 70% of the GDP is used in ser ...
i wonder why Ghanaian s out there think in a very obsolete manner. why don't you speak to address issues but turn to personalise such issues. have you taken the pain to ask questions and you are denied of feedback? i believe ...
Rose is thinking like a typical Ghanaian who has not had the opportunity to travel to the advance world to see how things are done differently.You think someone will leave his/her job to come and sit at the consulate office t ...
Kwabena, don't be naïve. the article is correct. I personally know some friends and families who have cancelled their vacation due to inability to renew their passports. Some of them couldn't even get a refund for their tick ...
AT THE TOP
The most useless institution probably in the world. They are just waste of space. They never pick phone calls. They have deliberately shut down the system so they can take bribe and do it for vulnerable Ghanaian citizens. God ...
Hello everyone what is going on in London is really shameful, and unaccepted if those diplomat over there can't seem to know what to do, they should give way to people that need jobs, and can actually help people shame on all ...
WHY DO YOU NEED ALL THESE PEOPLE IN JUST ONE EMBASSY aka HIGH COMMISSION, while phone calls are not answered and basic services ...
The Commission is there for themselves. Nothing like helping citizen in the UK. Nigeria fought for the deportation of its citizen. Now look at what is happening now to us, the U.K. Government does not want our spouse to joint ...
Massa they are still taking the resources and so it means that we are not different from our ancestors.Afterall what have achieved after independence?Dumsor looting of state resources.Now everyone wants to go into politics be ...
They're all useless
Why would any serious person purchase a ticket to go on vacation without a valid passport? Half the diplomats you listed likely have part-time jobs. Some even do morning cleaning. So don't count on Ghanaian diplomats in Londo ...
Its even worst over here. The embassy of the Republic of Ghana has to shamely say to a Ghana citizen who needs urgently a new passport that, the officer in charge is on hol ...
Are you sure some of these stories about the High Commission is not being made up?l had my passport and that of my daughters renewed couple of weeks ago. And the service was very smooth. Of course the online filling of applic ...
stop talking crap here
we know you
Dear Aggrieved Ghanaian. Until Ghanaian diplomats, civil & public servants know and understand they are paid to provide a cautious service this will never change. The citizens of Ghana are customers and must be treated with r ...
They never answer your calls and when they choose to after how many days of trying you get some very rude response or they hang up the phone on you because they can't be bothered to answer your questions .... very unprofessi ...
by Harrison USA
In Dec I mailed my US passport and visa fee to the Ghana Embassy in DC. I received it back within 2 weeks. Three years before that I accidentally left my wallet in the kiosk at the entrance of the same Embassy and the guy on ...
It's called job for the lazy incompetent corrupt criminal thieves parading as politicians. These lazy criminal idiots can't make a living in the private world. They've become a burden on taxpayers. They're nothing but scaveng ...
Why so many? they are all cronies!! Bebaako-Mensah's father is the Ambassador to The Vatican. Many others have relatives in the government. The Ghana H.C in London has never changed. Their incompetence has been the same since ...
GHANA EMBASSIES all over the world is a disgrace, I had first hand experience with the embassies at Washington DC and New York where they use all kind of tactics to steal your money. I don't blame them because the people that ...
ITS A JOKE.
Is Ms Hangar listening
Was looking to get it done in 3 days as it said you could choose 3days, 24hours and a day. I was told, that would not b ...
It's a shame that workers in the UK Ghanaian embassy do not respect their fellow Ghanaians. Can you believe that no prior notice was given as when that extension of one year renewal should stop. They decided over night whic ...