You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2015 10 07Article 386271

Ghanaian woman pleads guilty to $3.6m fraud in US

Read Comments Comments (75)

• Akos 8 years ago

Some people always want the easy way out. Hope she enjoys her prison stay.

• Baba 8 years ago

I believe she just didn't get the right lawyer to defend her. If you are hard up and pawn your coupon for less value and the person who saved you claimed full value why should that person be prosecuted?

• insp we.i 8 years ago

Buddy, it states that it is illegal to trade in food stamps, get it?

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 8 years ago

insp we.i,there is no way you would explain it to Baba for him to understand you because he lives in corrupt Ghana where such acts are permitted-no offence committed.

• Afia 8 years ago

Not to the tune of 3 million dollars

• vl 8 years ago

Baba,
    It is against the law to buy, sell, or trade the snap benefits. It's shameful for her to have done that. She should go to jail for that. Men, I feel so ashamed about this.

• Observer 8 years ago

She will be prosecuted and do jail time because she is in America and not Ghana. Notable criminals like Afriyie-Ankrah and Kwesi Nantakye will already be serving jail time if they lived in the USA. That is why the country is ...

• Mensah Abrampa 8 years ago

True talk. In the US the law is enforced

• Nokware_ Asa 8 years ago

Than the U.S Attorney who prosecuted this case?
    Look, those people are consummate 'pros', who do not take payoffs, to scuttle or throw away cases they ae handling in court!

• Palmwine Tapper 8 years ago

Baba, FYI, is Federal Crime in US and not even a State crime. Her stinky black Ass is Chewed. She will be jail for a long time. You bet your corrupt mindset Black Ass in GH.

• Mojingles 8 years ago

Baba, did you read the article well at all? If you sell your SNAP coupons, it is a crime under the law, period.

• Zuri 8 years ago

Kwasea,you're still defending her greed.You think think this Ghana where you get away with everything! .

• tsoo 8 years ago

Baba this is not a matter of lawyer; she was suppose to give them items and food stuff not cash. She went against the law.

• AKT New York 8 years ago

Baba,you think she is in Ghana,you waite and see her face in USA jail just like Amoateng the cocaine dealer.I know where you stand .

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

Once a Ghanaian, always a Ghanaian.

• don`t care © !!! 8 years ago

Is Betty Mould's aunt..is in the blood!

• Atta 8 years ago

She was wrong anyway but please don't fry her. Whoever has not sin before should throw the fist stone. This woman is the daughter of former NPP lawmaker in Ghana parliament called Ofori. He was fighting corruption at his time ...

• COSMO 8 years ago

THIS IS WHAT A TYPICAL GHANAIAN WILL SAY "NYA ASEM HWE' LET THEM KNOW IT IS ILLEGAL THE WAY THEY CAME TO THE US TOO,HOW THEY GOT THEIR GREENCARD,HOW THEY GOT THEIR JOB,ETC ETC,OH GHANAIAN
    I DONT CONDONE TO BREAKING THE LAW B ...

• Jasmine 8 years ago

Ya think every single Ghanaian is corrupt, don't ya? I'd have stopped yelling long ago.

• Abontua ooo Abontua 8 years ago

Greed is Ghanaians' blood. That's why the country is so corrupt. They blame politicians but the truth our society breeds corruption. These same people that criticize politicians are the same people that will collect or pay br ...

• GaBaa 8 years ago

SHE WAS INVOLVED IN A SCHEME..MEANING GROUP OF PEOPLE DOING THE COMBINED DAMAGE OF $3.6 MILLION NOT HER ALONE

• shamu 8 years ago

They are thieves and arrogants. They want to go American way. That is why most of them are prostitutes.

• Apotobibiri 8 years ago

Leave her alone. She will serve the jail sentene without anybody

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Everyday for thief man one day for owner. It is going to be many years before she can enter the beautiful mansion she probably built in Ghana.

• Terry Oppong Kyekyeku,KY United State 8 years ago

kontonkyi, your head hard ooo,hahah.

• skelewu 8 years ago

She is NPP Woman. typical thiefs

• Terry Oppong Kyekyeku,KY United State 8 years ago

kwasiakwa

• KIM 8 years ago

Kwasea like you, do you know what's going on in the USA? She might even not know the implications of what she did, but there is no excuse or ignorance of the law. American institutions work, its not like your ndc stupid fools ...

• Martin 8 years ago

You are trying to excuse and justice this lady's criminal activity as a humanitarian gesture. I am certain that as a grocer and one particularly familiar with the food stamp process, what she did was inexcusable. She took adv ...

• Martin 8 years ago

You are trying to excuse and justify this lady's criminal activity as a humanitarian gesture. I am certain that as a grocer and one particularly familiar with the food stamp process, what she did was inexcusable. She took adv ...

• Osei 8 years ago

God bless u bro

KIM,You must be a first class stupid person in the whole world .Go to fashion designers and ask ,aside that come to America here to fine out .You see top rich gays in blue geans,and suit what is wrong about it .Sometimes som ...

• Francis, UK 8 years ago

She has a castle and a hummer vehicle in Accra waiting for her!

• K. Asante CT 8 years ago

She goes to Ghana and do big things and people think some of as are good for nothing by not doing much back home. I suggest she refund the money and serve a little jail time.

• Asante 8 years ago

The US Government will seize all her assets wherever they may be.

• koffi parker 8 years ago

Oh!!!! omo Ghana, Nigerians will say, so you will be happy to see that all her assets in Ghana are taken from her much to the excitement of losers like you

• Observer 8 years ago

You and I both know that refunding the money does not necessarily equate to serving less time. This is America not Ghana where laws simply do not work.

• DAAVI 8 years ago

SOME OF OUR PEOPLE WERE EVEN SOLD, SO SHE WAS TRYING TO GET SOME OF THE MONEY THE WHITE PEOPLE PROFITED BACK, SO LEAVE HER ALONE.

• Bilabalaju 8 years ago

This is not much a crime what a pitty.but greed let to her exposure.she could have stopped when she some reasonable amount of money but u know black we are 2 greedy and selfish

• TULA 8 years ago

Ghanaians are today infested with the corruption and fraud virus and are exporting fraud to any country they live 'AGYE BEEBIRAAA'!!!!!!!!

• Kofi Asabere 8 years ago

Most of the comments here are likely coming from people in Ghana. This thing she did is a very common thing that they the whites and Asian store owners here do. It's one of those things that are illegal and yet everyone does ...

• Yawb 8 years ago

Don't be naive and stupid. It's illegal and she shouldn't have engaged in it especially if she is the humble person u describing. Its just greediness and stupidity on her part!She should be jailed and you can get your fufu fr ...

• Maame Grace 8 years ago

You are rather stupid you praise Wayome and Betty Mould but insult this woman what is the difference between his 2 people.The food stamps are gien for specific items but nif you want to spend it on cigerate or alcholthe shop ...

• Yawb 8 years ago

Stupid fool like you. I wonder whether your head has divorced your brain...go and do the same thing and your stupid ass will be in jail idiot!!Do you think the justice system in the US is as rotten as in Ghana??

• St Bruno 8 years ago

Or Danco, there is also Makola market by Park ave.

• Tweaks! 8 years ago

Kofi, let those envious Ghanaians say what they like. Like you said, it's a common practice. In fact it's a way some of these stores which collect snap coupons help the poor and needy. They may need some items in a different ...

• Egya Morkeh 8 years ago

What is a black American doing in your stinking African stores with maggots running around the dead fish & meat? Have you been to these stores? They smell and you see rat droppings all over the place.

Common Crime in US and everybody is doing it; a.k.a. whites and Asians etc Hey, Kofi when did you not realized that in USA you ought to be very careful as a Black man or woman NOT to imitate whatever crime others are committi ...

• JA 8 years ago

Thank you, Kofi.

• Paapidi 8 years ago

Your simplistic thinking is just irritating. Everybody is doing so she must also do it is stupidity to the highest degree. Oh, so you got a good defence for her now. Why not help her to serve her sentence when the time comes. ...

• ed 8 years ago

DOING THIS IN THE USA?HA SHE WILL NEVER SEE THE DAY OF LIGHT AGAIN SHE WILL GET LIFE IN JAIL AMERIC SHOWS NO MERCI TO ANYONE IN COURT

• Godwin Alaba 8 years ago

Get a website now call...0267910799...at an affordable and convenient rate....

• afia kobi 8 years ago

enti ne berebeye.. big cars, jetting around the world.

• job 8 years ago

what a man can do a woman can do better! Why worry citizens of Rep. of Corruption. We are all watching with glee, worshipping and adoring anything in mammon, without questioning the source. We haven't seen anything yet. Fraud ...

• cool 8 years ago

The greedy and thieving lot

If you are willing to sell your check at half price who cares who buys them,why Ashanti ?it could be anyone

• Justice Anas 8 years ago

hip hip! hurray! the ashantis have done it again!

• Abigi 8 years ago

Will you start to think as a proud person and a human, instead of as a second hand person consumed by a tribe?

• Be Bold 8 years ago

I knew an indisciplined mind would introduce the Ashanti factor and I was right. The greatness of the Ashanti can never be underscored

leave her alone its obvious the poor and no income victims are not victims at all.
    where there are no sellers there will be no buyers

• fear woman 8 years ago

guys u sure she is Ghanaian not a Nigerian?

• kwaku Germany 8 years ago

Stop that noise this Npp man don't involve ,Nigeria this one is vote registered again you involved other countries bush man kumasi

• Be Bold 8 years ago

You are a Ghanaian and you are civilized? My friend, civilized people do not destroy themselves in public but that is what Ghanaians do.

OMG! I did shop at this shop yrs. and yrs. ago. She's a GREEDY BITCH for sure. Advice to GHs; don't mess around with uncle Sam's money meant for the poor or someone. Also don't buy anything Uncle Sam from anyone. Stay Clear . ...

• GC/USA 8 years ago

THIS WOMAN IS ONE OF MANY SO CALLED RICH PEOPLE IN GHANA. THERE SHOULD BE A CALL FOR ASSETS DECLARATION IN GHANA OF EVERYBODY EARNINGS AND VALUE OF THEIR PROPERTY. THE CORRUPTED ARE NOT JUDGES ALONE.

• Achie 8 years ago

She probably thought she was in ghana, because there are Thousands of Ghanaians in the city of Worcester Massachusetts.

• SC 8 years ago

LG air condition for sale @ a wholesale price 0503848000

• Kajanga 8 years ago

Yeah,the axe is falling on the greedy ones.She is an active sponsor of all NPP programs in Worcester.God is punishing them! .This is how they make their filthy money & talk to people any how! .Eii,aseda plaza,wa sotwe nie?.W ...

• ACCRAMAN 8 years ago

Paying 50 cents on the dollar means she used $1.8 million dollars of her own money to buy from the SNAP recipients.

Easy way to double your money huh?

Please leave her alone, nothing wrong here at all. After all, it is ...

• JA 8 years ago

Agreed.

• slimmart1... 8 years ago

In the US you don't mess with Uncle Sam, coz no matter how long it takes, the law will catch up with you.

She laid her bed, now she has to sleep in it.

• JA 8 years ago

The word corruption is English, is it not? There is corruption in every country. I read jealousy and unfulfilled lives in the commentaries. Do you guys remember the governor of Obama's State who was caught selling Obama's vac ...

• fear envious ghanian 8 years ago

you are a silly guy, why didn't you use your real name , asshole, if anything happen in Ghana , it must be a Nigerian , you hypocrite and evil minded people , shame shame shame on you ..... stupid fool
    thu ...

• sevenn 8 years ago

There was a Ghanaian woman in Franklin county who gets food stamps and used it to cook and sell for yrs . Later, they find out but... in United States there's nothing illegal that they will not know.