You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2015 03 21Article 351317

Professor Allotey is guest on CNN African Voices

Read Comments Comments (64)

• LONTO-BOY 9 years ago

Amazing mathematical genius.

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe (JAK) 9 years ago

Thank you so much Prof, I am humble to be part of 1989 class. I am indebted to your mathematical theory of relativity, it has helped me immensely in this blue chip market of mathemaical analysis. My thanks also go to Prof Owu ...

• qwuasi. gh 9 years ago

Opoku is on retirement. You need to visit
    KNUST

• Kwame Asiamah 9 years ago

U must be behind me. I completed 1988 I guess Lucy Campbell was your mate. Dr Opoku is retired being wasted at Konongo his hometown

• JB Mann 9 years ago

Kwame,

I'm in dire need of Dr Opoku's (ie Dr Akuoko Poku's) contact.

Dr. Opoku man lectured me Maths twice - one at High School when returned from Cornell ( and Legon did not offer him vacancy) and then later at Faculty ...

• Boy-Kumasi 9 years ago

I will see if I can get it for you. I saw him at the Barclay's Bank last Tuesday. I also normally meet him on the Kumasi- Ejisu Road.

• Kwame 9 years ago

I did Engineering and Dr Opoku thought us Analysis. I left in KNUST 1982. I also need his number.

• "Attorney" Isaac 9 years ago

Prof. I'll watch the program and watch it again.

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Good!

Then, if you can, send a brief report to Ghanaweb for publication in the Opinion Section.

Tag a note to any of our comments if you need the email address for Ghanaweb.

Thanks.

• DEEP THOUGHT 9 years ago

What are the contributions of this so call Professors in our country and Africa as a whole?We need to see the impact of professionalism in our social and economic lives.Professor,professor and nothing a gwaan.Is that mental s ...

• Shallow Thoughts! 9 years ago

Simply Google on the man's achievements and contribution to mathematics and physics.

Shallow Thoughts!

• Joe At3bone 9 years ago

You EMPTY-HEADED,have you read the article very well? That`s why you are Block-Headed,if you can`t see what this Professor has achieved and contributed to Ghana and Africa!!! You only eat your Konkonte and talk shit from your ...

• @@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

He calculated the distance for the Apollo 11 to travel to the moon. 1970 the astronauts came to Ghana with the stone to show us wat He has done.I can't believe all of his students have turned to be thieves.Dear Lord don't let ...

• CONCERNED 9 years ago

Professor Allotey's NOBEL PRIZE for Physics or Mathematics is long overdue in view of his international recognition for his remarkable achievements in Physics and Mathematics.His immense contribution cannot be over-emphasized ...

• stan 9 years ago

you have failed to see such contributions 'cos your thoughts is about how to copy other people's achievements instead of producing your own to leave an indelible mark on mankind as done by prof allotey.

• Al Hajj AAA-RASHID(OH.USA) 9 years ago

"Deep Thought", you must be kidding. Right? To start with you are either too young to know Prof. Allotey or you did not school in Ghana(at least High/Secondary school), because any science student who read Physics Chemistry a ...

• Andrew Naija 9 years ago

A Nigerian company is giving him the platform.
    What Ghanaians should think about is why no Ghanaian company is big enough to sponsor a programme on CNN and other global media organisations like the Nigerian companies.
    When ...

• Asante 9 years ago

What are we Ghana people doing instead of always condemning Nigerians?
    Thanks bro. I love naija

• X-ray 9 years ago

What exactly is the Allotey formalism?

• "Attorney" Isaac 9 years ago

@DEEP THOUGHT the Prof has not influenced your thoughts because you're one of the many Ghanaians who have refused the use your brain power. You may be one the many ignorant YOUTH (like youthful John Dramani Mahama)who think a ...

• YIKRA 9 years ago

We congratulate him for his theory. But the is a big HOWEVER.
    However, and forever, we want to see visible impact of his theory on Ghana economee(economy).
    How come with such as brain the country has reversed-accelerated ba ...

• kofi 9 years ago

To count in a practical way with what money or under whose sponsorship? Ask the present and past govt.s and you'd realize where their interest resides.( not development but how to be corrupt, corrupt, loot and share).

• GADZEPO 9 years ago

The article lists Professor Allotey's sterling accomplishments yet you and Mr Deeply Empty Thought cannot comprehend any of it!

Technology is defined as "the application of scientific knowledge for practical purposes, espe ...

• Tet 9 years ago

To Yikra and "deep thought": Are the mechanics who assemble airplanes the ones who provided the design? Were the engineers who produced the design the ones who developed the theories to make the design possible? Your thought ...

• Concerned Citizen 9 years ago

Even if Einstein and Bill Gates were a Ghanaians, Ghana would not change because the political and moral will of our leaders to move this country forward remains bankrupt.

• niibii 9 years ago

People who debates here ,most are sick and without brains,none of u want change in Ghana, Ghana has qualify electrical engineers, but blame the tribalism and whom you know in Ghana

• Dick 9 years ago

Ghana needs such people with such super human brains, and not thieves in politics

• Dandu boy 9 years ago

The prof cannot express himself well in english language although he studied in the US & UK, as well as in Ghana.
    His english in very Bad to say the least.

Atta Mills was better. The truth, although painful, must be said.

• Waste of time 9 years ago

We do not need english in MATHEMATICAL PHYSICS and QUANTUM MECHANICS. TOO MANY FOOLS IN GHANA! WHY MENTION ENGLISH. DO WE NEED ENGLISH AS A NATION TO SOLVE OUR MYRIAD OF PROBLEMS? THAT IS THE REASON WHY AFRICA IS LAGGING BEH ...

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

WHY DIDN'T YOU RESPOND TO MY WRITE-UP IN GA, TWI, OR FANTE?

WHAT PREVENTED PRFESSOR ALLOTEY FROM SPEAKING WRITING HIS STUFF IN TWI, GA OR FANTE ON CNN?

KWASIA PEOPLE LIKE YOU CANNOT SEE BEYOND THE HORIZON! YOU TALK OR W ...

• Waste of time 9 years ago

Yen hia obi kasa wc oman ghana ne africa mu. Abrofo beberee nka obi kas. ebi ne germanfoc, francefoc, russiafoc. eno nti na wcn kc so saa no.

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

YOU SEE. EVEN TRYING TO WRITE IN TWI INCLUDES GERMANY, FRANCE AND RUSSIA.

WHY DIDN'T YOU SPELL THOSE COUNTRIES IN TWI?

THE REASON IS GHANAIAN LANGUAGES HAVE NEVER REACHED, AND WILL NEVER REACH THE LEVEL OF DEVELOPMENT ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Dandu,
    There is a difference between "erudition" and "rendition", Prof's intonation may not be great, but he had a better understanding of English than a lot of lecturers in the then English/French Department of my time at ...

• GBEWAA 9 years ago

What's the difference between the USA and America? LIAR!

CHEW PASS AND POUR PROFESSORS ARE JUST TOO MANY IN GHANA.

EVEN AZUMA NELSON IS ALSO A PROFESSOR. VERY SOON, BUKOM BANKU WILL ALSO BE APROFESSOR.

ON A SERIOUS ...

KKO, don't waste your time arguing with this man. His problem is not about the Prof's english. It's a deeper one. A that is a typical curse of many Ghanaians who cannot recognise and cherish a gift and a talent. Prof Allotey ...

When you don't recognise and honour people who have gone far in their field, you will never go far.

The fact that the Prof's english is not good shows his humble beginnings. Maybe you came from a home where they spoke queens english. He came from a home where they spoke only ga, but his name is known and recognised at NASA. ...

• Akyim Man 9 years ago

His contributions are of benefit to the whole world in space tech...!!!!!

• Julor Agyekum Kwakwe (JAK) 9 years ago

Stop your backward thinking!

• Nonesense 9 years ago

The fact that he's called Allotey doesn't mean he is a Ga. There are Sackey, Allotey, Quarshie and Bannerman, Engmann, Richardson and others who are fantes. Check it before you make irrelevant comments.

• Kenyatta 9 years ago

As someone said above, his mother was a Fanti , but his father was a Ga.I know his father's people .

• thackley 9 years ago

Deep thought has a right to his views that is his basic right to know in what practical ways such great minds have been of practical benefit to our nation in terms of affecting the quality of life of our people,- in industry, ...

• GADZEPO 9 years ago

There is such a thing as division of labour. The Scientific Intelligentsia in academia cannot be held responsible for the failure of politicians in charge of the state, and industrialists and entrepreneurs from taking advanta ...

• Deep Thought 9 years ago

Too much of theory, we need positive practical impact in all the fields of academia like what is happening in the Advance countries.If it cannot work like that, then we need to close down the Universities or bring back the Eu ...

• Tet 9 years ago

Read my "sad commentry" post above as well as Gadzepo's again

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Can someone watch the show and compose an essay about the interview?

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Recently, we were talking about the Ghana academy. One our colleagues said when they went to Ghana not long ago, the students notes they saw were practically the same notes they used 25 years ago, in that same university.

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

To say....CNN (African Voices)!

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Recently, Professor Allotey told Ghanaians solar panels were too expensive for Ghanaians to use to solve even part of the "Don-Sor" problem. We believe that this is the height of absent-mindedness, or someone plainly outside ...

• Ama Badua 9 years ago

I had the opportunity to be a student of the prof. in his early years at KNUST when he taught Math in the Engineering Dept. On several occasion, I have heard him talk Math not English, Twi, Fante or Ga with some of the renown ...

• francis kwarteng 9 years ago

Ama Badua,

I am grateful you raise this point.

I have said on Ghanaweb that those who use proficiency in written-spoken English as a measure of "intelligence" should listen to Prof. Allotey.

There are so many geniu ...

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

Do not get us wrong!

Famous or popular as Prof Allotey is, he was never our teacher. In fact, we only heard of him when his remarks about solar panels was published.

So, what was Prof Allotey's point about solar power ...

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

Ghanaians have been brainwashed to think that speaking fluent english is a sure sign of intelligence. That is certainly not so. Banki Moon does not speak very fluent english but he is a very able administrator. Needles to say ...

• GADZEPO 9 years ago

WHY SOMEBODY? WHY NOT YOU?

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

GADZEPO,
    Maybe we are too poor/illiterate to have CNN African Voices on our tube, in our tenement yard!

• obeaa maame twe 9 years ago

Etwe ba

• Goweyou 9 years ago

Good omen come from Akans and some Northerners. Ewes are detractors and are holding back progress of Ghana.

• Agya Pa 9 years ago

The destruction of our greedy, selfish politicians make the work of people like prof. Allotey extremely difficult when they meet up with other professors from various parts of the world. So please do not ask him of his contri ...

• ALIMUSTAPHA 9 years ago

The guy could be multi billionaire if that is his real name being used by the chinese

• Kobby 9 years ago

He had his foundation at Ghana National College.

• asokwa 9 years ago

He is a simple man, I met him in Vienna during of the Atomic Energy Conferences in 1983 and had a snap short with him. He is magician I can say in Maths.

• Nonesense 9 years ago

Yes Allottey was among the first (12 or so) students who were sacked from Cape Coast Secondary schools when teachers and students went on strike in 1948.

Nkrumah with part of salary to put these student together, bought t ...

• BOAFO YENA 9 years ago

All said and done, this renowned mathematician and physicist has not been able to help to solve our dumsor-dumsor. In fact he said solar energy will be too expensive for our nation right now.

• Prof Lungu 9 years ago

We agree re the solar energy/panel statement.

Professor Alottey must clearly explain what he means. We are sure nobody told him they intended to us solar panels/energy to power Akosombo Dam.

Not!