You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2015 02 26Article 348172

Kumasi Airport Should be Renamed Kotoka International Airport

Read Comments Comments (70)

• Maamle 9 years ago

What good will it make Nkrumah was overthrown because after a while he was not good enough.

He stole Ghana money with his Egyptian Muslim wife hid it in Egypt

The airport should remain

KOTOKA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT

• Fifi Graham 9 years ago

Kotoka saved the whole nation from tyranny, rule of terror and killing of political opponenets at the Kwame Nkrumah Concetration Centre at Nsawam and the worst form of dictatorship by Kwame Nkrumah. Kotoka was the only one in ...

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

ANOTHER FOOL.....THE COUP WAS AGAINST CONSTITUTION. IT WAS AN ILLEGAL AND AN UNCONSTITUTIONAL COUP. WHEN WILL YOU GET IT THU THAT DIM WITTED DUMB HEAD OF YOURS. THAT THE CIA WERE BEHIND NKRUMAHS OVERTHROW? THE WEST WAS SCARED ...

• facts 9 years ago

Any tribalistic moves in ghana have always started by Nkrumaists. North and south division of ghana, creation of regions on tribal lines, school fees north no, south yes etc were started by the CPP, NO WONDER THEY SUGGEST REN ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

Are you serious? I am in no way an Nkrumahist but to say that tribalism in Ghana started with Nkrumah is being mischievously disingenuous. Nearly all nations in the world are partitioned one way or the other into regions, pro ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

Either you were a child or were not born in Nkrumah's era.Nkrumah was the only leader who first put on Northern "fugu" while the so called educated Northerners felt shy to wear it. Nkrumah was the leader who encouraged inter ...

• Kweku Boateng 9 years ago

It is unfortunate that those who think they are the only people who are educated and deserve to rule in a democratic country,believed in a rule of law will endorse a certain coup and criminalize other.

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

Changing of name is nothing to go with.Changing the driver but the car remains the same.Fix the economy and Ghana will bear fruits.

• MR TRUTH 9 years ago

Akans went after Captain Borkloe, Captain Avevor and Kotoka.
    The same people Kotaka saved went on to engineer his death,
    Afrifa strangely escaped that abortive coup that killed Kotoka.

• J. D Mahama 9 years ago

Hey Afrifa has no hand in the death of Kotoka so get that clearly in your peanut head okay.

• Joe Canada 9 years ago

Moron EWE man Mr.truth is just inflaming his Hate Ashanti's passion. It was started by Rawlings and still continues to this day. Before Rawlings there was no problem between Ashanti's and EWE's. Despite the fact that he is bo ...

• Kweku Odum. 9 years ago

You mean Kotoka and your mentally impaired and socially, a vagabond Afrifa who, sold the whole Ghana and Ghanaians within to USA in partnership with UK for $3000.00(three thousand dollars)saved the Nation? I thought you could ...

WHAT MONIES DID NKRUMAH STEAL. WHEN HE WENT TO GUINEA. WHO TOOK CARE OF HIM? GUINEA GOVT DID. AND LATER NKRUMAHS DECIDED TO WRITE AND LIVE OFF PROCEEDS FROM HIS BOOKS. WHAT DID HE STEAL. NOT EVEN A PESEWA. HE SPENT HIS MONEY ...

Nkrumah did not have money, everything was left for Fathia in Egypt.

NKRUMAH SACRIFICED HIS OWN REVENUE, RESOURCES TO HELP GH ATTAIN INDEPENDENCE. HE HELPED LIBERATE OTHER AFRICAN NATIONS AS WELL. AS HEAD OF STATE, HE WAS PAID. EVEN IF HE STOL,E AND BUILT 10 VILLAS WITH GH MONIES.I WOULDNT FAU ...

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

I suggested AFRIFA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT about 6 years ago.

That way KOTOKA and AFRIFA will be memorialised for better or for worse.

If leaders ever stop stealing money, we then can use the savings to build a brand-new, ...

• sankofa united 9 years ago

Naming airports dose not mean anything. Why cant we use that forum, to think about ways to improve on our electricity problem and the econy? After all this air port would need the electricity to opreat. Ghanaians should learn ...

• Frenzy B 9 years ago

good but not now

JJ KILLED THIEVES AND CORRUPT OFFICIALS. NKRUMAH JAILED HIS OPPONENTS WHO TRIED TO KILL HIM AND BLOW HIM TO BITS...

• Boat 9 years ago

I think this can't be done unless Accra one is changed. Ghana can't even market herself well and our leaders just think of things that will never on earth bring any development. KUMASI AIRPORT, TAMALE AIRPORT, ACCRA AIRPORT t ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 9 years ago

Please read again !

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

Why change the name now? Then, I will suggest Komfo Anokye Airport or Afrifah Airport.

• Ewe Chief 9 years ago

This so called self proclaimed internet kookoase PhD must be nuts

• Adiatogbor 9 years ago

It should rather be named Okum Kom International airport, after Odehye Nana Okumkom Akwasi Agyeman, the ex-mayor, who fought and killed hunger. How about that?

• Capt. Fleming 9 years ago

Well done

• nana cocainman 9 years ago

bvgcfdxskolpöüä

• Stephen B 9 years ago

We have Generals too

• amoah 9 years ago

kotoka is nobody, has done nothing for ghana, therefore, does not deserved an international airport to named after him.

yes ! our airprt at accra should be rename kwame nkrumah airport

• amoah 9 years ago

warning that if CPP continues to be ungrateful to him for his hardwork, and sacrifice for the Party, then he would have no other choice than to join President John Mahama's Camp of NDC.

just wtf has this "self styled ma ...

• makamakm 9 years ago

Now am getting fed up with these natafuo wanting to impose their stupidity on us. What happened to Ohene Gyan Stadium in Accra? What of Danquah circle?'

KOTOKA like rawlings is a stupid man who plunged Ghan into the cu ...

• Kweku Boateng 9 years ago

Osagyefo Airport.....i suggest!

• makamakm 9 years ago

She held thw white man a leSson and paved the way for Nkrumah.

• obituary 9 years ago

why kwame nkrumah?? kwasiaa ns3m akwaakwa.

• KOO THE BOY 9 years ago

development airport, what will rename change do for us.

• Mallam Rashid 9 years ago

Ashantis to accept Ewe name in Kumasi, impossible. To some Ashantis, only Ashanti is good, only Ashanti is right and know it all............
    Try it lets seen

• koo babo 9 years ago

impossible is trying to reason with an idiot like you. Go to the asante region and see for yourself if every thing including their stadiums was named after an asante. Asantes, respect those who respect themselves and contribu ...

• KusiBa 9 years ago

Mallam, it looks like you've never heard of Baba Yara Stadium or you don't know who Bara Yara is or from. Some time ago some Gas did not want the Accra stadium to be named after Ohene Gyan. Where were you?

• NANA BONSU 9 years ago

You ought to be ashamed. Ashantis are more open to hosting other tribe more than any group except Accra/Gas in recent times.
    More Ewes have migrated to Ashanti than the reverse. The same is true for Northerners too and they ...

• OWUO 9 years ago

Please think forward, and stop being backward. Your time is past! You are of NO use in this modern Ghana, please. UNEDUCATED FOOL INDEED!

• Booboo. 9 years ago

I know him. He is mental.

• Human Being 9 years ago

Sub-Animal Terrorist, calling itself "Booboo"

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

KOTOKA LIVED BY THE SWORD AND HE DIED BY THE SWORD.
    WHERE ARE THE TWO SO CALLED ASANTE HEROES,KOTOKA AND AFRIFA,THEY DIED LIKE DOGS.FOR THE EVIL THAT MEN DO LIVE AFTER THEM.
    THE GOOD ASANTES DID NOT GO TO NSAWAM.
    KROBO EDU ...

• Sanoi 9 years ago

If this animal have any sense at all, he should be thinking about renaming KIA back to KWAME NKRUMAH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT. Kotoka and JJ are both the reason why Ghana is in a mess today. They are EVIL.

• Kofiga 9 years ago

Asantes and Ewes are the most dangerous tribes in Ghana They cantankerous and mischievous bunch. With Ashantis numbers and Ewes inwardeess, Ghana would have been destroyed if they haven't been made enemies.

• Gabby 9 years ago

You can even join the devil's party, who cares?

• insider 9 years ago

hey, is this fool still around?

• EMMANUEL KYEI 9 years ago

stupid AND MYOPIC THEM IT SHOULD OKATAKIE AFRIFA OR ACHEAMPONG AIRPROT. LOOK HOW EWES VOTE

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS 9 years ago

YAA ASANTIWAAH WAS THE ONE THAT FOUGHT TO SAVE GHANA . KOTOKA AND NKRUMAH DID NOT .

• Joe 9 years ago

After a long long time, the lunatic is back.

• @@@ >>> FRIENDS OF GHANA 9 years ago

***>>> ("JOE") the Satan, and EVIL HOMOSEXUAL TERRORIST, AND AL-QUEDA Agent is the one hiding under the name ("JOE") to insults "GOOD MAYOR"

>>> Report the COWARD EVIL hiding under da name ("Joe") to Homeland Security, an ...

• Nero 9 years ago

Mr Mayor or Mr Kwame, you belong in the same diagnostic group as Okoampa and Dr Lawyer Yaw Sarfo. Like them, your tale is but that "told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifying mothing".
    The leopard cannot change its ...

• @@@ >>> FRIENDS OF GHANA 9 years ago

Da person calling itself ("NERO") is BIOLOGICALLY TRIBALIST, and EVIL Ungrateful Beast, created by Satan

The Good Politician is trying his best to help, but the Wicked, Terrorist Evil, Tribalist calling itself ("Nero") doe ...

Totally Disagree - Kumasi Airport should be re-named as Garby Amin Zacca International Airport for his services to the Transport Industry in Ghana, and indeed worldwide.

• Uncle Dee 9 years ago

HAS BAWUMIA LEARNED ANY LESSONS FROM LATE VICE PRESIDENT ALIWU MAHMA’S EXPERIENCE?

If anybody should know about the politics of tribalism, Bawumia should know better. From the inception of the fight for independence i ...

• ohene 9 years ago

Sickening article.

• Ojuju Spirit 9 years ago

We will call it Efo international airport.

• Nii lartey Nartey. 9 years ago

CPP is not like the other parties who take pride in tribal attacks.

Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah was hugely undermined by his Ewe colleagues led by Bgedemah and his tribesman police officer Harry.

As to why this guy who call ...

• Mike 9 years ago

Dumdum airport

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

when is These type of People going to understand that if you are the president of the republic of Ghana , what ever you do is not your pocket Money but the Money that belong to the state, is been used for that fucking purpose ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

There is an airport already named after Kotoka so the joke is on you! Kotoka deposed a despot but never saved the Ashantis who, under any circumstances, can look after themselves more than any other group in Ghana.

• BE BOLD 9 years ago

Just asking. After all they claim Afrifa was the real man and not Kotoka on 24th Feb 1966.

• NANA BONSU 9 years ago

Does Kumasi Airport actually meet the standards of an International Airport?

What are the criteria involved i.e. Runway etc?

Why dont we call it "YENTIE OBIARA" Airport. Just my thought.

• Sam George Boston MA 9 years ago

you are a joke. how can someone who rasons like you seek for an office in Ghana. Just because John Mahama is the president shd encourager you to think that Ghanaians will like to have a joke like you as their leader. Pleaaaas ...

• hagabada 9 years ago

you are very stupid

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

WE CAN RENAME EVERTHING IN GHANA WITH KOTOKA WHO WAS A GREAT TRAITOR AND ANTI ELEMENT IN GHANA'S POLICAL HISTORY.

SUGGESTIONS, ARGUMENTS,CRITICIZING AND PREACHINGS WILL NOT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE UNLESS WE A PRODUCTIVE AND TO ...

• CHIGRI WAGADUGU 9 years ago

Ashantis value Kotoka more than kwame
    nkrumah and it is right because he helped to eliminate their greatest enemy

• Kweku Ikum. 9 years ago

In 1966 Kotoka the mentally impaired and Asante vagabond, Afrifa, the socially and psychologically deranged simpleton sold Ghana, Ghanaians all that within our Nation to US in partnership with UK for a mere $3000 (three thous ...

• Azumah Nelson 9 years ago

Kwame Mayor, I think you are crazy.

• Human Being Lagos 9 years ago

Coward hiding under da name "Azumah",, should learn Self Confidence, now ! !!.

Kumasi Airport should definitely be named after the TRANSPORT GURU Garby Zacca, for his contribution to the Transport Industry worldwide and also being one Kumasi born who has raised scholarships to many Ghanaians who have re ...