You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2013 03 08Article 267021

Bringing Ghana's diaspora home

Read Comments Comments (56)

• rikuss 2 by 4 ( wisdom) 11 years ago

There is a cluse, in the Ghanian constitution, that gives no room to the citizens of Ghana who had been away from the country for 5yrs. I am writing to tell Ghanaians, that untill that cluse is totally dropped, the country wo ...

• Aunty 11 years ago

My dream of coming back home is quickly dashing into thin air. The current situation in Ghana is scaring many of us away. The chronic water and power outages mark with unsanitary conditions in the country, is anything to desi ...

• Eve 11 years ago

Bringing back who? A country that can't provide its citizens the basic necessities of life- water, electricity, housing, employment, healthcare etc. In addition to all these problems, we have to worry about the escalating ar ...

• Age joe 11 years ago

Those living in Ghana for the past 56 yrs, have not been able tout Ghana on the world map. Therefore it's up to them to give you and I the chance to see if we can make that change happen. Yes I believe we can since we have ta ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 11 years ago

Who wants to return to a failed nation?Just look at the present hopeless situation in Ghana!Electricity,water,filth,corruption bad road and health infrastructure,armed robbery just to mention a few.Who is mad to return to suc ...

• J. Coolman 11 years ago

I saw people who have cut short their vacation from one month to two weeks so they could run away from Ghana as fast as they can due to light offs and dry pipes. And now this joker is talking about people going home for good. ...

• rikuss 2 by 4 ( wisdom) 11 years ago

There is a cluse, in the Ghanian constitution, that gives no room to the citizens of Ghana who had been away from the country for 5yrs. I am writing to tell Ghanaians, that untill that cluse is totally dropped, the country wo ...

• KKK 11 years ago

CORRUPT POLITICIANS DONT CARE ABT DIASPORANS

• John 11 years ago

You need to come and live in ghana mate and see the people you are talking about are packing and leaving Ghana. Me included. Notwithstanding all the hype this country is going down the pan and even being in a position to prov ...

Tell him again my brother. That guy is a joker. Who wants go live in that filthy expensive country.

• anokwale 11 years ago

The reality is that the only people who should come back are people who make good money abroad and can basically afford to live in the West and still run businesses in Ghana. You cannot actually live in Ghana full time. It ...

• NKOTB for President 2016 11 years ago

Lets see if policy makers in Ghana have the Guts!!!!

• jojokuku 11 years ago

This is crab! There are many people there who do not even have the job we have here. If you listen to such propagandas and move home you will become doomed. You must have a lot of cash to survive in Ghana as it has nothing to ...

• Debbie 11 years ago

I concur! I wanted to move back home so badly. I am a well qualified and well experienced financial analyst living in Europe. I sent my CV to several companies to test the waters before I make the final decision to move. Not ...

• ZIPLOC 11 years ago

Mr. Anderson I beg your pardon, what you have written is the way it ought to be, but that is far from the reality.
    When you have President Mahama steal a whole election, and is now facing the Supreme Court, my advise to dias ...

• Yankey Chicago. USA 11 years ago

NFDP PLEASE COMMUNICATE WITH THE BANKS TO REDUCE LOAN INTEREST RATES. CUURENTLY ITS ANYTHING FROM 18-25%
    WHICH IS TOO HIGH. WE CAN NOT ESTABLISH ANY BUSINESS UNDER SUCH CONSTRAINTS

• Hustler 11 years ago

Theories! theories! theories,! This reminds me of all the great things I read in 6th form economics; OAU, ECOWAS and its benefits.
    I spoke to somebody in Ghana with a ‘respectable’ job only yesterday and he is adding to ...

• NANA 11 years ago

GHANA ECONOMY IS ACTUALLY CRAWLING: NOW WE ARE HAVING WATER, ELECTRICITY, GAS CRISES. BANKS BORROWING RATE IS SO HIGH. POOR ROAD NETWORKS. UNTIL WE SOLVE THESE PROBLEMS, I DONT THINK ANY BUSINESS MAN OR WOMAN WILL MOVE TO GHA ...

• NANA 11 years ago

WRITER, I DON'T THINK YOU QUALIFY TO WRITE THIS PIECE:
    QUESTION: DO YOU LIVE IN GHANA OR YOU HAVE A BUSINESS THERE?

• the truth 11 years ago

simple, provide 24 hrs electricity and lower the tariffs and i guarantee you that Ghana will boom from the investments from those in the diaspora. Ghana is really not ripe for any good business and that is the reality.

• Wisdom 11 years ago

WHICH Good ENTREPRENUER will invest in this ARM ROBBER infested Country.
    TO BE ROBBED KILLED AND LEAVE HIS FAMILY PREMATURELY?
    NO WAY, TELL YOUR GOVENRMENT TO DEAL WITH ARM ROBBERY FIRST AND THEY WILL COME

• NANA 11 years ago

i hope the writer is taking notes because he/she should go back to his or her master and tell him to sort out the current problems facing Ghanaians first.The country is being run by greedy people who robs from the poor and do ...

• Kofi Boadu 11 years ago

Accra is one of the most expensive cities in the world. With the advent of dumso-dumso, intermittent electricity supply, lack of fresh water, high cost of living, the filth and smell, expensive transportation, bad roads, arm ...

• NANA 11 years ago

well said kofi. i think some people are wearing different spectacles.

• Glo 11 years ago

Well said. I agree with most of what you are saying. We still treat the white man like he is God.

• KK 11 years ago

UNTIL THE MENTALITY OF GHANAIANS LEAVING IN GHANA CHANGE THIS WILL BE HARD TO WITH WITH. BECAUSE WHEN YOU GO BACK BEUREAUCRACY IN GHANA WILL FRUSTRATE YOU IN SUCCEEDING. EVERYONE WANT SOMETHING BUT REFUSE TO WORK FOR IT. THEY ...

• Akos 11 years ago

Ghana's woes is due to poor leadership and incompetences. Nobody knows how to run the country. A nation so rich and yet poor. Most of us hate the harsh weather conditions in the west and would love to repatriate back home but ...

• JJ 11 years ago

EXCELLENT IN THE LONG RUN TO CLOSE THE GAP IN TERMS OF LOCAL CONTENT. AND WEBSITE TO HELP OTHER GHANAIANS GLOBALLY NOT ONLY IN EUROPE.

• Gypsy 11 years ago

Too much wahala in ghana. Healthcare sucks, bad roads, no water or electricity, bad stench in the air, kalabule dey run the country.

• Yoyo 11 years ago

Corruption in Ghana is so endemic that,
    Ghana remain at a standstill. How can you settle in a place where the leaders themselves are indiscipline? No running water, no electricity, no jobs, God forbid if you get sick & ende ...

Go back to Ghana alright. But after few days of black outs and dry pipes you will be repacking your bags back to Oyibo land.

• Jim Kelly(NY) 11 years ago

Any time I talk to my fellow diasporans, they bemoan the corruption and inefficiencies of the ruling government. And they are right.Many of us have attained higher education here and know how efficient governance can do for a ...

• Fedup 11 years ago

Ghana has potentials alright, but with these corrupt thieves running the country, i'm afraid, most diasporans won't risk their money investing in such an environment.

• EFUA 11 years ago

EUROPE IS ON FIRE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUT THE TRUTH IS, HERE (UK) IS BETTER THAN HOME. I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT. ARE THERE CARE SUPPORT JOBS IN GHANA??? IF U DO NOT GET ANY JOB TO DO IN UK, U CAN TAKE CARE OF THE ELDERLY ...

• WALA BOY( KATUN-KUNARI II) USA 11 years ago

This is a very good idea.Some us lsft home to labor and go home to establish something like self employment for a standard of living,support the family, and also as contribution towads the development.We need genuine company ...

• Akosua Faibille 11 years ago

Ghanaians living in Ghana shun those in the diaspora to the extent that a Ghanaian living abroad who expresses the desire to return home and work in Ghana is treated like an outcast or a criminal.
    It happens a lot in the Mi ...

• Me 11 years ago

We will chose the appropriate time to come home.that time is when the government in power understands democracy, the rule of law and fairness. That is currently not the case so the ball is your court. You (those who want us b ...

• tt 11 years ago

Start looking for a prepaid grave.

• NO WATER,ELECTRICITY & JUNGLE -LAW ? 11 years ago

TOO=MUCH HARDSHIP IN GHANA !!!!!!!!1

• GHANAIANS ARE TOO-CORRUPT 11 years ago

NO-WAY.TILL THIS NDC-IDIOTS ARE GONE

• Joe 11 years ago

Who then should stay and make Ghana a better place? , if everyone is full of negativity, it is high time we contribute and stop blaming Government for everything.

• NANA 11 years ago

WHO COLLECTS THE TAXES? WHERE IS OUR COCOA, GOLD, OIL MONIES?

ALL WE NEED IS BASIC NECESSITIES LIKE WATER, ELECTRICITY AND OTHER THINGS
    GOVERNMENT JOB IS TO MAKE THE ECONOMY CONDUCIVE FOR BUSINESS. IS GHANA CONDUCIVE FOR ...

• KOFI 11 years ago

Ghana is a Beautiful Country and all in the Diaspora need to help make it better. My only concern is the Persitent Corruption by the So called Leaders Running the Country who are only interested in making Money than running t ...

• maame lolo 11 years ago

culture clashes, problems with stay, problems as minorities, racism, language problems, problems with raising kids, youth crime, rising number of fake pastors.......the list does not end ....new countries new challenges

• myghanalinks 11 years ago

You have a point. It is not as easy as most people think it is abroad but travel and see is the best experience one can have.

• Yolande M. Agble 11 years ago

A laudable idea, undoubtedly. But there are some very worrying practices vis a vis Ghanaians and the expatriate community in the country which disaporan Ghanaians might find hard to swallow. Recently in an address I believe t ...

• nsem pii 11 years ago

Hoe NDC de go be k3k3 folks see that.

• anokwale 11 years ago

People seem to think they are going to go home and get a job just because they have lived outside. What people need to do is to be good at what they do abroad and save money. Once they have saved up some money, then they ca ...

• NANA 11 years ago

HAHAHA, SAVE MONEY AND GO AND BUILD YOUR OWN BOREHOLE AND ENERGY SYSTEM?

• Anokwale 11 years ago

It is a burden but, the reality is that Chinese, Syrians, Lebanese and others come and do it. We need to do the same. At this point, we have to stop making excuses and learn to save up some money and take a risk. It is not ...

• CLEAN ELECTION IS A CLEAN DEMOCRACY 11 years ago

Please dont throw dust,, Diasporans know what push them to the Northern world for better lifestyle. They hear their people crying everyday for help. Dont use politics to deny people their right to live in a better society.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 11 years ago

With these "dumso,dumso" and water shortages which of the diasporians in his/her right senses would like to invest in Ghana.We invest to make profit and with these inconveniences where is the profit going to come from? A "bea ...

• CONCERNED 11 years ago

AS PROUD AS I MAY BE OF MY COUNTRY, IT ALWAYS LETS ME DOWN. DUE TO INCOMPETENT IDIOTS AS LEADERS!!!!