You are here: HomeNews2017 01 29Article 505039

Ghana through to AFCON semi-finals

Read Comments Comments (132)

• POW@ MINISTER 4 ZONGO AFFAIRS 7 years ago

Congrats guys

• Nat 7 years ago

First of All congratulations to all the players especially Jordan who proved to the world that he still knows where the opponent's goal post was located.I am however quite amazed at why Braimah is still in the post.

Nat, we have 3 goalkeepers over there. We the fans are saying Braimah is not good but the technical team sees him as a better choice than the rest. They are with the team out there and see what goes on at their training each ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

Thank you:)

• Vimto 7 years ago

Braimah has consistently been our weakest link throughout this tournament.Our saving grace has been the defense which has performed quite well so far.Don't forget that Amartey had to kick the ball off the goal line to save Gh ...

People like you are easy to criticize but get them the job and they won't even know their ass from a hole in the ground. If you can do it Ghana wouldn't have hired Grant.

• Vimto 7 years ago

The only contribution Grant has brought to the team is his genuine love for the players.The players are playing their own game.So far every technical decision taken by Grant has been wrong.Why in the name of Abiokuta did he ...

Well, Grant never thought of ABIOKUTA, he all along had SOKOTO in mind. Give the man a break. That failed tactics just took out the so called best offensive team in this tournament. Do you think that was by luck? It's a strat ...

• Tahiim 7 years ago

What I always want is a W not about how once we get a W that is what matters most the days of entertaining soccer is history what I saw in this game especially in the second half was that they were all playing with a single p ...

• babs 7 years ago

U delusional shud stop behaving as if goals are not part of the game.always looking for scape goat.if all the players r standing and complaining instead of protecting the ball,what can the keeper do.leave r azan alone.the sam ...

• £earn_$martphones_Repairing 7 years ago

Helloooo! January is almost gone. Even if you don'T need this, look around; SOMEONE AROUND YOU need this book! Are you yet to start something? Still confused about what investment options to choose for the year to maintain st ...

• SMART FREMPAH, UK 7 years ago

Yes he made some errors but he is not the worst. His diving save in the latter part of the game proved vital.

• anokwale 7 years ago

At this point. You do not change him. You just encourage him and work with him to strengthen the reflexes.

• apetupre usa 7 years ago

I agree. The equalizing goal shouldn't beat any goal keeper but I heard that Kwarasey is still nursing an injury - Oh well they won

• kosh 7 years ago

thats worse i've seen ghana play,was really hard game for us,but im glad we won,still waiting to win 100pounds bet if we win the cup,fingers crossed,glad we got cameroon,they look less stronger than senegal but we have to be ...

Dude, we've been playing beautiful games and it's been lose, lose situation for us all the time so, if bad games are giving us the much needed results, why not stick with that? Go Ghana go, bad game or not, "shilba kap na ma ...

• Dave 7 years ago

don't mind them....Pressure Made them play well against Egypt...what happened in the end..we lost..Go Blackstars...play as u wish

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

We cannot like this and win the cup. MARK MY WORDS

• anokwale 7 years ago

No one has been perfect in this tournament. The key is really just making sure you put the ball in the net two times a game. If the Black Stars can score twice each game they will certainly pull this off. At this point it ...

• EA1us 7 years ago

"shills lap na na fef3." Hahaha, hahahaha, that's funny man! Wow haha! Oh mercy, you made my day. Me too!

• Abd 7 years ago

All we need is the win, end, period.It doesn't matter if they play the ball wearing superman cape,a defeat means failure.Nobody wins awards for losing so good.I can't stand people who are so shallow they dwell more on appear ...

• Kwabena 7 years ago

I am not sure what is going on with the Black Stars but there is no sense of URGENCY in their camp.....Well, just look at the Coach

• twebox 7 years ago

Welldone Ghana Blackstars and congratulations to my new hero Jordan Pele Ayew!Nobody thought you could survive the full might of the very energized and motivated Congo but in the end we proved that we are Ghanaians.

• ghanaba 7 years ago

why did it take the coach too long to field afriyie acquah, he and Mubaraks pair is phenomenal.

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

To recoup my loss. Where is Assafuah? Who is playing 11? Wakaso or dede? Wakaso should play 11 bcos he can replicate what atsu is doing on the left. Squad should work on endurance 120minutes and penalties. We need freekick co ...

Well done but u still shaaa huh? As for you, even if Ivanka Trump kwraa open her legs for you for free with some managerial position attached kwraaa, I know you go chop and still say something bad about it. He he he

JooooooooooooooooRDAN

• Sinclear 7 years ago

THE ISRAELI IS COMING TRU HERE PEOPLE

I have already predicted that, it is either Egypt or Cameroun that will win the cup.This our Nyame boame soccer will not get us the cup.

What haven't we heard from you? Yet, we keep moving up. Few hours ago, you were like "there's no way Ghana will move pass Congo". Well, for your info Ghana just brushed the Congolese aside, it's now history. Next is Cameroun, ...

The POW I know does not lie.Please reproduce my comments where I the statements " there is no way......." You remember AFCON 2012, when I invented "Nyame boame soccer" and Burkina Faso stopped us? I only predicted our match ...

• ???(DarkerThanBlue) 7 years ago

Chaka USA is coming after you.

Chaka does not have time for GHweb.

We will all in just a matter of one week. I'm waiting to see Ghana lift this trophy and we'll flush you out of this website.

WE CANNOT PLAY ZONGO SOCCER AND WIN THE CUP.MARK MY WORDS.I AM THE EMPEROR.

• The Stallion 7 years ago

Yesaday we massacre Southampton 5-0.
    I dey buzz since. I no dey fit open my eyes sef.
    After beating Congo, I open another bottle. Na dat dey pain you?

The cup is between Cameroun and Egypt. Any challenger?

• The Stallion 7 years ago

Waite for, I dey go buy another bottle. You go see fire!!!

• AMERICA LOVER 7 years ago

Ghana, the most super power soccer nation in the world

we cannot win the cup. Mark my words.

• J0eY l0nD0n 7 years ago

We are going to win dirty!

Do not joke with the Emperor. No cup for us.

• yash kugmoor17 7 years ago

Bad luck dramani is gone for good.

• Rev. Bonsu 7 years ago

Ayekoo!!! Don't get complacent, please bring home the cup. Bravo guys we love you all. We thank Jesus for the victory.

• Kokofu 7 years ago

Jesus does not play football. The Congolese are also Catholics!

• Kwesi Lapas (ATL,USA) 7 years ago

Great play by Jordan and entire team.

• wise man 7 years ago

too much my boys .no treat.

• maka 7 years ago

.wow...! it seems only the coaches and technical team can see that razak is really good! like i keep saying --- this team is nothing to write home about ----starting with the goal keeper!

akoa yi asa papapapa ---and yet, t ...

• babs 7 years ago

Stop stealing from public purse.what have u done for mother ghana.

• stage 7 years ago

Well done black stars

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Ghana wins oooooooo

• BA 7 years ago

Congrats gallant stars

• Agonaba 7 years ago

Superb !!!

• True talk 7 years ago

Hallelujah,we thank our Jehovah God,we him glory,Amen! Amen!! Amen!!!.

• balablaba 7 years ago

Splendid second half.You have done well,keep fighting we are behind you like keke

• oppong london 7 years ago

my prediction is through,ghana has won and ,ghana is going to win the cup.

• Mani N'yinga 7 years ago

Abedi lives on

• Jah Bless 7 years ago

Respect Black Stars.You did well as a Team.keep it up and correct your mistakes.Jah Bless.

• Joseph in Germany 7 years ago

I told they to put on shooting and have confident With Vimmm,they will overcome them ,Ayew,Jordan, Atsu the dribbling master,wakasu ,Acquah,at the top there and they will win them.Seee today

• nana ooooo 7 years ago

Thank you guys for making Ghana proud. God be with you all.

• Joseph in Germany 7 years ago

But still our defence is still licking ,please Avran Grant should check they

• Constructivist 7 years ago

Leaking not "licking"

• Yaw Opoku- Ahwenie - Philadelphia US 7 years ago

Go Ghana!!!

• TOGBE EMMA 7 years ago

CONGRATULATION guys. Hmmmmmm,,,,, experience and a little bit of luck saw us through.Yes we enjoyed the favor of God in this match.Fellows, it isn,t that our boys are not good, the fact is that the other African Teams have go ...

• Koko diko 7 years ago

Now where are those noisemakers?????
    In a tournament u need sheer luck n luck was on Ghanas side.
    What has playing nice football brought to us all these years?
    U play ugly to win.
    Now where are the ayew critics?
    Jordan s ...

• Kojo Agatebe, Oregon, USA 7 years ago

Keep it up Jordan. Some of us know you are a gem, and it is only a matter of time and you will be a toast of Europe and Africa.

• Kujo , Brenase 7 years ago

Don't lose your guards guys .. the battle is still the Lord's! We shall overcome

• yamus 7 years ago

Amen. God is on our side. We shall overcome. Well done Black Star

• happy 7 years ago

well done, Cameron is not treat but Egyptian again in final

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Bravo Stars,you have made my day.No panic,everything will be alright.

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 7 years ago

Please bring the cup so that we can celebrate 60years of independence. Good luck.

• sakpaku 7 years ago

well done Jordan

• Kaf Sweden 7 years ago

You guys are so good thanks be to God for moving Ghana to the next stage definitely the cup is coming to Ghana black stars good luck victory is yours

• Patrick 7 years ago

Razak's last save was phenomenal!

• NANA OSEI-YEBOAH KOTU1 7 years ago

good job done guys , u re the best and always remain the best , we re praying that the cup will come to Ghana after so many years.

• Isaac.Italy 7 years ago

Well done, black stars keep it up. Long live Ghana.

• Mr mr 7 years ago

Where are the haters nd ignorant jealous poepeople we won again what's next shameless haters

• chop bar 7 years ago

We are still around and by the way how are you.

• Kofi Dickson 7 years ago

Ghana will win this year.... Am Kofi Napoli from Italia

• OLUWAAAAAAA IT'S A GOAAAAALLLLLLLL 7 years ago

I have always said it, Jordan if he reaches his peak would be a terrific unstoppable heavy pounder anywhere within the 18 meter box or outside of it.
    The finish was sheer brilliance. The control, the confidence and how he pl ...

• Soweto London 7 years ago

I have always supported Jordan on this platform and see his as the next A.Gyan. This boy is only truly young and the next 10 years will see him breaking all the goal records for the black stars. I see his partnership with har ...

• Koko diko 7 years ago

Where is Saint GhFour his excellency.
    He for come out koraa his sokortwiii analysis are needed urgently

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

Bstar sokortwii. Bet on cameroon

• Koko diko 7 years ago

Play ugly to win.

• Nii Osa Mensah 7 years ago

I wish to hear from Jordan haters to come and say their tribal effusions

Any challenger?

• Alberto 7 years ago

If he does well we will praise him and he plays poorly we will point it out. We do that to the players; is not tribal thing. We criticized Atsu and he is playing better.

Where is retarded Ghfour? He is working over time @ his security job and Rasheed is on the run !Trump is after him.

• DiCarlo 7 years ago

thank God for Ghana blackstars,the spirit is alive...2 more to go

• Joe Adjaka, Bodada, v/r 7 years ago

Jordan continues to baffle me. When you don't expect him to deliver he surprises you. Well done Jordan and the gallant boys, including the technical bench

• Adullah Joseph 7 years ago

God bless u atsu

• Adullah Joseph 7 years ago

Good work done

• Odikro 7 years ago

And you have to "plagiarize" from BBC to give Ghanaians a report? Where are the mouthy Ghanaian sports journalists and analysts? You are all losers.

• Kojo 7 years ago

For all those who have shortsight......From the Group stage to now, was a carefully calculated move......+divine help. Viewers have no right to criticize the coach. Only players and others directly in contact can.
    End of th ...

Ghanaian journalists learnt how to plagiarise from their president.

• babs 7 years ago

U people shud know that the editor of ghanaweb is u.the site is only for taken news from other sources.if u r not comfortable,u can look elsewhere and leave the administrator alone.we complain and criticise everything.

• Enoch, Connecticut US 7 years ago

Avram Grants is a good coach.

• Anokwale 7 years ago

The players put it all on the line. However, I want to suggest that Grant learn to put fresh legs in the game sometimes.

• Abraham 7 years ago

Affriyah Aquau has to start the next game

• Okponglo Guy 7 years ago

The spirit of Pele reigns. From Anglican to Greenhill, "Farcoes (Falcons), Marseille and now in your children.

Thank you for the memories. Some of us have followed you since Achimota.

• say 7 years ago

Which part of okponglo do you come from?

• darius99 7 years ago

Greenhill - I heard about him from boys who attended university primary, legon. We were kids so I brushed it aside, but he was a Legend, even then. Today, when I talk to other africans about soccer, the 1st thing they ask me ...

• Sikanhyira 7 years ago

We the npepefo) made it again....Ghana without northeners is like building without Foundation

• GYIGYI 7 years ago

You're just a troll. This is the basis of racism and until we all change our attitude racism and discrimination will continue to destroy people wherever they are. If you're not a troll, why would you call our northern brother ...

• AKAJATAME 7 years ago

Well done Ayew brothers Ghana is through to semi-finals hope to qualifire to final.

• SAA 7 years ago

Wow weldone black stars.. What a goal from Jordan wow keep it up.. Lets go for the cup.. Viva Ghana viva Black stars

• not a begger 7 years ago

Congratulations Blackstars we are proud of you. You can make it, bring the cup home.

• the capitalist 7 years ago

The most useless player is mubarak wakasso.
    Faulty passes, cynical tackles and sheer foolishness.

• Akamai 7 years ago

Understanding when to play long balls, short passes or tackle

• eddie 7 years ago

The capitalist. Fool. Have you ever worn a black star jersey before? You stand there and say incompetent, incompetent. What has Wakasso done wrong? Fool. No abaabasee. No abaabasee

• the capitalist 7 years ago

Half -human half- goat Eddie.
    Your stupid drunk father and cheap whore mother are rather fools for producing a half beast like you.
    Has Mourinho worn a jersey before ?
    You are very stupid like the corrupt dead- goat thief ...

• Jac Timi 7 years ago

Good job Braimah for saving that second powerful long range, that could have beaten any good goalkeeper including Dauda and Richard Ofori. And congratulations to Black Stars.

• Bro Dan -TRC 7 years ago

Thank God!! Together and with God wed did!! God Bless the Black Stars of Ghana. God Bless Afcon 2017. God Bless all Nations for the support. And, God Bless our homeland Ghana!!

• emmanuel gbogbo mawuli loveridge 7 years ago

surly ghana will bring the home but it just pains me that nana addo will say that because of his government the black stars wone cup

I am sorry there is no cup.Take it from the Emperor with "third eye".

• Fiavi Felix 7 years ago

Ghana blackstar book a ticket to the semi. Jordan Ayew and his brother convected the two goals.

• Chu 7 years ago

Thank you Ghana for making me win a cool $ 200.00 but this is where we part ways cos my next bet is on Cameroon who is going to knock Ghana 2 -1 on Wednesday night. Am willing to bet $400.00 as you know you increase as the co ...

• Santaclausian, Croydon 7 years ago

It looks as if the technical team have decided for the Stars to reverse what transpired in our first two games. There we played offensive football in the first half, get a goal and then retreat and play defensive football in ...

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

The thanking God of the winner becomes the great of being the Black Stars make a way of a hero for the match to enable them the excellent ,they all are good,the Black Stars to make ghana becomes a proud of the todays match of ...

• THE SENTINEL 7 years ago

MOROCCO IS OUT OF AFCON 2017 COMPETITION HAVING BEEN BEATEN 1-0 BY EGYPT. THE PROUD FRENCHMAN HERVE RENARD'S DREAM OF WINNING THREE CONSECUTIVE AFRICAN CUPS WITH THREE DIFFERENT NATIONS, HAVE BEEN SHATTERED AND BROKEN LIKE A ...

• Jazz of Spintex 7 years ago

Football is a game in which luck plays a major role. The boys were lucky. If DRC had players who could finish...the game would have been over before Andre Ayew scored. The goal was great. It looks as though the DRC goal shou ...

• Emmanuel Assibu 7 years ago

Bravo Ghana,all the way to the finals. Bring home the cup.

• Abanga 7 years ago

The dwarfs decessendances wish the brothers were theirs

• yaw 7 years ago

Well done Nana Addo

• Agyasei 7 years ago

Congratulations Black Stars

• SS 7 years ago

Good Show Ghana

• Samir 7 years ago

All the guys played as a team and were more goal hungry in the second half but seem to sometimes loose focus after they score forgetting that it's never until the last whistle

• Mortious 7 years ago

All the players has to call for supporters.... Camerroom is not a junior Team, the players must call forward for support ..... Supporters are to help and make the players feel better in the game .. There are not much support ...

• Kofi Kyeremeh 7 years ago

The Black Star players should stop arguing with referees and players of the teams they play against, losing focus and concentration in the process. That happened yesterday, leading to the equaliser before the penalty.

• doomsday 7 years ago

we are proud of you black stars
    big up big up black stars

• ggggg 7 years ago

sss

• Little Messi 7 years ago

Eeei Fataow x how u are, Ghanaians do something about it ooo