You are here: HomeNews2017 01 08Article 499344

Check out what Lydia Forson thinks about Akufo-Addo's plagiarized speech

Read Comments Comments (105)

• blessing 7 years ago

well said

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

WHILE THE LIKES OF CHINA ARE COPYING, IMITATING THE WEST WHICH IS MAKING HER DEVELOP FAST, SOME SENSELESS GHANAIANS ARE FIGHTING OVER SPEECHES

• Asem be badabi 7 years ago

Just as some senseless Ghanaians made useless noise about Pro. Mill's tongue.

• eric 7 years ago

SO ARE YOUR ANIMALS MAKING NOISE ABOUT NANA'S SPEECH.

• GEORGE 7 years ago

You have spoken well, but remember not every Ghanaian has the sea of heart to contain the attacks ushered on Mahama by these same people that now want every Ghanaian to shut up even if Nana Ado commit errors. A ball that is ...

• NanaShortee 7 years ago

NPP praise sings Dr. Busia, Dr. JB Danquah, Victor Owusu, Prez JAK and now Prez Nana Addo Dunkwa and villifies Dr. Nkrumah, Dr. Hilla Limann, Prez JJ , Prez MIlls and ex-Prez Mahama no matter what, not willing to forgive or ...

• wiseman 7 years ago

This is not time for insult, is about finding competent people around you. As shameful as this is, nppier will continue to accept and make correction.They always think they are right in everything. Is time to accept mistakes ...

• Tilayoo 7 years ago

Who are the competent people here?. Those NPP competent people who could not write a speech but plagiarise?. It is this overbloated self image of some Ghanaians who abrogate to themselves "the know all" mentality is the bane ...

• Penti 7 years ago

President Mahama was called "incompetent Mahama" throughout the 4 years. You see what God can do? Disgraced president on day one.
    Thank you writer, you made my day. More and bigger disgrace is yet to come.

• Boss Once 7 years ago

DR TRUTH you are a pig and I shit inside your mouth, bush animal, when have you noticed that Lady Forson is not an important person in Ghana? Kwasia peni, aboa funu, let dogs eat your smelling flesh. She turned the battle on ...

• The truth 7 years ago

Boss once u are a stupid asshole..u are a good for notin excuse of a human being..stupid fool..who deals in narcotics ...foolish, aimless ,futureless,visionless human being..am ashamed to be breathing the same air as you..bul ...

• asem 7 years ago

thank you Dr.

• rkt 7 years ago

just in case u think all china does is copy the west, think again, cos she is doing original things which are jolting the west out of slumber!

• gee-teey 7 years ago

VERY WELL SAID,TRUTH INDEED.GHANA NEEDS THINKING FORWARD BIG THAN PETTINESS

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

Please my fellow Ghanaians, let's not be cynical and if you like, vindictive! It's becoming abundantly clear that some of us are hiding behind the so called plagiarism, to either settle a political score; to achieve political ...

• Nana-boateng 7 years ago

Lydia I love your writing but the same way you measured mahama government from day one do same to nana. "Abaa y3 di bor takey nu enua na y3 di bor baah."

• THE FACT 7 years ago

WHO IS SHE AFTER ALL? WORKING AROUND FROM ONE MAN TO ANOTHER

• Maximum 7 years ago

Does she know that Nkrumah plagiarized Marcus Garvey in most of his speeches, she just want some attention... is only in Ghana someone like her will call herself a celebrity. The wise man has spoken...

• Chuks, Tudu 7 years ago

Quote one sentence of Nkrumah that came from Marcus Garvey. Don't just throw filth into the air and expect people to swallow them because your tin-god president had been found caught pants down.

• hero 7 years ago

and what misfortune has the plagiarism threatens on the Ghanaian economy?

• Boss Once 7 years ago

Useless and empty hero, she knows than you and your father and mother.

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Chuks don't mind him, whether Nkrumah copied Marcus or not mr all die be die junkie has shown how extremely incompetent he is right from the word go. He (mr all die be die) thought the job was as easy as wee smoking. Dangetow ...

• chief 7 years ago

The motion of destiny for the independence of Ghana

• Sheba 7 years ago

How is it only in Ghana.? This girl is freaking intelligenthe than most American celebrities, and she can write well....Smfh...I must leave a comment by force syndrome is what is worrying your head...

• Mr ROMANO 7 years ago

SHE IS THE MOST INTELLIGENT CELEBRITY IN GHANA .... NO DOUBT.

• Shadie 7 years ago

This Fat girl better concentrate on loosing weight. She's not relevant in all aspect, as much as am concern. who the heck thats she think she is. Just a local so called celebrity. Nonsense!!. This Ghanaian Actress and Actors ...

• Sheba 7 years ago

Well..There are way more fatter celebrities in America than this girl..and are mostly school dropouts, and that includes the skinny ones.How are they better than Lydia? Is it cos they are not Africans. .This girl is intellig ...

• Dontonini 7 years ago

If plagiarism is the case then all of you must stop speaking one language or the other coz every word you see must have spoken by someone already. Nonsense "is Akufo Addo the originator Of the English language"? As good as yo ...

• Nagga 7 years ago

I support u bro, are we de originators of de English language, then whenever u want to use an English word u should first give credence to de queen, what a foolish country with empty heads, we fight over unnecessary things.

• Jerry 7 years ago

Clearly you and your bro don't know what plagiarism is. It is a serious case of fraud/theft. This reflects in the academic ability of our president who has an embarrassing 3rd class degree. When they complained about Nana's 3 ...

• Dontonini 7 years ago

You don't Understand the word you are talking about because you only looked for the definition of the word and did not understand the quotes of someones Work is to give reference to the author where by the wisdom and knowledg ...

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

Very simplistic. You don't even understand what you're talking about. With time you will understand.

• Biyariga 7 years ago

If your logic should hold why did they apologize? It is precisely because your logic is egregious and idiotic, that is why they have decided to apologize rather than use your stupid reasons to defend themselves.

• papa ghana think Good 7 years ago

Well spoken

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

STUPID, MUST THINK YOURSELF

• Chuks, Tudu 7 years ago

I have one question only "does it mean all the beautiful speeches delivered by our present and past presidents were not their own minds but of people paid to make us believe our presidents were brainy?" Yesterday's embarrassm ...

• Maximum 7 years ago

Now u realized that Nkrumah plagiarized Marcus Garvey in some of his speeches...

• Wakaso 7 years ago

Well said, Lydia, we only have one Ghana. In the end if the President fails, it is us Ghanaians who will suffer the consequences.

• Boss Once 7 years ago

Wakaso don't let me call you dog, if you are not one, stupid idiot Wakaso when have you noticed that when a seating president fails it is the whole country that has failed? Tell me, when you people were insulting President Ma ...

• KD 7 years ago

Check out the copy right law of the United States .'sayings of someone's speech can be used without acknowledging him or her'.guys should read wider n stop poking ur nose in what the so called journalists want Ghanaians to un ...

• KPODO PHILIPS 7 years ago

just drop her. she doesn't know fuck all. Speeches, are drawn from one another depending on it's effects on the current circumstances. Ask this girl of her achievements in the Ghanaian society. Mahama, could never be a Pres ...

• Sheba 7 years ago

What is your own achievement in your "community"?...mtcheew

• Eben 7 years ago

Prove

• Johannesburg 7 years ago

Think about how you can fulfill your Hollywood dream then we can believe in you. Everyone got a dream and Nana Addo has fulfilled his presidency dream so fulfill your Hollywood dream like any actress wishing to land in the Ho ...

• Sami 7 years ago

Mr Johannesburg (coward not to mention your real name). You seem to be suggesting that Nana is just like Hlaudi Motsoaneng of SABC who doesn't need qualification but as far as he can (we don't even know that now) do the job.

• ABK @ GABON 7 years ago

LYDIA that is your opinion and am sure it wouldn't work for most of us. Every thing that akuffo addo did to PRESIDENT MAHAMA will be given to him in a very nice way he will appreciate it

God bless you and your family and generation

• nana 7 years ago

People who just sit,to talk about the mistakes of others are not wise,when one realize that he has made a mistake and apologises we should accept and move on,remember when u stretch your figure at at someone,the rest points b ...

• Adam 7 years ago

It's a shame you only realized this after Nana became president. Did you forget this saying when President Manama was in power. A very big shame on you all.

• abena 7 years ago

every human being who has been in school and writes essay's do plagiarized, so stop this your nonsense, let the president be....

• Patriot 7 years ago

Lydia Forson and his social media friends and colleagues must spare us their sorry comments on Nana Addo's plagiarism. In the comforts of their East Legon and Trassaco homes, they have all the time to dissect and expatiate on ...

• Brother 7 years ago

Prez Woodrow Wilson, the 28th US President from 1913 to 1921 is the original Author of parts of H. E. Nana Addo's speach. Prez Bush used it in 2001 without acknowledging him. Prez Nana Addo uses it in 2017 and did not acknowl ...

• Abena 7 years ago

You r senseless...not only did he plagiarised Woodraw's speech but Clinton's and JFK's speeches...are those speeches 70 years olders...the presidency has apologised for the international embarassment and local.champions like ...

• Ologogi. Ologoso 7 years ago

Shame. ......Joy Fm is not the repository of knowledge in the world...they were oblivious of the fact that Copyright laws allow people to use other persons work 70 years after their death without quoting them.
    The statement ...

• Adam 7 years ago

So why the apology.

• Kojo Mensah 7 years ago

Ghanaian call this one celebrity!

• Champion's Corner 7 years ago

She is a good actress, but a terrible writer.

• donpierro 7 years ago

Are we native speakers?NDC losers should give us a break.We started learning English from the whiteman so what else do you expect.we have study and study it very well...Some idiots on this platform think they know everything ...

• Fine boy 7 years ago

Who can tell me that the words she or he uses on daily bases those words has never been used by anyone on this earth?

• Dangerous or Lazy Secretaries 7 years ago

New term for plagiarism is melanism since Trump's wife duplicate in a large scale the speech of Michelle Obama.

Indeed, for the academia this a slur but to the ordinary Ghana it is a credit for their president who quotes t ...

• apuuuu 7 years ago

I guess this is ( GOTCHA )moment for Lydia Forson she always has to put her two cents in it why can't she just keep the fuck up apuuuu

• Nagga 7 years ago

Madam all that u said is good, but unfortunately we will nt take it..is just a grammar. Can u tell me that de is, was, that, you, president, Ghana and all other words u used in ur write up has nt been used by anyone on this e ...

• Kwamoko USA 7 years ago

Perhaps in their frenzy to despise the president, apostates of hell are all at it again to condemn the latently borrowed lines of former presidents in the speech. What is wrong with their mentality is that the speechwriter di ...

• Adomako 7 years ago

Well Lydia u are right but I think it was an honest mistake so to speak. The writer should have quoted the paragraph. Lydia we thank u for your concern but let's put it to rest and move on. Ghana is a mess and needs to be put ...

• Frank 7 years ago

I don't know how to understand this Lydia. Even you borrowed he same word "plagiarized speech" to make your complain. Why didn't you use a different English word. Shame on you.

• J love 7 years ago

Nonsense, she would have been leading the crusade against Mahama if NDC had plagiarised

• talk ur mind 7 years ago

the of attitude some one. has. done it before so no big deal is one of the reason we keep on repeating mistakes.we don't learn from Mistakes no wonder we are poor

• paa yaw 7 years ago

Too bad, u Knw lil of destroying Ur career.
    This thing u wasted Ur time writing abt Dont have any impact on the average Ghanaian like u and me.Go to America today and ask if anyone cares about Bush's speech being used by a ...

• Ama 7 years ago

I like the way you write. Ghanaians should learn from you

I am complaining about her writing and you want to learn from it!!!! You need to get back to high school.

• Shakespeare 7 years ago

Get real Ghanaians; if nkrumah plagiarized doesn't mean that this short man should. Wrong is wrong and stop being sycophants.
    I thought things are going to get better not stealing people's work. What's next- stealing our mon ...

• Peprah Yaw china. 7 years ago

And so what please shout your mouth and think good for Ghana,
    Go and join John Dramani Mahama ?

• CAK 7 years ago

Lydia whoever told NPP and most of the radio stations to stop mocking Atta Mills and Mahama? No one! But as I have been saying no one is perfect and remember they said they have babies with sharp brains. The table is turned.

Girl, you need to get yourself a copyeditor or better still, get back to do due diligence to your english course if you wish to be a writer. It is too difficult to read your stuff. Disorganized, poor punctuation, subject ve ...

• daphne kokui klu 7 years ago

Well said, Ms.Forson. And GOD bless you with His wisdom. Time for Ghanaians to put in their bit and move the nation forward. Quoting from the American constitution, "one nation, indivisible... under GOD".

• Michael komlan 7 years ago

Please ghanaians let us put these Quotes in to practies does these misleading or what tell me something

• LANDIZ 7 years ago

The author wasn't George Bush but rather WOODROW WILTON IN 1915 of whoch Bush did not credited in his speech by then. So we rather see the impact that speech will bring instead...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

IT WAS A QUOTE ORIGINALLY MADE BY WOODROW WILSON

• Bino 7 years ago

Woodrow what????? Pitiful cloun.

• OneGhana 7 years ago

npp and it's allies mocked and harassed president mahama at every turn and never wished him success; but that was mahama's failure and not Ghana's, why should it be different with president akoffo addo?

• Black American Male 7 years ago

Am hoping your efforts do nothing but uplift all of Ghana, in your presidential journey!

• Kwadwo Owusu from London 7 years ago

This is the kind of hypocrisy that I hate,we all were in Ghana here where for the past eight years they said they don't have president and any time our president go there they hoot at him saying all sorts of things and cursin ...

• GABRIEL ADDAI, NEW YORK CITY 7 years ago

Lyda, you are right that this is a big deal, especially if it were in academics. I think one cannot gross over that fact. But there is a difference between making a mistake or an error if you like and apogizing for the error ...

• Ike eutee 7 years ago

Lydia Forson you are a maximum fool just because you want attention from the media and after you call your self a celebrity cheap.... look at u hide yourself somewhere.....

• Bombardier 7 years ago

Today if the President fail it's Ghana.Buy yesterday failure is for JDM.We shall see.....

• Kwame.. 7 years ago

Competence at it's peak from day 1. Hahahahahahah

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Those idiots who don't read are ignorant and they think they know much.Martin Luther King Jr famous I had a dream speech was plagiarize as is that of Nkrumah and JF Kennedy speech.

• The Wise 7 years ago

This subject is higly debatable and it should be devoid of insult. I am a bit confused with the issues concerning Nana's speech.

1. Does that particular sentence invalidate the entire speech?

2. If yes, then we can co ...

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

YES, HERE IS A WISE LADY SPEAKING. PLAGLIRISM IS COMMON IN POLITICAL SPEECHES, THOUGH NOT COMMENDED. NANA ADDO'S PRESS SECRETARY HAS RENDERED AN APOLOGY SO LET THAT CASE DIE. MR. ARHIN DID DNOT DENY THE UNINTENDED ERROR, BUT ...

• BODY GAY. 7 years ago

I have always have a soft spot for this lady. I actually fancy her to bits. Ms Forson whenever you intends to visit London please let me know. Meanwhile well done for your matured tweet.

• ama 7 years ago

well said my dear

• S. K. A 7 years ago

Ghana that is what we know doing. NPP never support NDC in anyway prosper in governance. All they do is to pull Mahama back, insult him do whatever to get him out and it happing. So sure NDC is going to that as I know.

• Maame 7 years ago

according to the academia on plagiarism, it means you have copied about 20 pages of the original writer article without making reference to the author. Just is a phase does not call for plagiarism Lydia, if you don't have an ...

• rkt 7 years ago

i guess we learn everyday, so i welcome ur input. however, i find it difficult to accept what u put out as academia's definition of plagiary. at best, u're quoting out of context! want to know why? because it would then be im ...

If copying someone speech is wrong then tell the posters and prophets to stop quoting the bible words.cux its some once speech.speech is speech if it makes sense and doesn't matter who wrote it and who speak it even Obama cop ...

• nan ft pig 7 years ago

Nppigs n nana addict r stupid incompetent

• Frema 7 years ago

This penguin need to join a fat farm and stop this madness. This is ghana no one cares about your opinion.. we want chance, change as in free shs, better health insurance, stop domsor, stop child labor (street vendors) fix ou ...

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Lydia Forson should also noted that John Ford drama Mahama 2012 inaugural speech he should John F Kennedy inaugural speech in 1962 she should go check aouuuu

• God dey... 7 years ago

When did Lydia too become a celebrity? Anyways next tym try to avoid the use of the word "this president" Nana is our president learn to show some respect, even if u dont like him. His children are far older than u.

• mindset 7 years ago

Hmmmm so the competent people bi dat? Copy copy competent people. Hahahahahahahaja. They should have allowed mr competent(bawumiah) write the speech for nana addo rather than lifting long paragraphs directly from people,s spe ...

• rkt 7 years ago

interesting view, but let none think or believe that the speech or address was sprung on mr Addo Dankwa Akuffo Addo. he received it ahead of time and must have suggested changes that culminated in the final (approved) documen ...

• ABU,ACCRA 7 years ago

ASHAWO,GO AWAY

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

It was embarrassing to those who thinks they are educators but those who read from philosophers and literature writers see's the newly elected president sworn in speech not embarrassing but see hope and encouragement.It beat ...

• Jay 7 years ago

The hypocrisy that is NPP and their blind followers. If this was Mahama that stole the huge chunks of speech like the will be singing a different tune and you this same so called "celeb" will be the 1st one jumping up and dow ...

• Akorfa 7 years ago

Oh Ghana my beloved country....when they hear one thing they take it in a different context and debate on it, instead of thinking of how to manage the country which is in debt. I wonder if the inaugural speech was for academ ...