You are here: HomeNews2016 09 06Article 467720

Reflection: Prof Amartey's appointment as Vice-Chancellor of UPSA

Read Comments Comments (135)

• Akakpo 7 years ago

A lot of lecturers are harvesting questionable degrees without any checks and balances!

• Zege 7 years ago

the only qualified person for vc position in UPSA right now is Prof. Kwame Frimpong the dean of law faculty. He is aporoduct of Yale law school ,the very university Hillary Clinton went to.there are lot of qualified ppl whom ...

• qaymens 7 years ago

Shallow minded people like you cannot be taken serious. Analyse the whole issue. You mean Prof Oko. and Prof Alabi with alleged fake certificates developed IPS into UPSA, brought in Prof. Frimpong and you think he deserved to ...

• Destiny 7 years ago

NOTE THAT UPSA WAS ESTABLISH BY AN ACT OF PARLIAMENT,AND THE SCHOOL WAS DEVELOPED BY IGF WHICH YOU OVER CHARGED STUDENTS. U MUST KNOW WELL THAT THE PRESSURE OF UG LEGON,CREATED THAT OPPORTUNITY AS MOST PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS MA ...

• James Agoha 7 years ago

Folks, are we missing something. Even the women selling tomatoes in Makola can build a university if given the resources guaranteed by an act of parliament. What is extraordinary about what Alabi has done? The issue is not ab ...

• Komla Reindorf 7 years ago

Read their previous articles very well. They started with UPSA as an institution then descended on Prof. Alabi for not having a PHd. When their lies failed, they now descended on his wife Prof. Goski. Prof. Oko the incoming V ...

• Sam 7 years ago

Reindorf: your pants are on fire. I read the original report authored by these guys. It has nothing to do with Alabi. Only that Alabi thought he could bulldoze his way with this professors. He has met his waterloo. The things ...

That is your wish and the wishes of those useless Doctors. The brand of UPSA is too strong to be battered by these useless Doctors. In the midst of your useless crusade, UPSA has received more applicants than ever.Check our w ...

• Sam 7 years ago

Hahahahaha. Damaged product. Keep deceiving yourselves.

• KO 7 years ago

More applications does not necessarily mean good image. Even unaccredited institutions have many people wanting to apply. It is simple, the population is growing and tertiary positions are limited so anything available will s ...

You need to be analytical. This is why Ghana is where we are. The two professors did not accuse people without providing the necessary basis. Follow their arguments, the issues they raised and be fair to them. The question is ...

• Spiderman 7 years ago

The name Amartya in Ghana religio-politic and academic circles. Hmmmmm!

• Seth Ablor 7 years ago

These guys must be rocket scientist. Some are writing as if the issues are about UPS or Alabi. Ghana is unbelievable. What a broken country!

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

The days of typewriters are gone. Join the information super highway. There are over 2,200 students from over 80 countries on board the SMCU train. And what are these useless 2 PhDs saying? Tsikata and Dotse come nowhere near ...

• Seth Ablor 7 years ago

Even with a super computer, nobody can work on 2 PhDs and an Mphil altogether in three years. Whats happening in Ghana. Why dont they do that in University of Ghana?

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

I understand, nothing is possible for Ghanaians.

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

Of course Bill Gates can lecture in any top school in the world but he may not be introduced as an academic. He will be teaching based on his field exploits and experience.
    you don't seem to know the difference between the ...

You have lost it. For all you know you are an alumnus of SMCU. Shame on you crooks!!

• Atoklo 7 years ago

Most of you writing a lot of nonsense don't seem to understand what this beautiful peace of work entails. Everything in Ghana to be either spiritualised or tribalised. Do you know how many years it takes to study for a PhD, l ...

• qaymens 7 years ago

These so called researchers are striving on malice. This article is useless. The fact that Prof. Oko has refused to descend into the gutters with these unscrupulous PHD holders without any achievement does not mean their find ...

• KK 7 years ago

2 PhD's and an Mphil in 3 years is very worrying. It took me 4.5 years to finish my PhD in the USA. UPSA's reputation will be severely dented in academic circles if something is not done.

This crusade against UPSA and Prof. Oko is not washing so why not use your so called PHDs (Tsikator & Dotse) to do something better. It is an open truth that Prof. Alabi has developed IPS into UPSA. NAB has come out to debunk ...

• Hope Derry 7 years ago

UPSA is now a joke. It's been turned into a political institution where unqualified and under qualified friends and family are appointed lecturers etc. Why will any serious academic go to Nicaragua for a PhD? It's disgraceful ...

• Kweku Donsuro 7 years ago

Everything in Ghana under NDC has been reduced to second rate fare. Standards have been compromised because there is no excellence in leadership under NDC rule.Ghana needs salvation under NDC.

• OMANBA 7 years ago

Stop writing nonsense.Are you telling Ghanaians that this problem never existed under Kuffuor's NPP government,or what?Why can't we stop politicizing issues? Buying or acquiring fake degrees never started with Mahama's NDC g ...

• Anwar 7 years ago

It still doesn't make it right.

• Paa Kojo 7 years ago

The root cause of Ghana's falling educational standards must be traced to JJ's PNDC/NDC rule over the years.
    The constitution was crafted to protect JJ and in the end, as a people, Ghanaians have 'cut their noses to spite th ...

• Destiny 7 years ago

I AM WONDERING WHY THE COUNCIL VALUE FAKE SMC DOCTORS THAN THE VERY IMAGE AND REPUTATION OF UPSA.IS IT BECAUSE GOSKI IS ONE OF THE FAKE SMC DOCTOR + NICARAGUA BULLSHIT???? SO THEY WANT TO PROTECT HER AND THE REMAINING 5!! UPS ...

• army 7 years ago

look at another loser

• ghanaman 7 years ago

Dear Profs Tsikata and Dotse,

Law-abiding Ghanaians and believers in the pursuit of academic excellence are with you. Make it a goal to produce all the information needed for citizens to compel the accreditation bodies to ...

• KA 7 years ago

It's a very difficult thing they're doing. We should urge them to produce more evidence, not insult them.

He has asked the VC to publish his full cv online and all of us will scrutinize it and see their academic worth. Th ...

• JAMES KADIRI 7 years ago

VERY VERY VERY SAD THAT WE EVER HAVE SUCH A COUNCIL RUNNING A PUBLIC UNIVERSITY.IN FACT THE TRUTH IS THAT THIS IS A VERY BIG DISGRACE TO GOVERNMENT AND THE CURRENT PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF GHANA FOR THAT MATTER.UPSA TEAC ...

• Koffe 7 years ago

The ridiculous thing is that the fake SMC doctors are known to be chasing away real and genuine scholars from prestigious aacsb accredited universities, all because of Alabis wife who happened to be senior fake SMC doctor.WHY ...

• Victor 7 years ago

What a mess these guys have created for Ups? I suspected these guys knew something they wanted the public to know, with the way they have persisted. Daily Graphic, NAB, and UPSA are in total mess. This issue must become an el ...

• Ama 7 years ago

I think these two professors know exactly what they are talking about. The evidence is unbeatable. Great work and thumps up

• Baby 7 years ago

Is a pity how much UPSA charges now for school Fees,the ordinary person can not go there,the government of today cannot say anything because the school council are all NDC faithfuls.

• Kinsley 7 years ago

Is the Ghana National Accreditation Board asleep?

• Daniel 7 years ago

Are the authors saying that:
    1. Nobody can have two PhDs concurrently? Does the fact that one has two PhDs from different istitution necessarily make all the institutions invalid and unaccredited?

2. Concerning University ...

• KA 7 years ago

... they've provided the evidence you're asking

• Woman 7 years ago

Apparently, he cannot read or understand what he reads especially considering how poorly he writes.

• Brenton Adopoke 7 years ago

I am dismayed at the article by these two jealous professors. Universidad Central de Nicaragua is valid university ranked 9778 in the world university rankings. UCN is ranked in The International Association of Universities. ...

• olu 7 years ago

This ewe thing should stop. If the programme is accredited in Ghana why do you say it has not been accredited in any country in the world? . Is ghana not part of the world?

• qaymens 7 years ago

This is just jealousy. With fake certificates, they have been able to develop an under developed Institute into a University. What has Dr. Tsikator and Dr. Dotse done with their PHd.

• KA 7 years ago

Not everything is a matter of jealousy. This is an important matter worth pursuing to its bitter end. Don't say jealousy.

The USPA people have the right to respond. The public and the rest of academia should judge and set ...

• Ben 7 years ago

As far as academic work is concerned. we believe these two guys are making their contribution. There is nothing called jealously here. The facts are out. Check them and dispute them, rather than attacking the messengers.

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

Imagine, Bill Gates invented a computer and a group of people who own typewriters argue the computer should be thrown in the bin because it has a screen. Think smart! Or, a group of PhD holders argue Bill Gates doesn't have a ...

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

...Ghana is going nowhere.

• Martin Asempa 7 years ago

for Ghana to go somewhere, all these criminals must be rooted out. This is just the beginning. Even the IGP, parliamentarians, Members of the Council of state are all involved in the scam. How do you expect Ghana to develop? ...

• qaymens 7 years ago

Your evil crusade against these noble man Prof. Oko is a crusade against God. My little advice to you Dr. Tsikator and Dr. Doste.Reflect over whatever agender you have against this man and the University of Professional Studi ...

• Destiny 7 years ago

U ARE DUMB.UR HEAD IS DEMENTED.SHUT THE FUCK UP, OK????????????????????????

• tommy 7 years ago

you call him idiot because he is educating you? insults is all you know, learn and develop yourself

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

Grow up! I urge you to read the story again. It is people like you that are responsible for the bad state of affairs in Ghana. If an individual with fake doctorate certificates and poor research records is your hero, then Gha ...

• WHOSE MONEY IS HE SPENDING?> 7 years ago

The authors are correct. Why should we accept bogus certificates? Ihas taken me over 5YEARS to earn my PhD from my school.So why should idiots and criminals as this amartey be allowed to hold BOGUS DEGREES IN GHANA?

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

It's simply unbelievable to note how many unconscionable Ghanaians there are! This is an issue of the utmost moral turpitude, decadence, fraud, deceit and corruption and see how many people are defending the academic fraudste ...

• TOMMY 7 years ago

Initially it was fake certificates you were talking about.. Now the new Incoming VC. Please oooo How Much are they paying you. well if you care to know your political ambition in ghana will never hold. you will remain in VALD ...

Tommy, I do not know your level of education but I am sure you can read and write. Your VC has the fake certificate that the authors have been writing about. That's how the stories are connected. This is a genuine course that ...

• tommy 7 years ago

please define a What a FAKE CERTIFICATE is? you cant even differentiate between a fake certificate an original certificate

• KA 7 years ago

We must all know the truth and decide which side of the case is true.

Let Amartey make known all his research work - dissertations, academic papers, conference submissions, books published, his citations, etc and we shall ...

Tommy, obviously the discourse is beyond your level. Stay away!

• JULIUS 7 years ago

NAB is in charge and NAB has given vivid explanation on Accreditation. TSIKATA wants political appointment so he wants to gain attention.. he is just a looser.. LAME

VIVID explanation? Are you OK? Have you been reading the articles or you are just playing stupid? IF YOU CARE TO KNOW: No foreign university can operate in Ghana unless it already has institutional accreditation from its home ...

• tommy 7 years ago

STUPID, go and read what they news say. go and research well, you guys are very lazy. you cant even do simple research but you are insulting noble people. STUPID. do you know about CHEA? go and research.

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

Tsikata and Dotse are trapped in their little minds. What a bunch of useless PhDs! Professors at SMCU are some of the finest brains in the USA. Tsikata and Dotse think they know more than SMC faculty? Your PhDs are dangling i ...

• Akosua 7 years ago

if you think the education system is bad guys come and contribute to make it better we have had enough of your no facts startements and the ridicule of good people who have gone a long way for their achievements
    #thisnonsen ...

Akosua, why not read before you respond? The two gentlemen have gone Ghana a great service, unimaginable. Would you allow people holding fake certificates to teach your children? The individuals at UPSA mentioned in story are ...

• Akosua 7 years ago

Smh if you do not know anything you shut up and don't open it all
    Get a life and stop preventing others from doing it

• BORBORTOR 7 years ago

YOU DONT KNOW ANYTHING.BLOCK HEAD! WHO TOLD YOU ACSBP CAN GIVE INSTITUTIONAL ACCREDITATION.VERY STUPID AND DUMB

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

ACSBP gave programme accreditation to SMCU. Does Dotse and Tsikata have a problem with that? Swiss private institutions of higher education have the right to grant degree certificates. I guess the Dotse and Tsikata have a pro ...

• Serlom 7 years ago

This article makes no sense to me. First you challenged the credibility of SMC which has been addressed by both NAC and the Swiss embassy. Now you want to say one can't go through his/her education with ease and convienientl ...

• Sam 7 years ago

did you not hear the SMC has been stopped from admitting new students? Its fake!

• Naa 7 years ago

https://www.smcuniversity.com/programs-services/higher-education-programs/doctorates/

Go and get admitted admissions still going on
    and stop spreading rubbish

• Serlom 7 years ago

yes SMC has suspended admissions of new students from Ghana. this is because there are working on their re-accreditation in Ghana. and for your information, SMC is accredited by ACBSP. Please lets all make sure that when thes ...

Serlom, Poor you! ACBSP does not have the mandate to accredit SMC as an institute. Simply because SMC is from Switzerland and ACBSP is in the USA.SMC as an institute can only be accredited in Switzerland. ACBSP can only accre ...

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

Private higher institutions of education in Switzerland have the legal authority to issue degrees, without accreditation. The professors are the finest you find in America and Europe where nobody knows Dotse or Tsikata.

• Seth Ablor 7 years ago

The researchers do not have to be superstars who are known all over the world to bring attention to a pressing issue. SMC is a complete scam. They have unveiled the faces behind the scam and Ghanaians now know. That is the es ...

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

Dotse & Tsikata are rather a scam and useless bunch who are parading the corridors of Ghana seeking recognition for their useless PhDs. There is no pressing issue here. No professor will accept this as a problem worth any ac ...

• Woman 7 years ago

Well, so many professors are on this thread and have shared this elsewhere. They find it disgusting...

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

No doubt, we got some disgusting Professors out there.

• Woman 7 years ago

I meant many professors find the display of mediocrity at UPSA through the cheap acquisition of doctorates disgusting. Obviously, there are so many disgusting professors out there, but that doesn't justify the pursuit of che ...

• Paa 7 years ago

Woman, read KB's postings carefully! The guy has to defend his cheaply earned degree from SMC.

• Woman 7 years ago

I think you got that right

• Martin Asempa 7 years ago

These two are the very few Ghanaians I can call the heroes of our time. This problem has been festering for a long time. We are aware an editor the spectator was sacked in 2011 for questioning the Dr. title of Naadu Mills who ...

• Naa 7 years ago

#thisnonsensemuststop

After NAB addressed this issue they still have the guts to post such nonsense again. Clear epitome of #SANKOFA a play by Uncle Ebo
    y'all get tickets and go watch how fellow Ghanianas will choose to ...

Are you serious, or you are just playing stupid? Yes, the nonsense at UPSA must stop.

• Woman 7 years ago

Don't mind him or her apparently, he cannot read or comprehend what he reads considering how poorly he writes.

• tommy 7 years ago

Foolish wowan what have you been able to use your degree to do in life, how many lives have you been able to change. you are here insulting noble men

• Woman 7 years ago

What makes you think I will disclose my identity much more share my achievements with you? At least my quality education drove you to conclude I have a degree; and yes, I have three of them, and several certificates from ins ...

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

What constitutes quality education is relative. What is the essence of education if it doesn't benefit humanity? Many people with "quality education" have turned thieves in Ghana. Prof Alabi and co have been able to turn UPS ...

• Woman 7 years ago

Why do you assume that other phds are not benefitting humanity? an institution like smc may be recommended not for those who are manning higher institutions but those already engaged in administration and requiring further s ...

• Woman 7 years ago

Both Goski and Okoe are members of the NAB, how then do you expect the board to operate independently? Obviously, these two have successfully manipulated the system and keep getting co-opted unto major boards. Very sad inde ...

• Serlom 7 years ago

Woman, could you please tell us the committee within NAB that said persons are members of?
    I suppose your 3degrees or certs never thought you not yo make allegations to which you have no evidence of. I challenge you topro ...

• Woman 7 years ago

Thanks; it appears you are asking a very difficult question. Unfortunately, Goski and Okoe have displayed their rich resumes online; both of them affirm their affiliations with NAB. If the illusion that my education is ques ...

• GHANABII(UK) 7 years ago

Atleast we now know universities he attended and as for Nana Addo no school at all, can you imagine?

• Kofi Asare 7 years ago

What is Mahama waiting for?

• WHOSE MONEY IS HE SPENDING?> 7 years ago

AMARTEY ND MANY LIKE HIM ARE ALL NDC FOOLS LIKE IGP-KUDALOR

• ODENEHU 7 years ago

GOSKI AND AMARTEY,SO-CALLED PROFESSORS ARE NOTHING BUT FAILURES.THEY ARE THE EPITOME OF DISGRACE UPSA IS EXPERIENCING NOW.THEY HAVE DAMAGED INFACT TOTALLY DESTROYED UPSA BRAND.JUST FEELING SORRY FOR ALL THEIR MASTERS GRADUATE ...

• mayor 7 years ago

Foolish boy. you dont even have a first degree.

• GUINESS-TUKPA 7 years ago

JUST GET BEHIND THIS DISCOURSE.IDIOT!!!

• tommy 7 years ago

lol. you are suffering. lame

• Boss 7 years ago

This is unfair article questioning the degrees of the professors. I do not know any of them but I just googled the university in Nicaragua. Wikipedia clearly indicates that it is an accredited institution. The are a lot of di ...

• Woman 7 years ago

Is wikipedia the authority you rely on? They are not questioning the sources of those phds because they are online classes, but because of their questionable credentials. You all behave as if you were trained by the SMC, be ...

• mayor 7 years ago

FOOL

• Woman 7 years ago

Please stop embarrassing her; you owe her that respect! I know for sure she didn't train you to use such language in public.

• Mayor 7 years ago

if you care to know i am not affiliated to UPSA and Goski. I just realize people are just here to tarnish peoples image and you are one... you are very lazy you spend your time on Ghana Web reading and commenting on these thi ...

• Woman 7 years ago

tarnishing whose image here? who holds those fake phds or did i encourage them to purchase them? And you have the nerve to tell me i am lazy - what if i said yes, i am lazy, but i won't purchase phds because with my lazines ...

• Lawrence 7 years ago

tsikata so you call this research??? and you are from Valdosta University which offers 80% online Degrees??? well Tsikata do your Homework well.

Ah, why are we surprised? People who graduated from Universites widout any relevant experience were appointed ministers of state. No wonder we in dis mess as a nation. If Dr Nduom with his wealth of experience was a minister ...

• Adams Mustapha S 7 years ago

Am so impressed after going through this article, well researched in fact the writer's had informed Ghanaians. " AYEEKOO"

• DHURUWAH 7 years ago

Nana paid for and picked one up recently in South Africa.

• Divine Amegbe 7 years ago

What dissertation did these people write? This is a clear case of fraud!

• Serlom 7 years ago

“Consumers’ attitude towards social media advertising and their behavioural response: the moderating role of corporate reputation"

That is the dissertation he submitted while pursuing his doctorate at SMC. And this par ...

• 123 7 years ago

How many publications does he have?

• TWEAAA 4 REAL 7 years ago

stupid this shit was published in predatory journal.i mean journal with no reputation.and now the question is was this done some ten years ago to deserve promotion to vc?? you ppl all are fools.publshing that piece of shit 20 ...

• KA 7 years ago

Did you guys mean he would have completed his doctorate degree in 2017 at the earliest not latest? He couldn't have completed earlier than 2017. But he could well complete later than 2017. Many people spend longer years than ...

• BUSINEZ MAGNET 7 years ago

IF YOU ARE NOT FRAUD ,THEN PUBLISH ALL YOUR WORKS.THIS IS NOT GOING TO END,BE READY FOR MORE EXPOSURES AND DISGRACE UNTIL RUN AWAY FROM THAT UPSA VC CHAIR.NANIAMA

• rose 7 years ago

shame on you researchers
    God have mercy

• Woman 7 years ago

I noticed their errors too- meant at the earliest

• Paa Kwasi 7 years ago

A clarion call for further investigation and clarification of this appointment, before it degenerates into a nasty situation.

• Augustine Degorl 7 years ago

It's time our higher institutions and so called lectures need to be ckeck.they used their fake PhDs to hold on to positions they don't deserve.

• The Economist 7 years ago

Just check google scholar to see if Prof Okoe Amartey has published anything worthwhile and how many times has een cited

• Wake up ! 7 years ago

Ghana has become a country where the title Dr. or Prof. is the order of the day whether the individual has any academic accomplishments or not. I pity the mentality of Ghanaians.

• Eagle's Eyes 7 years ago

Bravo, Tsikata and Dotse. Sue UPSA Council, the appointee and NAB, if the Minister fails to act decisively to correct the academic fraud.

• NANIAMA 7 years ago

LOOK AT HIS UGLY WAY HE DEY TAKE RECEIVE THE GAWN!!!! THAT SIT WILL BE VERY TOO HOT FOR YOU TRUST ME.ABOAAAAAAAAAAAA

• Dr. Barnor 7 years ago

Goski alabi publishes articles in plagiarism-infected journals. "Prof" alabi and her husband, "prof" Joshua Alabi, are academic scams unfit for purpose

• Dr. Barnor, HOD, UPSA 7 years ago

Why Goski Alabi ran away from VC position at UPSA, because she was scared about the secrets behind her qualifications. How much did she pay for her professor title? very cheap degree. Joshua alabi is an academic bastard.

• kofi bonsu 7 years ago

I hope this is not charles bannor of upsa?pls stop putting up people's names n put your own names when commenting.moreover we should wait for the ministry of education to come clear on this.I believe the new src will also not ...

• KB 7 years ago

whaaat!!!This is unbelievable!Tell me it's not happening!

• Dr. Charles Barnor, HOD 7 years ago

Joshua alabi is Ga man. Goski alabi is a Ga womman. Okoe is a Ga man

• kofi bonsu 7 years ago

......and chancellor drolor adamtey is also a ga man right?if so why dont you add albert kan dapaah,alhadji jawura,lawrence Yirenkyi boafo and yourself charles bannor if indeed you are what you really identify yourself by.I d ...

• Osei 7 years ago

Thank you great minds in the academia. If standards will be lowered in all sectors, the educational sector must be an exception.

• BAWOMIA VOKU-LEGBE 7 years ago

FAKE FAKE FAKE AND SURPRISINGLY UPSANS ARE NOT ASHAMED OF THIS LOW-LIFE AND ACADEMICALLY UNFIT IDIOT OF BEING THEIR VC!!! APUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

• me 7 years ago

shameless researchers

• Typhoon 7 years ago

Ei
    Asem oooo
    So people can be this ignorant and follow crowds whose ambition is to just bring others down.
    Even if their right,why dont u just pray in ur tyt corner for God to pull prof.okoe down in his own way?
    Remember ...

• Typhoon 7 years ago

Ei
    Asem oooo
    So people can be this ignorant and follow crowds whose ambition is to just bring others down.
    Even if their right,why dont u just pray in ur tyt corner for God to pull prof.okoe down in his own way?
    Remember ...

• PKM 7 years ago

It's ridiculous and shameful the behavior of the University council and Alabi. Promoting cronies. This very school had a lot of respect and credibility in the 90s, the very reason why some of us decided to have our business e ...