You are here: HomeNews2016 06 18Article 448752

That 'gift' was a bribe and the president knows it!

Read Comments Comments (75)

• Kogare 7 years ago

An apparent avid reader like CD doesn't recall "caterwaul" from Tom Sawyer and side-kick Huck Finn?

Tsk, tsk, tsk!

• trufbtold 7 years ago

CD stated quite lucidly that he's never used the word,not come across it as u claim.

• Kogare 7 years ago

Oga, It'd "shiver my timbers" to misquote the legendary and "awesome" CD.

This is his first paragraph:"A Nigerian friend used a word I had never # heard before - "to caterwaul".

Where is "CD stated lucidly that he's nev ...

• William 7 years ago

What on earth can lead you to say without fear of error that it is a bribe and the President knows it. Are you God?

• True Talk 7 years ago

The question is, did he or did he not? The overwhelming consensus based on the laws of the land, is that he did!!

• Morfy 7 years ago

1-track mind autocratic fiat?

"Courses for horses", onu lo!

Folks can CHOOSE to comment on what "attracts" their attention, non?

• yuuuooo 7 years ago

You can even bribe Ghanaians with T-shirts, Toilet papers, virtually anything of no value. They are very poor and desperate to survive

• Akans Prophecies 7 years ago

But certainly not the presidet! Lol , A man who approuved and signed for the sacking of 32 learned judges because they used their positions for bribes ! Non ! Ghanaians may be poor to take bribes but certainly not the pres ...

• KAB 7 years ago

Look William, it is not God who determines a bride; it's we citizens of this country who have acceded to be governed by a constitution and regulations emanating from it. The Prez took an oath and he should be the last person ...

• zantoda 7 years ago

he didn't say when this happened, what is your beef? this has at least one novel to his credit or you don't know?

• Lanz 7 years ago

So when an astute and diligent writer
    proclaims " .... I had NEVER HEARD
    before...", a reader is supposed to ask when did this happen?

OK.

• polobolo 7 years ago

It has been ages and normal;especially if the word wasn't used after coming across it

• peeeeee 7 years ago

Rather than read the meat in the article you are nit picking!!!typical know it alls!!he said a friend once used a word,we don't know when,it could have been 1957,and then later on he came across it!!

• Sam 7 years ago

Well read and a very good writer but politically bias and lacks knowledge of the law guiding receiving gifts as a vice president in Ghana.
    Go have a shave CD.

• Wiafe. 7 years ago

Mahama is greedy. Ghanaians have been unfortunate to have a president that is greedy. This is a clear case where because of the president's greed he engaged in a clear case of conflict of interest.

Sad to see so many (in ...

• Sundiata 7 years ago

Lordina went "a red light hustling"in Holland!! Real odwanfunu pres be that!! Lol.

• Charles Agbenu 7 years ago

The NDC wanting to justify DJIBRIL win in the "Dodi - Pepesu road contract soon after presenting car gift to Mahama do political razzmatazz and say - " It was an EU contract with EU conditions. There was absolutely no invol ...

• Wiafe. 7 years ago

As president, John Mahama really did not need this vehicle. But Mahama is at the core a very greedy person. So far he has been able to fool Ghanaians.

This is because he uses a lot of "front wo/men" to supervise his gree ...

• KANAWU KASABA 7 years ago

When the fish rots, it starts from the head.

The president is very corrupt and his actions, that of his govt and those he presides over make the case

• Kofi Dumja 7 years ago

He is indeed very greedy. I don't agree, though, that he has fooled Ghanaians. Ghanaians rejected him at the 2012 presidential election. But he used money and tribalism to steal the presidency. Atuguba, the president of the ...

• NOBODY 7 years ago

The Alan Kyeremanten camp within the NPP has labeled clueless Serial Loser Akufo-Addo as "incompetent and a monumental failure". The NPP is dangling in the face Ghanaians a flagbearer Akufo-Addo whom the NPP knows too well to ...

• Slyster 7 years ago

I have a lot of respect for you mr cd. The truth is what you speak, thank you. As for mr baako and the rest of the useless editors who know in their heart that mahama did the wrong thing and yet, go ahead and defend him ,we s ...

• nana addo 7 years ago

Sad such a fine journalist is being led astray.

• Apluz 7 years ago

What is "astray" about the points Mr. Duodu made?

Give us your "argument", Sir!

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

What is in a name, one might ask? Why did the old Ghana Empire vanished off the face of the earth, only to be superseded by today's Ghana? Although history tells us Ghana Empire was rich, the same history also tells us it was ...

• HASSAN, Tamale 7 years ago

All bribes come masquerading as gifts in names like - cola, something small for pure water, a drink, lunch. No bribe giver will ever say "take this bribe" .

• Samson 7 years ago

Sorry Mr Duodu you are wrong, dead wrong. If he knew it was a bribe, he would not have accepted it. But I suppose everyone has an opinion and is entitled to it. But in your case as a journalist of some repute, you must back y ...

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

" you must back your opinion with evidence otherwise you end up misleading the many people who may depend on you for balanced opinion pieces". Mr. Duodu stops being objective when the issue is about NDC. He has his readers.

• Kogare 7 years ago

Where do you get such crapola deductions from, that "....stops being objective when the issue is about NDC"?

This a man and journalist who faced down Dr Busia and hi Special Branch with a Graphic editorial @ both his
    prof ...

• Villager 7 years ago

But those days that he was fighting BUSIA did we have this NPP/NDC duet?

• Morfy 7 years ago

re: "But those days that he was fighting BUSIA..."

Well, he sh'd be LAUDED for fighting the "fake democrat Busia"!!

Busia and his PP were neo-dictators and zombie-CPP!!

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

"How many journalist can "shout down" their bosses esp., a whole Prime minister? " what's the big deal? Don't we read journalists of state owned newspapers talk against governments in Ghana? Anyway people change, or people ar ...

• polobolo 7 years ago

Cameron is right. The truth is you lack understanding

• H S Fire 7 years ago

Sampson, you are wrong if you think Cameron Duodu "failed": OUR CONSTITUTION has defined ethics concerning accepting "gifts" offered to our Presidents. The "gift" should not exceed $200.00 worth, but certainly even "fake" For ...

• Owura Keanu. 7 years ago

This is the most silly comment I have ever read. If he knew it was a bribe he would not have accepted it? You probably think the man who is ruling the nation is such a stupid idiot as not to know a crime when he sees it. If ...

• apuuuu 7 years ago

i greedy with you 100% is a bribe no matter how they spine it the president had been cut red hand since 2012 they have not say anything about it until now with their stupid excuse apuuuu

• Abdul-wa 7 years ago

great article

• Kwame Philly 7 years ago

With the burial of the President's mom, Ghanaian should now demand accountability on this issue. Why would someone in leadership position accept a gift? Most especially, when the giver of is a beneficiary of government contr ...

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

I am disappointed in Cameron Duodo. You are damn wrong. You don't know foko about what a bribe is.

• H S Fire 7 years ago

So teach us what BRIBE is Kofi.

• Augustine 7 years ago

@ K.G
    what else will u call a bribe.
    Shame on u and your NDC

• Teddy 7 years ago

Is not bribe...go kill yourself if you like...

• razak 7 years ago

I enjoy reading this man articles . Until recently I thought he was from Cameroon. I must say this particular article he wrote is from ignorant point off view. He is so pedestal in his analysis that I had to re look at the na ...

• TKA 7 years ago

Your reply alone gives you up. Can you go back to school. The cheek of it. Mtcheeew

• H S Fire 7 years ago

And what's your point that makes Cameron wrong Razak? You could not give your own reasons why you think what Mahama took was not a bribe. So, it's absolutely a bribe until you dispute that with facts and reasoning.

• George Nutsugah 7 years ago

John Mahama has been the de facto president of Ghana for the past 7 years. The general public opinion about him is that he is incompetent and corrupt. He is also a thief and a liar.

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

There are kids who will accept food from even strangers after their parents have fully fed them. JDM's acceptance of the Ford Expedition is akin to what these kids do. As the President of Ghana he didn't need to stoop so low ...

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

COMMON SENSE SPEAKING HERE. NOW LET THOSE IDIOTIC PROPAGANDISTS COME AGAIN. MAHAMA IS FINISHED, WALAHI!

• JOHN 7 years ago

EVERYBODY WANTS HIS OR HER VOICE HEARD. WHOM ARE U FIGHTING FOR?. SO ALL OF U ARE IN NPP AND U KEEP SELECTING A DEAD OLD MAN 3 TIMES TO RULE THIS COUNTRY. ARE U ALL AFRAID OF NANA YENKA MASEM?

• the devils advocate 7 years ago

That may well be true.But let us all in all sincerity go back to the beginning and examine our collective conscience as a nation regarding our perverse and misguided practice of "gift giving",a euphemism for bribing of public ...

• Jkm 7 years ago

What an airhead you are Kogare! Someone has taken the trouble to write a clear and simple article on a burning topic. He has stated his opinion without fear or favour.

Do you agree with him? You don't tell us. Do you disa ...

• Apluz 7 years ago

Idiot, who made fricking you the moderator?

It is Freedom of EXPRESSION, dictator.

I also found it very INCREDIBLE that an AUTHOR of Mister D's caliber would "joke" about a unique word like that!

His "unfortunate INT ...

• Dolidoli 7 years ago

Good save our mother land. Tins are
    Happening in GH.

• sumaila,madina old road 7 years ago

any body hiidiing behind a pen, bible,or any kind of disguse shall be exposed.

• samuel azumah 7 years ago

mr cameron,wait until the gift you accepted comes.

• Patriot 7 years ago

This is plain folly on the part of the president to accept a bribe and offer to give it to the state. It makes the state an accessory to his nefarious deed.

• Villager 7 years ago

What would you have said if the Ford explorer was found to be used as TRO TRO in Bole?
    What would have been the difference?

• Morfy 7 years ago

It'd still be considered a vey STUPID Mahama to accept "gifts" from any contractor who bids for govt. biz!

• NOBODY 7 years ago

A stupid Mahama is a far better character than a CLUELESS and EVIL Akufo-Addo.

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Cameron Doudu, you're wrong. You need to turn your attention instead to the real bribes that President kufuor and his Ministers took from firms that were engaged in bidding on oil exploration and eventual of-shore drilling of ...

• Lanz 7 years ago

Massa, hindsight is a bitch!

We are dealing with current issues where the "giver" is an active bidder of govt. contracts, and where the "taker" is still in power and actively contesting for 4 more years!

K-4, let's just ...

• NOBODY 7 years ago

Massa, insight is indeed a bitch. And furthermore, the world of politics is not confined to today. Yesterday belongs to matters of now as well. If we're dealing current issues, then when this incident take place? The NPP is q ...

• Kwabena Aboagye-London 7 years ago

Another big fool

• GIFT OR BRIBE 7 years ago

As a Dead Goat he did not know the difference between "BRIBE" and "GIFT". After all, Dead Goats don't see or feel.
    And he accepted the "secondhand" car because "all car be car", and "all gift bribe be gift bribe".

• Steve 7 years ago

You Are Intellectually Ignoramus , you dont even understand whats a bribe .

• Kwei- Accra 7 years ago

Cameron Duodoo, you are a foolish man, period

• Kojo Krachie 7 years ago

Well said,veteran journalist!I find it repugnant for people to defend bad behaviours such as this.We can do better and we should do better to safe guard this sacred democracy we enjoy as Ghanaians.

• Alex at K.Danso 7 years ago

bribery and corruption Paa nie oh Mahama you disgraced Ama Ghana. Ama Ghana who used to assist her niebourining countries like Guinea, Mali and others financially under Dr. K. Nkrumah is now taken 2nd hand ford Expedition gif ...

• Alex at K.Danso 7 years ago

John, let me tell you, your good old prof mills contested 3 times before Ghanaians gave him the opportunity to rule. If you want Nana's death, then you and your family will be buried first for Nana will attend your funeral. I ...

• Eric 7 years ago

Hippocrates!!!! They go and live out there and pontificate on issues as if they know it all! Give us a break! Wake up and find your voices when NPP does wrong not only when you think you have something against the ruling gove ...

• k.NYAME 7 years ago

OMANE BOAMAH IS A DISGRACE TO DOCTORS IN THE WORLD.HOW CAN A TRAIN PHYSICIAN CHEAPEN HIMSELF LIKE AN EDUCATED ILLITERATE?BOAMAH U ARE HIGHLY EDUCATED THAN YOUR BOSS.DISPLAY INTELLIGENCE AT YOUR MINISTRY.U TALK LIKE DE FIRST ...

• Okponglo Guy 7 years ago

Show me anyone in the ruling party or government who has been held accountable for anything? - Akonfem, National Service Secretariat, Woyome, GYEEDA, SADA etc.

Our democracy is a sham! There is no rule of law only the imp ...

• Uncle Sam 7 years ago

We are being ripped off through our embassies and missions. A friend who knows the Gh Embassy in Ouagadougou, BF, says the embassy itself was bought under strange financial circumstances, and adds that the fence wall in quest ...

• Alonzo 7 years ago

I am not surprise at Cameron Doudo because we know his political stand and he will always support his a Akim kinsman.what comment did he make when Nana Addo and KT Hammond stole our Drill ship money?

• NTIM Gyakari 7 years ago

MAHAMA=CORRUPT/THIEF/GREEDY