You are here: HomeNews2016 04 28Article 434550

MANASSEH’S FOLDER: How ethnocentric NPP fuels NDC’s tribal politics

Read Comments Comments (76)

• Mensah 8 years ago

Listen to that pepeni, the NPP will win without your support.

• Ghana man 8 years ago

I hope intelligent Ghanaians can dissect the main idea behind this article. Manasseh never justified what Dzifa said, he only entreated that the actions of some leading members of the NPP makes it possible for the NDC to capi ...

• Mercy 8 years ago

Mensah u are one the guys who will bring Akufo Addo down and loose coming election big. Wise up. Do u expect pepeni to vote for Nana with this comment. Is Bawumia an Ashanti or Akyem?

• Hanson 8 years ago

Please don't allow yourself to be deceived. That fellow Mensah doesn't support NPP. These days, the plot gas been to throw unwarranted insults against people of northern extraction to cause disaffection for the NPP. No intell ...

• Nana Kwaku 8 years ago

Mercy it's unfortunate that comment is made by a Mensah. But, I can assure you that this Mensah is an assumed name for a non Akan or npp person. That's the challenge for npp and Nana Addo.

• Sam 8 years ago

Thank you for telling Mensah the truth. I however pity Manesseh for trying to do the bidding of the NPP. I have read all his writings and that seems to be his agenda but like Bawomia they will show him where power lies when ...

• Klinker 8 years ago

You will not wait for the writer to end before you start your tribal comments. This is exactly what the writer is trying to address.

• Africanus 8 years ago

Grow up Mensah.... it is people like you who have put all Ghanaians in our under develop state.... There is no telling that you have a small mind.

• Charles Agbenu 8 years ago

You could be an NDC sympathizer saying this in the name of NPP to create Northern hatred for NPP. And NDC have used these tricks several times.

• Dada Anim 8 years ago

So the most hardvworking person in the NPP is Dr Bawumia. He has worked harder compared to the founding members since 1992. Who are you comparing him to. Appointment as a Vice candidate is a platform given to you by on Presid ...

• Osei 8 years ago

Even though a bit of vacillation here and there and hardly touches ground the import of the message was well delivered.

Aside the ethnic and tribal card is the dangerous posture and the sense of entitlement of the npp as p ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

Thanks, Osei! Your comment is a cogent, concise summary of deserving plaudits for the Author.

I agree that he hit the nail on the head firmly enough without raising the temperature of the truth impact embedded in it.

• Mallam 8 years ago

Well said Mr. Berko but research from around the world has proven that African and Middle Eastern nations will struggle to develop due the arbitrary nature in which the European colonialist demarcated and divided the 2 contin ...

• Kosia Teni 8 years ago

Mass, this frafra boy is becoming too known. I blame Despite for employing him. He should have been resting dog meat in Bolga market by now.when Akans exposed them small they want to be oga.

Please, stop the tribal insults. They feed into the escalation of the problem.

Once you begin dehumanizing people with such derogatory insults, they naturally have to fight back to affirm their existential significance. A ...

• Sadiq 8 years ago

For the first time I have seen an animal that refers to itself as an akan write some announce its bullsh*t!!!

• Alien 8 years ago

Deep down the article describes u as a NDC member creating the impression that u are npp man

• Christus Legatus 8 years ago

Well said Manasseh. I am an Akan and I agree with what you've said. I have fought against this tribalistic ideas within my own family. As a Christian, I believe all human beings are of equal value and dignity because we all a ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

MANNASEH, you have a point in saying that both NDC and NPP are engaged in divisive politics by playing the ethnic or race card but totally wrong to claim that NDC is engaged in "tribal politics of inclusion" and whilst NPP is ...

• Jacques 8 years ago

I guess the politics of inclusion or exclusion was used by Mannaseh most probably because it sounded nice to him. He didn't carefully examine the full implications of the formulation. He felt victim at that point to the write ...

• v.bowe 8 years ago

OH FOR ONES I AM ENJOYING READING GHANA WEB BECAUSE OF WISE AND EDUCATIVE CONTRIBUTION BY SOME OF YOU. KUDOS!

• v.bowe 8 years ago

VERY EDUCATIVE SIR.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

A husband and wife were having a fine dining experience at their exclusive country club when this stunning young woman comes over to their table, gives the husband a big kiss, says she'll see him later and walks away.
    His wi ...

• Fuad Awuni 8 years ago

Indeed we should condem all tribal and ethnocentric comments from our political actors. We need time to really talk about it thus that the perception that some tribes are more better than some will be put to rest and we all w ...

• kk 8 years ago

I hv neva read anything from this guys that makes sense like today. Tribalism of inclusion (N.D.C) vrs tribalism of exclusion (N.P.P) is exactly what is going on in Ghana all this while. But if u want to tell the npp folks ab ...

I disagree strongly with Manasseh's conclusions in this piece. put in their proper contest, most of the examples he gave, as bad as they are though, may not lead to such sweeping conclusions.
    For me the fact is that, as a p ...

• Mallam 8 years ago

Are you comparing events in a military regime to what is happening in a democracy? How intelligent are you? In a dictatorship we don't have a say but in a democracy people have a choice to go where they feel welcomed. If that ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

You didn't understand what he meant so go back and dissect his comments before you rain insults. Insults in debate is for weak minds. What he meant was that all the tribes and political parties are guilty of these despicable ...

• C. Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

Twum Boafo has said it as it is without mincing words.

Having read what Mrs Ativor reportedly said, I agree 100% that it is simply hypocritical for anyone to come out to denounce her and ask her to apologise WITHOUT at fir ...

• Truthiness 8 years ago

Andy-K, you should know and do better than this. I've heard you repeat the things you heard in Nigeria from certain aggrieved fools venting their anger. What a guy like you should be dissecting now it the fact that NPP was in ...

I know a couple who were stressed into early death 'cos of what was done to them: on leave while forensic audit was undertaken of your dept, and never recalled.

I regret to say that I teased one here in London, mocking hi ...

• v.bowe 8 years ago

WAITING TO READ SIR

• olu 8 years ago

I hope this guy rethinks his childish stand that he is for the nation.we have seem it several times. There is no success full coup staged In this country without the involvement of northerners. What they get after the coup is ...

• KOJO 8 years ago

I think Manasseh is cleverly inflamming passion on ethnicity and tribalism against NPP,he should have rather let the sleeping dogs lay and condemn Dzifa.

• kaketonti 8 years ago

KOJO BE SMART.FIRST CONDEMN KEN AGYAPONG,SAFO MAAFO BEFORE MADAME DZIFA.MANASSEH WRITE UP IS WELL INTENDED AND GOOD.HOWEVER,THE WORD AKAN IS LIMITED TO A CERTAIN QUEER AREAS.THIS IS A METAPHOR USED BY THE BRITISH.ASK THE BRIT ...

• Concern Citizen 8 years ago

Manasseh i like your piece but the fact must be told. The lady's comment may not sound palatable but that is the reality. The enemity that exits between the two tribes since Adam is still existing. Only Jesus Christ can unify ...

• kojo nzo ekangaki 8 years ago

Residents of the Volta Region tend to follow the NDC mainly because the party extended electricity to the region during their tenure,and not because Rawlings hailed from the area.In 2012 ,Rawlings more or less,left the NDC,b ...

• kofi kafui 8 years ago

Manasseh as a jounalist must grow up and know that this same ndc and npp supporters on social media uses names that are align to their politucal opponent to do dirty politics. For instance my nme is kofi kafui can be usd by a ...

WILFULLY BLIND OR JUST PLAIN IGNORANCE?

I have been amused, and somehow puzzled, at the rumpus being raised about what crazed Agyapong said. But what I find surprising is the virtual hypocrisy and mendacious attempts to br ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

Sir, I tried reading your whole piece but unfortunately time would not permit me. However, the import was not lost on me. I want to state strongly that, contrary to what your mind tells you, Akans don't hate Ewes. I'm a full ...

Hanson,

No where have I made any claim that Akans, i.e., all Akans, hate Ewes. That would be vert foolish on my part. Didn't I mention how some Akan men hunger to marry Ewe women, out of love for them? So, let's address th ...

• v.bowe 8 years ago

THANKS A LOT SIR. I AM NOT A STUDENT OF HISTORY THOUGH, HOWEVER I THINK YOU HAVE , BY THIS WRITE-UP, EDUCATED THE YOUTH( WHO WOULD CARE TO READ ). SUCH PIECES AS WOULD HELP US ALLEY OUR FEARS, AS WE WILL KNOW THE SOURCE OF OU ...

• still rastafari 8 years ago

the cure for tribalism is education, exposure, development

• still rastafari 8 years ago

the victim needs exposure education & development to gain respect from the culprit

• Eric, Kumasi 8 years ago

Good evening Manasseh, I admire and agree with your position, but please Ibrahim did not buy a jet because his brother is president.He got it through brun and brain (excuse my new word)

Every suppressed group fights to emerge out of the subjugation. The resultant chaos could either be insignificant or massive, depending on how deep the subjugation is.

So, as a Nation, our primary responsibility is doing ...

• Richard B Eshun 8 years ago

Good read. Well done young man !! Peace.

• Jacob 8 years ago

I LOVE THIS STATEMENT:
    "When you look down on people and make them feel inferior, they will not vote for you."

• samuel villa 8 years ago

Well written, in a in simple terms is it NPP or NDC the author of ethynic and trible politics? I don't want to be sound bias but I am inclined to believe NPP is the author of this dangerous thing we are commenting on.where is ...

• kolani Minak 8 years ago

Well done Azure. But there's too much hypocrisy in ghana that's why we will continue to have these. People who should say the truth. They only speak when it's convenient to them. Did the peace council chairman condemn the com ...

• OLIPH 8 years ago

-Mr Mannaseh,
    Your general thesis is right -- tribalism is evil and we must eschew it. But your diagnosis of the ethnic situation in Ghana at the moment is flawed.

The NPP cannot help having Akans as the majority of its ...

• Africanus 8 years ago

I like your comments. Hiding behind tribe to loot the country should not be accepted. But coming back Manasseh's argument again.... the NPP can't win because the NDC has liberalize corruption, and has made it easy for everyon ...

• LETTRUTHPREVAIL 8 years ago

Well written, because it was well researched with references being as fresh as yesterday.
    For once I am happy of a write up by a Ghanaian Journalist!!!
    Thanks.

• KOFI KWABLA 8 years ago

NONSENSE !!!! JUDGE YOURSELF. TELL EVERYBODY IF NPP DID NOT JAILED EWES DURING THEIR TIME.WHO THIEF PAST ASHANTIS AND HOW MANY OF THEM WERE JAILED?? BECAUSE THEY USED CORRUPTED LAWYERS TO PROTECT THEMSELVES.HYPOCRITES

• ama 8 years ago

peprah was asante but was jailed by npp.
    ndc took only asantes to court and the courts said they committed no crime. asamoah boateng, mpianim, osei agyei and wirekko brobbey. Ndc is indeed anti asante. how many asantes are i ...

• LETTRUTHPREVAIL 8 years ago

One significant thing the writer got it totally wrong is the reference to Ibrahim Mahama's jet as if his brother the President aided him to acquire.
    Watch it! Be truly neutral please, don't try to play with our minds. No pro ...

• Awotse 8 years ago

If tribalism is the epicenter of Ghana's problems, this little man Manasseh helps to fuel it by what is totally anti-Akan, anti-Asante diatribe.

The NPP is a national party as does the NDC. That the NPP gets huge support f ...

• Myself 8 years ago

The truth they say shall set you free

What this lady is saying here is the absolute truth though at this point in our nations democracy and in our efforts to move beyond ethnic politics some things are better left alone an ...

• kwame nyame 8 years ago

Manasseh,you are well aware that what you are saying about Akufo Addo and Ken Agyapong is way out of context. Please be a little objective with the facts of the matter. What you are doing is the extension of the NDCs propagan ...

• ama 8 years ago

We in the NDC wud not allow Asantes any room. We have collapsed thier markets and they think we would contsruct them soon. Remember sofoline interchange.
    No ashanti wud ever be in ndc cabinet. capitation wud always be for a ...

• Asampana 8 years ago

Awuni get lost with your bull crap. If you objective write about your Npp paymasters and let's see if you have balls. Dimwit fool

• Yaw 8 years ago

gentleman, go ahead and write whatever you want to write. Some of us are smart to read between the lines. did you write anything about ken agyapong and nana? If you want to be seen as objective then cut on both sides. Pastors ...

• UMAR 8 years ago

u have said it all my brother. Ghana needs this kind of journalist. keep your good works up bro.

• samuel Azumah 8 years ago

I will read this always

• Maxwell konlan 8 years ago

Dear Manasseh,
    you have made my evening. I came home from work, very exhausted. However, after reading your wonderful and revealing piece, i am refreshed and energized. The truth, nothing but the truth!!!

• Nkwantabisa,Italy 8 years ago

This guy is good and brilliant, if this is the case who are the culprits? Ghanaians should know better. We shd not allow ourselves to be divided and ruled.

• Abubakar Garba Osuman 8 years ago

One other dangerous sign with the potential of dividing the country is the statement by the Police that presidential candidates should choose their security detail. Is the Police Service not supposed to be a state institution ...

• Abu Alfa 8 years ago

A good attempt. But you clearly ignored some objectivity though. You conveniently ignored the in-born hatred the other tribes nurse against Akans due to the fact that the have lived in a more naturally endowed environment mak ...

• Augustine 8 years ago

when it is about NPP you the so called meander never hits hard on the heard of the nail.You wait and see NDC to make a slippy mistake. It is then that you will known we have people in this country who knows how to talk on beh ...

• Anthony. 8 years ago

Journalistic bullshit. Trying to justify your own criticism of certain individuals without making any journalistic enquiries of ethno-politics is quiet embarrassing.

• Asem beba dabi 8 years ago

Wow wow wow!!! We are slowly sinking into depths of muddy tribal political quagmire. I think we should be looking at the performance of politicians rather than their tribal origins. We should be judging their performance as ...

• God first 8 years ago

God bless you Manasseh

• James 8 years ago

Ftr

• Ama 8 years ago

Nana Addo doesnt respect anybody includn Asantehene.

• SKWABBY,UK 8 years ago

BALANCED ARTICLE AND THE TRUTH THERE IS NO NEED TO START CALLING NAMES AS THE WRITER JUST SAID THE TRUTH IRRESPECTIVE OF BACKGROUNDS SO WHY THE INSULTS HE SPOKE THE TRUTH AND THIS IS THE VERY CANKER DESTROYING THE VERY BEAUT ...

• KOWUS, GERMANY 8 years ago

TAKE WHAT OSAFO MARFO SAID AND THAT OF MS ATIVOR! IT IS NOT TRUE THAT COCOA FARMERS CHILDREN PAY SCHOOL FEES AND GAS;EWES, AND NORTHNERS DON´T ? AND DID THE NPP GOVT. JAILED ONLY EWES? LOOK AT THE NUMBER OF MAHAMA´S APPOINT ...