You are here: HomeNews2016 02 28Article 419216

President Nkrumah was leading Ghana to hell economically

Read Comments Comments (91)

• John 8 years ago

Very irrational rhetoric full of fallacies and therefore falls short of rational and logical symmetry.

When the statements used to support a given conclusion do not actually work together to support the conclusion, we cal ...

• Yoofi 8 years ago

The problem you have is understanding the meaning of fallacy. When you have price increase of over 250% in just one year, definitely your economy becoming a basket case.

We the younger generation that did not witness Nkru ...

• Asante 8 years ago

He write an article full of inaccuracies, fabrications and pure lies. Expose him and he swings at you with scathing vitriolics under various pseudonyms. Shame on you Sarpong the tyrant!

• OKOE 8 years ago

ASK THOSE BOMB THROWERS AND THOSE TRYING TO HIDE THEIR EVIL ACTIONS. LET THEM TELL YOU WETHER OR HOT WE HAD BLACK STARLINE WITH GHANA'S OWN SHIPS. GHANA HAD ITS OWN AIRLINE, NKRUMAN BUILT TEMA TOWNSHIP AND MANY MORE. IF NKRUM ...

• Kwadwo. 8 years ago

He spent like a drunken sailor and Ghana was broke when he was kicked out.

• Nimrod 8 years ago

What do you call a man who lives to criticize the dead?
    And, what do you call a man, who hasn't done anything worth writing about, who criticizes someone who dared to do something worth writing about?

• Kweku Donsuro 8 years ago

He is a depraved ingratiate. He does not know where he is coming from so he does not know where he is heading to. Period!

• use of head 8 years ago

Look at UK and US deficit. Ghana's or Africa's will always be small in comparison. Nkrumah was making hard decisions that would benefit in the long run.

Build infrastructure in a place that was only used for exports of co ...

• foko 8 years ago

These are real facts. Whiles these figures were not mentioned as they are done these days, prices rocketed. What he didn't mention was suppression of free speech. Even at home your mother will shout at you to stop speaking if ...

• Doobia 8 years ago

If that was the economic situation in 1966 when he was dethroned, then the coup plotters actually did President Nkrumah a favour by saving his legacy because it looks like the country was on the brink of economic collapse.

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Doobia,
    Do not believe coup plotter fabrications.

Do not forget - the coup was directed by the US - to serve US interests, foremost. Ankrah and the rest of them lied to Ghanaians!

Ghana Reserves (6 Years Before the Ov ...

• Kwadwo. 8 years ago

In 1965, Ghana's foreign exchange reserves stood at a mere £500.000 . This was revealed by Frimpong Ansah of the bank of Ghana to Nkrumah at a cabinet meeting. You can google this in a documentary of the 'history of the Gold ...

• Cardinal of Lies. 8 years ago

If Bird-Brain-Sarpong still doesn't realize President Nkrumah was sabotaged by the Western world with the assistance of his shameless matemeho nation wreckers, then his brain is smaller than we thought and still shrinking!!!! ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Sabotaged my ass. What you call sabotage I call doing something beneficial to their cause or interest. The problem with you is that your brain is atrophied and that is why you have an IQ of a rotten egg.

Fuck off with y ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

Sarpong, just listen to yourself! Do you really have a sister, daughter or a wife?

This is what you know best, spewing horrible, lascivious insults on others when they squeeze you to a corner on facts. If you were as bril ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

I have your two cedis cheap whoring mother, you piece of crap, get off from my space, you moronic coward.

• Kwadwo. 8 years ago

"The external reserve position deteriorated significantly between 1957 (when net reserves stood at $269million) and 1966 when they stood at ( - $39million ). Ghana with so much in foreign reserves at independence , was broke ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Re-cycling Bawumia!

Grow up, Kwadwo

Bawumia Outlines History of Economic Indiscipline in Ghana
    m.peacefmonline.com/pages/business/economy/201311/180297.php
    Nov 13, 2013 - Driving listeners through the economic history ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Kwadwo,
    I have provided you World Bank data and source.

You, Kwadwo, should provide the evidence!

While doing that, do not neglect to read our comments at bottom, WRT "£3M Akosombo Dam Funds (Still) Unused in 1966"!

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Sarpong,
    Nice try with your confused essay.

Like we did with Dr. Bawumia, if you keep up the lies and coup plotters' fabrications, we will expose you with real data.

You NPP-folks, unfortunately think that we are sti ...

• Ken Ababio 8 years ago

This 1972 born pseudo-intellectual called SARPONG should read Nkrumah's books and his thought provoking speeches,and free himself of ignorance,bias and subjective idiocy.

• Frank Appiah 8 years ago

Hey SARPONG! You were one of those naïve and narrow-minded quasi-intellectuals on this forum who lost the debate on the greatest African,Kwame Nkrumah,and shamefully went into hiding.I am surprised you have re-surfaced to di ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Another lobotomized Fuhrer Nkrumah apologist. Nkrumah built factories were socialist relics that were not sustainable. You cannot have 10 acres farm with hundred people working on it as the Workers Brigade farms and other age ...

The man of vision,the great Nkrumah's burning desire to see Africa united has been misconstrued by the shallow-minded,misinformed and disinformed SARPONG as an ambition to become President of AFRICA.SARPONG,explain to reader ...

• Richard Owusu 8 years ago

Mr. Sarpong,
    The premise of your argument is very hilarious. It is very flimsy to state that Dr. Nkrumah went to begged the World Bank for $76 million. Can you tell me and the rest of what your reactionaries achieved or over ...

The Seven Year Development Plan was estimated at I million pounds sterling.This conceited fool called SARPONG should check his facts instead of relying on hearsay.

1 billion pounds sterling

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Are you brain dead, you bird brain? Where was he going to get that one billion pounds from after he squandered half a billion pounds trying to be President of Africa, dunderhead?

• SON OF MAN 8 years ago

Sarpong:

This is a well written piece. For a moment I was almost taken in by your eloquence. But no, these lies of the TRAITORS and nation wreckers have been exposed time and time again.

Please get it into your thick h ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Son of Man, I am not trying to remove Fuhrer Nkrumah name from history. Hitler's name cannot be removed from history, likewise Pol Pot, Mao, Stalin or Idi Amin. I am just telling the truth about the mess your little god fuhr ...

• Richard Owusu 8 years ago

Why do you hate Dr. Nkrumah so bad? By the way, are you taking any medications? It appears to me that your grand parents were one of those citizens who kept telling you bad thing about Dr. Nkrumah hence your reactionary views ...

• use of head 8 years ago

A nation has to suffer before going through prosperity. Do you think sky scrapers and even pyramids where not built during turbulent times?

If he had been allowed to complete his projects infrastructure would be alot bett ...

• SON OF MAN 8 years ago

Sarpong:

This is a well written piece. For a moment I was almost taken in by your eloquence. But no, these lies of the TRAITORS and nation wreckers have been exposed time and time again.

• SON OF MAN 8 years ago

Sarpong:

• SON OF MAN 8 years ago

Sarpong:

• SARPONG 8 years ago

You have to be really stupid to believe Ghana had 209 million dollars reserve 1963 when we were looking for loans to build the dam.

Are you arguing Ghana was not broke and Nkrumah went to IMF looking for assistance. What ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

SARPONG,
    With evidence and data, you do not need to hurl invectives, unless you ain't got any.....

As you well know, we do not generally indulge you for precisely the nature of most of your posts.

We thought we would t ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Do you think I care whether you lobotomized robots parroting your Nkrumah never dies nonsense engage me in debate or not?

What was Nkrumah doing with a loan facility of three million pounds if he had over $200 million in 1 ...

Listen to SARPONG "Don't forget we still have people who lived through the Nkrumah hardships and we don't need you to tell us differently".The 1972 born SARPONG has made it clear that he was not born during the Nkrumah regime ...

• Sister Souljah 8 years ago

Sarpong the VULGAR BUFFOON!

• Joe 8 years ago

Kwasia sarpong, is that all you could write? I feel sorry for you.

• Toff 8 years ago

Sir, who told you you can do a lot with money in your hand? Give a fool a bucket of money and see if he will become a wise person to do lot.

People do great things not because of money but values and principles that adhere ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Yea, he did a lot when he had 500 million pounds but from 1964_66 when the money was gone, that is when we found out his values and principles.

Thank you for trying.

• GLOBAL CITIZEN III 8 years ago

Sarpong! It is gortesquely wrong on your part to address Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah as, "Fuhrer". You may wish to fault Dr. Nkrumah any way you want, but not to address him as "Fuhrer", associated with the wicked and evil lea ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Can you tell Nkrumah apologist Francis Kwarteng that? He calls Nana Akuffo Addo as Fuhrer and when we told him that is demeaning, Professor Kwarteng told us it means a LEADER so I am just calling his god Fuhrer as a term of e ...

• Dansoman Kojo Sardine 8 years ago

Francis Kwarteng has never taught in a classroom before; not even at a kindergarten.

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 8 years ago

EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT APPRECIATE WHAT DR. KWAME NKRUMAH DID FOR OUR BELOVED COUNTRY, GHANA, IS A FOOL, IDIOT AND WHAT CAN YOU SAY ? IF NOT FOR THE INGENUITY OF NKRUMAH, MOST GHANAIANS WHO NOWADAYS TALK ILL ABOUT DR. NKRUMAH, ...

• Charlie King Addo 8 years ago

I was attending school at Twedaase Middle near Akodjo in Tema by the Catholic Church, at the time of the Nkrumah overthrow.

Nothing changed. It was business as usual.

We had a fully equipped science lab and a top of the ...

• TELL THE CHILDREN THE TRUTH. 8 years ago

NONSENSE.

• BRO DAN -TRC 8 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, NOBLE PEOPLE OF GHANA; OF A TRUTH, -'HYPOCRITES' SORT TO COUGH LANGUAGE BUT THERE IS NOTHING UNKNOWN TO THE EARS OF THE ALMIGHTY. HUMANITY; THE -ARTICLE- NO DOUBT -SMELLS ...

• Kwesi 8 years ago

That hell would have been more peaceful than a UP heaven.

• Ateni 8 years ago

i never knew we steel have such lunatics in this present Ghana. Mr sarpong, i advice u sleep and wake up. Maybe u haven't finished us last night dream

• JIHADI JOHN D'GOAT MAHAMA 8 years ago

Some excerpts for you to see who Nkrumah truly was...

1958: Ghana Permits Imprisonment without Trial for Some Suspects

The Ghanaian government, headed by Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, legalizes imprisonment without trial for peop ...

The New York based psychiatrist who recently offered free treatment to SARPONG among others,is inviting him to come back for further treatment.According to Dr Okyere,some of the symptoms of SARPONG'S mental disease are lack ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Frank Appiah has succumbed to my advice to drop New York as part of his name.

You welfare king living at Tracy Towers in Bronx and collecting food stamps. You Nkrumah imbeciles have retired your brains and parroting like ...

• K.B. Asare 8 years ago

I hope the 1972 born mentally deranged and conceited fool called SARPONG will read G.K.Berko's impeccable response and inhale his intelligence and wisdom.This will be a permanent cure for SARPONG'S mental disorder.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

God created houseflies,tse-tse flies,ants,bugs, cockroaches, maggots, mosquitos, fleas, ticks, slugs, leeches, and intestinal parasites , then he lowered his standards and made you.You are a real monument to stupidity

• Jake 8 years ago

Nkrumah did even know that the Health care in Ghana did not have basic essentials and his health Minister was too frightened of him to alert him what was actually going on. Towards the end he made himself like a God and a di ...

• sekum 8 years ago

summing everything up nkrumah was the best.if I have millions of money n I use it to build schools,create jobs etc and later increase tax for more developmental project is it not better and expedient than someone who borrows ...

• Kweku Donsuro 8 years ago

These are marooned apostates who have nothing to offer the world except bitterness, rancour and their self abnegation poisons the world.

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

This is pathetic Sarpong. Francis Kwarteng used Fuhrer to describe Akufo Addo a week ago, so you have to counter with this Fuhrer Nkrumah nonsense to get even, throwing caution to the economic achievements of the Osagyefo. An ...

Nkrumah wasn't xenophobic and murderous as Hitler was. Nkrumah did not gas anyone for sheer political or Social advantage. Nkrumah did not set out to overtake any other Country to expand his territory or Political power.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

IDIOT, where were you when Kwarteng wrote four part article in this forum and in each article called Nana Akuffo Addo as a Fuhrer? I bet Nana Akuffo Addo 'gassed' your mother, fool.

Kwarteng told those of us who have never ...

• samuel villa 8 years ago

We are still suffering the acts of myopic and subversive activities of JB Dankwahs,Abrefa Busias and their kinds.Even today,tommorow and the day after, His excellency Kwame Nkrumah still stand tall nationally and globally in ...

• Robertr Asafoatse 8 years ago

I feel sorry for people like you.You think you know what you are talking about.Actually we call it much ado about
    nothing.When you start from a false premise you will always reach a wrong conclusion.

• KKO 8 years ago

The truth really hurts sometimes, but in Ghana, it seems to cut through souls!

Very good piece, Justice.
    Several cocoa farmers committed suicide because they were given worthless "chits", as payment for the sale of their ...

• Sacramoto Jr. 8 years ago

Stop your lies and ridiculous name calling " socialist Mahama" and Fuhrer Nkrumah are the figments of imagination of the people of your ilk, come again KKO.

• KKO 8 years ago

You are obviously too young to know and not smart enough to read. You gubble everything hook, line and sinker from GCE O Level dropout Kwesi Pratt!

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Doc., you see how the brain dead Nkrumah apologists are behaving? They have closed their minds to reasoning which I call permanent retirement of their brains. These yahoo's cannot challenge facts so they have resorted to thei ...

• Asante 8 years ago

Sarpong!

Stop your nonsense.

You are fighting a lost cause.

Admittedly, Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah had some weakness. Of course he was human! The only one who doesn't realize that is you, Mr. Sarpong. You think the O ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

At least we have one robotic fool who is trying to change his stuck gear that was stuck at stupidity to reasoning. You are the first of the brain dead fuhrer Nkrumah apologists to accept that dictator made some mistakes, seem ...

Again, here go your infantile projections. You are not going anywhere with your clod-feet presumptions. No one has claimed Nkrumah never made errors. That is a fact that all sane adults tacitly acknowledge, both for and again ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Idiot, I don't give a crap if Nkrumah suppressed the powers of the traditional leaders and that is not the topic of discussion for this article but you stupid fool is running around like a chicken with its head cut off.

W ...

• KKO 8 years ago

Justice,
    I am not sure where people like Prof Lungu get their figures from, but here is what the IMF's annual report for 1965, says of Ghana on pages 92 and 93,

"The balance of payments deficit that has persisted in Gha ...

• KKO 8 years ago

Correction, "The balance of payments deficit that has persisted in Ghana since 1959 reflects an excess of domestic demand originating largely in the public sector. A part of this excess demand has been deliberate, representin ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

If we may indulge just one more time....

KKO - YOUR POST:
    "...The outcome has been that Ghana's international reserves declined from some $530 million in 1957 to a total (net of securities pledged against short-term loa ...

• KKO 8 years ago

I lived through it and I am almost certain that your parents jubilated, just like 90% of the people did. They knew what had happened to Ghana. Even Nkrumah's own minsters denounced him.

Kweku Baako remembers that! I have ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

KKO,
    We may not belabor this item further!

You are now turning to hearsay, personal recollections, and assumptions about us you have no clue about.

And this re-channeling of Kweku Baako!

Nice try!

HEAR THIS: We ...

• Sacramoto Jr. 8 years ago

From Nkrumah the Fuhrer to Nkrumah apologists - the lying and name calling continue unabated.
    SaySay something truthful and worthwhile once in a while, Sarpong.

• Nima Boy 8 years ago

I never knew this Sarpong guy is such a BAFFOON. I have respect for this guy at least when it comes to some important social issues . Why will he drop this bomb? Is he in bed with OKOAMPA?

• foko 8 years ago

You insult because you don't have the facts. What do you think: Nkrumah named many thing with his name KNUST, KN Ideological institute at Winnba, KN circle, Kwame Nkrumah Avenue. Can't he name anything after Ako Adjei, Gbedem ...

• hohoho, Montréal 8 years ago

sarong, you are a sick man. you know nothing about nkrumah. what colonial masters money. its you mothers money that was used to build tema. tema, the first well plan buit city in west africa

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Idiot, you Don't have monopoly on insults so if you lack intelligent to have a discourse on this topic, why drag our mothers into it?

You want to drag our mothers into this, you idiotic welfare recipient in Canada, I will ...

• foko 8 years ago

You are right Sarpong. I was in sec school form 4 1966

• OBIBINI 8 years ago

A fool hiding in America and writing about a person he has read about and jumping to absurd,infantile conlusions.No wonder you are a strong supporter of the Danquah/Busia political group which promoted terrorism and economic ...

• TT 8 years ago

AT LEAST HE IS NOT A HYPOCRITE LIKE YOU GUYS WHO WANT GHANA TO BE COMMUNIST COUNTRY BUT HAVE RAN TO CAPITALIST COUNTRIES LIKE YOU HYPOCRITE IN ITALY.

• Pelicles 8 years ago

I would like to know from Nkrumah's supporters what the man did wrong? It seems he never erred and that would never sit well with some of us. He did something wrong which led to his ouster.

I would like someone to tell ...

Nothing can change history.It is universally acknowledged that Kwame Nkrumah is the greatest African of all time.This 1972 born MATEMEHO grandson called SARPONG is a laughing stock.

When half-baked, egoistic scholars like this Sarpong begin to bleat CIA-scripted mantra to justify their devious plots that disrupted Governments all over the World, it makes one wonder if they still believe we are still livi ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

"So, I encourage all to pursue their own research to expose these liars. Thanks to the Internet"

Kwasea coward like you, why don't you refute the information provided here with your so called internet available evidence bu ...

This pseudo-intellectual called SARPONG has never thought for one moment to find out why Kwame Nkrumah is universally acknowledged as Africa's Man of The Millenium.