You are here: HomeNews2015 11 04Article 391933

Every pastor who collects tithes is a thief

Read Comments Comments (48)

• Tokugawah 8 years ago

Well done for this article. It is sad to say that we are fools and idiots when it comes to religion. We regard God as we regard the JuJu man who charges to grant our wishes. People go to church because they want something fro ...

• truth is one,do not be decieved 8 years ago

the politicians are also drunk with their stupid teachings as well.

• Pedro Vincente da Costa 8 years ago

Tithes are designated to support the destitute. Improvident widows, orphans, the sick, the indigent and cripples etc. God created all the wealth in the universe and does not need our material support. Churches must show accou ...

• Akos 8 years ago

We're no longer under the mosaic law. Jesus came to abolish that law and that includes tithing. Giving should come from the heart, not forcing worshippers to give 10% of their income. The only people enjoying the money are th ...

• Alidu Babangida Gyiwa 8 years ago

In Matthew, 5:17 Jesus came to fulfill the law, not destroy it. Do not ascribe to Jesus what you cannot understand.

• kojo 8 years ago

No Alidu I think you are wrong. The word fulfill in the bible does not means continuous but reaveal or bring it into fruition. What had been said in the old testament should come through.

• post 8 years ago

Meaning the law wasn't complete, so after fulfilling it, so why the need to pay tithes? Nowhere in the new testament were Christians obliged to pay tithes as part of the law but were encouraged to give freely without compulsi ...

• B2R 8 years ago

wich law did Jesus abolish u see how stupid u pple are

• TInaturk 8 years ago

If tithes were really applicable then Jesus wouldn't have accepted the poor widows contribution, some pastors are really making money out of impostering as the levites. Their time will come soon. Thanks for your insight the J ...

• kwabena 8 years ago

Thank you for the article,if all Pasters who collect tithes are thieves, what then will you say to Pasters who collect offerings.
    I am asking because the Malachi 3:8 you quoted did not talk of tithes in isolation it saids" w ...

• takoradi soso 8 years ago

Read carefully your justifications and the contradictions in it before publishing this article.

• Moses 8 years ago

Though I don't claim to be paying my tithe faithfully, this writer upon a serious study from the word of God needs the assistance of the Holy Spirit to enable him understand the topic on tithing properly instead of describing ...

• dan 8 years ago

How is he leading people astray? Have you considered the fact that even the twelve apostles, filled with the same Holy Spirit at Pentecost and performing "proper" miracles, did not collect tithes? Infact the early church sold ...

• Koo/Ksi. 8 years ago

What was Stephen and others were elected to preside over? Read the Bible well and carefully and don't confuse people.

• Liltwist Doku 8 years ago

Masa please go back and read ur bible well in fact u are talking like one of those guys, becos if u are a good christain u will nt even think about writing this dust spearing article.if i may ask u did Jesus Christ ever said ...

• dan 8 years ago

I suggest rather u go back and read ur bible properly. Have you considered the fact that even the twelve apostles, filled with the Holy Spirit at Pentecost and performing "proper" miracles, did not collect tithes? In fact the ...

• JOHN 8 years ago

I STRONGLY THINK THIS WRITER NEEDS THE GUIDANCE OF THE HOLY SPIRIT.

• dan 8 years ago

It is u rather who needs the guidance of the Holy Spirit. Have you considered the fact that even the twelve apostles, filled with the Holy Spirit at Pentecost and performing "proper" miracles, did not collect tithes? Infact t ...

• Leslie 8 years ago

Personally I am against churches whomake it compulsory to pay tithes. What is this thing about keeping a register of people who have paid and not paid. Tithing should come from the heart. And it should be encouraged if it goe ...

• lady1 8 years ago

"By their fruits you will recognize them" Rather than addressing the issue they will use abusive words. Imagine calling people expressing the truth as "stupid" hmm. Check urslf

• Yayra 8 years ago

This is what knowledge without wisdom does. You think you know what the Scriptures say on tithing, which I doubt though, but even if you do at all, you require wisdom to discern and understand why is written in the Holy Scrip ...

• dan 8 years ago

It is u who requires wisdom. Are these so called pastors better than the twelve apostles and Apostle Paul? Have you considered the fact that even they, filled with the Holy Spirit and performing "proper" miracles, did not col ...

• Koo/Ksi. 8 years ago

Would you read Acts 6:1 to the end? From here you may also read the books I & II Timothy and know how the tithes are used for.

• post 8 years ago

Acts 6:1 doesn't talk of tithes. Can u Pls come again?

• Harrison 8 years ago

Jesus rightly said when the blind are led by the blind they end up in a ditch.You will continously be duped by these fake pastors but hey the one who judges righteosly is watching all of us especially those who oppres the wea ...

• Babangida 8 years ago

Interesting piece I wish to see a rejoinder to it . Because on what grounds do the pastors milk their flock

• Comment 250 8 years ago

Very concise, precise, accurate and on target.

• Koo/Ksi. 8 years ago

You're very good in the scriptures, but I a pastor has cheated you in the use of the tithes collected in your church. Can you also read Matt.5:17 - 20 please? After reading brood over it for days whilst praying too and God wi ...

• truth is one,do not be decieved 8 years ago

please mr pastor, that scripture at Matt.5:17 - 20 if any thing to go by your implication then thives must be stoned as well , so you keep half and abolish half, hahahahaahha

• post 8 years ago

He fulfilled the law but didn't maintain it. Pls understand this. Something was to be done with law and he(JESUS) did that read galatians 3:23-25

• Godd 8 years ago

Many pastors are just thieves - even those who don't collect tithes. They still find some other way to fleece their flocks.

• killer 8 years ago

all who are r against this article are either relatives of pastors or pastor themselves...wat is tithe, u dey craze paa

• Thieves pastors 8 years ago

Go and check in all churches all over the world. 95% of all the churches. Go and check it again. The pastor of those churches are the richest person in the church. They use the best cars. Live in the best houses and buil ...

• odeefuor 8 years ago

Christ never debunked payment of tithe...knowledge and understanding very necessary

• mic 8 years ago

When did you hear in the Bible that you use evil to overcome evil? And why do you judge when you're not THE JUDGE... You have no right to judge another's servant. You did not call them..

• mic 8 years ago

Be not wise in your own eyes...

• WHY YOU NEED WISDOM BEFORE MONEY 8 years ago

Whoever wrote this piece of article has really revealed how ignorance he or she is as far as God, Jesus and the Bible is concern. And you will also hear from the ones with coconut and watermeleon head comments on this. Whethe ...

• Concern 8 years ago

If you don't know what you are saying keep quiet and sit down. Stop throwing dust into people eyes.

• Evangelist. Richard Asem 8 years ago

Pls don't lead us to hell so do u want us to condem the old testament?

• Bawku boy 8 years ago

Jah Love brother, you can fool some people some time but you CAN'T fool all the people all the time. Jah Live! Ire!

• swartb 8 years ago

Thank u very much. God will bless u.Give us more

• swart 8 years ago

Thank u very much.God bless u.keep on let dem know de truth....??????good work no question

• Akosua Princess 8 years ago

In as much as I believe that some Ministers of God may put some of pressure in some church members, I believe tithing is biblical and there are blessings one receives when one obediently tithe, not being forced to. I have rea ...

• javan 8 years ago

point of correction tithing is for God not for the pastors, no pastor eat tith money it's for God's projects alone.

• Robert Klutse 8 years ago

No, I dont think you are right because the bible is made of both old and new testaments so tithing is biblical. You know Jesus warned that whoever removes or adds to the bible shall be judged. So please, before you come out w ...

• Albert 8 years ago

in de olden days tithes were paid in de form of food stuffs, now de world has become modernized hence there is nothing wrong to pay ur tithe in monetary form.Tithes are given to support orphanages, widows,poor ppl n de rest, ...

• lejend 8 years ago

Ghanaians can't learn anything new, this writer opens ur eyes but you still can't read between the lines, GOD save us all, brilliant article by all standards

• lejend 8 years ago

Thankfully, Jewish theologians know better than their Christian counterparts. They are well aware that only Levites have the right to receive tithe of the people. After all, the Jewish leaders have the Old Testament as their ...